W204 Mercedes-Benz C 350 CGI BlueEFFICIENCY

Mercedes-Benz C 350 CGI

Mercedes-Benz is adding a second BlueEFFICIENCY model to its W204 C-Class range – the petrol-powered Mercedes-Benz C 350 CGI BlueEFFICIENCY. Stuttgart claims 8.3 litres of premium grade fuel consumed per 100km, and CO2 emissions of 193g/km.

Peak power for the 3.5 litre V6 engine is 292 horsepower and 365Nm of torque, which is more than the conventional port-injected 3.5L V6 of the C 350 by 20 horses and 15Nm. It is also more fuel efficient by 1.4 litres per 100km. The engine is mated to the 7G-Tronic automatic and takes the car up to 100km/h in 6.2 seconds.

The 3.5 litre V6 engine is claimed to be the world’s first engine (at its time of introduction in 2006) with spray-guided direct injection. In a conventional wall-guided direct injection engine (such as Volkswagen’s FSI), the injector points at an angle at a trough-shaped piston floor. The fuel hits the through, causing it to swirl up and mix with the air.

In a spray-guided direct injection engine, the piston floor is flat and a hollow cone of fuel forms at the injection nozzle thanks to a special nozzle shape. Benefits include the ability to run the engine in lean burn mode over an increased rev range.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• johnson wong (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 4:46 am

i wan 1…

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 5:12 am

c350… hmm. wit these new tech in it.. guess how much this will cost..500k… hehe.

my accord 3.5 is 250.. i already mumbling

• jamsbong (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 5:58 am

Cutting edge technology is always gonna be expensive. The Honda Accord contains engine tech of over 10 years old. We’ve heard of VTEC since the 90s.

It would appear that Mercedes have taken one big step forward with the use of flat heat piston on direct injection system. Flat head is better for producing power/torque but the shape is difficult for creating initial mixing for fuel before ignition.

All racing engines have flat heads and they overcome the lack of mixing by revving at high RPM and using a lot of fuel.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:12 am

Big engine = oil sucker?

Why they tend to fit big things inside a small things? I tot 3.5 would be more appropriate to fit in the E class or S class. C class is more towards compact sedan where 2.0 – 2.5 is more convincing.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:33 pm

usually people don’t associate a 3.5 v6 with efficiency

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 8:54 am

Mercedes-Benz is always the future of the automobile…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:37 am

the future is the future, audi is the future today,

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 4:24 pm

whatevaer it is…. people’s perception on Mercedes-Benz will not change …. Its the car for the pride…. and for forever, not only for the future !!!!

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 11:59 am

people definition of efficiency always rekated with small n med range engine, but mers have revise the definition…but still most of people dont afford to buy big engine cars due to high road tax :)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 25, 2008 @ 4:24 pm

whatevaer it is…. people’s perception on Mercedes-Benz will not change …. Its the car for the pride…. and for forever, not only for the future !!!!
    ————————————————————–
    not really, bmw is a much better car

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 2:31 am

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 26, 2008 @ 3:57 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————————————–

————————————

yeap…. the fact bout BMW undeniable but BMW is more of to handling part than comfort whereby mercedes-benz is more of to comfort than handling …….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:53 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 27, 2008 @ 2:31 am

ALPINA BMW said,

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————————————–

————————————

yeap…. the fact bout BMW undeniable but BMW is more of to handling part than comfort whereby mercedes-benz is more of to comfort than handling …….
    ————————————————–
    if you can’t decide either, buy a saab, audi, alfa romeo or volvo

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:00 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 27, 2008 @ 8:53 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

ALPINA BMW said,

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————————————–

————————————

————————————————–

————————————————-

well, if u ask me to choose between either C-class & 3 series, i wud rather go for Audi A4 B8 or Volvo S80 instead !!!! Comparing E-class and 5-series, i wud definitely choose BMW 5-series …. !!! When it comes to S-class and 7-series, itz quite hard to choose, i may choose 7-series but S-class wud still ruin my mind too !!!!

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 1:32 am

erm accord 3.5 is with VCM… much better fuel eco when you driving.
    *VCM is not active when car stop, eg traffic jam, so it use more petrol when statis. But when cruse at 180km/h… still can run in VCM mode.. equal 2.3L.
    When goes above 200km/h… notice that vcm is off.. v6 full mode after.

erm.. why put a 3.5 in small car.. haha… so that it become more affordable maa. choose between accord 3.5 or S320 lol… after see the price, then you oso fainted laaa. Unless is company cars/asset, then should go for S class lol.. not own pocket money laa.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:25 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 28, 2008 @ 10:00 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 27, 2008 @ 8:53 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

ALPINA BMW said,

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————————————–

————————————

————————————————–

————————————————-

well, if u ask me to choose between either C-class & 3 series, i wud rather go for Audi A4 B8 or Volvo S80 instead !!!! Comparing E-class and 5-series, i wud definitely choose BMW 5-series …. !!! When it comes to S-class and 7-series, itz quite hard to choose, i may choose 7-series but S-class wud still ruin my mind too !!!!
    ————————————————-
    volvo s80 , its brilliant, a e-class competitior for the price of a c-class.nicely designed, it has a strong engine too. 7 series?s-klasse? i just for an audi s8 or maserati quattroporte