Proton MPV spyshots, and its not a Toyota Wish-based test mule this time!

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

This could possibly be the first spyshots of the new Proton MPV and it’s all thanks to reader the_king, who snapped them on the highway near the Prai Industrial Estate. We previously saw the car’s drivetrain being tested in a test mule based on the Toyota Wish.

I believe that judging from the proportions in these photos you can already judge that the MPV will be quite tall, which should mean good headroom which is especially needed when you are trying to get into the third row from the second row doors.

As with the Satria Neo spyshots, there is no front view as the photographer was alone in the car. We can see a little bit of the vertical rear lamps exposed and as expected they have a similiar layout to the one in the teaser video, with the brake light positioned at the bottom and the signal lamps at the top.

Those wheels look like they’re 15 inches in size but because this is a prototype test vehicle, the wheels could be different or perhaps the right size but of a different design than the one that will go onto the production vehicle. But even so, we can’t see that detail in these photos because the Proton MPV was moving.

Look after the jump for 2 more shots, or have a look at my previous posts linked below with exclusive details on the new Proton MPV.

VIDEO SPYSHOT: 2009 Proton MPV sighted on the MRR2!
VIDEO SPYSHOT: Not one, but TWO Proton MPVs on the PLUS highway!
Proton MPV: exclusive initial details revealed!
Proton MPV first test batch to roll out mid-September 2008
Proton MPV sketches preview production model!

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:08 pm

I’m 1 st !!!looks like NIssan Grand Livina!!!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Toyota Advaza!!!!…

• hadzrin9 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:20 pm

aduhai.. siannyer design mpv ni.. nampak mcm tak cantik langsung! hampeh!!

• hadzrin9 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm

aduhai.. siannyer design mpv ni! tak menarik langsung! ni design mpv nissan grand livina.. tiruu je laa!! hampeh!!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:31 pm

Why no front pic 1? Onli the back. Not shiok enuf. Seems not bad from the back.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Proton Basher Team on stand by mode…

• dewasemut (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Judging from the pic, this MPV is actually quite huge! I wonder if Proton’s 1.6 CPS under the hood will be sufficient to move this MPV. I have to say the design is quite nice and clean and hopefully it will be translated to its performance and handling. I am pretty sure it will be well accepted to Malaysian market and foreign market later.

I hope Proton will speed up its effort to introduce this MPV in bigger engine capacity like 1.8 lt to 2.0 lt (with better fuel efficiency) and also to introduce the NGV version.

Well done Proton! (I hope that Proton will choose the name sent by me for this MPV!!!! – there is 1:251,000 chance I might win it! hahaha)

• Keepthepace (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:38 pm

Where is the front pictures ?? :(

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:40 pm

quite a disguise…
    maybe as tall as innova?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Can’t wait to know what kinda engine will be under the hood. Hopefully it’ll be an upgraded version of Campro. Most probably the CPS version. However, may hope that it can come with a better 1. Campro CPS 1.8L sounds more interesting.

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:42 pm

look nice from the back.more spyshots!!

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:42 pm

lemme guess…1.6cps turbo?

• niGht kiD (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:43 pm

The photographer aka driver was driving alone.. Turning back to take a photo shot is just not possible, or simply too dangerous.

• theking (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:49 pm

Dun wori, this MPV will be the best quality ever produced by Proton!
    The engine will be Campro CPS 1.6.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:55 pm

Oh-haaa! Hmmm…

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:03 pm

I think paul got so excited with the spyshots that he mis-spelled the title, ‘Wish-baesd’…..hahahahahaha…chill paul! Take a breather and please do correct ur spelling ya!

Cheers!

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:32 pm

not so bad any info on prices 70K-80K???

• zzua (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:37 pm

livina stance, innova size :P… yum!

• azrai (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Refer this http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,1117.0.html Looks like avanza hybrid with Citra.

• waja2000 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:54 pm

numb3r7mu said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 2:32 pm
    not so bad any info on prices 70K-80K???

Price around 65-70K

• CFA28 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:55 pm

Looks like quite a big MPV. 1.6CPS will be underpowered unless its a turbo but you don’t find many turbocharged MPVs. Lets hope its a 2.0L CPS and selling for less than the Rondo and with more features.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:12 pm

Dun worry people, underpowered issue has been solved.
    I can only say that much right now!

Cheers!

• bem69 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Well, all I can say, it looks exactly like the clay model I’ve seen, but the plate number holder is at the bumper now.. hmmm

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm

well…well… i think i need to start saving now..

• hareshi (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:32 pm

D back viper like kinda sesat outta angle…..?!

• jk (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm

The wheels look a bit of undertyred

Rear wiper similar to the ones used in Myvi, Avanza, etc

Below the wiper, there’s sumthin poping/jutting out…I predict it would be the proton lion/tiger logo or could it be the rear boot knob opener or whatever u call it…

cant comment much but overall looks promising…Proton First MPV…

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Dun worry people, underpowered issue has been solved.
    I can only say that much right now!

