VIDEO SPYSHOT: 2009 Proton MPV on the MRR2!

Proton MPV Spyshot

The same group of lightly taped up Satria Neos and a heavily camouflaged Proton MPV were spotted on the MRR2 near Batu Caves heading towards Kuala Selangor by Andrew Wong, who quickly whipped out his camera phone to record a video of the MPV passing by his car. The frames captured from the video manages to reveal in low resolution detail how the front end of the MPV looks like, and we get to see bits of the headlamps sticking out of the camouflage too.

According to Andrew, the way the Proton MPV was going through the traffic was pretty swift, which hopefully indicates it has a decent power to weight ratio. However the video shows that the MPV didn’t have many people loaded – the second row seemed empty and there was no one in the front passenger seat either.

The video also shows the MPV travelling behind a Proton Wira so you will be able to somewhat judge the size of the thing.

You can watch the video after the jump.

VIDEO: Proton MPV near Batu Caves on the MRR2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Front is nice, but the rear looks boxy
    Hopefully the finishing product is good

• ATV (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Small but nice video. I like it.

• ATV (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:47 pm

Are meri comment kidhar gayi?

• awak (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm

look like its a stable footer due to its propotion,

• AH KEONG (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm

too blur.. wait until launch then will have everything clear.

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:51 pm

Juz look like tat china mpv, disappointed..Proton China Mpv melamine free

• fairsyah (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:54 pm

it’s big i think for a 1.6… but who knows… Malaysia Buleh… Proton Buleh… yeaaaahhhh… let’s wait n see…

“may my dream come true…”. Ameen….

• awak (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:15 pm

enochkeng,

please gives some proof, having saying that,
    do if you live in malaysia ?,if you live in malaysia and went to technology week at proton, you know the answer,,

• Keepthepace (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:24 pm

It’s rather too big, 1.6 underpower. Front looks okay but rear looks ZzzZzz

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:29 pm

wow……..
    i cant wait……..
    cool but rear luks boxier………….

• mct (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:32 pm

look like a very nice car with its front design

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:56 pm

wow, i thought the car was really tall. but the height is something between wish and grand livina.

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:57 pm

ooooooo beware, bashers with no life are coming.. around the corner….

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:04 pm

Very interest to know now. Just cannot wait the launching date. Nice shot andrew. Proton team , please test your car here, Putrajaya !!

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:05 pm

i reckon the rear is something like harrier’s rear.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:05 pm

It looks bigger than I thought, lets hope the final product won’t dissapoint us.

Proton bashers, get your 50-Cal or bazooka ready if you want…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:06 pm

*disappoint

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:14 pm

it has an agressive front :D

• DtG (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:31 pm

wow… size wise reminds me of the current oddessey at 1st glance… promising… but considering the powerplants available at proton’s disposal, there’s a possibility for disappointment too… have to wait and see but i think it should look alright…

• bernal (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:46 pm

I THINK QUITE SURE THAT THIS PROTON MPV was based on chery eastar, so similar from various angle, except the rear lamp which is longer for proton, the rest just matching. platform is NOT something easy to be DESIGNED, so far proton still know NOTHING from zero for a whole new platform. I think engine also the same, all borrow from some others and mod here and there and claim that it is theirs. The protection won;t bring goodness to rakyat with lower price automobile, but rather sucking blond only. Rakyat can sacrify for national cars, but that should be at the condition of : lower price, ok quality, but NOT over- price with low quality. Look at korea/china which they initially have the protection towards their national cars, but the price is way lower than the foreign imports. Ours proton is just sucking blood. Imagine a honda accord 2.4 basic model in usa is just selling from $20000, and honda already making money from merely 20k. A good spec suzuki sx4 2.0 only at usd16k… so way to improve, proton. interesting topic: what will happen if pakatan ruling ? will proton still reign under PR ?

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:52 pm

this is interesting. politics and mpv.

• csv (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:53 pm

oh damn, it really is pretty big, like odyssey.

bad news for livina and perodua.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:00 am

bernal said,
    October 20, 2008 @ 11:46 pm

I THINK QUITE SURE THAT THIS PROTON MPV
    ——————————————

unfortunately, just coz you’re sure doesn’t mean its true either.

but you are definitely right that platforms are not easy to be designed. but i also believe that not anyone can just “borrow from some others and mod here and there and claim that it is theirs.” without being sued till their pants fall off.

but if this is a chery platform, why does proton have to start testing it from now, october, and then launch the car all way in march? thats 5 months time..
    if its really a chery, why do so much testing? the car should be ready already.

wouldnt it make sense to launch the car sooner to start making money? why waste all this time to pretend that they’re actually building a car, and also pretend by building such a large R&D facility and hiring so many people… and.. just too many answers dude. i hope you can answer some of them for me.

• sky (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:02 am

I was on the way from LCCT KL to Shah Alam on 14/10, saw an mpv covered up like this testing near Shah Alam. too bad the taxi i was in din manage to over take it. I could only see the back & the side of the mpv. what i could see is the mpv really looked boxy, not like Toyota Wish, which looks more sporty in overall shape.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:10 am

still got some basher here.. i think they just don’t even want to be honest and open-minded… gosh… hmm… :(

well… good MPV and hoping it will have a greater final design and won’t dissapoint people in term of engine improvement and quality control…

for basher, try to be fair.. don’t judge a book by it’s cover… and don’t judge this MPV by it’s heavily camouflaged taped… just wait and see untill this MPV launch, after that… test drive and give a fair ratings and comments…

• bem69 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:21 am

i find it hilarious that the spyshot is really by the books – blurry, low framerate, and out of focus.

