Proton Saga Campro 1.6 Taxi with NGV

Proton Saga Taxi

Proton has started delivering the first batch of its new Proton Saga taxi, powered by a 1.6 litre version of the Campro engine instead of the 1.3 litre version that consumers can purchase. While the initial batch will run on petrol only, the Saga taxi will be updated in December 2008 with a factory-installed and warrantied NGV kit.

This first delivery of the Saga taxi will fulfill new orders from Public Cab Sdn Bhd, KCM Fleet Sdn Bhd, Avenue Drive (M) Sdn Bhd and Perniagaan Lima Sejati Sdn Bhd. According to Public Cab, the company currently has 1,500 units of the Proton Iswara taxi on the road and intends to replace all of them with the new Proton Saga taxi in stages.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vivio (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

yeayyy first maybe

• infinity (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:08 pm

any idea if this 1.6 will be available for public?

• j91752 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:10 pm

Finally here comes their ‘TOP’ management decision !? It has been a year since the last batch of Proton Iswara 1.5 out of stock . . . Taxi driver are hunger for their new model . . .

• ignas (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:31 pm

wow…i wonder how are those ppl’s reaction after they bought the 1.3 saga.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

cant u guys read “This first delivery of the Saga taxi will fulfill new orders from Public Cab Sdn Bhd, KCM Fleet Sdn Bhd, Avenue Drive (M) Sdn Bhd and Perniagaan Lima Sejati Sdn Bhd.”? its not their decision, n its for taxi use, to replace age old iswara. after all, public only have access to saga M-line, not even a H-line.

so u guys can assume proton reserved tat slot for this model. any ppl with common sense would have figured it out tho, im just not sure where r malaysian’s common sense?

• awak (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

power saga

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:45 pm

n 1 more thing, paul reported proton was designing saga 1.6 for taxi use since the day saga was launched, so stop whining like a spoon fed baby

• ignas (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:54 pm

maybe i should ask a friend of mine whether is she aware about the proton is designing saga 1.6 for taxi use, and how would she felt about it if she had bought it. i bet she is happy with her viva instead.

• awak (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:55 pm

i think 1.6 just need a bit firmer suspension as it to suit the load capability, and more, its power to weight increase the car need to be sure footed with a bit stiffer coil spring,

just wondering,

it it sold to public, it could be ‘sport’ version for saga or H line maybe,

probally,,

• kerelbort (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:06 pm

it will be Saga GTi based on Saga Taxi.. hehehe..

so there’s your license to upgrade your Saga 1.3 to 1.6 and after a year to 1.8

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:34 pm

malaysia taxi like shit, i prefer buses

• ragnahse (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:49 pm

yeah..like tis will make te cab drivers start using the meter…bloody hell cab driver charged me 25 bucks frm pasar seni to kl sentral..no option but to pay since it was quite l8 a nite..sigh..

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:56 pm

powered by a 1.6 liter version of the Campro engine instead of the 1.3 liter version that “””””consumers can purchase”””””.

Public can buy?

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:12 pm

fuh..1.6 in saga shell..

• tigerking (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:23 pm

Does actually anyone thought if despite a 1.6 under the hood, is it a safe car for travelling road passengers. We are talking a vehicle that is going to go thru some 300kms a day for a couple of years. I don’t see the logic in this. It gonna end up worse than the current Iswara batch that we have some years down the road. Mind my word for this.

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:32 pm

Proton 1.6 is money wasting investment…only stupid management will go to invest in this project and cater for only small market…Proton Saga is very small to become taxi la

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:34 pm

saga is harder than you think.

took a viva or myvi.. now let ram it both front to front.. let see those harder.

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Well, it does have a stronger body structure. So stucturally it is a more solid cab. But I’d be more concerned about what type of drivers get to drive these…

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:35 pm

@bebelon.

what wasting? it’s better than bought japan car then all the money fly to japan. You learn economy or not?

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:40 pm

@bmpower

if all japanese cars are exempted from the tax, i think they are much more cheaper to become taxi!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:50 pm

in malaysia, we have to beg the taxi driver to bring us to the destination, and he has the right to determine whether he wants to bring us there or not. what bullshit is that.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:28 pm

Bebelon said,

October 22, 2008 @ 7:40 pm

yea right IF .. continue dreaming.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:51 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 7:50 pm

in malaysia, we have to beg the taxi driver to bring us to the destination, and he has the right to determine whether he wants to bring us there or not. what bullshit is that.
    —————————————————————-

That was the “human error” taxi driver fault…pakcik Mahat problem.. not the car…

“get it’s right dude” :)

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:57 pm

“paul tan’s rave and rant on the auto industry” became “commentor’s rave and rant on almost anything about proton”

• gtmaniac (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 9:00 pm

Offering the Saga 1.6 to public will miss the point that the Saga was designed to be an economical round-about. Plus, it will compete with Persona. The previous-gen Saga only have 1.3 & 1.5.

