Proton Persona CNG launched in Thailand!

Proton Persona CNG
Click for hi-res image

The Proton Persona CNG was launched earlier this week in Thailand and it will be available in 3 variants – the medium-line auto, medium-line manual and the high-line auto.

The Campro IAFM engine in the Persona CNG can take either regular petrol, an E20 ethanol-petrol mix as well as CNG (compressed natural gas). CNG is basically the fuel that NGV cars such as taxis use in Malaysia.

Proton targets to sell 500 units a month of the Persona CNG in Thailand. With many Malaysians considering NGV conversions right now, it would be timely to introduce the Persona CNG into the Malaysian market soon.

A car that comes with CNG fueling from the factory would be easier on the owner’s pocket as the cost of conversion is factored into the hire purchase loan, plus it is included in the manufacturer warranty.

Thai prices for the Proton Persona CNG:

Proton Persona CNG 1.6 M-LIne Manual – 549,000 Thai Baht
Proton Persona CNG 1.6 M-LIne Auto – 584,000 Thai Baht
Proton Persona CNG 1.6 H-LIne Auto – 629,000 Thai Baht

Some FAQs on the Proton Persona CNG:

Is the car’s capacity to store regular petrol affected?
No as the CNG tank is an “add on” system to the standard Persona.

Where is the fuel filler for me to refill the CNG?
It is located at the engine bay.

How do I switch from CNG to petrol?
It is quite easy and straight forward to switch between petrol and CNG by pressing on a button on the instrument panel.

Is there a gauge to see how much CNG I have left?
Yes, there are 4 LEDs to indicate CNG level.

How big is the CNG tank?
The tank is 90 litres.

Continue reading to see photos of the CNG refueller, the CNG tank in the boot and how much usable boot space is remaining as the CNG tank takes up boot space.

Proton Persona CNG

Proton launches the Proton GEN2 ecoLogic powered by LPG in the UK

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:01 am

It’s strange that Proton did not consider his own land for first launch of CNG :)

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:05 am

Thailand …hmm.. Toyota Market….

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:09 am

Whats the point of launching in Malaysia as the market is limited only to klang valley currently (and maybe certain other states which is very few)? Thats the main reasaon why Proton neva launch any CNG/NGV vehicles locally since the refuelling station is very few and mostly dominated by the taxis. As we can see, after the fuel price hike, there were many after market shops doing conversion to NGV, but not many people are willing to convert due to the unconvenience of refuelling. Btw, currently Proton is working on the SAGA 1.6 IAFM NGV/CNG project currently for TAXIS, as it is a more appropriate and smarter move to aim for that market. Cheers!

• arc_knight (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:27 am

haha brilliant idea….use thailand as a white mouse…if the respond in thailand is not good its better dun launch in malaysia…anyway wat is the price of this persona in malaysia would it be?

• Who white mouse….! Your Proton is not even selling as it should here in Bangkok. Such a dull car to purchase

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:46 am

offtopic>>

1.gen2 cps was launched in thailand 1st, then only malaysia.

2.about saga, will there be 1.6cps for non-taxi model?

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:16 am

Why do I get this feeling, just like arc_knight, that Thailand is really just a test bed for the product. Knowing how much Proton test its product before launching (which is not much), it may be a good idea to let the Thais try it first and improve it before selling it to us. Atleast that is what I hope Proton will do.

Then again, there is a conspiracy in purposely not building so much NGV station so Proton may be wary of the hidden force that is influencing everything.

Either way we are screwed.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:17 am

1) Its quite common for car manufacturers to launch models in other coutries first and then launch it in their own country just to see how the consumer responds to the particular model. If the local market has potential for that particular model, then they will launch it. Sometimes it is also done to roughly estimate the local market demand.

2) There wont be a SAGA 1.6 CPS since it will defeat the purpose of a ‘low cost car’. As you all should know by now, SAGA was designed and aimed as low cost car similar to the old SAGA. The main aim of the car placed in that price range, is to give an affordable option for everbody to own a car. If the consumer wants performance, the 1.6 Waja and GEN-2 CPS is avaible. Proton cant satisfy everbody needs and wants in terms of variants, it will usually aim the general interest of the market. Cheers!

