Kahn Cosworth Sport 300: first batch of 80 cars for Saudi Arabian royal family!

Kahn Cosworth Sport 300

It must be great to be in the royal family of a country of which oil consists of 90% of its exports. The Saudi Arabian royal family purchased 80 units of the new Kahn Cosworth Sport 300 SUV based on the Range Rover Sport just because they wanted the cars before anyone else. I suppose the global recession is non-existant in countries of which economies are driven by petroleum exports.

The Kahn Cosworth Sport 300 is a joint venture between Cosworth and Kahn Design, headed by CEO Afzal Kahn. The Sport 300 carries a £20,000 premium over the Range Rover Sport’s regular price tag of £55,000, and for the 20k pounds you get an additional 32 horsepower from the car’s turbodiesel V8 engine, resulting in a total of 300 horses. The styling is by Kahn design, which includes flared wheel arches and 22 inch alloy wheels.

Look after the jump for a couple of more shots of the new Saudi fleet.

Kahn Cosworth Sport 300

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:10 am

just like that 20k premium?

i think i still prefer the normal range rover sport. nicer looking without that portruding bumper.

these saudi arabia people are damn filthy rich ah.

i also know they got a Silver Audi A4 or A8, not paint silver, really all made out of silver! KILAT KILAT!

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:18 am

in mecca, every year, people stuck in traffic jam for about 8 hour while doing our mina visit(during haj), yet this people still dont want to spend money for public transport there…. rich people minded…

• ignas (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:28 am

as usual, god give them wealth, but they weigh it as light as feather.

• xenith (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:33 am

I still prefer Vogue…

• db8 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:49 am

not nice at all…hideous looking bumpers..

• ignas (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 1:14 am

actually it looks late 80s/early 90s. boxy.

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 5:18 am

ugly car!

• food_fan (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:02 am

when u are damn rich, it is not the look that you’ll go for.. its all about the pride.. owning the thing that other cant afford.. thats what you’ll go for.. Be the 1st, above others.. Even thought that it is ugly.. hahahaah…

• mspfaz (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:10 am

These people does not know what else to do with their money, therefore they spend like there is no tomorrow. They should have given the money to the poor African country like Sudan rather than buying something as ugly as this… and they are not buying just one, but 80 units…. What a waste!!!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:20 am

Buruk perangai tok arab ni. I guess this is what they consider as refined, desert style. Cars are so dang cheap in arab states, even Bangla selling carpets drive new Camry. My friend actually wanted to buy, but malu because too cheap. Had to buy Chevrolet TrailBlazer instead to save face. Dream come true if we can buy cars at arab prices. One dinar = RM1…

• rt (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:51 am

Dear mukhri88,
    Saudi uses Riyal
    But you are correct 1 Riyal approximately = RM 1.
    But entry level Civil Engineer got 6k over there

Hmmmm… What car I want?…
    I had always admire Skylines.

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:54 am

FIT FOR A KING……….

DONT YOU NOTICE ? ONLY THE BUMPER IS SPOILING THE KING’S IMAGE…

HOPE THE KING WILL GET A NEW BUMPER.

IN LIPIS THE RICHEST MAN IS DATO LEOW…

HOPE HE BUYS IT SO I CAN TOUCH THE CAR!

DONT WORRY DATO I WILL NOT SCARTCH THE CAR.

NICE TO HAVE IT IN LIPIS…

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:55 am

DD 11

DATO DAVID LEOW

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:56 am

WE GOT DB9 HERE IN LIPIS U KNOW…….

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:57 am

CAMRYS AND ACCRORDS IS JUST FOR USE GOING TO PASAR MALAM

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:00 am

Hi all,

LOL. A car enthusiast website turned into a political arena. Good work Paul.Tan. I know its not your fault. Just that we have lots of people coming in and out from your cool website. Anyways, I don’t know if you guys have been to middle east, its very common for the drivers over there to install big bumpers (some with leather finishing too, phew). It’s just they like to park ‘cincai’ along the roadside, I mean bumper-to-bumper touching. So, they need the big bumper when squeezing in for side parking. Tough drivers I must say. Need a lot of patience driving at those Arab roads. Here in Malaysia you scratch a car, you’ll end up paying the damages triple-fold!

The drivers over there (yes, the Pak Arabs) drive their BMW 7th Series, Mercedes SLK ‘macam’ drive our Proton and Perodua over here. Modify, racing, ‘beli sayur’, ‘lepak kedai kopi’ and etc. Don’t be surprise teenagers over there ‘paling miskin pun’ minimum drive a Toyota, Honda and etc. Bear in mind, ‘Cemburu itu dibolehkan’ (can promote ‘kiasu-kiasi’ culture to be better and better) ‘yang tak boleh adalah sifat dengki’ (the devil’s essence). I believe if our import cars are cheaper, everybody would end up buying these expensive cars as well.

Public transport? They don’t need to worry about public transportation cause cars are so cheap over there. Better salary and the list goes on. Only that ‘perlu tahan’ with the Arab work culture over there. Very tough especially in Oil and Gas but they reward you properly. Not like here in Malaysia, our Private Sector is so damn ‘lokek kedekut nak mampus’. When ask for slightly better pay and better bonus, my ‘taukey’ boss would say economy not doing well lah, government not good lah, still he can upgrade his fleet of BMW and Mercedes every year. No wonder Malaysia is losing out more of its professional workers (doctors, engineers, lawyers, accountant and etc) to Middle East, Singapore, UK and etc. Not that Malaysians working abroad are not patriotic; its because all those typical ‘kedekut’ Private Sector and ‘lintah darat’ Government. I rest my case.

