New 178 PS Mitsubishi L200 Triton 2.5 Di-D

Mitsubishi L200

Mitsubishi quietly revealed a high-powered version of the Mitsubishi L200 (known as the Triton here) at the 2008 Paris Motor Show with the “2.5Di-D High-Power” designation.

The 2009 L200 2.5 Di-D High-Power features a 2.5 litre engine that produces much more power than in its 136 PS standard form. In fact, the figures are even higher than the recently launched Triton 3.2L!

The new engine gets a 29% power boost up to 178 PS at 4,000rpm and 400Nm of torque at 2,000rpm for manual versions or 350Nm of torque for automatic versions. Fuel consumption is 8.5 litres of diesel per 100km while CO2 output is 223g/km.

The 2009 L200 also gets better sound and vibration insulation, additional side airbags for the Club Cab varaint, side and curtain airbags for the Double Cab, and a new front seat design with improved cushion and side support.

If you pair this new high performance engine with the Walkinshaw Performance Sport Pack Upgrade, your L200/Triton will surely be a riot! The upgrade pack (an estimated £2,595.00 – RM16k – inclusive of installation) replaces the L200’s rear solid axle with a multi-link rear suspension featuring coil springs.

Other enhancements in the Walkinshaw pack include PU performance bushes for increased axle control, rubber performance chassis bushes for reduced road noise transmission, Koni performance shocks for the front and rear as well as a stainless steel twin tailpipe performance exhaust.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:04 am

1st…..

• droll (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:33 am

what? Konis for a pickup turbo diesel truck?!?! hot damn!

• xenith (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:37 am

A performance truck…
    So it corners better with Koni’s, eh?

• slee88 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:42 am

my hilux already eating dust now, somemore with this new triton coming… dust also cannot eat.. hahahaha.. congrats mitsubishi

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 1:34 am

Coil springs on a pickup!

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 10:55 am

this is cool…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:16 pm

this is a better choice than the ssangyong actyon then

• jamsbong (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:48 pm

coilspring will make the ride comfy but can’t take much load. If you need it to carry loads of stuff, better stick with the old fashion proven leaf spring system (the ones that trucks use).

• AmSouth (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Wow!
    I can suggest to my friend to throw his D-Max 3.0 to the sea!

Talking about weight load capacity, I am so surprise D-Max max load capacity is only 870 kg…, but claimed to be 1 ton pick-up truck … wah lau .. where can!

• Ford-man (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:35 pm

Hopefully MMM will consider to bring this spec to Malaysia… More pick-up options to choose… :)

• adil2008 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:58 pm

It’s great, 178ps is more than enough for 2.5 DID engine, the triton should chance the rear bumper from chrome steel instead of plastic bumper. Well done, Mitsubishi.

• waja_fr3ak (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 10:14 pm

kewl…wen tiz lil monster wud get into our shore ???

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 3:02 am

Well…how many double-cab pickups are actually used for load-carrying purposes nowadays…haha… =P

This makes sense for those who choose pickup as a “lifestyle” vehicle. Torquey turbodiesel engine, rough terrain capability, space for relatively large but light cargo (bikes, small wardrobe, kitchen sink, washing machine etc), AND a comfy ride as a bonus – now that’s a pretty good combo, I must say. =)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 3:06 am

Oh wait…the coil springs are an optional upgrade…

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 1:07 pm

Who cares whether it’s optional or what. i want that coil springs fits into it. Cool.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:09 pm

ugly truck

• Mitsubishi malaysia should had their own service center to render better service to mitsubishi car owner

• Triton on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:22 am

Any news on this Triton launching in M’sia ?

• Arian on Dec 31, 2011 at 10:46 am

any news on the arrival in Malaysia

• yaHAha on Jan 03, 2012 at 9:45 pm

i heard triton 2.5 vgt 178ps coming to msia by march or april 2012. wait n see.

• cboys00 on Mar 25, 2012 at 10:54 am

how about triton lite turbo 2.5 RM66 000 (coming on april) vs triton 2.5 (RM93 000 full spec), which one i should choose?

triton lite turbo 2.5: lower (using 15″ alloy ), stability, cheep, no airbags
    so is it secure, how about body is same with triton 2.5 also durability

triton 2.5 using 16-17″ alloy =too higher, less stable,
    with air bags, more secure

but not enough bajet….. so how, should i choose triton lite turbo 2.5

• Samuel on May 16, 2012 at 1:02 am

Just my humble opinion, the extra turbo on the triton lite 4d56 doesn’t help much on the output. My family own a local assemble pajero which claim that with turbo. The power is no way to compare wit the 4d56t. The power is totally different. So I guess this same to the truck. Don think u can boost it to like the triton full spec from the lite. No offences.