• Realeyes (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:17 am

Yeah, lets see if it safe and reliable.. ;)

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:22 am

Mr. Hikaru,

On what basis do you say that Proton doesn’t test their cars very much? Do you have any prove to support ur satement? If you do, i would like to hear it….and if you dont, i dont think its approriate to just throw accusations by your own assumptions. Assume – makes an ass out of you and me! So stop assuming and commenting blindly if you dont know! Cheers!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:34 am

the launch in thailand makes perfect sense, considering the fact that they have all the infrastructure in place already. likewise with the lpg persona in the UK. the powers that be in malaysia do not seem interested at the moment to push for more gas filling stations in the country, let alone increase the quality of our fuels.

but its nice to see proton doing launches overseas, and not just in malaysia. its a well known fact that for the company to survive, they really need to push exports. they cant survive on the domestic market alone like what they’ve been doing all those years. better late than never.

besides that, i cant think of many car companies in the world today that actually launches cars first in their own home country. japanese and koreans definitely dont do it.. neither does europeans like bmw.. they always launch in another country somewhere, or during a motorshow.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:38 am

That supermodel (wearing white dress) looks better… (if only I could determine the gender of this ‘girl’, its Thailand anyways, famous with shemales, haha). Lol.

• kucau (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 10:27 am

is that Claudius Meynert on the picture? maybe this launch is part of his new strategy?

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 10:32 am

Well, Thailand always have full loads of cheap car..That’s why it was always jammed.

• awak (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 11:12 am

just my assumption, if car with 1.6 campro to 1.6 campro CPS ,
    CPS could add to RM4000 roughly.

if satria neo to be CPS it would be RM54 m line or 56000for h line roughly,
    maybe next year by speculation,???

if saga probally probally not because i have to agree with si-fu.
    it settle with 1.3 iafm.
    because CPS costs RM4000 to add.

correct me,

• theking (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 11:25 am

awak,

NEO CPS HL for both AT/MT tranny will roll out jan/feb 2009!

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 11:32 am

Awak,

The RM4000 added for models, from 1.6 Campro to 1.6 CPS is not only for the engines but other additional features. For instance, the Gen-2 and Waja CPS, has additional leather seats, cruise control, HID, etc, etc.
    So if the Satria Neo CPS comes out, u might be paying 4k extra, but not only for the engine, but for other refinements, such as the integrated body kit, bucket seats, new rims, new leather seats, cruise control for the AT, and some extra stuffs here and there. So the extra 4k will be worth ur money! I am not sure when they gona launch the satria neo CPS, but i can say its 80% ready and could be soon! Cheers!

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:09 pm

Oh my god who is the girl in white?!

all eyes on her

especially the two guys on the left :p

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:16 pm

My eyes were totally on the gorgeous babe on the right hand side of the photo… *Drool* :D

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:42 pm

totally rubbish proton !!!

vios 1.5e a/t – 589,000 baht
    1.5g a/t – 659,000 baht
    1.5g limited edition = 689,000 baht
    1.5s limited edition = 699,000 baht

why would thai people wanna buy stupid lousy technology proton ?
    its not worth at all

• longjaafar (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:43 pm

Who’s that attractive girl on the right and who is that dude who seems to be out of place with his jacket and sneakers in such a function? Chances are, he is a Malaysian. Must be the type that wears jeans and T shirts to wedding receptions.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 3:16 pm

jaymashimaro said,
    October 10, 2008 @ 2:42 pm
    —-

Vios is more rubbish.. Old engine, old tech.
    no multilink rear absorber etc.

you buy it because of the T badge..

Now you’re more s…..

• awak (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 3:17 pm

i ll sell my 1.3 neo quick.

• hypermount (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 3:38 pm

I haseen many opt for ngv conversion now — saw a camry with a ngv sticker..

there’s already 2 ngv syation wothin 500m radium from house in ayer keroh, melaka…another third one furhter maybe 2km near psar borong….for those who live there they know la.

