TC Euro Cars launches 5 Renault cars in Malaysia

Renault LogoTC Euro Cars officially launched a set of 5 Renault cars today with revised prices – some have gone up and some have come down compared to the preview prices unveiled in March this year.

There is also an additional model added to the initial range of 4 vehicles – the 5th is the Clio 1.6 hatchback. All are CBU imports.

Renault ClioThe cheapest of the lot is the Clio III 1.6, but it’s only cheap compared to the other Renaults offered. This little B-segment hatch is powered by a 110hp 151Nm 1.6L petrol engine. Its price tag of RM145,037.00 without insurance seems seriously steep compared to other imported European B-segment cars such as the Volkswagen CrossPolo and the Fiat Bravo GT. In fact, it’s even more expensive than the Polo GTI!

Renault Clio RS 197A more powerful version of the Clio is offered in the form of the 3-door Clio RS 197. This one will cost you RM210,182.00 OTR without insurance, which is almost a RM15K drop from the previously indicated price of RM224,675.50. The RS 197’s 2.0 litre engine produces 197bhp at 7,250rpm and 217Nm of torque at 5,550rpm, mated to a 5-speed manual transmission.

Renault Megane CCTwo versions of the Megane are available – a coupe-cabriolet that allows you to enjoy an open top driving experience and the R26 Sport hot hatch.

The Megane Coupe-Cabriolet has had a small price drop of RM233,541.50 to the new price of RM229,931.00. It is powered by a regular 2.0 litre engine producing 135hp at 5,500rpm and 191Nm of torque at lower than usual 3,750rpm. This engine is mated to a Tiptronic 4-speed automatic transmission. An earlier pricelist also indicated the Megane CC had only 4 airbags, but at time of launch this has been upped to 6. Although the Megane III has just been launched, this Megane CC still remains fresh as there is no convertible version of the Megane III yet, but I’m not sure for how long.

Renault Megane R26The Megane R26 Sport is now about RM20k cheaper at RM229,988.00. This one is a scorcher, producing 230 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 310Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, mated to a 6-speed manual. These figures top the Golf GTI’s performance figures of 200 PS and 280Nm of torque, but you will have to do the shift-work yourself.

Renault Grand EspaceThe final choice is a practical one – the Renault Grand Espace MPV with 7 seats. It has a turbocharged engine which means loads of torque to haul the vehicle around even when its fully loaded, which should provide a relaxed drive. You get 170 horsepower at 5,000rpm and 270Nm of torque at 3,250rpm while only paying road tax for a 2.0 litre engine. The Grand Espace costs RM289,967.00, down from RM294,938.75.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yinglwong (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 7:04 pm

each of the five seriously overpriced themselves out of their respective market segment.
    could face tough times ahead..
    but the r26 is attractive.

• dewasemut (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 7:14 pm

damn expensive… anyone interested go ahead, I’m not!

• keretakura (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Tooooo expensiveeeeee ….. if interested go for 2nd hand but need to wait laaaa he he

• 2fast (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 8:44 pm

Good luck selling these during the tough times…TC should have worked harder and used its ‘connections’ to get fairer prices for its cars.

• crasher7 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 8:50 pm

so “cheap”

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 8:51 pm

r26 is a dream….but jus too expensive,,lousy service n cut throat spare parts n servicing is guarenteed !

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:20 pm

can’t afford to buy any one model. Profit margin is too high!!! Saw these cars before in the Renault garage at PJ. With these price tags, i can go for VW, Alfa, Peugeot and many many more…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:26 pm

interesting pricing. considering the fact that they’re not even selling any ‘cars’ other than the kangoo at the moment (if you can call the kangoo a car), this pricing isnt going to help them sell much more.

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:40 pm

R26 is available!!! but CTR only 199k… hmm
    which 1 to pick?

• pepper (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:50 pm

My preference is still VW Golf Gti.. these models r obviously overpriced..

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:04 pm

I can’t believe my eyes! =/

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:43 pm

i doubt the market availability here… expect it wont last for long…

• csv (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:34 pm

expensive considering the near dead brand here.

but i believe some one will still buy these cars. for the power or the unique brand.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:39 pm

haha. just made an observation clios’s 1.6 engine produces same horsepower as campro standard and IAFM, CPS prodoces more.

Just an observation…

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:41 pm

produces not prodoces, sorry.