Cheers!
    (sifu)
    ———————————-
    any hint please,
    i hope it not the gear box that 100kmh/3000.

very much appreciate if it from the engine itself which is torque, therefore able to push
    100kmh/at 2700 or the lower the batter,

• bem69 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:53 pm

sifu : any news whether it will be fuel efficient?

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:53 pm

hareshi,

that because the actuall size of back-screen is kinda larger from the spyshot picture..

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:56 pm

hareshi,

that because the actuall size of back-screen is kinda larger than on the spyshot picture..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:12 pm

The car looks taller than it is because of the rear camo. The rear screen is actually quite large/lower, given the location of the rear wiper.

It probably throws the looks off since the wheels are quite small. I’m sure it would look better porportioned with 16″ or larger wheels.

My only concerned is the powerplant and if its powerful engouh to lug a big vehicle AND the stuff you can cram into it. Unfortunately, we will have to be wait for the launch…

and as always for a proton, reliability is a big question mark, and risking getting flamed, I will still have to point this out. We just had a brand new Perdana company car overheat on the highway. So there you go proton, doen’t really inspire confidence that you cant get an old product working right, let alone a new one……

I hope you end up making a good car, competition is always welcomed in the auto business…..good for us.

• nyawere (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:18 pm

i think the back wind shiled is actually much bigger than the picture, cause the wiper position is way too low. I think the taped it black to make it look smaller. And if u look at the earlier clay model, it actually slunting down like a V shape.

And if u look at the 3rd row window (imagine it untaped) it looks almost as long as the 2nd row. This means that this car is no longer in Avanza territory, but alreamy mau makan Innova (in terms of size)

Whatever it is, i am proud that Proton is finally getting it right…!

• nyawere (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:19 pm

sorry, forgot the link to the clay model

http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb317/quwaidirulhadiif/mpv_rear.jpg

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:42 pm

If there’s a 1.8 or 2.0 in that thing, maybe they should put it in the H-Line Gen-2 and kick the CPS 1.6 into the L-Line and M-Line models.

• jk (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:46 pm

The wheels look a bit of undertyred

Rear wiper similar to the ones used in Myvi, Avanza, etc

Below the wiper, there’s sumthin poping/jutting out…I predict it would be the proton lion/tiger logo or could it be the rear boot knob opener or whatever u call it…

cant comment much but overall looks promising…Proton First MPV…

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Waahhh looks nice la.

This one sell RM58K will be great lor.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Regarding the underpower issue, the problem has been solved, many things have been looked into, ECU mapping, resonator box for the snorkel (air intake system), gear box ratio, and so on. Dun worry about the final ratio, as the final ratio is set for crusing and low fc, its the other 4 (3 for AT) ratios that has been tweaked. The fc test is still going on, and if also the results are out, i can’t reveal it here and u guys need to wait for the figures on launching day! Sorry abt that ya!

Cheers!

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:59 pm

so huge

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Body looks big… So can the 1600cc engine moce the car?
    The tyre is so small…

• kucau (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:19 pm

sifu: FC result is NOT OUT YET?? huh! so what if the result show the fc is very2 bad, what proton can do?

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:26 pm

If the results are not as expected or targetted, certain measures or improvements will be done to improve the fc. U guys dont need to worry abt the fc, as it is a main concern for everybody especially car manufacturers. So be assured that when the mpv is lauched, everything is superb!

Cheers!

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:28 pm

Belief it or not …..this is Chery Eastar based Proton MPV

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:36 pm

si-fu, do you work at Proton? <_<;

• ragnahse (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:08 pm

is te wiper misplaced..seems too small for te huge windscreen..if it is indeed proton mpv…all d best proton..

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:10 pm

What MPV is this??
    http://monfere.blogspot.com/2008/10/exclusive-uknown-mpv-spotted.html

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:11 pm

Proton Gerobok is coming…
    Syed Zainal, dont ever think wanna sell it well,but build it well first!
    But all proton all builds sucks,but well selling also.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:18 pm

at least its on a proper monocoque chassis.. mpv looks like it rides quite low to the road, unlike van-based avanza and innova that ride really high up. the ‘camo’ is surprisingly light, with only the rear section covered up, (and maybe the front), with the side panels uncovered.
    looks wide also. space should not be an issue i think.

• clover leaf (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:35 pm

the car dimension looks like it’s kerb weight around 1.5 metric ton.
    poor power/weight ratio if fitted with 125PS 1.6 cps powertrain.
    anything lesser than 150PS pulling this car, for sure FC is bad and underpowered.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:39 pm

Base on the photo it’s size look quite same as Innova and the wheel base height is lower than most of the MPV so expected to have a greater cruising stability….

