Nissan Pixo: UK’s cheapest automatic car?

Nissan Pixo

The Perodua Kelisa has been the cheapest automatic car in the UK for quite some time now but according to Nissan, the upcoming Nissan Pixo is likely to take away that title, with an expected price tag of under £6,500 (RM40,000). Other cheap automatic small cars include the Kia Picanto which is priced over £7,500.

The Nissan Pixo is a badge engineered Suzuki Alto and comes standard with safety features such as ISOFIX points for child seats, dual front SRS airbags and ABS brakes on every model variant including the baseline “Visia” trim level. The high-spec “Acenta” model will feature side airbags as well as other creature comforts such as power front windows, a split-folding rear bench and foglamps.

You cant really load much with it so don’t expect it to be able to take a family and luggage for balik kampung trips as its capacity is only 129 litres with the rear bench up and in use. The Pixo measures 3565 mm long, 1470 mm tall and 1600 mm wide with a 2360mm wheelbase. It weighs about 855kg.

Suzuki’s 1.0 litre inline-3 engine sits in the engine bay emitting only 103g/km of CO2 on average with a fuel economy of 4.6 litres per 100km on the combined cycle for the version with the manual transmission. It produces 65 PS at 6,000rpm, and 90Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. It is mated to either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto.

Look after the jump for more photos of the Pixo.

PHOTO GALLERY: Nissan Pixo
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:111]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:22 am

Nice looking for it’s prize
    Will it ever comes to malaysia?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:24 am

Well …savvy is not cheap over there huhuhu

• kahing (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:45 am

Cheaper than Viva but somehow looks so so SO much better. Hmmmmm……

• xenith (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 3:30 am

Nice front end…
    Side-rear profile reminds me of i10.

• juicer (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 7:14 am

rear light both side not identical design.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 8:55 am

Impressive standard safety features for a car priced this low. Look at the rear windows! They are the pop-out types.

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 10:22 am

our local car manufacturer’s philosophy is…money come first..quality n design 2nd. because..if looking at savvy design n price…i bet savvy price is much more ‘overrated’ than other brands.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 11:58 am

If they would give good price as the perodua kelisa/ Viva, i would give this car a 2nd thought.
    Let’s just hope it would reach here with great price tag.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 12:39 pm

This car, along with the Hyundai i10, are both made in India. That should translate similar (low) price for the Pixo if it’s imported into Malaysia. BUT Nissan, being a non-bumi company, has no AP, and this car if comes to Malaysia, it might be as expensive as the Tiida, if not more.

Just like Suzuki Swift, imported from Japan, still cheaper than the Honda Jazz that’s made and and imported from Thailand.

• kheekuan (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 2:14 pm

I personally like this design being a compact with three combinations : grand lavina trunk, picanto sidelines (silhouette) with renault tail lamp.

I’m pretty sure this car will sell like hotcakes provided it happens to reach our shore with selling price less than 50k!

• DtG (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 3:58 pm

TheophilusChin said,

October 5, 2008 @ 12:39 pm

This car, along with the Hyundai i10, are both made in India. That should translate similar (low) price for the Pixo if it’s imported into Malaysia. BUT Nissan, being a non-bumi company, has no AP, and this car if comes to Malaysia, it might be as expensive as the Tiida, if not more.

Just like Suzuki Swift, imported from Japan, still cheaper than the Honda Jazz that’s made and and imported from Thailand.

COME ON LA… more expensive, yes definitely.. but completely impossible to be more expensive than the latio. 1st of all u must consider, it isnt one of those yaris/jazz hatches that tend to cost that much, its way below that level, really budget. look at the i10, still imported from india and costing 40+k. this car is going to cost cheaper than the i10 in the uk, and even if its taxes are higher, its definitely not 100% of the car, even if it is, it will be 80k at most, still less than a latio. And as our market itself gets more demanding and is more competitive in a very sensible way, it shouldnt cross the 60k mark.. that is IF they ever bring it here…

• hareshi (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Simply Brilliant. it has this confident layout n its sumthing new n diffrent form others ..

love the interior ..one of the best looking interior for this segment…

Its somewhere around Viva n Savvy but interms of spec the real it deal. Its totally define why Nissan has sumthing way unique to give then toyota n others.

• kkchai (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 4:12 pm

DtG, I think if I am not mistaken, Honda Jazz imported from Japan instead of Thailand?

Sometime I would wish the GOV will change, policy will change, Proton will grow up instead be like Malaysia, still like a baby after years of independent. So call national car should be competitive and made for its citizen, instead sucking own citizen hard work money.

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 7:30 pm

Jazz is indeed assembled in Thailand.

yet the new one costs 100k plus, i’d get myself a scorching swift sport for 90k+ and still have change for some aftermarket add ons..

and about the 2 different rear lights, i guess it might be the reverse light or the rear fog light on the right side.

• b4nd3r (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Ehh ,, i thought Jazz imported from japan. I3ryan, mind to share your source of data?

• Bbingbong (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 8:38 pm

aloo brader paultan already make a review about the new jazz launching..u just need to browsing in the paul tan onli….
    the thruth is the new Jazz is indeed assembled in Thailand

• lee1 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 11:02 pm

wau…impressive cheep & beauty…if this creature come in malaysia all the darkular automotive sure habis….

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Probably cheap in UK, once it gets into Malaysia it probably increase the price to god knows wat, due to the tax+ssssss which in the end we’ll still get a proton or perodua. – -“

• ignas (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:14 am

hey it looks like mini livina

• nebuchadnezzar (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 8:42 am

TheophilusChin said,

October 5, 2008 @ 12:39 pm

There’s no way Pixo would be priced higher than Latio. If it comes to Malaysia and assembled at Tan Chong’s plant in Serendah, I bet the price would be around RM55k – RM65k. Mind you it’s 1.0L, so, if it’s priced more than RM65k, then there’s no point in selling the car at all as people may consider the new Honda City instead.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 9:32 am

nebuchadnezzar, please read my comment again.

I said if it’s IMPORTED into Malaysia by TC who has no AP, it will be expensive, and MIGHT be as expensive as the Tiida.

Though I agree with your point that if it’s ASSEMBLED locally, there’s no way it’ll be as expensive as the Tiida.

Look, the March, for a while imported into Malaysia by Nissan, was priced higher than even today’s Sylphy.

• frossonice (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 7:35 pm

i thought TC purposely priced all their cars 10% higher compared to its competitor because being Nissan, people will buy it. I remember I read it somewhere in the newspaper about this. Furthermore, every single cars imported must have AP permit so, no non-bumi company issue here. And stop playing with it. Being a bumi myself, I too must pay the same price if I want to buy imported cars. Screw NAP, it sucks.

• gajen (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 5:07 pm

i prefer toyota aygo…way better

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:09 pm

why automatic”?

• Wish it had 200 liters plus boot space. Great car looks as though it should have a bigger boot. Loooking forward to auto version jerky change you think.

Nissan reliable.

Still think it should have a bigger boot.

• disagree with gajen. Toyota Aygo has a tiny boot and is crap. The interior is wierd.