Modified Australia Honda City “Concept”

Honda City Concept

The Honda City was displayed at the 2008 Sydney Motor Show as a SEMA-like concept, not surprisingly called the Honda City Concept. This tricked out Honda City features wing mirrors that use cameras instead of a mirror, LED headlamps and tail lamps as well as a bodykit and alloy wheels. Photos courtesy of Jeff Choo. More after the jump.

Honda City Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Husky (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:05 am

Nice !

• huckerz (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:48 am

Very nice!!! Nice LED lights!!!

• teelim (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:51 am

Wow! Very futuristic looking. Cool

• ignas (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:55 am

Nice bodykits and rims!!! i want one!!!

• dota (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:13 am

wowwwwwwwwwww i want one white colour

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:17 am

WTF !!!! itz fantastic man !!!! If this car really gonna come up in our shore, im sure other car manufacturers competing with Honda city range, especially vios gonna have a big headache in their sales !!!!

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:54 am

really nice the design..
    the new city really good to be modified…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:07 pm

nice…the rear stil looks awekward without the LED lights

• David9988 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:10 pm

nothing to shout abt.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:44 pm

So where they place the side mirror monitor?Center Dash?

• sky (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:27 pm

can’t they just put this is mass production & kill the sales of vios?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 3:02 pm

2 thumbs up!!! :-)

Vios? F**K OFF…..

• sakuragi (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 3:09 pm

just another big black baboon. useless car.

• DRC (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 3:20 pm

It looks nicer if modified in this way, even without the LED lights. The one we saw previously is less nice. Pricing the new City at RM91 000 will be too much, looking at the price of Elantra, which is a C-segment car with automatic air-con, leather seats, bigger comfortable interior with telescopic steering and pretty good exterior especiallly viewing from rear.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 4:42 pm

wow
    neon paip taillight….
    just like cpu mod
    so ah beng

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 5:47 pm

DRC said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 3:20 pm

It looks nicer if modified in this way, even without the LED lights. The one we saw previously is less nice. Pricing the new City at RM91 000 will be too much, looking at the price of Elantra, which is a C-segment car with automatic air-con, leather seats, bigger comfortable interior with telescopic steering and pretty good exterior especiallly viewing from rear.
    ——————————–

the japs will never price their car lower, and especially why even bother to lower it till the level of the koreans? firstly, they dont even regard the koreans as competitors, secondly, they still outsell the koreans like crazy with a higher price.. one of the most important rules of marketing is, do not sell your product at the price you think is right, but at the price your customers are willing to pay.

• White Jack (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 8:30 pm

So now can we confirm that new City will sell better than VIOS ? :)

• ignas (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:10 pm

with the economy like this, wonder how many customers are willing to pay for the high price. unless they are not affected by the recession and pretty loaded with $ka-ching$. good tips btw, B.M.W lol.

• maserati (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:54 pm

Lol…this car is damn nice..but if they bring it to m’sia how the hell is it supposed to compete with vios?

I am sure this car is not going to cost less than RM 100k…

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:06 pm

will be priced higher the jazz and lower than civic in aust though. as far as the base models go.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:24 pm

White Jack said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 8:30 pm

So now can we confirm that new City will sell better than VIOS ?

————————————–

yes Bro !!!!! It gonna hit our market soon and vios gonna blow down soon !!!!

• L15a (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:17 pm

niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee….

• m4xspeed (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:23 am

side mirror has been removed or what??….

• niGht kiD (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:17 am

That’s so cool xD !!!

• revive (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:30 am

Fuiyooo

• kingv6 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:39 am

nice cool rims !!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:49 am

this is the only thing australians can do right

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 1:56 pm

m4xspeed said,

November 3, 2008 @ 7:23 am

side mirror has been removed or what??….

Do you read before you type?

It says.. “features wing mirrors that use cameras instead of a mirror”

Anyways.. if someone ought to buy the Soon-to-come City, i bet it’d be a winner against Vios.

My 2 cents.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:51 pm

if they claim using wut wut recyclables materials…etc etc and sell it expensive, damn i will feel like im not a smart consumer to spend so much on a 1.5cc car.

• shoon1983 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:57 pm

they should make the rear lamps, front bumper and rims part of the module kit. much better than the module kit option it came with

• xstan (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 5:46 pm

W I C K E D…!!!!

Guy who shun this design must be …blind. He must have just like Myvi or Vios design. Likewise..he is not genuine GUY.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:29 pm

anyway, australia got honda city? i thought they like the v8’s?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:13 pm

I like the rims of the car. Cameras overkill, not sure the LED are that bright…

• torque (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 2:53 pm

I’m not actually anti-Toyota but seriously anti towards the new ugly dugong vios…heh heh heh! And to be fair…when this new City hit our shore, the Vios is as good as doom (in terms of sales of coz)! Honda also should thanks most of those ah beng when they modding it like there’s no tomorrow!! SURE WAN!! :-)

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 3:08 pm

why can’t anybody design something proper, oh yea they can. they just reserved them for more expensive models.

• jeffchoo (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:34 am

Hi everyone, I’m glad you all liked the photos I took at the motorshow of the City Concept.

To answer some of the questions posted above from what I recall from reading the briefs and listening to the Honda PR peoples speak, the Honda City is being launched here as a slot-in model between the Jazz and Civic. It’s been touted as a Jazz (Fit) in a sedan form and hence is not really very fast, but it offers a lot of space practicality. The target market is young people who want a small car which is practical and stylish, and don’t need speed (in Australia, for the most part, we drive on suburban streets at 50km/h and motorways top out at 110km/h- legally of course).