Just my 2 Ringgit and 30 cents.

• fairsyah (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:02 pm

dr_carz said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 9:57 am

CAMRYS AND ACCRORDS IS JUST FOR USE GOING TO PASAR MALAM
    ———

wonder what will happen if tata-nano is there… kete-pakai-buang??? buy morning-throw in the evening…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:40 pm

fairsyah said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

dr_carz said,

CAMRYS AND ACCORDS IS JUST FOR THE USE GOING TO PASAR MALAM
    ———

wonder what will happen if tata-nano is there… kete-pakai-buang??? buy morning-throw in the evening…

then how about perodua cars like the kancil, kelisa, kenari, myvi, viva and so on ???? or hw about proton….hahaha….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:45 pm

Saudi Arabian’s are bloody f***in’ rich !!!!!!! Just take Dubai as an example !!!! Staying in a cheapest lousy hotel for one night may cost you US $5000 over !!!!…. u ppl should find more videos bout saudi arabians in youtube !!!! I saw most of it including the amount of oil barrels produced per day !!!!!!

• ynnad (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 1:35 pm

politics aside…

google-a-look at the afzal kahn. from custom rims to custom cars… rags-to-riches story.

• droll (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 1:40 pm

wahahhahahahahahahahahahahaha that’s a sorry excuse for spending money. i think they just don’t know what other car to buy! LOL.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

October 29, 2008 @ 12:40 pm

fairsyah said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

dr_carz said,

CAMRYS AND ACCORDS IS JUST FOR THE USE GOING TO PASAR MALAM
    ———

then how about perodua cars like the kancil, kelisa, kenari, myvi, viva and so on ???? or hw about proton….hahaha….

————————————-

Proper(Protong+Perodoa) uses to tarik pow in the padi farm..enuf ‘Kerbau’ power..

• jared323f (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 2:39 pm

I can see that, in not too distant future when petroleum is only used by industries and cars use clean, green and sustainable energy, there will be less dependencies on petroleum and the Arabs will go back to their tribal ways.

• jared323f (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Actually the Hummers in the movie Be Cool look much much better and more bling bling

• hiComp (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 4:33 pm

ahhh… kenot grind mat rempit yet like them H2 hummers on 22″ blings…

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Talking about exaggeration – i just drive my Accord from my living room to the kitchen!!!
    Probably the rich Arabs do that in real life.

• LHQ (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 4:57 pm

jared323f said,

October 29, 2008 @ 2:39 pm

I can see that, in not too distant future when petroleum is only used by industries and cars use clean, green and sustainable energy, there will be less dependencies on petroleum and the Arabs will go back to their tribal ways.
    ——————————————————————-
    Don’t forget that Malaysia will too.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 5:10 pm

They don’t, but they do have solid gold crappers. Also one-off made to order Ferrari and other makes, a desert island where they trash the most expensive SUVs. So 80 custom Range Rovers at one go now seem common in Saudi Arabia.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Range Rover Sport is already a superb looking machine and got awesome power under the hood without any bodykits or modification….

and frankly, the Hamann version is much more better than this…..

• WXX8XX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 6:05 pm

Mmm.. dunno about everyone else but this car look fine to me. It’s a Range Rover, it supposed to be boxy. But i think 80 of this kind is a bit over the edge. Aihh.. no wonder they spent like this. Oil producing country like that. Take Kuwait for instance. Less citizen but the money produce by their oil production can support 10 or 100 times (or maybe more) their citizen’s expenses and this result in what? 1 KWD(Kuwait Dinar) = RM11 – RM13!!! But there a reason for all this. God give they all the money to spent but take away their brain. That’s why they keep bombing at each other.. Aihh.. What a waste..

• nmh (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 6:38 pm

search arab drift in youtube…they use camry & accord for drifting lah…salut2

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 6:44 pm

WXX8XX said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 6:05 pm

Mmm.. dunno about everyone else but this car look fine to me. It’s a Range Rover, it supposed to be boxy. But i think 80 of this kind is a bit over the edge. Aihh.. no wonder they spent like this. Oil producing country like that. Take Kuwait for instance. Less citizen but the money produce by their oil production can support 10 or 100 times (or maybe more) their citizen’s expenses and this result in what? 1 KWD(Kuwait Dinar) = RM11 – RM13!!! But there a reason for all this. God give they all the money to spent but take away their brain. That’s why they keep bombing at each other.. Aihh.. What a waste..
    —————————————-

yeah…. true…. they are flooded with money but the citizen hav no brain !!!! Bomb there and here…. haha !!!!!!!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 7:33 pm

I think it looks abit ugly. Too much transformer in the design

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 7:50 pm

the overfinch range rovers are better

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:33 am

this car is not about power only..
    it’s about comfort.

and yes.. about ‘status of a rich people’ tooo..

• szw (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:05 pm

support cosworth , don support da wat khan company

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:07 pm

owned by datuk shah rukh khan