Not bad – defintely will ask my bro to consider this car – better value if the price is just 2-3k extra over normal persona

I think that guy in the jacket is alex yoong.

Well done Proton again.

• hypermount (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 3:41 pm

OOOOPS big wtrf alex yoong..

saaw the enlarged pic – who is that guy…

• blaze (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 5:04 pm

Hahaha… even proton realised how important Thailand is in the auto industry.. Good competition, equal playing field, a lot of FDI in auto industry etc…
    Here? yawnnnnnn…. Ppl will buy watever crap they are selling bcoz its cheap..

• peyern (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 5:32 pm

ooi….lenglui

• MyviKiller (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 6:05 pm

Look at the left hand side, these Siamese guys are staring at the girl… ;)

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 6:24 pm

jaymashimaro said,

1.5g a/t – 659,000 baht

its not worth at all

—————
    Thai prices for the Proton Persona CNG:
    Proton Persona CNG 1.6 M-LIne Manual – 549,000 Thai Baht
    Proton Persona CNG 1.6 M-LIne Auto – 584,000 Thai Baht
    Proton Persona CNG 1.6 H-LIne Auto – 629,000 Thai Baht

Space: Persona > Vios
    Engine: Persona > Vios
    NGV Kit: Persona > Vios
    Price: Persona < Vios

Do the math ur self ~~

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 7:52 pm

jaymashimaro said,

1.5g a/t – 659,000 baht

its not worth at all

—————————————————————-
    Here is the fact jaymashimaro, The 2008 Gold Dragon Award has been awarded to Proton Persona as it have a better design, quality and a very reasonable price beating the others competitor such as Vios, City and Latio…

if u really know about the technology, can u compare the technology between Vios and Persona and what makes u really think that Proton technology is lousy??

If i’m not mistaken.. Thai’s already bought over 1000 units of proton car since Proton launched in thailand…. so, u mean this over 1000 thai’s people was stupid??

• Paul Tan on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:08 pm

Post has been updated with some FAQs

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:27 pm

why people consider vios as high tech??

they are using same old so call VVTi engine..

same old 4 speed auto transmission

same old brakes and the same old ABS,EBD and etc..

so where is the high tech part??

if you compare i think they are almost the same…just that VVTi has made people believe its very high tech engine but the problem the similar technology has already exist around 1960s..

Japanese are very clever in highlighting their technology…remember those days when DOHC, 16 Valve and etc are shown as high tech…

but DOHC and 4 valve per cylinder technology has been around 1930s..

so the term as high tech and low tech is a wrong way to compare i guess…

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:20 am

Prem3377 said,
    October 10, 2008 @ 9:27 pm
    why people consider vios as high tech??
    they are using same old so call VVTi engine..

because toyota FAN blinded by the T badge.. They wont accept the fact .. and they dare to die for it. :p

Another better words for bashers :
    If proton ‘jual murah’ = salah
    Then proton jual ‘harga tinggi’ = Salah juga.

They all just don’t have a heart.. nor brain. ;)

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:27 am

good luck proton.
    nice to see persona in thai.
    savadikap..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:46 am

Mr. Audi’s got his hands in his pockets.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:46 am

Mr. Ex-Audi’s got his hands in his pockets.

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 1:13 am

1st time to see the cng tank installed nicely (so kemas), i’m sure the sales will boooom at malaysia and not thailand. good luck proton..
    hehe..i also dont like vios, design macam dugong especially the new vios.
    1NZFE engine good eh? the most boring engine i ever drive.

