BMW F01 Interior: Interview with Designers

F01 Interior

The E65/E66 BMW 7-Series took BMW interiors to the next level with the introduction of the iDrive system and the steering-column mounted gear shifter. The whole interior layout was also quite different from all its predecessors. With the new F01/F02 BMW 7-Series, BMW has revamped what we know as the BMW interior once again, and the 7-Series also returns to using a center dash area that is angled towards the driver. Look after the jump for a video featuring Interface and Details Designer Jurgen Schroder and Interior Designer Nader Faghihzadeh talking about the new interior.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dewasemut (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:41 pm

Proton Waja’s centre dash also angled towards the driver… hehehe

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:58 pm

A lot of car’s center dash angled towards the driver too..But Waja’s angle is really an acute 1.

• crasher7 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

n8cky, our former PM oso said before, Waja is Asia BMW… lolz

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:38 pm

i think i got the answer why until now no any other car automaker can beat european car-makers especially BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Audi, and Volvo….. They are the one who come up wid all sorts of advanced technology, then finally other car-makers copies their techs later after few years especially japanese….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:39 pm

Waja is Asian’s BMW ah ?????? lol….. yeah, rite…hahaha…

• csv (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:03 am

yeah, i prefer angled towards me, more driver oriented. i also prefer right side speedometer compared to center mounted.

what about you guys?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:37 pm

csv said,

October 21, 2008 @ 12:03 am

yeah, i prefer angled towards me, more driver oriented. i also prefer right side speedometer compared to center mounted.

what about you guys?

————————

i agree, coz i’m bias, since i own a car with a driver oriented dash, but the only thing is, the RPM is on the right, and speedo on the left.

the interesting thing for me is, bmw lost the driver oriented dash when they came up with the E60, which continued with the E90.. and then now with this new 7, they’ve gone back to their old ways. (which is good news of course)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:11 pm

subaru should take a close look at this, proton should take pictures of a bmw interior, burn the photos and drink it

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:39 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

October 21, 2008 @ 5:11 pm

subaru should take a close look at this, proton should take pictures of a bmw interior, burn the photos and drink it
    —————————————

i’m sorry dude, but your posting made no sense to me at all…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:07 pm

what im trying to say it subaru’s interior looks like a proton wira but its well built, proton’s is just crap

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 5:25 am

interior so nice for wat.. for driver to enjoy kaa.. kakakakak

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 4:57 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 21, 2008 @ 10:07 pm

what im trying to say it subaru’s interior looks like a proton wira but its well built, proton’s is just crap

————————————————

ur comment doesnt make sense at all…. comparing wira with subara, of course subaru is well built for its price tag…. If u want the same quality like subaru in proton wira, are you willing to pay high ????? malaysian cars are made for economical people…. so the price tag is less, indirectly, the quality should be lower !!!!

• noori on Oct 29, 2009 at 2:09 pm

Nader faghihzadeh is a greatest man who all of iranian are prouded with him