Suzuki Grand Vitara facelift launched in Malaysia

Suzuki Grand Vitara

One advantage of selling a CBU car in Malaysia is that you can react to model offering changes very quickly. That is why Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd is able to bring in the facelifted Suzuki Grand Vitara so quickly shortly after it was unveiled internationally in early October 2008.

There are very minor changes on the front end – so minor that at first glance you may think that it looks exactly the same. I had trouble spotting the difference, to be honest. The bumper design is almost the same except the foglamps have been moved further away from the center to help the Grand Vitara look wider. There is also a new design for the front grille. From the side view, you will now notice a new 17 inch wheel design.

Meter PanelOn the interior, there is a new multi-information display integrated into the meter cluster. The climate control area also has been redesigned. The steering wheel audio switches are now illuminated. Finally, the seat upholstery now has a new design for the fabric.

The facelifted Vitara adds a 2.4 litre engine to the model line-up but in Malaysia we continue to get a 2.0 litre model producing 138hp at 5,900rpm and 183Nm of torque at 4,300rpm, mated to a 4-speed auto with ratios from 2.862 to 0.688. One technical change is the addition of disc brakes at the rear.

The Suzuki Grand Vitara minor facelift retails for RM117,125.90 OTR with insurance (RM113,900 without insurance).

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:05 am

CBU yet so cheap,suzuki malaysia is the only one who dont suck rakyat money.

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 6:05 am

so what? if u think other brands suck too much, then dont buy lah..
    all things wanna politics..work hard la brother…dont complain too much..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:01 am

What politics? whats wrong about criticism? You know i work hard or not? Be a clever buyer brother…dont just follow and being cheated.

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:38 am

cheap and value for money….but still dun understand why ppl like CRV?

• rufus-x (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:39 am

bukitdamansara..

either u r the son of a rich dad or u r just being a dick..

enuff said..

• rufus-x (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:41 am

bebelon..

cuz CRV got Honda tag on it..
    nonetheless,theres plenty more cars and brands to choose for at these price range and yet ppl always go for brands instead of what the car offers…

rite..? ;p

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 8:58 am

crv, rush, x-trail bosan..
    the exterior looks very masculine. i’ll prefer this vitara :)

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:28 am

couple bunch of poor people dreaming everthing must be cheap just like that.
    that keep blame other thing.. beside gain more money and opportunity to be rich person .

I think.. with this mentality, and if they were lived in thai or indonesia.. they even can’t afford motorcycle. Believe me!.

Attitude toward future.

• pulltea (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:41 am

For RM117,125.90 OTR with insurance , this should be a 2WD instead of 4WD like CRV. I remember the 4WD Suzuki GV costs more.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:13 am

Wow Mr Bukitdamansara, you need a tampoon?

What MisterBenjo said is valid, its CBU, yet selling at that kinda of pricing.

Unlike some other Japanese brands that are Thai and Indonesian made, which Malaysia Government no longer tax them, they continue to sell at that kind of pricing, cos they know we will buy, and also the government also would prefer them to rip us off because if they sell the kind of price they’re selling in Thailand, our P&P is dead meat for sure.

So? Japs are ‘forced’ by our market and industry to rip us off. BIG TIME.

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:01 am

pulltea,
    yes i agree 4wd cost more than 2wd..but honestly, can u tell me how many ppl use their crv with 4wd for offroad activities? If honda sell 2wd version of crv..it’d also be a good sale.. because not evrybody ‘appreciate’ the 4wd system on this type of suv. If want real 4wd better go for land rover or old toyota.

• tata (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:36 pm

bad boy vitara..
    serious looks that really defines a vitara :D

• DRC (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Kia Sportage is offered at around RM99k. Cantik also; 4WD somemore and similar size. Spare parts are probably easier to find as it is a CKD. Similarly, X-trail is being offered at price below rm129k. This G Vitara is 2WD and has no telescopic steering; other equipments are also so so only, except automatic aircon. But I would not say that it is overpriced because there are a lot of SUVs that are overpriced. For me, if I want an SUV, I would pay another 12k to get an X-trail.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 4:34 pm

A very nicely priced SUV… But i really feel sorry to Suzuki because people are more willingly to spend 110k on a Tucson or Sportage rather than Vitara…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:08 pm

its really cheap

• lchan (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:45 pm

One of the best looking cheap SUV in the market. However, the photoshop of the rear wheel is the worst i have seen.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:36 pm

rufus-x said,
    October 21, 2008 @ 8:39 am

bukitdamansara..

either u r the son of a rich dad or u r just being a dick..

enuff said..

————————

he just being a dick..

• wcw47800 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

Bukitdamansara,

CBU price < Locally assembled models.

That is the issue, simple. Do not make such comments about other bloggers when you do not even know them. Let’s play fair.

• csv (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:32 am

i like this car and its price. pretty cheap for a CBU!

but if compared to qashqai, i take qashqai anyday.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:16 pm

Dang these rich folks telling us to buy or don’t buy.. Can’t a guy on the street complain a bit? Especially knowing that we’re kena pau so much for the same car in other countries. 20k is not sikit you know.

I’ve always liked vitara since first model. Commanding view.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:01 pm

bukitdamansara said,

October 21, 2008 @ 6:05 am

so what? if u think other brands suck too much, then dont buy lah..
    all things wanna politics..work hard la brother…dont complain too much..
    ——–
    Finally an affordable price. Yet, the best price in the town, Suzuki..