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 1:15 am

hmmmmmm the only lady there very pretty, nice body hmmmmm…

• hypermount (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 1:22 am

Just like sony use over the walkman brand name for itss mp3 players lineup

the t-badge worth a lot of money

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:20 am

whatever the reason u all said, proton is just below average.
    the quality control is so bad, that i want to dump my car
    even, we Malaysian , the proton car maker country, also look down and dissapointed with our own car.
    i personally have a proton persona and a toyota vios here.
    my vios is almost 3 years and have not a problem yet.
    but my persona having lots of problems within 1 years
    i send my car to workshop to repair
    and the proton’s mechanic told me they have to report to main factory as they dunno how to repair it. until now havent reply from them. they didnt follow up on my case. craps proton

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:40 am

jaymashimaro, look like ur “lousy” issue here was lack of “quality” but not lack of “technology”… sometimes, problem encountered due to “human error” different people with different driving style…. personally i own Proton Waja since 5 years ago and my 2nd car was Saga BLM… my parent share Honda City idsi, my big bro was using proton gen2 and others sibling was driving toyota estima Aeres, myvi, toyota hilux… until now, the only problem of my waja was powerwindow switch, fuelpump and radiator fan motor… i had replace it all, now it function like before..

When our family going for a long journey travel, i always decide to drove my waja and my parent will choose Honda City… but, everytime we reach at the hi-speed corner, my waja can go for 120km/h with lotus handling meanwhile Honda City speed need to be reduce at 100km/h… so, that we call technology.. if the powerwindow stuck, that was quality problem..

But, when ur car engine brokedown… we can consider it as normal “wear and tear” (if ur vios engine will lasts forvever, u could deny this)

p/s: my friend Persona’s still not giving any problem to their owner yet..

• rt (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:39 pm

Our one year old company pool car is a Persona HL (non IAFM).
    So far it had clocked 31k on the odo.
    No problems whatsoever.
    No failed motor, no funny sound.. nothing…. despite it being a pool car.
    Probably we are the lucky ones…

As far I had remember, the CNG has been tested on WAJA before.
    The LPG version has been launched in the UK too..
    So it must have been well researched and tested.

RT.

• rt (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:43 pm

aenz81,
    I agree with your Waja vs Vios..
    I did smoked some Hondas and Toyotas in the tight corners of KL-Karak highway with the Persona.
    But sometimes it is the driver, not the car.
    You must be a very good driver… :)

RT.

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 2:38 pm

Vios is more rubbish.. Old engine, old tech.
    no multilink rear absorber etc.

you buy it because of the T badge..

Now you’re more s…..

————————————————————–

Agree with with the conclusion, but will u buy a car that is 5 star in quality (Toyota) rather than 2 star quality (Proton) ?

Which one u prefer?

Plus, VVT-i technology is year 1997, proton only can get Campro CPS (no intelligent) by year 2007 (if not mistaken), new engine still need a lot improvement, not like VVT-i for Vios !

• ENZO (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 3:04 pm

[the CNG tank takes up boot space.]

means that if satria neo CNG/NGV = no boot space lo??

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 4:03 pm

God.of.War said,
    October 11, 2008 @ 2:38 pm

Agree with with the conclusion, but will u buy a car that is 5 star in quality (Toyota) rather than 2 star quality (Proton) ?

Which one u prefer?

Plus, VVT-i technology is year 1997, proton only can get Campro CPS (no intelligent) by year 2007 (if not mistaken), new engine still need a lot improvement, not like VVT-i for Vios !

who gave this rating??since when vios was given a 5 star in quality department??

people in our country always have the mentality that expensive means better in all aspect and i dont know why even till today malaysians still having the same mentality..even i do at times..cant help it..

but if you buy a vios at the price offered here in Malaysia(overpriced even if NAP and taxes contribute to this factor)

would you complain saying its bad,poor quality and all??i bet u wont to your proton and perodua owners..but once you to the service center you start complain about this and that..this is all due to EGO..

few months back i went out with a few guys frm australia..one of them own a mercedes E 240 year 2005 and another guy own a BMW 5 series and year 2005 as well..

so when both of them were talking about their car..they both were like trying to say they own a better car..no problem,cheap maintenance and etc..they were keep on defending their car saying all sort of thing and after a few glass of beer they even said some stupid stuff like women prefer men in BMW that in merdeces n all that crap…

a week later i intro the BMW owner to my boss who also
    has the same car but a year older(2004) and both were complaining about BMW (imagine that) they said brake pads alone cost RM 800 for the front and tyres cant be switch frm rear to from and all sort of complains..and both agreed their next car will be a audi or lexus..and i was saying to myself people will never get satisfied with what they have..

