New Blaupunkt TravelPilot features video GPS!

Advertisement

Blaupunkt TravelPilot

Now this is one really high-end GPS portable navigation system. The new Blaupunkt TravelPilot 500 and 700 actually has a map mode that displays a video feed captured from an integrated camera and superimposes the navigation directional arrows onto it!

This gives you a better idea of where exactly to make your turning, assuming the map data matches the road layout precisely and things don’t change often. The device can also detect speed limit signage and display the current speed limit on the screen to remind you of how fast you can go legally on the current stretch of road.

When you’re not on the move, it can even function as a DVB-T television, or playback DivX videos or any other formats such as MPEG2, Quicktime, WMV, and even audio files ranging from AAC to WMA and nearly everything in between!

Apparently the 700 model also has an email client and a web browser to go together wit hits Wifi support. Truly madness, so much packed into one device!

Look after the jump for a video of the TravelPilot in action.

VIDEO: Blaupunkt TravelPilot 500 & 700

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. twom says:

Woah. Cool device. Wonder when this device will be reached to Malaysia.

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. e-nabilll says:

snatch thiefs are waiting patiently!

3. csv says:

cool!

but berapa satu ah? abang, saya takut ada orang curi!

1k-2k? or even 4k?

4. charles27 says:

wa.. very canggih leh..
    my garmin cannot fight wiht this one laaa.

5. droll says:

errrrrr how is this useful when u’re driving? look at the screen while driving? isn’t that dangerous?

6. car_craze says:

Droll -

where have you been? GPS have been around for ages and widely used in many parts of the world already. It is useful for urban ares where your driving speeds are lower. If you are on the highway, just look at the signboards!

7. Zuwairi says:

droll, go and try using gps…then you will know how useful it is ;-)

8. chee89 says:

man.. my kancil definitely needs one of this

9. droll says:

car_craze – true, but i still disagree. in urban areas like downtown KL or Singapore, people tend to drive at 50-70km/h and taking your eyes off the road for brief moments at these speeds can still be dangerous.

60km/h head on impact with a child can be life threatening.

whenever i use GPS devices, i always rely on the voice prompts. the map visuals on the device are useless to me. :)

anyway, just gotta be careful whenever you take your eyes off – GPS or not.

10. ALPINA BMW says:

is it as good as the tomtom

11. IsaacVky says:

Bosch invent for life!

Now, the japaniiii would try to copy them.

12. szw says:

nice…

13. ALPINA BMW says:

IsaacVky said,

October 24, 2008 @ 7:04 pm

Bosch invent for life!

Now, the japaniiii would try to copy them.
    ——————————————–
    japan’s gps system is actually the world’s best

14. droll says:

yes, japanese GPS best! you can even enter a phone number and it will lookup the location for you!

15. mystvearn says:

vey nice device, now wait malaysia maps are placed in there…that will take longer time

16. ALPINA BMW says:

droll said,

October 24, 2008 @ 11:13 pm

yes, japanese GPS best! you can even enter a phone number and it will lookup the location for you!
    —————————————————————
    its 3d plus it even has the billboards ad on it

17. Xx- Ferrari -xX says:

yeah…. but checkout the latest navi system by german automaker, Mercedes-Benz !!!! , though it doest have billboard add and some stuff, but definitely io find it better than the one from jap[anese !!!

18. S9E says:

I saw it has speed trap detector… how nice. can floor the padal on the plus highway and not worry about getting saman.

19. hamster says:

Tom Tom Bak?… he he he

20. ALPINA BMW says:

S9E said,

October 25, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

I saw it has speed trap detector… how nice. can floor the padal on the plus highway and not worry about getting saman.
    ——————————————————-
    no, get that speed trap jammer, even better

21. RizalHardy says:

this surely will help me a lot… cant forget last week try to find my fren wedding in bandar baru bangi… got lost until went through kajangand finally found it…because of wrong lane take after some turns…lol…BTW im from ipoh and using gps from gopher…hehe….

22. edwindudley2003 says:

Paul, U know anywhere where i can get this gps device?

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: Naza Italia’s Ferrari Service Center
Next Story: Toyota iQ Modellista comes in two flavors