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 7:32 pm

with the size of this mpv, it seems comfortable 6 seater is quite possible if u dont include performance issue, its a people mover, not a rocket bus. afterall, since when mpv is going to be fuel economic? im estimating it’s fuel consumption should be around 8L/100km

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Seriously UGLY

• nazuaf (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:17 pm

No sliding rear passenger door? But the overall design looks nice… sliding rear passenger door and this one will be in my shortlist..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:32 pm

Proton MPV Details

Proton’s new baby seems to be quite a technological achievement too for the company. According to one of my spies, this is the first Proton model which will use Super High Tensile Steel, supplied by Posco, Korea. Even Perodua has not used it yet, and Perodua’s MPV (due end of next year) will not use it either.

This new material is lighter and stronger than high tensile steel. This is good because currently the MPV it seems will be using a 1.6L Campro engine.

Proton has been shopping around for new engines, and we heard they even went to Nissan to check out what they can get.

But so far, the 1.6l Campro engine is confirmed for the time being. Of course if the 1.6L Campro turbo engine Proton is working on in UK comes out good, we might see that engine in the MPV.

Another highlight will be the plastic fenders, similar to the ones used by Nissan in the X-Trail (the model still sold here). Again, this will help to save weight.

Local blogs have published pictures of the MPV’s clay model. My source says that the MPV looks better than that, but having similarities with the Toyota Wish is possible as the chief designer drives one, and is very active in the local Wish club.

Nobody knows how the interior looks like yet, but when Proton first did their studies on MPV (back when they just launched the Waja), one of the benchmark vehicles used was the Opel Zafira/Chevrolet Nabira.

• mct (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:35 pm

aiyoyo
    why some of people are so degil ??
    already said so so many times
    avanza is a monocoque
    unlike the innova which use ladder structure
    some high end mpv like mazda 8 are also using ladder structure and selling at 200k , is that a problem ???

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:48 pm

Proton seems to be moving in the right direction… =)

• kody (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:35 pm

wahlaueh…

price tag will play important role to make P1 MPV success. If P1 still want to maximum profits with high price, i believe the sales may not able to sustain hot for long.
    I personally expect ~70k or below will be reasonable as MPV have different tax structures. you can see Naza Citra 2.0 just 7xk plus… local assembly… value for money…
    So, P1 when determine the price tag for MPV, please look for long term strategy rather short term to recover insvestment with high price tag.

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:56 pm

this will never look like avanza, im sorry,
    just look at wheel track in relation to its height,

tear off the mask, then you ll know, its look great.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:59 pm

funny how the rear look. somehow it rather look like kenari’s rear.

• hypermount (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:07 pm

now who ain’t proud of proton’s achievement…this really made my day and smiled wide. Finally a true people mover!

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:14 pm

naza citra 80 to 84k,
    rondo 84 to 88k
    avanza 70+

basically the price gap 10k or plus lesser, then entry level of a citra, will catch the public,
    and handling wise, it wont be a 4×4 ride feel like avanza,
    design, good, concept derived from APX lotus,

tell me what do you want?

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:34 pm

If you guys know.. u can’t decide how it will look just by those pics alone..

‘cos they indeed know how to disguise the proportions

It is indeed big.

u know they cover the back door with some plank and number plate placed on the bumper where the final production isn’t.

That alone will make a huge impact on how we ‘see’ the car.

• mazda6 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:20 pm

I agree with majuperak. The proton MPV chassis is based on Chery’s mpv.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:41 pm

the design of A-pillar that flows to the fron fender n bonnet actually looks alot like the latest generation honda stream…looks tall , long….but not very wide….i prefer to see the front rather than rear since most mpv rear end have somewat similar design due to their vertical end

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Hmm.. I can’t say much, but i’m pretty excited about this MPV.

Si-Fu, i got a few questions. Hope that you can answer them:

1) Does this MPV share the same platform as the Waja?
    2) Since it’s using the Campro CPS engine, are the torque figures the same: 150Nm@4500rpm? Or Proton has tweaked them so that the torque arrives lower: E.g @3500rpm.

Thanks.

• csv (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:08 am

oh shit. this could give the grand livina a run for it’s money.

but we’ll see.

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:15 am

Si-fu.
    Will there be a diesel powered version? Turbo with intercooler and a 5 speeder will surely get me excited.Low to mid range torque will be much welcomed. And yes, please tell them to put in standard regardless of model
    1)ABS as standard
    2) At least 2 front airbags as standard
    3) Maybe optional stability program or braking assist for top of the range.

Many middle class families will be carting their whole families around. don’t want to hear accidents involving the whole family with 3 generations wiped out..

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:29 am

Put in the safety features as standard, build it properly and price it just below the Avanza and I say Proton got a winner. I can’t imagine anyone in for a MPV will dismiss this. Afterall, most families want a reasonable sized and safe vehicle to transport their family members. And affordable too.Must also address the power and fuel consumption issues.