this is ego which makes alot of different..people who buy a vios at 80K wouldnt complain to a proton owner because he has paid a higher price…and he would say he prefer a proton next..because he already pay 30K more that a proton owner did…

and about quality issue..if persona n vios to be compared i guess the only problem/complain so far is the buttons which has no feedback in persona..and tats about it!!even FC is around the same…both my friend consume average rm 15 petrol daily to work frm ampang to bandar utama…

and my persona friend can spare rm 300 per month on installment and rm 150 to 200 on service/maintenance if compared to a Vios..so why would i bother much about quality which i feel vios is abit more refined and and good engineering designs..besides that persona wins hands down..because i m paying rm 30 k less..and lesser interest!!i would prefer a 2 star(based on ur rating) persona rather that spend rm 80k for a 5star(based on ur rating) vios….

• altis_fan (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 9:38 pm

How can they say vios is 5 star car whereas Persona is 2 star car?
    My Persona can overtake this so call 5 star car easily. The performace of Persona is so great that within an eye blink the vios is already way at the back. So where is the VVTI tech? Cannot chalenge CAMPRO engine performance. The only thing I know vios can challenge or beat Persona is the price. Ha ha ha…

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:22 pm

rt said,
    October 11, 2008 @ 12:43 pm

aenz81,
    I agree with your Waja vs Vios..
    I did smoked some Hondas and Toyotas in the tight corners of KL-Karak highway with the Persona.
    But sometimes it is the driver, not the car.
    You must be a very good driver…
    —————————————————————-
    Actually rt, my Waja vs my daddy Honda city… i’m a bit surprise that u can smoked some honda and toyotas with non IAFM/CPS persona… but yes, why not as it have a better handling than Waja.. a normal Campro enjin just sluggish on “low end” below 4000rpm… beyond that, it’s will transform from a little “cat” into a “tiger”… And, i’m not a very good driver… i’m just have so many driving experiences with local and abroad car… i can say that vios and persona quality is “adequate” with the same range of quality…

And, dont drive to fast beyond the limits…. think of your love one…. happy motoring…

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:25 pm

if u hear a BOOM! in Thailand….

that means a Persona exploded….haha!

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:35 pm

correction here:-
    “And, i’m not a very good driver… i’m just have so many driving experiences with local and abroad car”<<– BAD ANSWER!! LOL….
    —————————————————————-
    i’m sorry rt,… i’m just a normal driver with a lot of driving experiences in local and abroad car… (change with this sentences)

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:39 pm

ah liew said,
    October 11, 2008 @ 10:25 pm

if u hear a BOOM! in Thailand….

that means a Persona exploded….haha!
    —————————————————————-
    Haiya Ah Liew… i didn’t hear exploding sound from here… that mean nothing happen with our own Proton Persona in thailand…

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 8:59 am

Hi people, i am still frustrated that there are still some people that VVT-i works the same as CPS….People WAKE UP! VVT-i IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT FROM CPS! Get ur facts right! If u guys follow toyota’ engine development, the Valvematic in the new Toyota Avensis is the one similar to CPS. So in terms of technology Proton’s Campro is not far behind! The only difference is that toyota incorparated both the Valvematic and VVT-i in the new Avensis, whereas the Campro CPS has the CPS and VIM. For the normal Campro, it has the IAFM. So who said Proton is behind in terms of tech? Proton is gonna have variable valve timing system also in their new turbo engine….Cheers!

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 9:34 am

si-fu, i love to hear that “new turbo engine” :)
    hehehe..
    probably new SUV from proton + turbo engine will be my ride?
    about handling, i’m sure proton guys are very well good in that.

btw,
    do consumers really know the differences in those “3or4-alphabets-thingy”? ;)

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 10:16 am

God.of.War said,
    October 11, 2008 @ 2:38 pm

Which one u prefer?

