Perodua Myvi SE Facelift Teaser Goes Online!

Myvi SE
Click for enlarged image

Perodua has put up a preview teaser site for the new Perodua Myvi SE facelift. It’s quite a multimedia-heavy effort, and it seems that they’re spending alot on the internet, with even an Adsense campaign going online this week.

On the teaser site, you basically travel down some city streets and you pass signboards with teaser images of the new Myvi SE. You have to click on the signboard to view each teaser image. The images appear shrouded, but you can move your mouse around to uncover bits of the image. The countdown timer on the site indicates the car will be unveiled in approximately 6 days and 17 hours time at time of publishing.

That’s 6PM, Thursday October 9 2008.

Look after the jump for unshrouded versions of the teasers.

New Perodua Myvi Facelift launched in Malaysia!
Perodua Myvi and Myvi SE facelift coming soon?

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

Myvi SE

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:33 am

1st!

mmm very anticipating.

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:48 am

so little upgrade/change?..huh, i think the 1st launch much better

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 1:03 am

yaaaawn ! so boring…

• kahing (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 1:19 am

The previous SE looks SO SO SO much better than this one. Trust me. I saw a few of them at the port the other day. I agree with e-nabill, BORING

• droll (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 1:32 am

wow, they’re really milking every last drop out of this car. those are supposed to be teaser images?? man, piece those together and you more or less have the front and back of the car!

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:14 am

impressive indeed…

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:15 am

wait the minute… is that a rear disc brake???

• csv (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:19 am

i think it is!

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:26 am

anyone noticed that the facelift SE headlamps doesn’t have a separate secondary lights as compared to other normal myvi headlamps? The normal myvi would have a separate secondary housing at the top corner

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 9:55 am

Nah!~ i still like the old ones!

• ignas (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 10:27 am

wonder how much would it cost this time.

• freeze (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:13 pm

Nothing great. Not that we were expecting anything great either.

I think there will be a yellow coloured one too. Bright yellow.

Maybe this one got 1.5?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:22 pm

Swift Wannabe

• Keepthepace (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Myvi SE…… still a myvi, isn’t it? Where is the surprise?

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:46 pm

oh no…they really use that head unit player ah….I prefer the current new model with USB and bluetooth

• hareshi (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 1:26 pm

Nothing says its boring & yawning ,i rather give credits to the previous SE.
    This just like a steroid muscular Bunny tryin to be funny, Like a real rabbit! so tryin to be outstanding… interior : ill give credit to the previous model still . this like a step down version…

• haroldz (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 2:01 pm

hm,,
    they replace kancil/ kelisa wit viva, replace kembara/ nautica..
    when they wan2 replace rusa?

or rusa replacement could be a compact mpv?

they should sell performance parts like R3

• szw (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 2:10 pm

still hate myvis

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 2:31 pm

c’mon what is the need for a teaser Perodua ??

It’s the same old car where you bring it to any accesories shop also can do this kind of of so called special edition and face-lift ….. yawn.

utter waste of time ….

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:13 pm

Pointless…everybody know how it looks like already.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:41 pm

60k?

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 4:01 pm

haroldz said,

October 4, 2008 @ 2:01 pm

hm,,
    they replace kancil/ kelisa wit viva, replace kembara/ nautica..
    when they wan2 replace rusa?

or rusa replacement could be a compact mpv?

they should sell performance parts like R3
    ——————
    joint R&D of Avanza?it’s there thou, don’t think will have any further replacement.

• maserati (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 4:05 pm

jeez! so many proton fans in here…lol..heard someone asking perodua to do perfomance parts like R3..Well,just look wat happen to R3..

• na_power (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 4:16 pm

Agree to feez98,
    I wonder if they use DiscBrake for rear or just a photochop?

• mct (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 5:19 pm

where got p.s??
    the rear wheel still using drum
    but the photo look like it got disc brake
    make your screen brighter and you can notice

• freeze (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 5:49 pm

hmmm… if the rear now using disc brakes, Myvi owner have to change all 4 brakes when they get warped. (common problem with Myvis)
    I think this will be a 1.5, no reason for disc brake if still same 1.3

Special edition but simple armrest also cannot put in….

By the way, nice slogan…”RULE THE ROAD”

• freeze (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 5:57 pm

mct, it does look like disc brakes, u can see the reflection of the rims on the disc. Plus you can see the caliper on the right.

Wonder if they retune the suspension? 1.5 more power, nanti terbalik susah (common problem with Myvsi)

Kasi sama lotus lah, lu punya abang milik apa…

• ignas (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 7:18 pm

rule the road in terms of speed, power, design or quantity?