Most of the sub 100k MPVs in the market are underpowered and fuel guzzlers.

One up for
    Proton the Toytoy car slayer.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:36 am

‘Proton the Toytoy car slayer.’

9166, haha, i like the sound of that.

Btw, Si-Fu, do you work in the powertrain department? Hope you can answer my previous questions. If everything’s confidential, then it’s ok.

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:44 am

Yes, yes, for once I hoped that Proton can take on the big boys at Toytoy car.
    These jap mpvs are starting to take the Malaysian motoring public for a ride.
    Give them a kosong kosong peng vehicle and price it just above Proton, results: reap in max profits.

So for once, let Proton send them back to where they belong. to toytoy land..

• bernal (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:54 am

very very look like the chery eastar as I can see both of them from the side & rear view. Seem there is a rumour said that it might be based on eastar ?

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:42 am

Hahahahahha….looks like everybody getting excited!
    I will try to answer the question u guys posted as best as i can but my answers may be limited!

1) The platform is not based on waja but a new platform.
    2) The torque output from the engine is roughly the same, but how, where n when the torque is sent to the wheels is different.
    3) I cant discuss about the trim levels, but i wanna highlight something here, safety IS NOT equivalent to abs and air bags only. The main safety of a vehicle need to be evaluated from the structure of the vehicle itself. How it reacts to crash in various places, front impact, front pole impact, side impact and intrusion, rear impact, roof impact and so on. Then comes the matter of distributing the force of the impact, crumple zone, cabin integrity, and so on. In order to achieve this, the vehicle must first have A STRONG CHASIS and BODY. Then only comes ur secondary safety features such as ur airbags, abs, ebd, etc etc.. Whats the point of having all the safety features with the 3 letter word but the main chasis and body is not strong? For example, in a crash, lets say ur vehicle’s chasis is made from substandard material and is not up to par, but it has air bags for instance, and u crash with a frontal collision, what will happen is, the engine may intrude into the cabin or cocpit…u may say that the airbag will deploy and save u, do u think so? What will happen is, the engine will intrude into the cabin, thus moving ur dashboard towards u, when the airbay deploys, u will suffer from burns (airbag deploys by igniting a small amount of explosive in it, enough to give u burns on the face) and suffocate in the airbag. All this happens in the blink of an eye. So at times, airbags can even kill u, so make sure ur seat belt is always on. Thats why there is always active and passive safety systems! In order for watever safety features to work optimumly, it needs to be in a proper situation and condition first.

Cheers!

• calvin5189 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:48 am

then we can take down the proton logo & replace it with a mitsubishi logo.GREAT………..

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:19 am

Love si-fu, then love proton!

• darkwizard (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:44 am

Its good to know that Proton has insider worker to keep some information (pre-launch or non secret informations) posted here to inform public about their future products. Advantage is “Build a Vehicle based on what people wants (public inputs) and price it right for the target market. (Must take into consideration of the average salary of those East Malaysia as well)”

Thanks to “The_King” for the spy shot photos…its look like a reasonable size MPV judging from the pictures (The 15″ rim also looks smaller after matched to the body of that MPV.)

• edperdana (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:19 am

Hi Mr. Sifu has the car been crash tested yet? Does it come with SRS airbags?
    ABS EBD?

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:08 am

Salamz and Hi,

Too many question has been posted to Si-Fu (our proton counterpart). His risking his career leaking all these veil secrets to us. Many thanks. Haha. I guess he has done his job as a part of Proton’s “teaser” campaign. We will just have to be patience and wait for the launching day (I hope its very soon). Even a Proton basher like me can compromise. *grinning* Good luck Proton!

• kingv6 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:09 am

I imagined it as big as Wish but not the case here, since it looked rather compact. 1.6l Campro should do just fine. If what misterbenjo say is right with the light body weigt than i’ll give this new MPV thumbs up..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:37 am

I am surprised….just 1 picture and many ppl could comment oredi.

Wait till the car is launched…..

• shamel (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:10 pm

Better, significantly than Toyota aVANza. Avanza-buyers please reconsider your next MPV.

Still, Toyota aVANza buyers will proud of their empeevee though American-European buyers hardly to believe that aVANza a empeevee.

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:55 pm

Have they started taking booking yet?…. I love the look of its size… bigger than avanza.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:10 pm

Doesn’t look that bad and I think that it will be better than the perodua MPV and avanza. it will probably be cheaper than avanza too. so for all of you who are thinking of getting the avanza but don’t need it urgently, wait for proton MPV.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Looks to me that there is a boot release from the back, not a key hole like other proton cars. would be better if they put rear sliding doors.

• nd (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:42 pm

si-fu said,
    October 15, 2008 @ 8:42 am

2) The torque output from the engine is roughly the same, but how, where n when the torque is sent to the wheels is different.
    Mr. Si-fu, I am really curious on the “HOW” part. Torque is transmit to the wheel by a gearbox right? So the MPV must be using a different type of gearbox. Any chances it could be using a CVT type?

