Petrol and diesel price slash from tomorrow!

Fuel-Wallet GaugeIt was just a few days ago that Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad said a fuel price cut could be coming at the end of the month, but it looks like the government has decided to drop the prices earlier – tomorrow! The amount slashes is also more than the maximum of 12 sen that was previously indicated.

The following are the new prices of fuel in Malaysia slashed between 10 sen to 20 sen, effective on the 15th of October 2008:

Fuel Old Price Reduction New Price
RON97 RM2.45 RM0.15 RM2.30
RON92 RM2.30 RM0.10 RM2.20
Diesel RM2.40 RM0.20 RM2.20

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ralliace (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:28 pm

Good!

• chris (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:30 pm

there go rakyat’s $

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:38 pm

whatever…

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:39 pm

better than nothing!
    really hope other food and grocerry price will drop.
    Gov did a very bad decision on June caused everything’s price increase!! Don’t know whether they do a in-depth study before raise the price?

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:43 pm

let’s celebrate!!!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:45 pm

The damage is still there. Rakyat still suffer. I don’t see there will be ease much since our cost of living will not drop. It just end up earning more by the businessman.

Btw, last time when up 78sen. The petrol station organization start bising. Now price slash, any words from them? Should they volunteer in reducing their commission as well?

• ragnahse (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:53 pm

petrol n diesel nw same price..malaysian government..implement euro 4 standards so we te rakyat can enjoy more diesel powered vehicles….n lower te bloody tax on european cars..they re so light years ahead in terms of efficiency n perfomance…..n y is it so bloody hard to find fuel consumption figures from manufacturers website in malaysia?????? they re not required to publish it?…we deserve to enjoy wat te other parts of the world are enjoying n malaysians r becoming more informative……erghhhhhh…….

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm

i will be over the moon on this reduction if the crude price reduced marginally. But the crude is down by nearly half and this reduction is merely an insult. They think we all cant count. What happened to the 30 sen subsidy?If they are serious, show us the formula and prove us wrong. Meantime, i dont like to subsidies the g everytime i fill up.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:56 pm

lol nothing new and suprising, haha

• V8 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:30 pm

What is done is done.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:31 pm

Well, it’s things to celeb..for a short while.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:37 pm

good step…next…is for prices of goods to follow downwards….since a major part of their expenses is geting lower by the month

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:39 pm

sound something funny, it was used to Diesel much cheaper than the 97, but slowly it became almost same?

• kahing (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:11 am

Not that I’m not grateful for the reduction, but true as 9166 said. When the crude oil price soared high up, they increased the pump price by 78 sen. Now it has gone down by almost half, I don’t see the price being reduced to where it was before ?

They should do a in-depth study before hiking the price. Actually, in Malaysia, there’s never an in-depth of anything. They just do it like Nike. Just do it, and then crap about it later. But they are going to review and revise the price weekly and I’m really watching out as to how true is that gonna be. Or maybe it’s just another crap.

Yaye ! Price has gone down by another 15 sen, *claps claps* rolls eyes *yawns*

• muharifz (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:24 am

at least better than nothing…so lets be businessman if we want to make more $$$. No point blaming them and as the sayings…Cannot Win Them, Join Them…

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:41 am

YES LETS BISNES!

I WANT TO BE A PETROL OPERATOR

U ALL CAN FILL IN AT MY STATION……….

• chee89 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:59 am

yea.. sooner or later, gonna get slashed back down to Rm1.92.
    square 1.

but with already increased price in food and other commodities.
    but apparently, our economy is strong enough to face world recession!
    so cheers!

• jonat (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:40 am

Paul, today I bought industrial diesel at RM2.07, cheaper than what you pay at the pump. And for those who do not know, it comes from the same pump so same quality. GOV is cheating US! Subsidize? HAHAHA

• shamel (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:43 am

TODAY:
    Oil Dashboard
    October, Tuesday 14 2008 – 17:17:43

Crude Oil
    $79.30 ?0.67 0.85%
    17:39 PM EDT – 2008.10.14

Global Fuel Price = 79.30 USD=277.951 MYR
    1 barrel= 159 liter

United States Dollars Malaysia Ringgits 1 USD = 3.50506 MYR 1 MYR = 0.285302 USD

1 liter of fuel price > 277.951 MYR / 159 liter = RM 1.748 =RM1.75
    If government still subsidize = RM 0.30 (l personally think the Government should or otherwise reduce the car price to more RATIONAL level than NOW (artificially INSANE: remember when richer Japanese pay RM50k+- for their Wish 1.8 [brand new] we pay around RM150k for 2006-7 recond unit or RM156k for bona fide 2.0 Wish!!!!!!!

Price if we follow logic given when government increase to RM2.70 from RM1.92 > RM 1.75 – RM 0.30 = RM 1.45 (we can help the government if we pay RM1.75 and something should be done to ask foreigners to pay full price and systemic system that fool proof need to figure out, i.e update eligibility of subsidy or pricing for fuel like Iran’s gas card system)

Today price = RM 2.30 sen (weekly fluctuate pricing maybe more useful if the dynamic like current trend).
    Difference that government of Malaysia make/loss= RM 2.30 – RM 1.75 = RM 0.75 per liter.

To summarize: the government must be very prudence when deciding any fate for us. Otherwise, penny wise, pound foolish. The government can save more in other unnecessary expenditure that can only benefit few groups at the expense of vast majority, and more importantly general economic.