• plasticwrench (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:25 am

Hi, I am new here. Anyway, good job Proton. Based on design for Neo, Gen2 etc, i think the new MPV would have a decent design. MPV is supposed to be boxy so I don’t think boxy design would be an issue.

Any Proton guy here? I think this is a good time to enter North American market. The sales of small cars in N.A really picking up. Many people are really into saving money, and not willing to shave half of their monthly income paying for gas. Civic, Fit (Jazz), Corolla, Hyundai all selling like goreng pisang panas. I think even Savvy could rake up a decent sales here.

Just my 2 cents.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:07 am

i saw it already..its superb..very proportional but its larger than Wish and surely way much larger than Livina cause i saw it side by side with Livina..higher and wider too..

i was too busy trying to peep into the interior so couldnt take any pics.

will the campro have enough power to power this beautiful MPV? i just love the proportional design and also the sloaping from end..

i will want one but if only the powerplant is powerful enough…

if proton manage to keep weight at around 1300kg then its possible but if its above that weight i really have doubt about its performances…

imagine if the MPV is the same weight as toyota wish which is about 1410 kg…imagine if you still 7 adults of average 65 kg each…the car will weight about 1865 kg..will the campro cps be able to pull such load??i really dont think so…even if yes the weight will create extra load and stress on the engine..i dont think its a good thing..

so proton be really sure before launching it..dont make the same mistake as how u did when launching the WAJA back in 2000…

double check every inch of the car and i bet it will sell like hot goreng pisang!!!

i will also want one!!

SIFU tell this to proton k?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:47 am

if only proton put a V6 into this MPV and price it at RM80000…wow..will love it…

or atleast a decent 1.8 or 2.0 engine…or a diesel 2.0??

and MR bernal,

some people like you really have mental problem i guess…you know your comment dont make sense at all and you know its stupid futhermore you know you make the rest clear that you dumb and why on earth you still post it here??

you want to make sure people label you as stupid or mentally retarded???

i agree with BanyakMasukWorkshop!!

first of all you say this MPV has similar lines and profile as chery Easter(or Whatever) so that means proton copied chery Easter as your smart brain assumed??

its like saying Mini copied volkswagen cause both have round lights..

its like saying BMW copied Mercedes both cars has 4 tyres

its like saying toyota wish copied honda stream cause both has four dours and can seat 7 but honda has sharper front light and longer rear light!!

then you accused proton for not knowing to design platforms and its not easy(maybe you have tried building one yourself and failed miserably!!so sorry for that)

if thats the case then why no companies came forward to sue proton??Proton waja was design i mean in your term copied from whose platform??your??

if you say proton copy i do agree..because since the day cars had 4 tyres all other manufacturer copied one and another.so if you want proton to be original the engineers have to work hard..5 tyres maybe??or 8??how would you like it??

if you say proton did copy the engine..i do agree too!!internal combustion engine has 4 cycle..or 2 but its the same since day one when Mr Gottlieb Daimler and Karl Benz invented gasoline engine..only abit more effiecient over the years..so can we help Mr Gottlieb Daimler and Karl Benz sue proton??or can you help to invent a different type of engine??pls can you??

about proton sucking people money..i do agree..when the buying stops the sucking can too but besides the cronies and top politicians…proton support about atleast 100000 families…from factory workers till the car salesman…from ah beng workshop to cuci kereta…many rely solely on proton or some how related directly or indirectly to proton..so do want all of them to suffer for your greedy needs????

by letting proton close shop..no one will benefit but if you are a good citizen and a caring one..you should actually propose your ideas on how to make things great for proton and the nation!!!stop complaining and assuming!!

vote for better leaders,demand for better products,dont be fearful and then sit infront your com and complain,assume and etc

in Japan a 9 year old boy can build a radio by his own on a circuitboard…

but in malaysia a 9 year old boy will not even able to set his radio channel..

in japan a 12 year old boy can do partial intergration but in malaysia a 9 year old boy will be wonder if his syllabus will be in English or BM the following year!!so how to compare??

if you want good quality,dont pay rasuah when police stop you, dont litter on the street, use zebra crossing or overhead bridge when crossing the road,dont smoke in public places..be on time to work,think of the enviroment,separate your litter to plastic,tin,paper and glass(all this just for a start)

when people are discplined enough,and also well educated plus has matured thinking…our country will eventually change…

PR or BN will be the same if the people dont change…there is no shortcuts in success…dont just rely on the G to change the country..look at yourself first!!

then we can all change the G and country to be a better one!!

sorry paul…way off topic!!!

then compare..if

• kerelbort (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 7:50 am

it does remind me the back of an Odyssey.. btw. this is based on waja extended platform sharing with chancellor… rite?

look sporty to me even if it is big, hopefully it can be something like the odyssey where it is not that tall but still manage to give the same comfort as old odyssey..

to those wanting a car that is not boxy.. go buy cherry qq.. want something sporty.. go buy cherry qq-r.. hahaha

don mistaken people carrier and a sport car.. i think this time Proton get it right the first time by giving more headroom for Malaysian big headed people… no more sporty outlook… forget jap’s MPV, compete with S-max

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:23 am

If it’s pack with 2.0 litre CPS engine i WILL consider to buy it……

• scottloeb (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:28 am

S-max is good.. but one thing for sure the packaging study is based on the best packaged MPV – Opel Zafira/Chevy Nabira.. Expect flat folding seats, multiple cup holders, additional rear vents, roof storage (rumors from old friend at Engineering Design). Hope that the quality of plastic parts is good, no broken handle again la..