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 1:48 am

hmmmm….. interesting to whoever use the word “Fabulous Five” for the 5 models Renault is bringing in…. and kudos for giving us a little bit of choice…

but just to sum up… all I can say is… whatever TC is doing is basically offering the “Fab Five at F***ed-Up Prices”…. even so, may be there will be someone “smart” enough to buy them now just to blow their “easy” earned cash…

and may be I, for one, would buy any of these cars 3 years down the line when the price is below 100k…. here’s hoping…

Another thing to ponder:

Renault Megane R26 (RM230k) – Cadwell Park (UK) track lap time 1 min 15 sec (link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XoOR41WPVGY )

Suzuki Swift Sport (RM95k) – Cadwell Park (UK) track lap time 1 min 21 sec (link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckYGh6dTICg )

Both driven by Tiff Needell of Fifth Gear.

So, RM135k just to be 6 sec ahead? I’m not championing Suzuki, but other excellent cars such as Civic Type R & Golf GTI are also way cheaper than 2 performance Renaults (Clio RS & Megane R26)…

Bad marketing by TC lah like this… if I’m Renault, I’d passed the franchise to someone else by now… just like what Citroen did…

• Beemer Freak (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 2:37 am

RM 230k for a R26, your got to be nuts be buy one of these. VW Golf GTi comes with a six speed dsg, or if you are willing to wait till the Mk6 makes its way here, 7 speed. All at a cost of RM199K OTR without insurace, it will make someone look stupid if they were to have opt for the R26.

|And the final blow is the Grand Espace, park it side by side with a Toyota Estima or a Honda Odyssey and ask a neutral which would likely cost more, chances are it would be the jap brands. Such ugly looking VAN with only 2L to boast, you got to be blind to buy one. I would save longer for the Merc R280.

• envee (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 2:42 am

this brand represent reliable and durable i think , but the market this days need some car on a very good fuel consumption , i don’t think Renault will grap a expected market share in this market .

• droll (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 3:46 am

Beemer Freak: there’s no telling what VW M’sia will do with the Mk 7. pricing could go up. the r32 – RM300k. so they are guilty as well.

but hell yeah……..the crazy pricing TC is slapping on these cars are a pity. it just doesn’t do justice to the megane.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 7:01 am

Some of the comments here make me laugh really out LOUD. Some of you guys really dont know anything much about performance driving…

6 Seconds is a HUGE margin in a small track barely 1.2KM long. Let me do some simple math for you, 6 sec a lap faster at means on the 12th lap the swift will be lapped. On an a average 25lap race (tiff is using the small woodlands section of the circuit.) he would have lapped the swift twice on a race that barely 30km long!! Is that worth an extra 135k? YES!!! But if it’s 6 sec on a big track like sepang… maybe not so. If in sepang though, i bet it’s gonna be at least 20sec faster.

CTR and GTi aint got crap on this megane, I think you guys are forgetting that this is the FASTEST EVER front wheel drive car to ever lapped the NURBURGRING.8 minutes 17 seconds!!! (albeit on a track spec car but mechanically it’s the same). Can you say the same thing about the other competitors? The only competitor I can see to this car is the Civic Mugen RR, and how much that gonna cost (if it’s ever coming to m’sia)?

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:03 am

Yeah, gotta agree… That 6 second thing has already been addressed, and then there was comparing the R26 to a Golf GTI, which is a nice fast car but nowhere near as focused or unique as the R26. Or attacking the Espace for having “only” a 2 liter engine but forgetting it’s turbocharged…(btw renault and chrysler are the acknowledged inventors of the MPV)

Anyways, it’s quite possible that Tan Chong didn’t have too much choice about the pricing, since we’ve all heard the whispers about the additional $$$ they have to pay for APs. Can’t imagine they’d intentionally shoot themselves in the foot with pricing like this. Even TC knows it, their projected total sales for all models is only 250 by end 2009!

Looks like these will remain very rare cars here which is a shame because they’re all decent cars that could otherwise bring a lot of competition to the market, the Clio 192 and Meg R26 being the true gems.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:19 am

BTW comparing the Golf GTI price to the R26 isn’t really a fair comparison as the GTI isn’t even the top of the line Golf. It is more comparable to the base Megane RenaultSport 225 sold in Europe.