• madimat (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:42 pm

As usual for any Proton products, we comment based on what we see albeit very little and very early, and we make assumptions based on what we hear without even see and smell and touch and experience the actual thing.

Even a heavily masked and taped road test version also got bashed! This is a test vehicle for God sake! And nobody wanted to buy a test version of any vehicle. Wait larr until its official launch day then get all your butts out of your chair and go to the nearest Proton showrooms and go bang some doors, seats, dashboard, wheels or whatever barbarian like behaviors, like what we always do on all the Proton cars before (but we seems to behave very sweetly like a little baby when it comes to viewing a car of other makes.)

For me I will hold my strong appetite for a new Rondo before I see and taste this new Proton. Even if i have to wait for another 6 months or so. If the price is right I definitely go for this one and let scrap my Rondo plan.

.peace. !

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Roti Naan said,

October 15, 2008 @ 11:37 am

I am surprised….just 1 picture and many ppl could comment oredi.

Wait till the car is launched…..

———————————————

i’m surprised also, by your comment. coz thats what you usually do as well. (commenting on just 1 picture only)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:54 pm

it looks worse than the avanza

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:07 pm

^ it’s not even in the realm of competing with an avanza

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:24 pm

Another funny van.same league with avanza,vannete.

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:26 pm

off-topic>>
    si-fu..
    i like ur posts, very informative :)

• aker (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:29 pm

quite nice.. smooth n clean look
    definately will be a hit if the price is right..

clay model of proton mpv
    side
    http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb317/quwaidirulhadiif/ProtonMPV2.jpg

front
    http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb317/quwaidirulhadiif/mpv_front.jpg

rear
    http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb317/quwaidirulhadiif/mpv_rear.jpg

• V8 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:58 pm

Ho ho ho…proton camouflage it heavily and roadtest it. As expected, the bashers still keep their ‘praising’ effort on proton and never tired of doing so. Come on bashers, its just a test model, we don’t even know what the final product will look like. If you all keep pumping in bashing comments based on this raw & taped test model, that just show stupidity among yourselves. shame on you all! Stop giving out comments that reflect you are moron to the public since it is still a testing period for the mpv. just shut you bashin’ bstard!

• soninspired (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:13 pm

I heard rumours that new gen2 will be using cvt… wonder if this mpv or sat neo using also..

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:50 pm

chery’s chassis is using mitsu grandis’ la…even the engine is the old 4g64 s4m

• shamel (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:23 pm

#
    ALPINA BMW said,

October 15, 2008 @ 2:54 pm

it looks worse than the avanza
    #
    kei9 said,

October 15, 2008 @ 3:07 pm

^ it’s not even in the realm of competing with an avanza
    #
    BlackJKX said,

October 15, 2008 @ 3:24 pm

Another funny van.same league with avanza,vannete.
    …………….

a VANzaTO YOTA owners?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:41 pm

A very good try Proton !!! Keep it up…. Guyz, remember one thing, this is the first trial for proton to hav MPV’s in production…. So at current automotive world, its actually quite good… Hope the price tag not too high as of like the new perodua nautica… i would prefer toyota rush instead of nautica….

• kaka (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:36 pm

good job proton..Luckily I’ve seen this roadtest car on PLUS highway last saturday…Unfortunately, my camera can’t take the frontal part as it moves too fast!!
    generally da front look like livina with wish for da size..

• theking (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Gearbox 4AT and 5MT.

• arie1968 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:04 pm

How about the size for this MPV?
    More like Grand Livina, Innova, Naza Rondo, Naza Citra, Naza Ria, Nabira, Zafira, grandis, space wagon or………………………. avan za.
    Give information…
    tampal tampalpun nampak ok, but we don’t have front view shot to judge this MPV.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:41 pm

theking said,
    October 15, 2008 @ 9:44 pm

Gearbox 4AT and 5MT.

theking, the gearbox is sourced from Mitsubishi or Nissan?

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:04 am

Majuperak –

You are uninformed even with so many postings on the Proton MPV. It is NOT a Chery base. Get it?

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:09 am

SiFu –

Be careful – Proton can charge you under ISA (Insider Spy Act!)
    Anyway the spy shots is a good pre launch advertising for Proton indirectly.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:22 am

Car-craze, i am carefull…but at times scared also! hahahahahaha…

My previous post ment missing di, haiyah!

I will try to answer watever i can k guys!

1) The trim level and equipment level will be as u guys expected. Hope u guys understand wat i mean.
    2) It wont use a CVT gear box, and both the gearbox is frm moit-shui-boi-shi.

Cheers!

• tanasi (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:14 am

Keep the lid on si-fu. Be fair to the guys and gals working on the project to iron out all the problems and improve the product come launching date. No need to leak any info here and there, this isn’t a R35 GTR in the making. It is a just humble MPV for Malaysians. I understand the excitement, but let’s keep it as a surprise to our fellow Malaysians.