• na_power (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Freeze and feez98,
    check again, it’s 100% drum brake.. ‘(
    Actually the original photo background was white and they changed to black-outside of the car – dats why it does look like perfect aluminium disc reflection-inside the wheel still use original background
    pretty bad ps quality huh…

• ignas (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 8:56 pm

disc + drum combined? lol i think its disc too, else its manipulative/dishonest.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 9:04 pm

i dun think it is disc brake.. if it is disc brake, the size of disc rotor as such big fitted for rear wheel is impossible i think.

• freeze (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 10:01 pm

aiya its definitely disc brake laaa……I bet my balls
    You save the picture, use photoshop to enlarge, then brighten it, you can see the disc clearly.

Tyres are GoodYear Eagle NCT 5, but can’t see the size, i think they blur it cos the size should be located between “GOODYEAR” and “EAGLE”.

• hazrinmd (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 10:45 pm

you can get the spoilers from any ahbeng shop….

• na_power (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 11:10 pm

well, watever.. is it drum or disc just wait and see huh?..no need to bet, save yours.
    And wheel size is 14″ which is same as D.Boon in Japan.

freeze said,
    October 4, 2008 @ 10:01 pm

aiya its definitely disc brake laaa……I bet my balls
    You save the picture, use photoshop to enlarge, then brighten it, you can see the disc clearly.

Tyres are GoodYear Eagle NCT 5, but can’t see the size, i think they blur it cos the size should be located between “GOODYEAR” and “EAGLE”.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:02 am

i’m not about to bet my balls, but they look like drums to me, the lights can play trick on your eyes and it’s too small to be discs….

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 3:47 am

Yup… it’s a drum brake, just confirmed from a friend of mine who worked at Pro2… the photo’s just an optic illusion…

• mrleehb (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 10:02 am

y malaysia made car never come with turbo engine??

• sam1983 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:22 pm

If P2 selling MyVi SE with 1.5ltr engine at rm52k would be a good deal.

• ctawyong (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:27 pm

it is possible the engine upgrade to 1.5?? thats the sport edition for daihatsu

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 2:37 pm

maserati said,
    October 4, 2008 @ 4:05 pm

jeez! so many proton fans in here…lol..heard someone asking perodua to do perfomance parts like R3..Well,just look wat happen to R3..

—————————————–

Proton Axle Racing Team, with R3 built cars and R3 support.. champions of AFOS ATCS 1500Max 2008.

R3 Proton Satria Neo, 1st in class, MME 2008. yup.. not too bad at all.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 2:41 pm

sorry for the sidetrack above.. but seems like this could be a final big facelift.. new myvi for late 2009? or maybe early 2010?

anyways.. facelifts are normal for car manufacturers at different points of the products life cycle. bmw’s have even more boring facelifts which you can hardly even notice.. so i dont think perodua deserves any criticism for this, let alone any other manufacturer. if you are in the market for a myvi right now, you would probably welcome this facelift as extra value.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 4:52 pm

I QUOTE:
    mrleehb said,

October 5, 2008 @ 10:02 am

y malaysia made car never come with turbo engine??

Hi,
    Good question bro. Let’s face it, it turns out Malaysians are mostly “irresponsible” drivers. Even with a normal engine you can see Malaysians drives like an “ingkamput” or someone placed an idiot behind the steering wheel. Enough said.

Furthermore, our socio-economic status doesn’t allow normal Malaysians to own a turbocharged car (most of them). Normal Malaysians usually can own one car at a time and they will use that same car for work and leisure. Wanna to drive a turbo car during traffic jam on daily basis to work? Its a fuel guzzler and high maintenance. Unless you’re a rich man that’s a different story.

I heard from a friend of mine (policeman) says that our current road regulation and policy are affecting the model-make of our local cars. Means, the Police and JPJ wanted to keep the number of turbo cars as low as possible. Means, normal Malaysian will find it a little bit hard to own such cars. I can’t blame the police or the authorities, they would not be able to do a hot pursuit in their aging Waja’s against say: turbocharged MyVi’s or turbocharged Proton’s. “Makan asap” they said, (althought I know the Police’s Proton Waja’s is a formidable force to be reckon with, a “modified” version of Waja via special-secret tender with Proton).

I’m looking forward for the new MyVi SE facelift. I’m not sure Perodua will add extra features such as rear disc brakes or upgrade the engine to 1.5cc. Because, it is called a “facelift”. Perodua will only change the “appearance” of the car and not otherwise. The only way Perodua to come out with a lot of new features is to come out with a new replacement model of MyVi.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 4:56 pm

behold! The real Wira Replacement Model!!!

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 6:22 pm

BMW facelifts are proper facelifts with hundreds of subtle improvements of their cars and so does Mercedes and other euro makes. Perodua just slap on some new bumpers and a new radio and height adjustments, nothing much to shout about. It is absurd to compare Perodua with BMW is like comparing Versace clothing to Hang Ten or Giordano; totally in different league of its own.