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 11:12 am

Sigh..the formula is almost 100% right but just that little more trims and tweaks to make it a seller.

Instead of petrol engine, why dont they offer Diesel? If not, just equip it with 2.4L engine to “steal” the potential buyers of CRV in 2.4L (Naza is selling the CRV 2.4L at RM200k!!) Else, do a light pressured turbo engine for this petrol engine to output at least 170hp with 250Nm torque. Throw in the 2WD/4WD switch like the Isuzu D-Max, add 5 speed automatic so the gear ratio for 1-3 can be closer while space out the 4th and 5th gears for highway cruising and fuel efficiency sake. Throw in HID Lamps with Sunroof and Cruise Control while price it below 140k for the 2.0T version or 160k for the 2.4L version, HM will have a serious competitor for its poorly equipped CRVs (That car doesnt even have BA and bonnet trim!!). Or alternatively to keep cost and selling price low, at least offer the Sunroof, HID & Leatherseats as optional items.

Given such specs with the atrractive factors like CBU, Jap Built, it should sell better than the Sorentos and CRVs. Come on, Suzuki, what are you waiting for?
    Also, please review your Swift Sports offering as I personally think that to widen the appeal, you should add a few more colors to the choice rather than the White and Yellow. Colors like Silver and Black is very popular in Malaysia. As well, pls equip it with the projetor heaplamps as available in the JDM model and use a 6 speeds transmission instead the 5 speeds if you want to make it a close ratios gear box. Else, cruising @ 100km with RPM at 3.8k range isnt pleasant at all. To completely “kill” the latest Honda Jazz, throw in the cruise control as well and add sunroof & HID as optional equipment. If you can still keep the price within the range of 100k with 6 speeds trans or 5 speeds auto and HIDs & Cruise Control (w/o the Recaros & Sunroof), it should has the appeal to many ppl. This is the most fun mini within 100k you can buy…just get the spec really right, Mr Suzuki!!

• 1978AD on Feb 26, 2009 at 5:48 am

I just bought my sgv after tested on the road twice, and after tested x-trail and crv & any other sedan like altis, civic, elantra, slyphy. the results for sgv = good handling, comfortability better than crv and x-trail (but don't compare to sedanlah), and feel solid and durable compare to toyotas and hondas. These are the factors i bought sgv, besides than cheaper price and look better compare to crv and x-trail. never consider sportage and tucsoon although can be cheaper, coz don't like the look and heard a lot of problems before on these 2 models. sgv suspension may be stiffer but at least solid and absorb well on bumps and holes and stable.

Well the thing is, if you intend to look for a car/suv that last long, better get a japan CBU, no regret. I was using a test drive sx4 sedan (which is also CBU from Japan as well) about 8 months old (the speedo shows 16,000 km travelled) while waiting for my sgv, still feel solid and like new after that (no rattle on dashboard or anywhere), which i think beats the civic and altis anytime. I have tested slyhpy (according to the no. plate MBP XXXX = should be about 2-3 months old), it rattles on the dashboard and the door panels, similarly to altis, the silver paint on the steering faded, only after 2-3 months?

if you consider to keep a suv for long term use, sgv should be the answer, money well spent. besides, how many second hand sgv for sale that you have seen? almost nil right? that shows it's worth the money and they keep it because it is exclusive to own one (how many you can see on the road?).

if you can find nearest service centre that you are comfortable with in terms of location and services (because of it's limited service centre), then sgv should be a good choice, besides the service won't costs you a fortune, more or less like hondas and toyotas.

• 1978ad,

Quite good experience you share….

anybody else can share about this SGV ?

• hello everyone,

I've beed driving my SGV for 15 months now, all i can say, i am very satisfied with this car. it handles well and very responsive. A few of my frens drove my SGV before and all they say are praises.

Who ever that plans to get SGV, it;s highly recomended for this price.

At the moment i am searching for accessories for this car such as body kits. Any know where i can get it??

• ervin on Sep 05, 2009 at 10:11 pm

will suzuki launch the ckd vitara…if less than 100k i may consider

• connie on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:37 am

is the price at tax free location such as langkawi and labuan would be much cheaper?…last time when surf for price for toyota cars, the price there much lower..can it be for suzuki brand?..

• Marky Mark on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm

From this angle plus the new 17″ wheels, it almost looks a bit like a Range Rover.. Very nice..

• fabuconic on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:34 am

Planning to own one pretty soon. The white one looks stunning on the road. One word to describe the SGV…. desirable!!!

• Rambo on Sep 05, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Booked on, too long wait on Pug 3008. The SGV is underappreciated in Msia market. For that price, CBU Japan. It’s a steal.

• toroi on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

I am planning to get 1, but i am worry the new Vitara model will come out next year.
    Besides that, do anybody know what is the depreciation rate for Suzuki Vitara ?

• Anyone has any idea on cabin space between sgv and mitsu. ASX… I,m thinking to grab one of those.. but still looking for the best to fit my family with three kids… please share…

thank you.

• Can anyone share SGV fuel consumption? how much full tank..how much per km etc.. ?

• ANILKUMAR on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:20 am

we have one suzuki grand witara gear box problem
    can i get the gear box sepertatly model 2008 automatic