• GTI (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 11:36 am

it’s not bad at all.. Congrat to proton..

• bernal (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 12:02 pm

chery eastar also use mitsu gearbox+engine, and this proton mpv also mitsuuu, and the look is very similar to chery, so the fishy thing that proton mpv platform based on eastar ??

• proton.com (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 12:17 pm

car_craze said,
    October 16, 2008 @ 8:09 am

SiFu –

Agreed.

Just wait & see….

• tanos (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Si-fu: regarding safety feature, i totally agrees with u BUT the problem here is i think > 70% of malaysian (and even the sales man who is the one misleading us actually), says that air bag, ABS and EBD are the gods of car safety.

Your informations does makes me drools as i am intending to buy an MPV next year. With kids now, even my plan to buy the hybrid civic may goes down to the drain (larger space is needed for the stroller, cradle, baby formulas, Huggies diapers, toys and future little one).. haha….

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:15 pm

shamel said,

October 15, 2008 @ 7:23 pm
    a VANzaTO YOTA owners?

For your question, No.

Since this mpv is relatively larger than Avanza. Thus it isn’t oght to compete with Avanza.

But in terms of pricing wise, it might.

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:26 pm

Haiyah! If ever proton got new design, new car..all bad complaints and trash come out! all malaysians like dat ke? Opps forgot laa, malaysia suke ‘CHEAP-CHEAP GOOD GOOD’..want to buy a car like BMW but pay a price of KANCIL..no wonder mods workshop can make money, add there add here..hahaha

Proton buat fast developement pon kata curik itu Cherry punye chassy. Want to complain also dunno how to differ monocoque chasy and ladder chasy, specs never comeout also too much rumours. Itu CRV baru pakai chassy Stream pon tada sapa tau, kasik duit keluar bank belijuga..itu INNOVA, FORTUNER, HARRIER pakai chassy HIULX pon kasi beli jugak..semua OK,cun! Proton kasi keluar, pakai chassy sama..semua komplen..CIVIC baru pakai chassy ACCORD EURO-S pon tada sapa tau,itu body roll pon tak betul..body chassy balance pontak 50:50 pon org kata baguih! janji HONDA maa..Opss lupa,sudah keluar duit banyak,takkan mau kondem…ini proton keluar duit sket bleh kondem pnye..

Wat ever laa Malaysians! Malaysia BOLEH KOMPLEN saja..hahahaha good ol guys!

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 4:39 pm

MPV from proton. ahh…hmm……hahaha. no comment.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 6:26 pm

car_craze said,
    October 16, 2008 @ 8:09 am

SiFu –

————————————————————–
    How do Proton know SiFi real name??

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 6:28 pm

Wrong Spelling-Is SiFu not SiFi

• tunomura (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:38 pm

no LED rear combi lamp??….hummm..Is it possible to put light weight 17inch rim for this mpv? It will be make this car more gorgeous…hehe

Dear Ploton, your adik (P2) currently is mati mati ikan because serious marketing strategy by you. I even can predict what will happen to P2 after this. Their market is only come Myvi sales and they will die if Myvi can’t make sales.

The other info I got from my P2 counterpart but this may confidential. But I can’t keep it because we always laugh about it. P2 will come out a facelift for Viva and it is uglier than current Viva, It had a crommed garnish on top of the hood with shape like a dog nose, can u imagine it????Stupid design!!! Pity to P2, gud quality car with bad design..Sorry of topic and just my 2cent, no offence

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

why all these ugly mpvs?

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:45 pm

x dpt nak komen sgt
    tapered sane sini
    dgn pic yg boleh nmpak ni
    anyway nak bg cadangan sikit
    gune aero wiper mcm new civic for front glass
    and straight rear wiper mcm neo…
    16 inches alloy wheels
    harap mr si-fu dpt forward to proton

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 10:26 pm

HafidzMoro,

That does remind me… of the human’s nature to take things for granted, eh? ;)

The best things in life are free as they say, and we’ll never realise it until we lose it.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 11:29 pm

No more caldina, wish looks, volume matters. in this case then…

• mct (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 12:13 am

HafidzMoro ?
    its true that crv used stream chassis ,however the stream chassis is derive from honda civic ,and so do the last gent and no such car as honda accord euro s only euro r ,no s
    innova and fotuner are using ladder structure and yes they shared the ladder and the front double wishbone ONLY the hilux are still using leaf spring at the back while the other two use 4 link suspension, and harrier using ladder structure ??? are you kidding me or what
    Seem like you are the one who dunno how to differentiate between ladder and monocoque
    harrier is using the camry chassis , do camry look like a ladder chassis car ???

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:31 am

The size looks big. Better than avanza and citra i think, how about the price?