Whereas the R26 should really be compared to the Golf R32 which costs over RM 300k locally.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 9:51 am

TC is daydreaming…

• chun (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:01 am

I think some of the posters here are losing the point on these cars. I highly doubt TC Eurocars are making a high margin on these cars as they don’t get into the practice of ‘contributing’ to customs. The high prices are just a simple case of the import duties. Plus, as some of the decidedly minority posters here have pointed out, the RS26 is a more performance focused car than the GTI. Plus any comparisons with the Civic Type R must also think about the everyday livability of the Type R which is close to non-existent! So, for RM230k and the extra performance over the GTI, the price is quite fair. The Clio RS can be compared to a Mini Cooper S at least and that costs something like RM260k? Plus performance is at least as good if not better. Although it is fair to compare with a Toyota Estima, the Espace is just a much better MPV, engineering wise, handling wise, ride wise.

At the very least, we have more choices in the market now, that is supported by an official importer.

• demio121 (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:08 am

i just wonder with those prices, how many Renault TC expect to move annually?

Clio @ over RM140K??? i don’t sell car, maybe TC have some kinda maic trick to sell. After all its only business. if they can’t sell, they will close shop.

eh… since when la Renault is a premium brand?

• droll (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:15 am

Chun: I beg to differ. I have test driven the Type-R before and find it to be *very* liveable! The suspension isn’t as rock hard as many websites (or people) tend to say. It is firm, bouncy – but not much worse than the MINI i used to own.

and the noise in the cabin? I was pleasantly surprised (and a bit disappointed) when the roar of the v-tec was as visceral, or raw as i thought it would be.

don’t believe everything you read on the web or what people say. experience it for yourself first hand. of course, if you have done this then my apologies for mentioning this. :)

whether TC is cutting a big margin on this marque or not is only half the story. the real truth is in how far these models will cut into the acceptability of price vs value for the malaysian population. if it doesn’t sell, then it doesn’t matter whether TC is forced to put a high price or just being plain greedy. it’s game over.

• droll (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:19 am

sorry, “and the noise in the cabin? I was pleasantly surprised (and a bit disappointed) when the roar of the v-tec was as visceral, or raw as i thought it would be.” i meant to say “when the roar of the v-tec wasn’t”

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:36 am

dont worry. some malaysian havent even seen renault peugeot these sort of cars and think of them as premium german machines. priced like a german….must be as good as a german is what they think. oh wait….it should be priced higher than a german…must be better than a german. megan build quality is shit though….no matter how focused it think it is it doesnt make up for it.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 12:32 pm

LOL @ topgunthang… You’re talking about a car that lap the nurburgring faster than a E46 M3, Lotus Exige, Evo 7, S2000, golf R32 and Cayman S. And these cars are not driven by idiots, it’s driven by one of the undisputed nurburgring specialist Horst von Saurma. This R26 is a toy, it’s not meant to have best built quality, best NVH, most ergonomic and definitely not a daily driven machine. It’s built to be as fast as FWD cars can possibly go, and in that aspect i believe it’s absolutely worth it. But as for the rest of the lineup, it’s a bit too expensive considering the current residual value of used renaults in malaysia. You have to be a complete fanatic or have no better use of you money to buy one of these cars. And speaking of french cars, I believe the 307GT is a better bet than the clio RS.

BTW, R32 is not a legit competitor for the R26 as it’s 4WD and yet it still lap the ring some 32 seconds slower. Civic Mugen RR is way to expensive too, looking at the current exchange rate, it’s gonna cost at least RM350k if it ever sold in malaysia.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 12:32 pm

hmm, price will put people away, also german cars have more badge for that money

• chun (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 12:35 pm

Droll. True, I have not yet driven a the new Type R, so I am basing my thoughts on those who have driven it, mainly from the local reviewers like Denis Wong, but also from a close friend of mine who knows his cars. But I guess the point here is the personal tolerance level of the driver, and my friend has a pretty high level of tolerance! And as for topgunthang’s comment, not that I am trying to say that I know a lot, but I own or have owned cars from the Germans (including the GTI which is my everyday car), French, and Japanese, and these are my opinions that I am putting out here based on my personal experience with them.

• kevin62 (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Its a good car but too expensive.

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 7:22 pm

TO JAVANESE,

can I correct you on something here:

1. first your simple math doesnt work here. How can a car lap a 1.2 kilometre track in 1 min 15 sec? That works out at approximately 48km/h average speed!!! I dont need an R26 to lap that track or whatever track at that speed.

2. The power to weight of a Swift and the R26 is very different so of course it is expected that it will lose to the R26. But the point is about whether the R26 gives the best performance per ringgit. In the UK, R26 is priced cheaper than the Golf GTI and also the JDM Civic Type R from Litchfield.