—————————————————————————
    since when vios was “rated” as 5star vehicle?? BMW 320 series just been rated as 3star even it was a better ride than a Vios… And since when Persona has been rated as 2star vehicle as the Waja that used the same meterial as Persona was rated as 3star ride… where did u get this information?? can u give me the damm link so i can post it here.. Again God.of.War, don’t or never ever simply blindly rate, comment and bash before u know or get the right facts and informations… I need to search, read more facts and informations before giving any comment about the car… so, be careful.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 11:18 am

Farghmee,

U will ‘hear’ and ‘feel’ the turbo engine soon! So please be patient ya!
    The problem with nowdays people with car related abreviations are that they just dun know it and understand it, for instance the VVT-i, many people dont even know wat it stands for, furthermore know it works. Most people dont even know that the VVT-i and DVVT frm P2 is the same exact system, and many people cant differentiate betteween VALVE TIMING and VALVE LIFT! Both are different prociples but are related to each other. What Toyota and Perodua has is a VALVE TIMING variable system, where the system varies when the valve opens, either earlier or later (advance or retard) What Proton has as CPS is a VALVE LIFT system where the system has a dual setting where the valve can open normal, or open larger thus allowing more to go in. Nissan’s CVTC is a VALVE TIMING system, for everybody’s information. The best system is to have both, valve timing and valve lift varied accordingly to obtain the best performance like the engine in the Toyota Avensis which has Valvematic (Valve Lift) and VVT-i ( Valve Timing) and also the legendary VTEC which uses a cam phasor to vary the valve timing and a dual lobe setting for the Valve Lift. Cheers!

• awak (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 3:43 pm

sifu, what different VIM and inteligent or dynamic vvt, is that tuning interval,

in vim, tuning interval happened 2 different range of rpm
    but intelligent or dynamic or continous vvt tuning is at a very close interval, probally nearly real time,

so which one the batter ,refined, at lower engine speed?.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 5:32 pm

Awak,

Actually u can’t compare VIM system and VVT-i system directly also. It works on totally different priciple. The VIM system has two intake settings, the long runner and short runner. At low RPM’s below 4800 rpm, it uses the long runner. In the long runner mode, the air travel a longer pathway thus allowing more time for fuel to mix wit the air throughly. Above 4800 rpm, it shifts to short runner where the engine needs air quickly and fast so it travels a shorter path. At high rpm’s the engine becomes less efficient thus the combustion quality reduces, by using the short runner this phenomena can be improved.
    The VVT-i in the other hand, what it does is to retard or advance the timing of the valve. This simply means delaying or advancing the intake valve opening so that the air-fuel mixture can enter a little bit more than usual. Sometimes the opening time overlaps with closing time of the exhaust valve. Even though the time difference is minute or very small, but it gives a big difference because engines run at many thousand revolutions. So when u multipy the torque and power of revolution to a few thousand, u can see a significant difference to the performance of the engine mostly in terms of torque.
    The VIM and the VVT-i system serves the same purpose, mostly to improve the torque, give a better range or spread the torque range to give a more responsive and torqier engine. However as i said be4 both this systems work with different priciples. At low engine speeds, i have to say that the VVT-i has a SLIGHT advantage over the VIM system, because it constantly varies the timing but the VIM only runs in one setting, however at high engine speeds, the VIM helps the engine better then the VVT-i system because at high speeds changes in the timing becomes negligible due to the rapid opening and closing of the valves. Thus at high speed, a better air flow into the engine and a bigger valve opening (valve lift – CPS) will give a better performance then the VVT-i. Hope this has answered ur question. Cheers!

• awak (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm

At low engine speeds, i have to say that the VVT-i has a SLIGHT advantage over the VIM system, (sifu said)

sifu, for that SLIGHT matter, it would slightly effect on fuel efficiency,
    or a bit differ in torque spread, SLGHTLY.

for that slight matter, i think i would hapilly accept campro VIM CPS, and of course CPS will be an advantage over the HP, as the melodic cam changing would uplift the spirit of sportivo du proton.

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 12:27 pm

si-fu, so you say the vvt will be used in proton later, will it be in campro.
    as a replacement feature for iafm, or vim.
    because vvt or tuned intake purposely in favour of improving lower range torque, if vvt comes then the use of tuned intake is void,?