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:24 am

look at link below.wish look alike huh..nice

http://www.thaiprotonclub.com/news_read.php?id=1851

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:27 am

why they using neo’s steering wheel?tak sesuai..

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 9:06 am

Wakeyme, sejak bila ko nampak steering neo lak? Boleh nampak ker kat gambar tuh? Ko mata laser ker?

• bukum (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 9:20 am

wah ….. OMG …. the design look so lame from back … tall and bulky

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 9:35 am

Dia pakai teropong la Si-fu…

• epal10 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:04 am

aiyyo..kereta yg diuji pakai masking tape mmg nampak hodoh..even tgk kereta mercedes E-class yg nak “dilaunch” tahun dpn pun nampak hodoh bila dipakaikan masking tape..so kena tunggu “real model” baru leh nampak model sebenar.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:17 am

Wakeyme,

kau ni manusia ke mesin x-ray?

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:48 am

loh kan aku dah bg link thaiprotonclub tu.aku nampak mcm steering neo.kalau salah maap la ye.btw sifu dashboard ada finishing kayu ke?

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:57 am

Mana ada link ker thaiprotonclub? Tak nampak pun? Sal interior aku tak leh citer skarang, korang kena bersabar lah yer! Sowy!

Cheers!

• clown_habibi (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:59 am

heard proton will throw cps 2.0 into this new mpv…don’t know true or not

• clown_habibi (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 12:01 pm

si-fu…
    is that true cps 2.0??or campro IAFM 2.0??

• bem69 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm

wakeyme,

yang gambar kat thaiprotonclub tu test mule pakai toyota wish kot, so bukan mpv yang sebenar.

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:04 pm

nissan livina,1.6
    105hp-5200
    150hp-4400

proton 1.6 campro cps
    130-6500
    150-4500

BUT what really matters is at 500 1000 1500 2000 2500 3000,

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:25 pm

Awak, CPS hp is 125hp not 130hp…but watever is it, its still higher then nissan’s engine!

Cheers!

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:48 pm

sorry si-fu, ada lari skit,
    ——————————

nissan livina,1.6
    105hp-5200
    150nm-4400

proton 1.6 campro cps
    130-6500
    150nm-4500

BUT what really matters is at 500 1000 1500 2000 2500 3000,!
    —————————————–

by the way i do hope the retune campro CPS as explain by si-fu, going to match up the torque band of other vvt 1.6.

si-fu is there any recalibration of its internal component ,angle and cam lobe as part to fork out potential torque apart from external tuned air and remap engine management,?

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:15 pm

oyeke..salah paham.patut la nampak sbijik mcm wish.ehe

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Sorry guys, i cant reveal in detail the work that has been done on the engine…once already launch, then i tell wat has been done okey!

Cheers!

• altimi (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:45 pm

Dah jumpa MPV ni on my way to KL pagi tadi. The car is quite good looking actually. A bit wider and longer than Livina but almost the same height……….

• ambo620 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:48 pm

si-fu…ada x rupa mpv tu camni?

http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa43/ambo620/ambo/mpvcombine2.jpg

• waja2000 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Sifu
    Hope MPV can carry 7 people clim genting easyly? so not forget to test ah..with 7 people clim genting.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 5:46 pm

Dun worry guys, the mpv already test naik genting with 7 adults….and the outcome…..:)….thats all i can say rite now!

Cheers!

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 5:50 pm

waja2000, i dont think easily is the word they after…most likely, adequately while not overheating the engine. i believe they tested it be4.

unless they r using 1.8L n above, then i think “easily” is possible.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 7:10 pm

ambo620

nice!

• mct (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 10:09 pm

the cps should not be compare to g.livina engine as the livina engine have nothing but a doch and full alluminium stucture and while the cps have variable valve lift and one thing for sure is that the mpv need torque more than horsepower and this is true for a reality world. even g.livina 1.6 engine produced a 15.3kgm while cps is putting 15.1kgm and the torque curve of cps is not as even as the 1.6 livina ,hope proton could do something for that but from what i heard is that the engine would maintain its 80% of torque from 2000 rpm onward

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:57 pm

Si-Fu,

Thanks for answering all the questions. I know there is not much that you can reveal as most of the information is confidential. However…… I have 1 more tempting question to ask you which does not relate to this MPV (sorry for the Off Topic paul):
    Is there currently a 1.3 CPS engine in development? Possibly for the Saga Hi-Line?

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:35 am

mct,
    cps isnt variable valve tech, it only have 2 profiles like vtec. vim provide another 2 type of intake length, so basically its only 3 steps system, not variable! saying livina’s isnt vvt tech engine isnt correct either…”The MR is a family of straight-4 all-aluminum automobile engines with variable valve timing co-developed by Renault and Nissan.” search online please -.-” get your fact right! stop living in stone age!

• infinity (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:34 am

fastcx, i think u should get yr facts right…mct is comparing the 1.6 g. livina engine, in which it is not the MR family, but HR…and it is without variable valve timing system..