3. And stop LOL at other people. You are entitled to your view but do LOL at yourself first, okay?…. you may be acting as if you know performance driving which you may do, but the 8 min 17 sec time you are ranting about is done by the R26-R which is more hardcore than the R26 and it weighs more than 100kg less than the R26.

Enough said.

p/s: Please go buy the R26 now and sell it to me in one year’s time and, who’s laughing then?????

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:07 pm

droll said,

October 19, 2008 @ 11:15 am

Chun: I beg to differ. I have test driven the Type-R before and find it to be *very* liveable! The suspension isn’t as rock hard as many websites (or people) tend to say. It is firm, bouncy – but not much worse than the MINI i used to own.

i actually beg to differ on the CTR.. it is rock hard, and “barely liveable”. its extremely track focused, and really not compliant enough over bumps and on malaysian roads, thats bad news. Because you’re comparing with a MINI, i can understand that.

if you have driven any renaults, or even pugs for that matter, and you’ll be surprised by how much grip, and road composure and compliancy as well.

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:33 pm

to those comparing the golf GTI to the R26, they are not in the same league and the R26 will run rings around the GTI whether it’s on the road or on the track.
    the R26 has a diff, is lighter, and more focuesed.

i will definitely fork out the extra 20k to get the R26 if i can afford it, since anyone who can pay 200k for a GTI would certainly won’t mind to spend a tad more on what could be one of the greatest FWD car of all time.

still, it’s between the CTR or R26 for me.

• passi0n (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:36 pm

the cars is expensive for a reason. most of them are high end technology. I test drove the megane rs sport…key-card slot with engine push start button already killin me. fu~ plus the 6-speed manual and soft type bucket seat…i wud say its a new gen of sports car…golf and mini can say goodbye..lol

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Ridiculous pricing… Renault is fairly unknown in Malaysia, no one is going to pay that price for it… People would rather go for Golf GTI… The cheap price of the Golf GTI makes it a popular choice… Thats their only strong competition in Malaysia… What makes them think that people are going to buy Renaults? The high price is just adding salt to the wound…

• shooter (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 9:17 pm

i dunno guys…last time i checked the price of a Mini Cooper S is in the same ballpark as the R26, but the the latter is is considered expensive? 230k for turbo charged 1.6l hatch that cannot fit 4 adults is far more ridiculous than the R26……well at least how i see it, shalom y’all

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:15 pm

ya, darm expensive..Don’t think will even consider 2nd hand..

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:58 pm

i’d definitely go for golf gti or CTR. VW kinda good in making engine..they got the reputation..while for CTR..there’s no doubt abt their vtec power.

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 12:07 am

reading through all the comments here, I can understand some want to defend the superiority of the Renault R26 over the Golf GTI or Civic Type R or amongst any other super hot-hatchs eg R32, Cooper S Works…

however, I’d rather avoid comparison of abilities here as the underlying reason of Paul’s postings is here is about the PRICE itself… if we, as car enthusiats, can or should enjoy the performance of the R26 at a lower price, then why not? We should not be the apologist for TC or Renault here trying to justify the price is reasonable etc etc we are not their salesmen… we should instead ‘pressure’ them to offer the R26 at a lower price so that it can be within reach for more people, hence more can appreciate the Renaultsport legendary chassis tuning expertise…

the cornering abilities of the R26 was once compared to a 997GT3 by Autocar… high praise indeed…

I have to admit that I have been waiting for these Renaultsport models to reach our shores, but somehow TC & Renault have been disappointing in their effort and it shows with their final pricings….

It’s time to migrate to the land of the hot-hatches then…

p/s: javanese, enjoy the R26 if you can afford it at current prices but I guess value for money may not exist in your vocabulary if that is the case… since if it’s your money you are spending, who am I to say what you should not buy…. LOL…..

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 12:41 am

I would rather buy recond EL-FART than this stupid Renault Grand Espace MPV

TC, I think you have gone crazy with the OTR pricing !!!

• AH KEONG (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 12:42 am

ermm.. too expencive. i prefer japanese car.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 2:26 am

Dont misunderstand me, the R32 was only used as an example for it’s 300k+ price, which definitely puts the R26’s asking price into perspective, even makes it seem a relative bargain when you consider the R26 is still faster.

