Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

2009 Toyota Prius Images Leaked!

Advertisement

2009 Toyota Prius

These photos of what appears to be the next generation Toyota Prius appeared on the internet sometime earlier this month, and in a surprising move Toyota’s PR division has gone ahead and confirmed that these pics are indeed photos of the new Toyota Prius.

The new second generation Toyota Prius is set to be fully revealed in January 2009 at the 2009 Detroit Auto Show. This comes soon after Honda revealed its second generation Honda Insight concept at the 2008 Paris Motor Show.

The statement by Toyota confirming the photos did not reveal any other details about the car other than the fact that in terms of dimensions its about the same as the outgoing model but it offers better interior room and better fuel economy.

31 Comments »

1. torque said,

October 18, 2008 @ 12:10 pm

Come and sell it here lah! We Malaysian can afford it! :-(

2. l3ryan said,

October 18, 2008 @ 2:09 pm

what’s with the “nose” bulge?
    first the local dugong vios has it now even the internationally available new prius has it.
    is it really that nice or am i’m just the one not liking it =.=

3. topgunthang said,

October 18, 2008 @ 2:14 pm

wasnt there a connected family member of some figure awarded free APs or no tax at all for hybrid cars. of course he can still charge you the same price as with the tax implemented.

this vehicle steals alot of design concepts from the civic .

4. crasher7 said,

October 18, 2008 @ 2:31 pm

It is the true picture, not leaked

5. crasher7 said,

October 18, 2008 @ 2:32 pm

well, i mean official

6. mytouch said,

October 18, 2008 @ 2:50 pm

Another big big Dugong on the road…

7. mitlanevo said,

October 18, 2008 @ 3:26 pm

imagine both ur right and left neighbours got Vios and this Prius, then they look at ur face and say: “hey dude, where is ur pet vehicle? ”

then maybe u show them a Ferrari or Jaguar, the REAL beast, haha

8. ericfoong81exe said,

October 18, 2008 @ 4:12 pm

It look alot better than the previous fatty Prius, more stylish….good work.

9. Cire said,

October 18, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

Will it have an artificial exhaust sound or maybe a rattler …

10. db8 said,

October 18, 2008 @ 5:33 pm

this truely not dugong,but much cuter…hmm..platipus maybe?? all haiwan terancam..toyota kan eco friendly..no wonder tiru muka haiwan..

11. jolly_idiot said,

October 18, 2008 @ 6:16 pm

I still see the Honda Insight Concept is more futuristic.

12. ignas said,

October 18, 2008 @ 8:14 pm

toyota’s direction of designs is getting weird. they’re so lost. after the yaris and vios dugongness, its getting so…transsexual…

btw, stay off the civic’s bumper style!

13. kei9 said,

October 18, 2008 @ 9:35 pm

Its.. cute.

Not suppose to say this on a Prius!

Should add more sharp lines in it.

14. legacy88 said,

October 18, 2008 @ 9:57 pm

Refreshing and looks nice. Dugong? Sourgrape ke?

15. csv said,

October 18, 2008 @ 11:40 pm

ugly, with that face.

i think between honda and toyota, i’ll take hondas.

16. dato.m said,

October 18, 2008 @ 11:55 pm

Wah..Love it!! :-)

This is a 1st hybrid car in the world as i remember. then honda follow the concept with civic hybrid. i own new vios s specs aka yaris sedan, and i can feel the design is a bit same in terms on exterior and interior. cmon, modern should look simple .

guys..Google CEO drives this car (1st gen) and he said he loved so much.

17. God.of.War said,

October 19, 2008 @ 3:34 am

Can this car swim like Dugong aka Vios?

18. zamildrift said,

October 19, 2008 @ 7:49 am

Atleast this Prius is more sporty and well I like the car..the side profile reminds me of Honda Civic FD2.

19. Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 19, 2008 @ 10:23 am

not bad eh…….
    haha…… quite up-to-market demand… and style as well…….

20. erichigc said,

October 19, 2008 @ 11:28 am

sad to get reply from Toyota Malaysia that they have no intention to bring this to Malaysia.

21. mystvearn said,

October 19, 2008 @ 12:36 pm

Uglier than current Prius design. Don’t like the way toyota going with that tapir nose

22. szw said,

October 19, 2008 @ 2:49 pm

ugly…
    hate prius

23. ansonlee said,

October 19, 2008 @ 7:45 pm

This is the 3rd gen Prius, not 2nd gen

24. DtG said,

October 19, 2008 @ 8:11 pm

dato.m said,

October 18, 2008 @ 11:55 pm

Wah..Love it!! :-)

This is a 1st hybrid car in the world as i remember. then honda follow the concept with civic hybrid. i own new vios s specs aka yaris sedan, and i can feel the design is a bit same in terms on exterior and interior. cmon, modern should look simple .

guys..Google CEO drives this car (1st gen) and he said he loved so much.

nope… honda released the insight way back before the civic hybrid came along… and actually, i’m quite sure google’s ceo drives the 3rd gen prius (if that is indeed true) because the current prius available in the markets it is sold in is in its 3rd gen, the 1st gen was only sold in japan and the 2nd i think only managed a few numbers… both look slightly different from the present all-popular prius…

25. ansonlee said,

October 19, 2008 @ 8:36 pm

As far as I know there are only 3 generations of Prius. The 1st gen was sold in Aust officially as well so as the 1st Insight. it looks very different to the 2nd gen Prius.

26. rexis said,

October 20, 2008 @ 8:13 am

Toyota now has everything got something to do with yaris head…

27. Realeyes said,

October 20, 2008 @ 9:16 am

I agree with jolly idiot, Honda Insight Concept has better looking than this new Prius..

28. mits27 said,

October 20, 2008 @ 9:31 am

It is the car I also want to own it, I think a lot of malaysian also want to own it, but the price is….not easily afforded by most of the people…

29. amad_a said,

October 20, 2008 @ 1:51 pm

i know they’re trying to be friendly to pedestrian (during ped frontal impact).. but please come out with better design than this dugong wanna be..hate it~

30. ALPINA BMW said,

October 20, 2008 @ 6:55 pm

all they did was change the rims, otherwise its still as ugly as ever, the world’s most expensive washing machine

31. intermilan said,

October 21, 2008 @ 1:21 am

kinda ugly lah.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: SPYSHOT: the new Satria Neo’s new wheels?
next post: Shahrir: Another reduction in fuel prices could be possible end-October!