“The basic NIssan Grand Livina is the 1.6 liter manual model powered by the HR16DE. This is not exactly the same HR16DE as the one in the Nissan Latio though, somehow Tan Chong has elected to equip the Grand Livina 1.6 with a variant of the HR16DE that does not have variable valve timing.”

quoted from:
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/12/20/nissan-grand-livina-16-and-18-unveiled-in-malaysia/

perhaps u shouldn’t live too far in the future…

• theking (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:36 am

Nizam80,

So far no 1.3 campro cps but new EMS is in progress with better features than current EMS700.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:47 am

ic ic. theking, thanks for the info.

• darkwizard (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:02 am

Does anyone know what are the bank loan interest rate for proton? it seems like the rate is very high recently…

hopefully they will not be so high for this MPV…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:59 am

http://paultan.org/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1119.0;attach=2463;image

Those are the photoshopped pics based on the shots.

Thats how it will look. No doubt.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:19 pm

infinity, thx for pointing out :)

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:34 pm

so basically when proton still using vanilla engine, people will bash like vvt is the in stuff, when nissan use it, it seems most people dont talk much about it..

on the other hand, for mass production jap engine with variable valve timing are mostly with economic in mind and emission control, so more horse power through that is kind of out of question unless a better converter is developed to keep emission down while providing more power. like honda did to their newer gen engine in jazz/fit.

im not sure about cps’s emission even tho they sell it in europe with old campro’s carbon emission of around 155g, not bad for 1.6 but cps might increase or lower the emission, hopefully its the latter! cause its a nice engine, if they can improve the material used for making it will makes it even better!

and again, thx infinity for correcting my mistake b4 more rumor spreads :)

• mct (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 1:52 am

fastcx?
    livina hr16de are without any vvt and it make more torque than cps and arrive at a lower rev too
    seem like you are the one who should utilize the internet more than i do .

• kody (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 7:26 am

wahlaueh,…
    ——————–
    si-fu said,
    October 17, 2008 @ 5:46 pm

Dun worry guys, the mpv already test naik genting with 7 adults….and the outcome…..:)….thats all i can say rite now!

Cheers!

——————–
    si-fu,
    the tested MPV was manual or auto transmission? i think no one ask this yet…

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:44 am

this mpv and unser… ermmm power leh cellenge ka encik sifu?

• dUrEx333 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:51 am

~I have see this MPV followed by The new Neo at Genting on 18 Oct 2008, but i cant snap any pic while im on driving(drive safely). the MPV look a little bigger than Avanza then suprising the big giant running fast like Sedan. ~

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 1:25 pm

dUrEx333 said,
    October 20, 2008 @ 8:51 am

The MPV look a little bigger than Avanza then suprising the big giant running fast like Sedan.
    —————————————————————-

So, the rumours about the MPv will using a 1.6 CamPro cps with light turbo seem quite true… who know we will drive/own a great MPV with a reasonble price next year…

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 2:55 pm

was it during climbing genting? or on plane road?

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:40 pm

Si-fu. i know its a illogical question. when will again you guys testing the mpv and where? LOL

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:55 pm

the turbo version is still under R&D, lets focus on CPS campro 1.6 :)

• lanuncyber (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 8:35 pm

it is quite nice. really. love the new steering design. the button layout on the steering wheel is more like BMW’s…

• unnamed (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:15 am

Utusan mentioned the Price RM80K, emm.. I’m still doubt proton’s quality some more this is the 1st mpv

• alahai… macam cut of gerabak komuter, kalau cantikpun cat je… panel dalam pasti keras macam batu…(biasalah orang malaysia… kayu balak letak enjin pun beli)

• Can adult sit comfortably at the 3rd row? most of the MPV with 7 seaters

have very little space for the 3rd row.. we need to crawl in most of the time..

• oops!!…..cantik u! tapi sayang tak nampak sah dari depan lah….nampak gaya deman exora lah i nanti. Tapi yang pelik i lihat dari belakang nampak tinggi dan depan nampak terlalu rendah…..tapi memang cantiklah ….

• zulaikha on Apr 23, 2009 at 3:39 am

the pyrite brown colour very beautiful.

• zulaikha on Apr 23, 2009 at 3:43 am

exora are very………………………cool than other cars.one day this car famous in the world

• zulaikha on Apr 23, 2009 at 3:44 am

memang cantik ko pegi tengok tak?

• only one thing…. CPS produce 125hp at 6500rpm! yes it's great for 1.6ltr engine. we all know this. what i'm concerned is…. our normal driving of mpv…..let's say at 3000rpm +- shud be at 110-120km/h. So… if to get the125hp at 6500 rpm meaning our speed is about at 220-250km/h???? for driving MPV?? goshhh! if we don't go for speed, we go for torque or pick-up…so…. anybody cud answer or already drive the exora….? any comments?