• mmsaidi (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:41 am

bravo Proton!

I know all along that Proton engineer can dobetter design than the Honda engineer, look at the future/current City, Civic, Accord, Stream & Oddysey. all of them are boxy, not proportionate, with ugly nose and butt. It is too bad for Honda which has been in the market for decades but still find the right identity to sell. Unlike Mazda with zoom zoom and Toyota with its establishment look.

Proton can be a lot better if it has the bigger economy of scale and the company continously strives for excellency.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:43 am

Boxy is a trend nowadays.. (but with extra cosmetic).
    New Honda accord = boxy
    New Alphard = boxy
    New Stream = boxy
    New Lamborghini Reventon = boxy hahaha
    Bashers Brain = a$$hole .. hahaha

Whats wrong?

I think, 1.6 is enough with proper adjustment.. Since MPV no need too much high speed. But, if more (1.8 / 2.0 ) it of course better!. Remind me back with toyota Liteace , or nissan vannete (yes! both a van indeed), but none of it underpower. I said, with proper adjustment.. it should be okay. (as si-fu proton spy here told already – it might be built with light high tensil steel?) no problem at all.. (perodua want to used high tensil stell? hell no.. they will give you tin milo or 100plus tin with 100airbag = you still die in pillow under the lorry btw).

1.6 maybe to be sold as baseline MPV = 70 -80K , upcoming medium line one with 1.8 or 2.0 and premium one with 2.4 :D pricing above 90K? (now you will say : OMG.. so mahal la, cannot afford la bla bla bla just like usual and tipical people those want Ferrari with RM1 )

All the best proton, make it better.. launch it in Thailand, UK, Indonesia, Singapore first… then malaysia. :D (yay!).. Export more and more and more.. we need to pump money from outside to malaysia now.. Streghten up our beloved country.. You can do it proton!.. (wow! now im praising for proton too much!)

• Realeyes (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:52 am

Applause to Prem.. You’ve changed a lot since I saw your last posts in Proton Saga BLM.. That is a good thinking, you guys should emulate him/her.

Anyway, back to the MPV. I love the shape especially the front look. I was initially worried when I saw the clay model, because it looks out of date and disproportionate. But this one looks better..

• tikus (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:10 am

Hope for the best

• lchan (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:25 am

Maybe….Andrew is drives really slow….;-)

• kemosabe (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:26 am

This is like UFO chasing.
    Maybe Paul could run a little contest on who could produce the best ‘UFO’ pictures.
    Great website and great visitors too. Cheers.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:26 am

where’s si-fu! miss your comment!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:26 am

where’s si-fu?
    miss your comment!

• nonadoes (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:27 am

the front look nice, the slopping live form engine to the drive looks sleek…the back hmmmm..maybe camouflage too much already so cannot judge properly…but damn it..too blur the video..!!!!!!!!!!! i demand better picture..
    hahaha…P do more road testing so that go more spotter can spot the car…lol

• nonadoes (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:39 am

*correction..”the slopping from engine to the driver seat looks sleek”

• Ralliace (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:44 am

I hope to own one by winning the naming contest for this MPV. Sent in some really nice names! ;)

Anyway, will save the comments when the car is launched. Can’t really say too much from that short video clip. By the way, kudos to the person who shot this clip for being fast and alert.

• Croc (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:50 am

plz proton make the prize around 65k to 70k sure i’ll buy one!! can’t wait until the launch date!!

• Huz (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:09 am

Yup, I saw it too, on the way down from Genting last Saturday. It was going up quite fast, so I didn’t get a chance to snap a photo of it. At 1st I thought it was a Mitsu Grandis, then only realized that it could be the Proton MPV. Looks very much alike Grandis.

• dzulx (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:10 am

I always hope proton to excelled. Unfortunately when its time for me to put my money on a car, I rejected proton entirely although I gave it a chance and tried to convince myself that proton is improving. I opted for another marques since proton’s quality still can not satisfy myself. Tried to be patriotic but hey I am a consumer too.

Proton’s design is good enough and I think at par with others. But they are infamous in using cheapo plastic for interior, miss-aligned glove box, door that need extra power to close properly, poor ergonomic (try to open satria neo’s glove box and you know what I mean. They should put more effort in improving this trivial issues and not only concentrating in designing exterior. Then it will worth the money to buy proton’s car.

As indicated by Si-fu, this MPV will use 4AT and 5MT. and I think without ABS, EBD since si-fu indicated that it is not a compulsory safety feature. But just a constructive criticism, ABS EBD is a selling point for non-technical buyer. What they understand, dual air bag, ABS EBD is equal to safety. Most of them can not understand rigidity, crumple zone etc. Hence car with that features is more appealing to them. Maybe proton should consider this as their marketing strategy.