But let see.. maybe Proton will change their mind if there are enough demand from public. Personally, I don’t mind a performance mini-sedan from Proton too. And technically, if this engine can be squeeze-in to Saga, it might be possible to dump it to Savvy too..

Savvy GT anyone?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 9:36 pm

Did you guys ever realise that this would be the old Campro? Without the IAFM? The IAFM is an addon to the standard Campro 1.3 You think that the old 1.3 carb fed 4G13P was more economical than the 1.6EFI?

A bigger engine has the innate characteristics that it is overbuilt. Therefore, you increase reliability when you use a beefier sets of pistons. You don’t need to run it so hard to get it up to speed. Yes you increase the power to weight ratio substantially.

IF the taxi drivers had sense, the first thing they would do is to change to a set of well built alloys instead of sticking with steel wheels. That would definitely reduce their fuel consumption in stop-go traffic as you reduce unsprung weight. Yes big IF here too.

No Bebelon, I don’t expect you to understand this. Don’t hurt yourself trying.

Paul Tan says: Actually we don’t know if this engine has IAFM or not. There is a 1.6 Campro IAFM, in the Persona and GEN2 Facelift M-Line.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Ahh.. ‘the’ saga phenomenon is coming back…

Well at least old saga/iswara is gonna retire soon.

• awak (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 10:07 pm

fastcx said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 8:57 pm

“paul tan’s rave and rant on the auto industry” became “commentor’s rave and rant on almost anything about proton
    ——————————————-
    paultan is malaysian.

——————————————–
    October 22, 2008 @ 9:00 pm

Offering the Saga 1.6 to public will miss the point that the Saga was designed to be an economical round-about. Plus, it will compete with Persona. The previous-gen Saga only have 1.3 & 1.5.

But let see.. maybe Proton will change their mind if there are enough demand from public. Personally, I don’t mind a performance mini-sedan from Proton too. And technically, if this engine can be squeeze-in to Saga, it might be possible to dump it to Savvy too..

Savvy GT anyone?
    ————————————————–

if proton selling 1.6 its going to be in different catogary, it wont sit among 1.3 cheap round about,
    ist a bit of optional model like opel corsa it has an OPC model, or sport type whatever they name it,
    about dumping 1.6 into 1.3 in saga is no hassel, it jus an increment of the engine stroke, no exterior or physical change in size of engine block actually.
    but i dont think it will fit in savvy, they both have different engine build up to suit its chassis,

• awak (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 10:22 pm

to saga owner, still in steel wheel
    do you realised that many myvi change after alloy rim to whatever size ,i dont know,,

buy those second hand stock myvi alloys, put to your saga, there you go, your car look handsome, and right,
    off set of the rim is correct, steering as light as original, dont punnish your car with 5.5j or 6j alloy as the looks like buggy, heavy steering and stress to some components, unless any bigger or wider rims is originally by factory spec,

be wise, in upgrading your car,

• awak (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 10:25 pm

awak said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 10:22 pm

to saga owner, still in steel wheel
    do you realised that many myvi change its ori alloy rim to whatever after market size and style,

so
    buy those second hand stock myvi alloys, put to your saga, there you go, your car look handsome, and right,
    off set of the rim is correct, steering as light as original, dont punnish your car with 5.5j or 6j alloy as the looks like buggy, heavy steering and stress to some components, unless any bigger or wider rims is originally by factory spec,

be wise, in upgrading your car

• naikmotoje (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:05 pm

hi iam one of owner saga blm…
    its nice to know that proton made 1.6 ngv version for taxi use… can I upgrade my car with that engine??

@awak : i hv change with 15 inch light weight sport rims, and many of our club member change to 16 or 17 inch without any problem with weight… cheers

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:57 pm

aiya everyone wanna saga GT…simple la…be a taxi driver and wait till 7 years then the car become yours :-) For ur all info proton will not release CamTakPro anymore…at least have IAFM.

• kronikelz (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 12:10 am

Comments from a saga user..
    I think that this move is pretty smart, considering that the iswara need a replacement, the saga is a smart bet, its cheap and has a several advantages. The looks are solid to begin with compared to the old iswara or even singaporean toyota taxis. it sits five nicely and the rear is very roomy.. The suspension is also very comfortable, you wont feel much of the KL potholes.. and all of these would come at a cheap price 45k to 50k perhaps.. But im worried bout the fuel economy though perhaps the 1.6 would have a better consumption then the 1.3 version..