• zzua (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:43 pm

wahh turbo proton…coming soon ah sifu ?

• shooter (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 7:06 pm

my wish is an all natural homegrown/ made in M’sia motor that has all the bells and whistle-continuous variable valve timing AND lift on both intake AND exhaust valves, variable intake, variable back pressure exhaust system, direct injection, cylinder cut-off and variable geometry turbo- be it petrol, diesel and/or bi-fuel.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:00 pm

a real fucked up thai guy will buy this car

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm

sure…. i rather wait and see……
    most probably i wont take the risk…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:02 pm

are u from thailand?

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:25 am

hm…. Persona was a great car…

-won 2008 gold dragon award
    -best car 2008 beat the other competitors such as Vios, City and Latio in term of engine performance, shape design, quality improvement, comfortable, reasonable price and much more…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 11:17 am

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 16, 2008 @ 9:02 pm

are u from thailand?

nope !!!!!!!!!!!! from johor bahru !!!!!!!!!

• Peroistopper (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:46 am

Yup..I agree with si-fu said -Whats the point of launching in Malaysia as the market is limited only to klang valley currently (and maybe certain other states which is very few)? Thats the main reasaon why Proton neva launch any CNG/NGV vehicles locally since the refuelling station is very few and mostly dominated by the taxis.

Even Sarawak also don’t have the NGV station eventhough Bintulu plant producing it locally.

• magnusleong (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 12:38 am

This is quite off topic. Wahahahaha… You guys are quite horny lah, about the white dress girl.Her name is Araya Hargate a.k.a Chomphoo which means jambu fruit in Thai, hahahaha… She is a famous celebrity in Thailand. She is half Thai and half English.No !!! She is not a “shemale”. I spent of most of my holidays in Thailand(I am a half Malaysian half Thai), so I know quite a lot about Thailand. Anyway, the automobile market in Thailand is very huge. They have all types of cars over there, including very rare brands like Hummer, Spyker,TVR and all those. Thai people love pick-ups a lot, and the Toyota Hilux and Isuzu D-Max are the best selling models over there. The Toyota Hilux is marketed as Hilux Vigo and comes in many variants including a 3.0L commonrail turbo version. CNG and LPG usage on consumer level bloomed within the past few years in Thailand, as the oil prices in Thailand is quite expensive, but the prices keep on going up and down. I think Proton is making a good move by testing it in Thailand first as the Thai people are more familiar with alternative fuel systems.Thailand has been the “white mouse” for many years as almost all carmakers have assembly plants over there, making Thailand the Detroit of the East and the Thai people have faster access to latest models than Malaysians and Singaporeans. This can be proven by Toyota’s IMV project which the Hilux, Fortuner and Innova models which are made available worldwide, one of the assembly plants for the IMV project is in Thailand. Moreover, due to good government policies, car prices in Thailand are superbly cheap(Example, the best variant for Toyota Vios is below RM60k), in which contributes more of Thailand being a “white mouse”. There are more gas fuelling stations in Thailand compared to Malaysia. They use terms like Gasohol, E20 and blah blah in which Malaysians are not quite familiar with.

Oh ya, The Toyota Vios(2006 facelift) sucks in some ways. I know because as being a passenger of the car for about 3 years already. First of all, I don’t it is because of bad luck or whatever that my father’s Vios is quite a disaster. First, my father’s Vios air con was a pain in the ass. He got it fixed at UMW for more than 3 times, and the problem still presist. It was a filter problem I think as large amount of “outside odour” is not filtered. Second, the main console was also the pain in the ass, and my father got it fixed at UMW for more than 3 times also, but problem still presist. It makes loud cracking sounds frequently. Third are the window rubbers, keeps on going loose some times, but my father have not fixed them yet. So my father who is a big time Toyota fan was quite disappointed with his 3 year old Vios. Hahahahhaa….Talking about Toyota quality…… The new Vios looks like shit lah, just my two cents. New Honda City seribu kali better. haha