And come on 4AT?? 5AT is the current trend now. How much different in term of the gearbox price? I think people who can afford to buy MPV is willing to pay a little bit premium for that.

1.6 cps?? not attractive enough, although unlikely this MPV will get other drivetrains. Hope proton can come up with larger displacement or FI or turbo-diesel to make their cars more interesting.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:19 am

nice……

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:24 am

Heard about the latest 1.8 campro? (Was used on the locally assembled hovercraft) Couple that with this beauty…with price range RM80k to RM90k, a big hit, I see, it shall be!

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:27 am

Is it just me or this MPV has indicator lamp at the side mirror.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:29 am

bernal = eastar salesman. period. hahaha

• Poxxue (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:36 am

Wow…!…Looks very promising !…

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:50 am

my pakcik in proton told me, there are 12 cupholders. he tested this mpv to thailand.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:03 am

On the back seat also have a coffee maker, one sewing machine inside the glove box, cooking gas container, one sinki beneath the spare tyre and also one portable washing machine.
    Overall..its nonsense!

• Croc (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:14 am

then to all immigration officer at entry exit point, plz standby with your camera phone or camera for more spyshot!!

• kc (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:28 am

wah! like tat also can see.. ur really have “eagle eye” loz. kakaka.. whatever la… Malaysia bo leh .. bo leh. HArr? Bo arrh.. I tin No a right time to hav Photon MPv Gua…. Perdana Maintenance already cost 500k lor.. MPV ma 1m or more!!! hehehehe

• dzat46 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:43 am

Wow..nice one…gud job P1

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:58 am

Rear looked wide with smallish rear window. Like Honda Odyssey. Roofline slopes down towards the rear too. Sharp snout looks good. Then again the video not so clear.

• food_fan (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:17 pm

Sorry P1, after disappointment from waja and perdana v6 i bought before, no more car from you in the future..

• lfsism (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:19 pm

anticipating the new car.. Looks pretty good, hopefully with the new management, Proton delivers it well…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:37 pm

at least because of proton’s hq being in malaysia.. gives us all a taste of the excitement that motoring journalists who follow and take pics of concept or testing cars go through.

reminds me of that episode in 5th gear where vicky butler spends a day trying to take spyshots of cars testing on the road.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:40 pm

BlackJKX said,

October 21, 2008 @ 11:03 am

On the back seat also have a coffee maker, one sewing machine inside the glove box, cooking gas container, one sinki beneath the spare tyre and also one portable washing machine.
    Overall..its nonsense!

nonsense comment

• haroldz (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 1:18 pm

hand free kit pls..
    hhahaha
    great info indeed

• madimat (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 1:29 pm

food_fan said,

Sorry P1, after disappointment from waja and perdana v6 i bought before, no more car from you in the future..

Mr FoodFan,
    .. I think you better call the MD (Dato Syed Zainal) personally lah to voice your disappointment. If I’m not mistaken he has his phone number printed in every Proton dealers last time.. We really sorry, we all here are too excited about the MPV to share your grouses I guess.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

Hi guys! Thx for missing my comments! Hahahahaha!
    Btw, i want to tell something, i HAVE NOT said that there will be no Airbags, ABS, EBD, or any other 3 lettered words in this new MPV….so for those who thinks so, please dont misunderstand ya! The article/comment i gave be4 on the structure is merely to inform u guys on how importnat is to have a good n well designed structure. However, please do remember, i have not ALSO said that this new MPV will have all the 3 lettered words!

Cheers!

• ipohcurrymee (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Hope the real car wont dissapoint me. Wish this mpv can stop those always complaining about Proton quality, pricing, performace…etc…! All the best Proton! i always support u!

• awak (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:12 pm

si-fu ,got an R3 version for this?

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:01 pm

si-fu, will proton promise better QC this time? all we want is reliability.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:06 pm

u gusy should just wait for the launch then you all can bash whatever you like!

• KGB2020 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:13 pm

The rear boxy looks is ok with it own identity and rugged features, but the front must also have the same boxy and rugged looks, like New Chevy Orlando or Traverse, or more european looks like VW Routan or Taureg2, from the photo it looks like the front of Honda Stream sleek but with a boxy rear. We cannot run away, trend in designing change every now and then, but we must not be too far behind, by the time we launch our design, the trend in designing change and leaving our design looks like some previous makes MPV’s that have come up with a new set of image and a totally new design.

• jovi (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:51 pm

How good the shape is, more important is realibility.

Hope the price is acceptable

• Celicazz (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Proton are indeed going fierce on thier ‘promotion’…

I guess, andrew works for Proton/advertising firm for Proton? and the other guys also?

p/s:I want a Proton MPV GTi… haha

• madimat (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Celicazz said,

I guess, andrew works for Proton/advertising firm for Proton? and the other guys also?

———————–

yea of course we all work for Proton, that is why we praise proton so much and get very excited to this MPV thing. And my mom work for Proton,.. my uncle work for proton, my grandma, my niece,.. my math teacher, my office tea lady, my children all work for proton. Uh, .. also my cat, she says she’s going to work for Proton also tomorrow..

Jangan marah aaa…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:10 pm

awful car

• luriaz (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:16 pm

i thought i saw a signal indicator at the side mirror of the MPV…
    hmmm…

• runpandarun (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:49 pm

is it me..or at first glance of the car looks like a proton saga..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:50 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

October 21, 2008 @ 5:10 pm

awful car

—————————-

its not a car, but an MPV ;) awful mpv maybe?