About the whole Fifth Gear lap thing, the Cadwell park track they use is the modified club circuit, which is actually about 1.2 _miles_ long (1.92km). The avg speed given of 48 was calculated incorrectly as well, the actual average speed is 57.6 miles/hr which equals 92.16 km/hr, damn fast for a tight track like that.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:44 am

Why is price even a concern?
    TC know this of course.

But they are are not looking to sell boat loads of them. Possibly just bring in limited units of them as “Halo” units. (ie. to pull people into showrooms). Out of the 5, 3 of them are limited volume “special units”.

Seriously how many R26s did they think they will sell anyway…

For what its worth the R26 looks like an awesome track ready car….
    This is what a VW GTi is supposed to be before it got bloated.

Seriously, if you have been involved in motorsports, you’d know just how expensive it will cost you in terms of sweat, tears and money to build and the hours spent track testing something with the performance credentials of this car. Does put this into perspective. This is a turn key package. You could probably just buy one, strip it out and weld in a roll cage and run the MME in a week.

• raverus (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:05 am

Oh well, blame it to the APs! Obviously!

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

Well Renault has come and gone …… with this kind of offerings though very refreshing but it is way too expensive, can put the blame on APs and the tax ……. it will be “hello and goodbye TC Euros and Renault”

Timing is just not too right, with the current economic and financial condition …… tough

• alwayswishingforabettercar (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:28 am

hi paul,

i believe that the Clio RS 197 is a 6 speed manual, not 5, as your article had stated (at least from what i saw yesterday evening). i was fortunate enough to see these cars yesterday as they had a roadshow at BVII… all very nice, and good work if you can afford them. i always loved the clios… very spirited cars… drove them a lot whilst living in europe. and i’m not even talking about the RS. i’ve always wanted one, but not at the price that i could buy a cr-v for, haha. that car is supposed to be for like… fresh college grads. sigh sigh.

personally, i didn’t like that the clio III had these funny looking skirting. i suppose for that crazy price TC wanted to “add more value” to it? hopefully it is not “standard equipment”. it looked brilliant on the 2 door rs… but not on the latio-like clio III.

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:13 am

Proton Sagwa, you are correct. Thanks for pointing out. The 48 refers to the number of laps and not the average speed. Sorry for the miscalculations in my earlier post. At the same time, you’ve also mentioned the correct length of the track in MILES and not kilometres as pointed out by javanese.

As it stands, of course the average speed per lap (57.6mph = 92.16km/h) is impressive for any road car, let alone an FWD like the R26, on this particular tight track.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Too….. expensive. I rather buy Toyota Corolla Altis.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 4:19 pm

imagine bringing this car (R26) back to kampung…but the neighbor’s son bring back W123 (7k market price)…..then the other neighbor come…”HUish anok dio bawok merchedes tu…….” ?? ” ni kete gapho ni?” then the R26 owner say…Renault (wit france’ slang)……”gapo ???”………GheNok??……uu……”kecik keto ni dih…”……adik bradik kacill ko? :p

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 4:46 pm

xavier_lert,

you certainly hit the spot!!!

the “GheNok” definitely won’t have any kudos on its badge and no neighbour will ever be impress by it.

But having said that, “tok kesoh la oghe nok kato gapo… hok mustohoknyo kito sapa dulu koto baghu (KB) bowok R26″… hehehheh…. (translation: the R26 driver couldn’t care less about what other people say, as long as he got to his destinations first driving the R26… (abiding speed limit of course))

would not mind driving the R26 from KL to KB and back via Kuala Lipis, Gua Musang & Lojing, Simpang Pulai on the way back… :p

should be fun with a capital F…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 6:53 pm

love the megane renaultsport, the only version of the megane which doesn’t look odd

• h2k (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:18 pm

wow….fantastic pricing…which idiot in TC do the pricing? who r they selling to? just the minority 1%…clio 1.6 at RM150k?? with that $ people can go for lots of 2.0liter car…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:08 am

Peeps should jar TC’s memory that the last proper car Renault was selling there in any reasonable quantity was the B19. Oouch.

A whole (or two) generations of Clios, Megane, Twingos just missed this corner of the Galaxy. Trying to sell the cars at a higher price just because Allonso is starting to win again? That is lame. I can’t imagine the peeps waited a whole racing season before they wanted to do this. Unbelievable. I remember Ghosn was here earlier in the year to launch the Latio. Yeah just call them Speedy TC.

Heck, they’re probably trying to raise enough money to buy GM assets.

