Ssangyong C200 Concept previews new Ssangyong design language

Ssangyong C200

You may not recognise the car you see above as a Ssangyong. Granted its still in concept form but at the same time it’s still a far cry from the odd things you see coming out of their design studio. Trucks like the Actyon are actually very decent but sadly do not enjoy much sales in Malaysia because of its unorthodox looks.

This will all change from now on, and hopefully it will entice more people to try out the Chinese-owned Korean marque with German hearts. The concept above was styled by Giugaro ItalDesign, and is meant to showcase Ssangyong’s future design language. Giugaro is working on the designs of future Ssangyongs, including a total of 20 new models built on 5 new platforms over the period of 5 years beginning 2009.

The C200 is also the first monocoque Ssangyong, and the first front wheel drive car from the company, although an all-wheel driven version of the production car is also planned. Powering it is a 175 PS inline-4 petrol engine mated to a 6-speed auto.

The new model line-up will still consist primarily of the SUVs and trucks that Ssangyong has traditionally built, but more passenger cars other than the Chairman is in the works. Some of the new Ssangyongs will be based on Rover platforms, which parent company SAIC also owns.

Look after the jump for more angles of the C200 Concept.

Ssangyong C200

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 1:13 am

hints of a landrover here and there.

but pretty decent.

• kahing (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 1:27 am

somehow this car reminds me of an oversized Savvy. Haha. But very nice. I like

• Poxxue (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 6:50 am

Now we`re talkin!…nice rear…!

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 7:45 am

Ssangyongs have always had problems with their rear designs… this one finally looks pretty tho :)

Paul: I like the Actyon, it’s a really cool design

• ReactiX (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 10:06 am

Ya, rear design looks stupid tho

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:00 am

their current design style is too controversial, u either like it or hate it, hence the effort here by making it look more mainstream..

i can see a decent looking production model after all the OTT LED lights, 21 inch wheels and all those bling has been remove. way to good ssangyong

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:17 am

Actyon? for me.. its fugly!..
    but this one look cool.

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:34 pm

well, if u didnt mention Ssangyong, i tot this concept is from China… i will never like Ssangyong cars, but i found tat most Ssangyong drivers in Kuching are pretty road friendly…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 3:58 pm

Wowo nice.

The rearlights scares me a bit.. XD

• transformer (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 4:20 pm

its should making its way to showroom very soon… we hope!

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 5:47 pm

i think the designer for the rear lamps was influenced by kamen riders.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 5:54 pm

nice, i believe this technically replaces the ssangyong actyon suv/kyron. i think it has the looks. im just curious what the rexton replacement will be like

• mct (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 10:15 pm

first monocoque ??
    i thought ssangyong got sedan that look like a benz ??
    and some technology are give by benz right???

• nmh (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:05 pm

alfa rear….

• torque (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:23 pm

Hmmm…Paul said it best, “You may not recognise the car you see above as a Ssangyong…but sadly do not enjoy much sales in Malaysia because of its unorthodox looks.” I personally never actually like all of the Ssangyong cars until I see this concept which they may intend to produce. By no doubt, it grabs my attention when I look at it. I even begin to like the design when I take a second look at it. Still, I’m with CSV, it does have the hints of the Land Rover looks especially at the front. I also hope they redesign the rear lights as I’m not too fond of it…maybe something close like the X6! Now that’s is one sexy rear lights! Really envy of those who lucky enough to own one… :-)

• alpha0201 (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:27 pm

For the 1st time, SsangYong design that isn’t ugly.

• dgsport89 (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 10:03 am

why proton neva design a concept car which look like dis….???

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm

Nice!~
    First time Ssangyong creating something that able to look at without hurting the eyes.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:08 pm

looks like murano

• dude 182 on Apr 05, 2009 at 4:23 am

i like it very much compare 2 previous design

• shawal.ali on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:18 pm

nie…. Macam Kereta Potong je…. , rear end looks like a Q3 , but… imbalance , front has big SUV profile, rear has a small hatchback thing going on… surely a student must've designed this….

Biggest Mistake… sloping shoulder line across the back doors , should've made it horizontal…to give it a muscular character

• Julian on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:31 am

when will this model be launched in msia? and at what price tag?

• Well i heard a recent news from korea that china dumped ssangyong after it stole most of ssangyong's SUV technology. the purpose china bought ssangyong wasn't the business or the money.. it was the technology after all… it was a very issue in south korea for several months. of course a lot of koreans were disappointed by that. now the company is own by korean stock holders.

• man… this is a predator!!!

• For me it look like Murano how mutch is the price & is it availble in malaysia