• runpandarun (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:55 pm

proton is like a soap opera..its like your wondering what will happen next to product..lol

• Jack Sp (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:59 pm

The mpv size looks nice but doubt with the engine cc and power. Will consider to buy if it comes with 1.8/2.0 cps and 5AT.

• Celicazz (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 7:43 pm

Celicazz said,

———————–

madimat said,

yea of course we all work for Proton, that is why we praise proton so much and get very excited to this MPV thing. And my mom work for Proton,.. my uncle work for proton, my grandma, my niece,.. my math teacher, my office tea lady, my children all work for proton. Uh, .. also my cat, she says she’s going to work for Proton also tomorrow..

Jangan marah aaa…

———————–

relax bro, just kiddin…

hopefully all be bright for proton.

this MPV should be promising…

• digiman (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:04 pm

wow.. tell me it isnt true.. maybe its the video itself.. looks as low as a caldina.. hhmm if the price is right.. i wouldnt mind this as the next one.. seeing that my Gen 2 has treated me well and all… i wonder when proton is shooting out the perdana replacement.. really want to see a big brand new engine in their stable..

by the way, did the test car reveal its name? i hope that my hunch is right on the name…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:06 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

October 21, 2008 @ 5:50 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

awful car

—————————-

its not a car, but an MPV ;) awful mpv maybe?
    —————————————————–
    its no mpv, its a van

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:07 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

awful car
    —————————————————————-
    :D u look awful when sayin that… get it right dude, it’s MPV… repeat.. “M-P-V”… the others commenter think this M-P-V was great.. hahaha… :P

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:11 pm

JulianLEe AKA ALPINA BMW

is a paultan.org legend. lol

Note: It’s a classified MPV .

• clover leaf (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:13 am

heard from german source, the 1.6 CPS is fitted with compressor with 125kW output.
    MPV shares similar powertrains as the Satria Neo (gti successor).
    dunno whether isit true or not?

• farhathaniff (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:10 am

wish i win the car!

It looks pretty decent from what i can see. Front is like its concept from lotus but the back seems like it has been cut straight off, no angles but i guess the camouflage, being a test mule, disguise it well.

its massive though! After the wira, its like a huge whale just passed by!

• King Samurai (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:41 am

Proton MPV = Moneymaking Politicized Vehicle

• wsoonlye (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 9:33 am

The front is cool….and overall shape is not bad….at least nicer than avanza…

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 9:44 am

King Samurai said,

October 22, 2008 @ 8:41 am

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 10:51 am

This Proton MPV is based on Chery Eastar …… mark my word for it.

• madimat (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:19 am

This Proton MPV is based on whatever. So is the car you’re driving now, Encik MajooPerak. And mark my word for it, too. ;-)

Unless your car is based on a ship or a coconut tree, that one i dont know lar.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:56 am

This MPV is not based on anything! P1 got nothing to do with Cherry for this model or any other model! U can mark ur words all u want with the best highlighter in the world, but facts will be facts! Don’t come in here and make a fool out of urself. If u have proof, then present ur case, if not just keep quiet!

Cheers!

• Wisdom (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:17 pm

We tend to criticize too much on our own product. We praise imports. This ideology has been developed since our childhood.

Take for example, the series ‘Ultraman’. We watch the series with much anticipation & adore. End up when we grown-up, we thought all Toyota, Nissan and Honda is superior.

Be fair can you? Negative comment before the the actual product roll the production line? Silly.

• madimat (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:35 pm

Si-fu,

Seem like here some people know everything, even more than all the Proton Engineers and Designers put together. Agaknye dorang tu your bosses ke..? hehehe just kidding lah.

• ReactiX (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:11 pm

looks promising for me

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

King Samurai said,

October 22, 2008 @ 8:41 am

honda does not depend on their government, proton drains the goverment’s money which is really OUR money

• catchcart (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Si-fu,

It is common for people to associate Proton’s car with other make. I list below for the model and (rumours) it was based on.

1. Gen-2 — Mazda 3
    2. Savvy — Renault Clio
    3. Satria Neo — Old Mitsu based Satria.
    4. New Saga — Korean make (I don’t remember)

Their so called association is solely based on the body look and if it is similar with other make, they will say this model is based on that model and so on. Purely this accusation is baseless and without fact. People love this kind of talk nowadays.
    Seeing is believing, but not totally right.

One question, does this MPV will have a good handling just like other model that Proton has now? Hope it is comparable/better than Zafira/Nabira or G. Livina. I love the way newer Proton Car drive and handle, but it should have more power. I guess the answer for more power is –to pay more….hmmm…that is something that not all Malaysian are ready for, and yeah….include me also.
    Is the new auto tranny will use the same INVECS from Mitsu? I think the INVECS autobox is not suitable for Campro Engine…the programming of the firmware is not so refined and I think it needs an upgrade both the ratio and the Firmware.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Alpina BMW, how do you know that Honda doesn’t rely on their G? And what prove do you have that P1 is using G’s money to run their business? Do you their financial anual report? Do you have figures to support ur statement? If u dont, better u stop giving foolish comments!