• ignas (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 2:00 am

bmpower said,

October 22, 2008 @ 7:35 pm

what wasting? it’s better than bought japan car then all the money fly to japan. You learn economy or not?
    ———-

sry man, either way, the money still does not belong to us, n will not beneficial to our country either, you’ll know if ur living here in msia. like it or not, we still owe japan hell lot of money thanks to tat certain M. we are getting poorer by generations and its our children that need to pay back in future.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 2:07 am

@kronikelz : the taxi saga will use 1.6 NGV version…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 7:28 am

There might be some sound thinking behind this 1.6 campro in Taxi’fied Sagas.

LPG and CNG converted engines can in most instances produce slightly less power than thier equivalent petrol versions. This is due to the fuel.

Imagine a Taxi loaded with 3 pass and luggage, (the NGV tank is very heavy as well) you might just need the 1.6L to get the car moving.

But seriously, that extra 300cc isn’t going to make an issue with fuel consumption and extra weight. My 1.8 SOHC converted Satria has better fuel economy than many 1.3L Satrias.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:17 am

Well…at least we can change the taste of Iswara taxi to a New Saga. Better than nothing and so far i think this New Saga is the cheapest latest model sedan car to be available for taxi usage….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 10:40 am

ignas said,

October 23, 2008 @ 2:00 am

bmpower said,

———-

sry man, either way, the money still does not belong to us, n will not beneficial to our country either, you’ll know if ur living here in msia. like it or not, we still owe japan hell lot of money thanks to tat certain M. we are getting poorer by generations and its our children that need to pay back in future.
    —————————————————
    thats why we buy german cars

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 12:45 pm

Bebelon said,

October 22, 2008 @ 7:32 pm

Proton 1.6 is money wasting investment…only stupid management will go to invest in this project and cater for only small market…Proton Saga is very small to become taxi la

———————————————————–

there are so many things wrong with your posting, i really cant be bothered pointing it out to you.. a smart person will do some research, and maybe learn some new things on the way as well before opening their mouth.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 1:12 pm

ignas said,

October 23, 2008 @ 2:00 am

bmpower said,

———-

——

Internal circulation of RM is far away better than ‘fly to japan nad not ever come back later’ .

If we still owe them, why give them more money that we can keep ourself?

Childrens need learn to think more and better.. not to be ‘japanese wannabe’.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Hell.

For those who don’t ‘taxi’ a lot..

better zip it. :D

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 3:49 pm

bmpower said,

October 22, 2008 @ 7:34 pm

saga is harder than you think.

took a viva or myvi.. now let ram it both front to front.. let see those harder.

–Harder does it mean safer? is it buying a car to ram each other? should we have old sunny which absorber bumper which have two layers of light weight C-channel steel. i remember a one tonne lorry drivers was outpatient treatment because it rammed to my cousin car a sunny. but good thing the car was not even dented on the bumper. do u call it safe? maybe volvo 240GL even harder. hahaha, don’t know why? but maybe i should buy a 4X4 pickup and change all bumper to solid steel. i guess really hard and safe in this case. :)

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 4:16 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

October 23, 2008 @ 10:40 am

–hmm, from what i know, a lot of german cars owner changed to Toyota cars. Harrier or Camry. some go for Estima or Alphard. don’t know what’s reason? do u?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Such a small car for TAXI again? oh gosh! Look at our current iswara taxi. The rear leg room is so miserable that we have no where to put our legs. In fact, I’ve seen a few taxi drivers who actually push their seat till they almost stick on the steering to drive. Pity to them.

Look at other places like Singapore or Thailand. Try use bigger cars for Taxi as they should think of the foreigners are normally big enuf and difficult to fit at the back.

Summore 1.6 on a tiny car. I don’t hope to see it become turtle terbalik at roadside so often. Y can’t they stick with 1.3? Malaysian standard that Taxi need > 1500cc onli can be taxi car?

• acwa238 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 7:02 pm

i’m a malaysian but i gotta admit i prefer those big, old type toyota singapore taxi with comfortable leather seats.

malaysian taxi driver disgrace all malaysians by not using meter and charging rediculous money with a proud attitude towards customers/tourists. excuse? fuel price increase. they get subsidised by government and use ngv! if other country like singapore survives, why cant malaysian taxi driver clean up their act?

sorry a bit off topic here but malaysian taxi is not doing us any good.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:21 pm

Maybe you want 1.6 and NVG as well, then buy the “taxi” version of the saga. Maybe that is an option?