• mister-rey (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 7:34 pm

I hope this coming SE facelift really shows the difference with the old one. The facelift for the premium one really looks the same with the old one.

• b4nd3r (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 8:03 pm

eh .. SE also got facelift ka? Peodua is really making money nowadays. But hopefully they are taking seriously on the disc issue and bla bla bla. Dont be too excited by introducing new models / facelift. Perodua better make sure the quality up too the customers’ expectation. Perodua and Proton are so lucky because of the kind hearted Malaysian and lack of option. Don’t abuse it.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 8:57 pm

dodgeviper88 said,
    October 5, 2008 @ 6:22 pm

BMW facelifts are proper facelifts with hundreds of subtle improvements of their cars and so does Mercedes and other euro makes. Perodua just slap on some new bumpers and a new radio and height adjustments, nothing much to shout about. It is absurd to compare Perodua with BMW is like comparing Versace clothing to Hang Ten or Giordano; totally in different league of its own.
    ————————————————————

No, it is not absurd to compare in this case, as most of the postings here are commenting on the physical outlook of the vehicle more so than whats changed under the skin. and in this respect, Yes, bmw “facelifts” are pretty boring, and hardly anyone can tell the difference. So i standby my previous comment.

• lee1 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 11:08 pm

yellow and orange proton worse selling colour….so proton sell cheap paint to perodua loh

• temp2escape (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 4:14 am

I’ve got something cool to share with you guys…

Daihatsu Boon paper car models. DIY stuff. Looks cool to be placed on your Myvi dashboard.

http://www.temp2escape.com/toyshobbies/paper-model-cars

• arc_knight (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 8:49 am

ya no difference lo…myvi se look coller than this

• Avanzato X4 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 8:55 am

3 bad comments:

1. ulgy CD player is worst than the current premium version.

2. ugly pig nose design front grill, should make the logo smaller

3. remain same front and tail lamp, only re-color

what i liked is only the Speedo Meter

• aliBaPa (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:15 pm

What is fuel consumption?
    drink like water?

• carneo (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 5:10 pm

There are improvement for the Audio system and the leather seat, but the outlook for both Audio and leather seat not nice, especially for the Audio it look freak and like missing the front cover, the black panel suddenly come out with silver button plus the drowsy mono color LCD display make it worst. I don’t understand why not use the normal Myvi model Audio system. The front skirting too big and square plus the oldie round fog lamp make it no aero dynamic feel at all. Other like LED tail lamp, new meter look and come with various color make it attractive. I feel worries, the term ‘new facelift ’ start make me feel Produa will follow Proton foot step.

• Zeeian (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Hmmm… I hate the rim and the leather seat but at least they have tried to improve this car. Wonder does it comes with 6-speaker or a bigger engine . If it’s still 1.3cc, i expect it to have more torque, output power and more fuel economy. It should replace the audio system with LCD monitor, the head lamp with bi-nexon head lamp and the steering wheel with some button on it

• mister-rey (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:39 pm

I’m sure there won’t be any improvement on engine. Facelift with the existing engine.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:10 pm

i love the orange color

• ordinaryboyz on Jul 04, 2009 at 6:32 pm

hallooo, proton and myvis hv its pro and cons,…if u guyz likes myvis juz buy and if u dont juz keep ur bloody mouth shut and buy other model laaaaaaa and one thing dunt compare our local industries with bmw,merz, or other, its totally like u guyz dun hav brain and cannot think!!!!!!hahahaha…..stupid?????

• asyik komplen jer on Aug 14, 2009 at 5:10 pm

hey all if u all just know how to complain,make your own vehicle lor…u can can make your own car body,car engine,what else?if u just come in this web just want to complain u like a mice want repair a pumpkin…u just know bla..bla..bla..bla..bla..stupid..

• flamy on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:31 pm

i hate myvi brake only, hehehehe…

• It's still a toyota passo clone !!!

• bujamechanic on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:11 am

saya dah bayar Rm 7900.00 08/01/2010

untuk myvi se tapi sampai sekarang ejan produa cakap,model myvi se tusah sekarang,ni yang buat aku pening,saya beli kerita dengan ejan perodua di johor

nama dia DANEAIL di today No TEL H/P dia0127736687 dan pemantu dia 0167021959 apakah betul ke kerita pula tak keluar lagi sampai hari ini

• buja kabau on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:26 am

saya dah bayar Rm7900 untuk kerita myvi se

tapi eijen cakap sekarang itu kerita ada masalah

nama eijen itu DENANEL NO H/P0127736687 DANPEMBANTU DIA 0167021959

kedai dia dekat today johor pasi gudang

kerita sampai hari ini pun belum dapat lagi