Catchcart, i do agree with, people tend to tuduh proton as though all their models are based on somebody, as though they saw and monitored the whole development stage of the vehicle. Cakap ikut sedap mulut jer!!!!!
    Regarding the AT trans, it will be still using the INVECS-II gearbox, but the ratios are changed and the TCU is refined to suit the engine and the load from the vehicle to the engine. The TCU is under the process of refinement to give a smooth and torqey ride.

Cheers!

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:10 pm

offtopic>> si-fu, biarkn je dia tu. buang masa je layan.

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:32 pm

waaahhh…seen the rendering by our tehophilus chan on the P1 mpv…very nice…very nice indeed

good pricing,good quality…confirm org beli punya…yang kutuk kutuk pun beli jugak nanti…

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:59 pm

nice chassis.

• szw (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:39 pm

i can see theres still alot of “malaysian” in here…
    well , please do save your comment when the car comes out…
    if u think its gonna be rubbish , i hope to see u all come with a car/MPV too.
    i bet its even more like a piece of s***
    if u have the ability to buy good cars , y come here and complain about people trying to achieve something.
    if you try your best in exam but you still fail , did your parents screw you upside down.
    and you actually showed them you’ve studied ?
    in conclusion , don bash anything before you’ve even tried the thing.
    its like bashing someone’s result before their results not even out yet…
    damn , sick of all this people who don’t appreciate with what they got.

• tigerking (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:28 pm

The car better be good in all respects.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Mini_Mack said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

waaahhh…seen the rendering by our tehophilus chan on the P1 mpv…very nice…very nice indeed

good pricing,good quality…confirm org beli punya…yang kutuk kutuk pun beli jugak nanti…
    —————————————————————-

Yes!! u r right!! agreed!! actually, thoose basher wanna know about “perkembang terkini” this MPV and pretend to hate and bashing this vehicle by visiting this forum day after day… “kalau murah, barang pun baik.. sesiapa pun mahu beli”… their mouth “kutuk” but their heart said “hope this MPV was success in term of quality and performance” so they also wanna own 1 of this MPV!! who will know right?? :) :) :D :D :P :P

• szw (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:18 pm

catchcart , who told you that the proton’s chassis is develop using other companies chassis ?
    r u in the R&D department ?
    i really wanna see where you find your statement…
    gen-2 is NEVER a mazda 3 platform…
    did u hear proton did any deals with ford ?
    savvy is just the engine from renault ok ?
    since when u hear that savvy chassis from renault too ?
    make sure your facts are correct…
    you wanna trash proton also go do some homework 1st before coming here and talk crap
    u can trash… if u like eating bullets from people who studies the automotive industry.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:38 pm

szw.. calm down mate… catchcart just asking si-fu the rumours about base-on-what chassy.. he doesn’t mean it… <– offtopic

• bernal (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:41 pm

Who can deny protons cars based on below:
    1. waja – mitsu charisma/volvo S40 – they share parts
    2. savvy – clio – and designed by LG .
    3. saga – savvy + butt
    4. wira – early lancer
    5. old saga – 1st gen lancer
    6. gen2 – modified from waja platform.

There is nothing good/bad for who based on who, just to point out “platform” is not something easy to be designed, but easier to be engineered.
    I strongly doubt that proton can come out its own platform from zero/ground without basing on any model.
    Tell a story: At 1985/6, when proton 1st launch saga, my whole family is SO proud that malaysia is able to produce car, when a year later we got a saga 1.5i model, interior is blue color one. But, after 22+ year now, still minimum improvement have been done so far, but we can hear many call for more protections. Time never wait, malaysia actually Does not have size of econ, just look at Britain/sweden/austria/russia/USA/Japan(mazda/mitsu/subaru/suzuki) all facing issue with their automobile sector, not because of technology weakness, but just cannot survive in competition. Then ask back ourselve, do we stand a chance in world market competition, for proton to win a place in the world market ? I am not economist, but I know this model won’t be successful. DO NOT TAKE for ride for the sake of rakyat hard earn money for substandard parts, and to harness only the cronies, and so called “face/muka” of malay’sian. Muka tak boleh jadi nasi untuk makan lah…. nyawa dan kehidupan lah yang penting. I like a joke: In siamland, near bangkok, there is a statue of Dato Seri mahatir to be called “bapa of siam automobile industri” !!! Siam people say thks to him, not Taksin !

• bernal (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:54 pm

to prem3377 : you head damaged ? why spoke something so rude ?

• szw (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 9:42 pm

bernal, thx for being so calm.
    i might be abit rude , but i feel so ashame that there is so many people who don appreciate with what they have.
    i think you should watch top gear australia, do u know they take a proton jumbuck/arena and compare it with cars/ute like the ford falcon and nissan nevara ?
    australians like that jumbuck because its the cheapest to run.
    if foreigners like our cars , why do we have to be so discourage ?
    actually you should consider how the koreans work their way up.
    not to say i like their cars, but the mentality their citizens have.
    i know the past that proton have been controlled by our G and G USED to inject money to proton.
    but nowadays i don think thats the situation anymore.
    we can all see that the competition is becoming more intense in this country.
    not to say im solely helping proton, but its the mentality that all this people have.
    m’sia won’t grow with such people around.
    if everyone wanted proton to do well , they should give encouragement and comments and let proton know instead of sitting in front of the comp and complain to everyone accept those who suppose to know.
    cheers anyway !!!