Again?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:10 am

Or was it the 19RT or something forgettable.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:30 am

On the flip side, bring the R26 to a track day and it will definitely be a center of attention. Which would you rather have?

And anyone who would buy the R26 only to try and impress a bunch of kampung folk should be shot anyways :P

Though frankly some of the earlier comments on this thread sound like they came straight from the kampung, like the GTI zombie who said VW knows more about building engines than Renault. Apparently he hasn’t heard of something called F1…

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 1:20 am

most view shared here seem to missed out on the big picture when it comes to the r26, rs 197 pricing. its a fair pricing. of course it is very big amount >rm200K for unpopular brand (in Malaysia). at surface..

Both this cars will not be appreciated by anyone not exposed to European hot hatchs scene. totally understandable given our extreme exposure to Japanese offering all these while. My take on this is to exercise diligence, dont criticise something too early and without complete understanding.

the standard clio is obviously expensive thou. upcoming peugeot 308 CKD @ circa RM95K anyone? Cheaper than Jazz…

as some one vaguely mentioned before, the BEST value-for-money hot hatch nowadays is the newly-lauched Peugeot 308GT with 175bhp @RM159K ON THE ROAD. it’s power is 24 hp less than Golf GTi (but same as Mini Cooper S), but cheaper by >RM45K! compared to the Gti and even bigger saving compared with the Mini, now that’s a big money.. RM45K can buy a Savvy or new Saga with few spare change!

the 308GT won’t beat the renaults, CTR, golf GTi on the road.. (well what the point then rite?) but .. i am saying its the best value-for-money hot hatchs… and the generous spec make it even sweeter as daily ride.

if out-right acceleration and top speed is the ultimate concern.. have to able to ‘tapau’ everthing … rm500K car also not enuff..

lastly, noted that Golf GTi and r26 is priced @ ~RM1,000 per 1bhp, whereas 308GT is @ RM914 per 1 bhp.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:49 am

1. Actually I still believe tiff is using woodland section of the circuit to club section. I have a couple of videos of tiff doing the same part of the circuit with other cars and concluded that he indeed use the woodlands section. The avg speed is very deceptive as the woodlands section is placed on the hilly section of the track. That being said, it’s a phenomenal lap time from a FWD car considering that the megane is not really a good base chassis for a performance oriented car.

2.I never argued about the price. I say, do I think it’s worth and extra 100k or so? Yes. Let me tell you why It’s worth that much.You do realize that R26 is the only hot hatch in Malaysia that carries a 3 year warranty right? GTi and CTR only carry a one year warranty. Did you know that by changing your tyre on the CTR with a non authorized brand/type will void the 1 year warranty? Even if you manage to find the same type (RE070), it must be change at the Honda SA or they will void your warranty. Do you know how much each of that tyre cost at Honda SA? Well it’s waaaaay more than the RM1400 price that they sell outside at tyre shops. Ask around and I guarantee you wont believe the price that they’re charging. So much for the “cheap” CTR.

3. Wow… breaking news, you cant read. I did mentioned in my post that it’s the track version of the R26 but mechanically it’s the same engine with same chassis just lightened.

p/s:I did say you have to be mad to buy a renault in malaysia and did suggest to get the 307GT. I guess it’s further proof your inability to read once you think you’re on a “roll” and about to “chew on somebody ass”. LOL @ mr em.

• kennytan70 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Unless TC does local assembly, pricing for Renault will be expensive. They should consider localisation & bring in the latest Twingo. Cool car!

• torque (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:31 pm

No comment on the Megane R26 Sport price! Overprice…NO! Expensive…YES!! So does the Golf GTI, Golf R32, CTR, Mini Cooper S…all those cars that have been mention in most of the post are also expensive ler. Do you guys think that MAJORITY of Malaysian citizen could actually afford this kind of car with a snap of a finger? Only the “lucky” one (most cases) and the hard working one which manage to own each and every one of them!

The Megane R26 Sport is definately RM30K more costly than the GTI and both should be compare to each other (I also think that the Clio RS 197 is the same league as the GTI on specs sheet) since they are both in the same category. Both are front wheel drive, both are turbocharged and both are hatchback…it’s a MATCH! Please don’t compare it with the CTR and the R32, which both are NA, plus the CTR is sedan and the R32 is 4 wheel drive. In what sense do you want to compare them? The only sense I see fall on the price itself. Which one is value for money or bang for buck? And the answer lies to the individual him/her self to answer it.