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:13 am

we will soon see char koay teow at rm10 per plate. A great thanks to our government! Thanks god that he is going out!!

• rexis (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:19 am

Interested to see how fast they can “react” if oil price shoot thru 100 again…

• abtm (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

the damage is done

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:10 am

kahing said,
    October 15, 2008 @ 1:11 am

Not that I’m not grateful for the reduction, but true as 9166 said. When the crude oil price soared high up, they increased the pump price by 78 sen. Now it has gone down by almost half, I don’t see the price being reduced to where it was before ?
    ———

Simple explaination? The G has shot itself in the foot yet again. They can reduce price more…but can’t since they already issued the $625 cash subsidy. Some of us actually benefited from this. With 3 cars (3x$625) and about 1000kms total between them/month (I know, i’m underusing my cars), I was breaking even with $2.70, now at 2.30, my fuel cost is even less than before the price hike.

But that said, general cost of living is still pegged at $2.70….so there we have it, the net result isn’t too sunny.

Its unlikely we will see $1.92 again…

I wonder how many people believed the Government when they said Malaysia will not be affected by the global downturn……riiiiiiight.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:56 am

Hi,

I’m one of the lucky few people refueling at the petrol station last night (at 2am) without realizing the fuel has dropped to Rm2.30 per liter. I thought the fuel pump system has went hay-wire so I just kept quiet thinking that I’m the luckiest chap out there with “lebih kilometer” advantage. It turns out I didn’t bother to switch on the tv news about the drop in fuel price.

Yeah, I describe our “fuel price scandal” as fund mismanagement by the government. Many thanks to them, now I can’t see the goodness of using the Rm625.00 rebate system plus with the fuel price drop of Rm2.30 per liter. Might as well cancel the rebate system and bring our fuel price back to Rm2.00 per liter. But that will not be fair for those who haven’t fully taken the advantage of the rebate system.

Anyways, Pak Lah should step down now and not wait until March 2008. Damage has been done. Rather than abandoning the ship (BN) we should be ditching the under-perform Captain (Pak Lah) to the sea. And let Captain Davey Jones pick him up as “kuli” on his Flying Dutchman.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:19 am

Not too shabby…a little goes a long way as they say…heheh…

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:18 am

hidup pak hahhahaha!

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:19 am

ops silap,
    hidup pak lah!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:34 am

oh…I am soooooooooooo very happy. I want to sing…….LA LA LA LA LA LA………

• kingv6 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Petrol price already down…
    What about the price for ayam, beras, tambang bas, gula, garam, simen, batu , pasir, etc !!!!

We are still screwed..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:54 pm

can’t turst thjis G anymore

• BrakeFader (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:59 pm

Why RON92 reduction is less? Those using Motor only enjoy a bit difference. Shouldn’t they reduce it on parallel with Ron97 as well?

• keretakura (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:35 pm

Waiting for next general election … feel want to change to a new G la …. they are not relevant anymore (BN’s cronies getting rich & rich) ….. my unforgettable memory …. the 5th Prime Minister is a “FATHER OF INFLATION”

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:40 pm

Salamz and Hi,

I know my joke is a bit lame… but… Look at the bright side…

Next time, if the crude oil price shoots to RM150 per barrel, at least the businessmen will have no excuse to raise the price of goods. Now that the price of items are based on the RM150 per barrel. Haha. Lol.

• torque (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Sikit jer?! Should be at least RM2.10, then you G nak kelentong observe the world oil price ke, ape ke, kelentong lah…aku dah bosan dah but I’m still thankful of the reduction altough it’s not from the bottom of my heart!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:33 pm

Its indeed better…..
    Those whom complaining about small reduction in fuel price, remember one thing, its including the RM 650 rebate dat u guyz are enjoyin’…. so dont simply always go against government’s decision though they are bloody hell in certain issues…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Naik harge becoz of govt, turun harge oso becoz of the govt.

remind me of a chinese saying: “Orang pun dia, Hantu pun dia”

• kahing (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:44 am

Instead of all the bullshit, they should all analyze what the F is wrong with our country’s financial instability these days. Development ? Maybe. Inflation ? Maybe. Malaysian Ringgit became weaker ? Most likely. Corruption ? YES YES YES YES !! BULLS EYE ! Like I said before, there are SO many ‘poor’ to feed, we have to suffer.

But I’m still waiting for G to have the balls to drop the price back to where it was. Then I’ll really salute them. If not, VOTE FOR A NEW GOVERNMENT !!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:53 pm

support pakatan rakyat

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 11:29 pm

I want cheaper price..Fuel down, but prices still the same :(

• b4nd3r (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 6:00 am

Malaysia .. ooo Malaysia … your automobile tax is too ridiculous. Suddenly set a significant increase in fuel prices. Later, cut down the price slowly. Ni strategi ape camni niii? Ni mesti sebab tak pernah men sim city ni. You might lose your credibility as leader.

Might as well follow the American. Let the local fuel price fluctuates as per world crude oil price.

Just reserve some fixed & reasonable margin of subsidy between the cost and the sales price. The result, government should have less burden together will receive less complain from Malaysian (who always feel that they are less fortunate than others).

But, they should have realized that the tremendous increase in crude oil price should be resulting high inflation rate and also it’s the early sign of world’s economic downturn. Economic model .. ooooo Economic model … where are you ! !