Also should be emphasised that the car above is a tricked-out City. It’s nothing more than a concept which happens every year and is not representative of what we’ll actually get in the stores- all the large automakers release concept cars whether it be production ready (e.g. Lexus IS-F) or more hypothetical (e.g. Holden Coupe 60). Either way, they typically get done up in decals and random aftermarket parts to show what is capable. This year Honda did up their Civic Type R hatch, and Subaru did their trademark WRC Impreza. Mitsu showcased an Evo X with every single option ticked in the accessories list (i.e. all the fake CF trim, etc..)

Also FYI we don’t have a Toyota Vios here. The closest thing is the Toyota Yaris Sedan which I think is similar to the Vios from memory.

If you guys want to see some of the other pics from the motorshows just let Paul know and I’ll send him more! This year wasn’t that exciting unfortunately though- no BMWs/Benz. Mainly Aussie cars (yes the V8s).

jc.

• imran on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:44 pm

jeffchoo, if i may, since you were there duing the mototshow, do you happen to know what sort of design or material that they use for the rearlamp? it looks very intriguing yet tricky to identify. Im sure its LED in there but the, outer shell looks like a pipe sort of like and it is covered with wiremesh some sort. Its amazing.

• jeffchoo (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:38 am

Forgot to mention the City will be priced at $19,000aud. Other cars in similar price range include Toyota Yaris Sedan starting from $18,000aud, Yaris Hatch starting from $15,190aud (3door manual), etc… The actual Honda Jazz here is starting from $15,990aud and Civic starts at $21,790aud.

I personally thought the City Concept looked awesome for what it is. Not a fan of the CF trim or the cameras for mirrors, but I thought the front headlamps made it look much more menacing. I think the car’s side profile also looks pretty good and it kindof reminds me of a BMW e46 side profile. This is based on the Honda City Concept poster which they handed out at the motorshow which is currently on the wall next to me :)

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 3:17 pm

yea australia getting the new city. just wondering if malaysian students here would buy this or not. especially knowing that this costs less than the jazz in msia.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:21 pm

November 6, 2008 @ 11:38 am

Forgot to mention the City will be priced at $19,000aud. Other cars in similar price range include Toyota Yaris Sedan starting from $18,000aud, Yaris Hatch starting from $15,190aud (3door manual), etc… The actual Honda Jazz here is starting from $15,990aud and Civic starts at $21,790aud.

I personally thought the City Concept looked awesome for what it is. Not a fan of the CF trim or the cameras for mirrors, but I thought the front headlamps made it look much more menacing. I think the car’s side profile also looks pretty good and it kindof reminds me of a BMW e46 side profile. This is based on the Honda City Concept poster which they handed out at the motorshow which is currently on the wall next to me :)
    ————————–
    wats the aussie exchange rate ?

• jeffchoo (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:34 pm

1aud = RM2.3738

• Hi bro … U got any idea we could obtain the head and rear light ?here in Malaysia ? tq

• Jeff Choo on May 01, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Apologies for double posting but I realised my comment didn’t automatically reply to yours;

Hi, sorry I can’t be more use as I’m not sure what the LED tail lamps are made from. The only description provided at the motor show was that they were made with LEDs. Maybe try using more photos available online (e.g. http://www.themotorreport.com.au/9644/2009-honda-city-2008-sydney-motor-show) and getting a custom build? From what I can tell they were custom made for the show car and unfortunately look nothing like what is on the production model!

• The Honda all new City is interesting. Sometime I will modify mine like the concept.

• Ernest on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:14 am

Where can i get those tail lights?front lights?and those rims..i like it damn much. i really need thse detail. anyone?

• gua tggu city colour putih….lebih umphhhh….

• appetite4destruction on Nov 03, 2009 at 8:20 am

i really like this city.. but how come no manual trans 4 malaysian market… i hate driving autos.. have manual trans i'll book it!!

• SkyOni (Member) on Jan 16, 2010 at 2:32 am

where can i get front led head lamp and back tail lamp????

• whr can i get this city led lamp???

• Jeff Choo on May 01, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Hi, sorry I can’t be more use as I’m not sure what the LED tail lamps are made from. The only description provided at the motor show was that they were made with LEDs. Maybe try using more photos available online (e.g. http://www.themotorreport.com.au/9644/2009-honda-city-2008-sydney-motor-show) and getting a custom build? From what I can tell they were custom made for the show car and unfortunately look nothing like what is on the production model!

• cooper on May 05, 2010 at 5:44 pm

my city wan convert to this city!!!
    in malaysia whr can do this!!!

• adithya on Jun 17, 2010 at 2:24 pm

wer do u they do this in india..??
    is there ne chance tht th company will release this modified version ne time sooner..??

• i love this car

• vaibhav on Sep 07, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Goood look

• siddharth on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:21 am

can we buy those led tail lights , i realy want one , can any one tell me who made them . please , who modified this car .??

• siddharth on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:22 am

can we buy those led tail lights , i realy want one , can any one tell me who made them . please , who modified this car .??

i realy like them and please tell me who modified this car ,is it a aftermarket tuning company or something .??

• delmond herbert on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:55 pm

can we buy those tail lights , i realy want it please help