I have ride the Golf GTI and I personally think for comfort plus drivability within the city…the Golf GTI is DEFINATELY more suitable! But, if PERFORMANCE and the thrill of the 6 speed manual…then the Megane R26 Sport which I bet winning it hands down!

Still, the Renault Clio III 1.6 is DEFINATELY OVERPRICED!! That’s for sure! :-) Peace…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:41 pm

kennytan70 said,

October 21, 2008 @ 2:14 pm

Unless TC does local assembly, pricing for Renault will be expensive. They should consider localisation & bring in the latest Twingo. Cool car!

———————————————

localisation costs lots of money.. and to do that, you would have to be selling lots of cars first..

will you be brave enough to do that if you were a decision maker at TC?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:16 pm

well, tc is well known for being balless, gutless, spineless

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:39 am

The woodlands circuit did seem like a possibility to me at first since it also has a hairpin and mountain segment, but Tiff at one point on the megane video mentions coming up to “the gooseneck” which is a distinctive feature of the club circuit

http://www.trackpedia.com/wiki/Cadwell_Park#Track_Map

After that the rest seems to match up also, though it’s not always clear with all the editing they do. I think everyone can at least now definitely agree on the R26 being damn fast tho heh.

• farhathaniff (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:16 am

Unbelievable.

These cars are overpriced!! We had a Megane and we bought it new, facelifted, auto-transmission in 2007 for 16,500 Euros, thats RM 80K.

And being all-new 2009-2010 Megane coming out very soon, this wont be sold highly in Msia. especially with that price!

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:01 pm

“javanese wrote,

p/s:I did say you have to be mad to buy a renault in malaysia and did suggest to get the 307GT. I guess it’s further proof your inability to read once you think you’re on a “roll” and about to “chew on somebody ass”. LOL @ mr em.”

—————————————————————

my apologies to javanese, indeed I have missed your comment and view on the french cars above, amongst the many comments posted here.

many apologies again and no intention on “chewing anybody’s ass” and where I am wrong, i stand to be corrected by anyone here.

anyway, since you brought up the 307GT as a better choice, shall I say TC should learn a thing or two from Naza Group about something here. How can a car that also shares the same 1.6T engine with the Mini Cooper can be priced more competitively? Naza may have realise that, being French, they can’t price their cars too high like what BMW Malaysia did to their Minis.

Anyway, enough disappointments with our distorted car pricing due to various factors eg APs, “commissions”, tax & duty structures etc etc.

p/s: javanese, i am calling a truce…

and as for whether RM1xxk is worth for gaining a couple of a seconds, i leave it up to the each individual…. as different ppl have different view on performance per pound/ringgit/whatever currency return they can get from…

and yes, i am aware of some form of diminishing returns (will kick in) where you may have to spend even more to gain a couple of a hundredths seconds (esp in motor racing and high performance cars).

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:12 pm

sorry, not Peugeot 307GT, i meant to refer to Peugeot 308GT @RM159,999…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:20 pm

farhathaniff said,

October 22, 2008 @ 6:16 am

Unbelievable.

These cars are overpriced!! We had a Megane and we bought it new, facelifted, auto-transmission in 2007 for 16,500 Euros, thats RM 80K.

And being all-new 2009-2010 Megane coming out very soon, this wont be sold highly in Msia. especially with that price!

—————————————————-
    blase that on mahaithir

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:21 pm

farhathaniff said,

October 22, 2008 @ 6:16 am

Unbelievable.

—————————————————-
    blame that on mahaithir

• aztekwerx on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:45 am

Just saw the price of the Clio 197 go down to 180k in Top Gear mag. Betul ke ni? 30k drop in price? a few more kilos, and I'll be negotiating a loan with the bank… :D

• azlan on May 20, 2009 at 5:39 am

the clio rs that they are selling at rm179K now. does it have any similarities with R27 or the 197 overseas (UK/australia). recaro seats, f1 numbered plaque, etc.

does anyone know?

• mmsai on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Guys,

I own a 96 Espace 2.2 which I bought second hand in 02. Believe me, the spare parts are difficult to get and when you found one, the price is so much expensive compared to others. Some even need to be ordered from overseas. Authorised repair workshops are limited and not many normal workshops have the customised tools to work on a Renault.

I also own a Mercedes 230E and the spare parts are much much more readily and easily available at reasonable prices.

Be careful before you decide to own a Renault.