• naikmotoje (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:30 pm

proton mpv windscreen is made by factory at sg buloh (MSG)….

• catchcart (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:53 pm

SZW,

You got me wrong here dude, I beg you read my statement one more time. I wonder why you think that my statement is about bashing Proton. Si-Fu understand what I’m trying to say. Indeed he agreed with me.
    Waja is based on S40? Let’s do a comparison between Ford Econovan and Mazda Bongo. Can see most of the parts is identical to each other? Take a door from the Econovan and put it into Bongo. It fits. Now take a door from S40 and put it into Waja, do you think it will fit. Measure the dimension of the door pillar for Waja and S40, is it comparable? How do you define platform? Take a look at old Ford Laser and Mazda 323. Can you see it from the same platform? Waja and S40 share parts? Engine, dashboard, instrument panel, seat, aircond, etc is different even headlamp is not identical. Maybe share some bolts and nuts.

• plasticwrench (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 2:16 am

c’mon, give proton a chance la. I think proton has great potential, but if i am incharge of proton, I will fire everybody in the purchasing dept, and all those lembab QC people.

to be fair, even honda and toyota still produce crappy cars in the 80’s. and only the last 5 years people start to embrace hyundai and kia.

proton is less than 25 yrs old la, and so far, has produced some very decent cars.

• plasticwrench (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 2:21 am

i am still hoping proton will consider producing sport wagon car as this type of car is very popular in europe. If they add AWD and jack the car a bit, ala Subaru Outback, proton definitely can sell tons of this car in the USA.

also, if proton can produce (or even buy turbo GDI diesel) and put in their car, that will be great. there is nothing wrong with buying engines or transmission from other companies. everybody is doing that, including the US big 3.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 2:47 am

bernal said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 8:54 pm

first let me ask you a simple question..

if you tink proton is a waste of money(rakyat money),if proton close down what are the chances of rakyat money benefiting the rakyat again??

do you think government will slash you tax?do you think EPF will give you higher interest??do you think NAP taxation will change and car prices will drop??

simple..nothing will change but we will not have a car manufacturing company!!that it!!rakyat money will go somewhere else and we only loose proton which consist about 40 % of our market share..so 40 % of our rakyat will not afford to own a car at all!!!more motorbike will be on the road and more rempits,more accidents and increase in death toll!!!

i rather see malaysians driving a car than a motorbike cause its not safe at all!!i pity all the motorbike riders who comes to office all wet,lepak under the bridge till the rain stop and etc..so please look at it in a simple way..dont go global 1st..

when toyota and honda started..many say japanese will never make it..and until the after the atom bombing..toyota and honda were a dying automobile makers..they prefer producing motorbikes..but when japanese decide to be serious in automotive industry…they worked very hard..until the late 1970’s they were rubbish car to drive..people were talking about japanese cars like how we are talking about proton..but they never give up..and many times their G help them to revive..even right after world war 2..and both manufacturers has huge amounts of loans for the G(now i m not sure)

until late 1980’s japanese were only cheaper alternatives for poorer american,asian and also european ppl..like how proton is now…you dont buy a proton cause u really prefer it but cause u only can afford it…and they still never give up…they continued with their mission and now they are more established toyota has became the no 1 car manufacturer recently..all because they worked hard and never gave up…they took almost 100 year to be where they are now… and proton??merely 23 years…and you asking them to give up???

when japanese were producing crap cars like koreans few years back if you can still remember…back in their country almost 80 to 90 % were barang buatan sendiri…they supported their product with the hope thing will get better…in our country they are still more imported cars than in japan and korea…i mean percentage wise!!!

so are being fair??proton needed a platform to accelerate their growth..that where mitsubishi came in handy so we save about 80 years of evolution…and now maybe we are 20 years backward but we are catching up…rome was not built in a day..so please give proton a chance…closing shop is only an option for people like you=losers

if according to you..car manufacturers around the world are suffering and etc so proton dont have a chance..General motors were suffering..the G help them…write off some of their dept and all..now they US G is injecting cash in so many companies..so whats wrong if proton get an helping hand??

our education system also kinda backward(not even top 200 in the world)..so can we all stop studying and do something else? cannot right??

same..never give up until its really impossible…we are a small nation so we have to work together…i mean the GLC and big private firms to survive…we are not doing good but there is always room for improvement…so why have such a negative mentality??

• food_fan (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:43 am

I some how see that people are really in denial if someone said that the car arent copied from other manufacturer… Do you know, the designer of latest C class really admitted that they bought a 3 series just to study and learned..? Porsche also bought GTR just to study and learned.. I believe, proton or their partner(Lotus) have no experience how to design MPV.. so they did bought other manufacturer model just to study and learned.. In the meaning “copy” will translate “learned and improvise”.. Nothing wrong about copying, after all.. Its still sit in 4 tires right! =)

P/S: Just a comment, MAYB im wrong..