• awak (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:40 pm

last time some taxi 1.5 non painted bumper iswara also to public . but not many.

not sure about this, because its uniquely 1.6,
    if it sold as a patrol, it would be at a very low volume like collector or limited edition saga,
    like saga cares last time,

• awak (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:44 pm

but i belive its gonna be released as a limited edition for saga 1.6 sometime after

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:53 pm

tec96248 said,

October 23, 2008 @ 4:16 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

October 23, 2008 @ 10:40 am

–hmm, from what i know, a lot of german cars owner changed to Toyota cars. Harrier or Camry. some go for Estima or Alphard. don’t know what’s reason? do u?
    —————————————————————
    they got con into thinking toyota = japanese cars with superb reliability, which is bullshit. a toyota is no more reliable than a alfa romeo, but still better than a proton. otherwise they suffered from bad investments, lost all self esteem and went and bought a toyota. they could have been tired of life and is contemplating suicide so they bought a toyota.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 10:18 pm

ni mesti tak pernah naik new saga… aku dah try kalau seat tarik paling belakang pun penumpang belakang tak sangkut kaki punya

• huckerz (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 11:10 pm

is it wth petrol + ngv? if got petrol then can feel the power.. put come on la.. add cps la… hayyo smart plan… get rid of the normal campro wth pesona and taxi…pandai Syed ni…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:43 pm

why can’t we have the toyota crown taxi’s like hong kong and singapore

• awak (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 9:25 pm

neo 1.3 auto basic campro is a bit punchier than saga 1.3 iafm auto,
    neo has 12000km, saga is 7500km, well the millage is not that too far behind interm of breaking in.

is that the gear box combination or other factor? while the curb weight data shows saga is lighter.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:06 pm

“paul tan’s rave and rant on the auto industry” became “commentor’s rave and rant on almost anything about proton”

• 1.6? isn`t suitable for taxi that works 8 to 12 hours per day?

why proton did not used smaller engine to save the cost of the taxi driver?

• TJ8949 on May 10, 2009 at 10:31 am

I think it's because if it's using the 1.3 litre engine, it'll consume more fuel if it's fully loaded with passanger. So a 1.6 litre can overcome that problem. Well.. just a thought tho..

• scottloeb on May 22, 2009 at 12:10 am

Gomen rules lah, taxi must be 1.5 cc and above. proton have to sell 1.6 saga or else they have to go to parliament to change the law (like Toyota did with Japan and Thailand – change the country law to suit its business – You cant buy a Honda for taxi in Thailand).

• normal_user on May 22, 2009 at 8:18 am

scottloeb said,
    May 21, 2009 @ 4:10 pm · Reply with quote

Gomen rules lah, taxi must be 1.5 cc and above. proton have to sell 1.6 saga or else they have to go to parliament to change the law (like Toyota did with Japan and Thailand – change the country law to suit its business – You cant buy a Honda for taxi in Thailand).

================

Well bro, Shah Alam got Kenari taxis, which are well below 1.5cc. So I don’t think its the government rule?

And why need to go to parliament and change the law? Its not law; its a regulations that can easily be ammended on the ministry level.

• helang on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:56 pm

err..guys..i just booked the 1.6 saga yesterday, now waiting for a month before the delivery date..is it ok or not?

• why you people make an issue out of this? I cannot understand.

that 1.6 version is nice with a price tag for taxi drivers to pay their monthly installment.

And being a saga 1.3 auto user, travelling everyday from rawang to damansara daily using NKVE (100km daily) still can potong some higher spec car like vios and honda or waja. I dont see any problem lar, except breaking the speed limit and the cost of high toll charges.

By the way, the 1.6 version for a taxi comes with NGV which I just bought for my retired father. To those who never try BLM before, give a try lar.

no point kutuk kutuk when people always so kiasu with their money to pay the taxi charges. that is so typical malaysian attitude. alway kutuk before trying.

• hashim abdullah on Jul 09, 2013 at 12:37 pm

I am having unsettle problems with my campro 1.6 waja taxi that cannot defenitely find the problems with engine cannot change to petrol and cannot start using petrol gas at early stage. the problem is have to run on gas and very difficult to get to the swtiching system. already check the fuel motor pump working, already change the vaccum for the gas compartment and also the relay switch but having this unsolve problems for already 7 weeks.

something i can start my car engine but sometime the whole day cannot start…. help me plse

• Thrishaan on May 28, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Why should the Proton Saga taxi be converted to 1.6l? Can’t NGV run on lower engine displacements?