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 9:50 am

food_fan, manufacturers dont buy cars from other manufacturers to copy their design in anyway, they get it for benchmarking purposes! Like in the case of C class as u mentioned, Merc knows their main rival for their C class is gonna be the 3 series, so when they develop the car, they benchmarked it based on the 3 series in order to come up with a BETTER car then the benchmarked car. It has nothing related with the design! Most manufacturers have their designs sorted out and ready years even be4 the models are started to develop. They call it the design bank!
    In terms of platform, yes they r expensive to be engineered but not imposible! For P1, be4 the Waja was developed, they were just rebadging cars like P2 is doing now. When Waja was started to develop, they HAD to have their own platform! Thats why Waja development cost was so expensive. Once u have ur base platform there, its easier to change the platform to produce other platforms to develop other models. Thats what P1 has been doing now, somehow or rather, whatever models that came out after Waja, their plaforms are derived from the main platform which is the Waja platform. So the Waja platform is some sort like the ‘mother platform’.
    So please dont compare times be4 Waja and after as wat P1 was doing merely be4 Waja was rebadging only! Proton has grown up to extend, now other upcoming manufacturers are rebadging P1 cars like Youngman in China is doing now.

Mr. Bernal,
    U make me laugh with ur comments! In which way S40 parts can fit the Waja? It has nothing to do with the Waja. The only parts that was same in the Waja was frm the engine since it was using Mitsu’s 4G18 engine initially, that also was phased out with the Campro later. So if u have something to say, i suggest u provide proof to ur statements!

Cheers!

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 9:55 am

i like car, just car, not the politics behind that.

u like it, i may not.
    i like it, u may not.

if the “may not” is based on jealousy & hatred, just keep it for yourself.

i’m confident with things that i’ve experienced, not what i’ve heard.

• szw (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 4:25 pm

catcart , y are you comparing only volvo , mazda and ford only ?
    wat r u trying to say ?
    don’t you know dat ford owns mazda and volvo ?
    of coz the body panels all that are the same .
    but , since when did proton did any deal with ford ?
    show me some facts please ?
    waja is never base on any cars , ok ?
    measurements doesn’t mean that the thing will fit.
    i hope u do your homework and find some evident/facts and show me .

• catchcart (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:34 pm

szw,

again, you got me wrong here. Let me enlighten you here, what i’m trying to say that, WAJA was never based on S40. Read my statement one more time. OK, actually my comparison between ford and mazda and also S40 and Waja is directed to Bernal! not you my friend……got it?
    Si-fu, i need your help to make szw to undestand my statement above…….btw, Si-Fu, how is the ride and handling of the upcoming MPV? 30 and 45 degree turn at 80-100km/h?

*hint* I’m on si-fu side…..got it?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:59 pm

Prem3377 said,

October 23, 2008 @ 2:47 am

bernal said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 8:54 pm

first let me ask you a simple question..

if you tink proton is a waste of money(rakyat money),if proton close down what are the chances of rakyat money benefiting the rakyat again??

do you think government will slash you tax?do you think EPF will give you higher interest??do you think NAP taxation will change and car prices will drop??

simple..nothing will change but we will not have a car manufacturing company!!that it!!rakyat money will go somewhere else and we only loose proton which consist about 40 % of our market share..so 40 % of our rakyat will not afford to own a car at all!!!more motorbike will be on the road and more rempits,more accidents and increase in death toll!!!

i rather see malaysians driving a car than a motorbike cause its not safe at all!!i pity all the motorbike riders who comes to office all wet,lepak under the bridge till the rain stop and etc..so please look at it in a simple way..dont go global 1st..

when toyota and honda started..many say japanese will never make it..and until the after the atom bombing..toyota and honda were a dying automobile makers..they prefer producing motorbikes..but when japanese decide to be serious in automotive industry…they worked very hard..until the late 1970’s they were rubbish car to drive..people were talking about japanese cars like how we are talking about proton..but they never give up..and many times their G help them to revive..even right after world war 2..and both manufacturers has huge amounts of loans for the G(now i m not sure)

until late 1980’s japanese were only cheaper alternatives for poorer american,asian and also european ppl..like how proton is now…you dont buy a proton cause u really prefer it but cause u only can afford it…and they still never give up…they continued with their mission and now they are more established toyota has became the no 1 car manufacturer recently..all because they worked hard and never gave up…they took almost 100 year to be where they are now… and proton??merely 23 years…and you asking them to give up???

when japanese were producing crap cars like koreans few years back if you can still remember…back in their country almost 80 to 90 % were barang buatan sendiri…they supported their product with the hope thing will get better…in our country they are still more imported cars than in japan and korea…i mean percentage wise!!!

so are being fair??proton needed a platform to accelerate their growth..that where mitsubishi came in handy so we save about 80 years of evolution…and now maybe we are 20 years backward but we are catching up…rome was not built in a day..so please give proton a chance…closing shop is only an option for people like you=losers

if according to you..car manufacturers around the world are suffering and etc so proton dont have a chance..General motors were suffering..the G help them…write off some of their dept and all..now they US G is injecting cash in so many companies..so whats wrong if proton get an helping hand??

our education system also kinda backward(not even top 200 in the world)..so can we all stop studying and do something else? cannot right??

same..never give up until its really impossible…we are a small nation so we have to work together…i mean the GLC and big private firms to survive…we are not doing good but there is always room for improvement…so why have such a negative mentality??
    ————————————————————–
    u sound like a proton employee. yeap if my comany trouble, so i deserve government’s help too?rome wasn’t built in a day, but they made an effort. all proton does is suck dry our cash reserves and fattens mahaithir pockets.

• lockersbest_c (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:06 pm

hahahahah….
    my dream car,,
    wait til u c me on tv…
    holding bigkey…