Nissan Navara with 174 PS launched in Malaysia!

Nissan Navara Malaysia

The Nissan Navara was launched today and is now available for sale at all Nissan dealers. The Navara does not replace the Frontier but is positioned as a new offering above the Frontier, priced at RM103,721.90 for the sole 2.5 litre automatic model in Peninsular Malaysia. Sabah and Sarawak prices are both RM104,800.00. Nissan has been offering both models in alot of countries now, with the old Frontier renamed as the D22 or the NP300 but sold in limited quantities.

Look after the jump to find out more about the new Nissan Navara.

Nissan Navara Malaysia

It’s just as well that Nissan positioned the Navara one class above the Frontier because even in terms of size, the Navara is one size larger than the other pickup trucks in the country which are classified as compact pick-ups.

The Navara has is a full 100mm longer than the longest compact pick-up truck which is the Toyota Hilux, and its wheelbase of 3200mm is also a full 115mm longer than the longest wheelbase which is also the Hilux. If you think that the current pickup offerings are rather large and hard to park, this will be even harder!

Nissan Navara Malaysia

Nissan Navara Torque CurveThe Navara is also the most powerful, with its 2.5 litre Nissan engine producing 174 PS at 4,000rpm and 403Nm of torque at 2,000rpm. It is mated to a 5-speed transmission with a single overdrive and an LSD. 4 non-overdrive gears means closer ratios compared to a 4-speed auto with 3 non-overdrive gears, this can keep the Navara in its powerband more often which should result in some very decent progress.

403Nm is alot of torque, about the same as the BMW 335i and the new M3, so expect lots of fun with the strong shove that kicks in at a peak of 2,000rpm. The turbo promises to be lag-less thanks to a VGT turbocharger which can vary its vane angles to have the turbine geometry always at its optimum (read this for a full explanation of what VGT is).

Nissan Navara Malaysia

The truck uses a body on frame chassis, a rack and pinion steering wheel and a double wishbone suspension at the front and a solid axle with leaf springs at the rear. The interior is done in dark beige for the dash and light beige for the seats and looks like the one in the Latio. There are two cupholders at the front (positioned between the front seats) and two more for the rear that come out of the center armbox on the floor.

Other niceties include a leather interior, low range gearbox electronic switch which can switch from 2H to 4H and 4L electronically, an in-dash 6-CD player, Xenon headlamps for the front which Nissan says is JPJ approved so their officers won’t be able to give you a hard time, and an electro-chromatic rear view mirror on the interior with a built-in compass, similiar to the one in the BMW X3. This auto-dims whenever it detects a glaring light, and also displays a compass in the form of a small LED display in the top right of the mirror. The Xenon headlamps have their tilt adjustable from within the cabin in 4 steps.

Nissan Navara Malaysia

Safety features include dual SRS airbags and ABS brakes. Some may be concerned by reports of the Navara failing an Euro NCAP crash test with horrible results (one strikethrough star) earlier this year, but Nissan has quickly fixed that with an update to the airbag software. Nissan says that the issue only affects a batch of Navaras that were produced between May 07 and December 07. There is no issue with Navaras produced before that since the 2005 launch, and after the fix.

The affected vehicles were also recalled for the fix. After being retested with the new airbag control unit software, the Navara now scores 3 stars for adult occupant protection and 4 stars for child occupant protection.

The Navara comes with a 3 year or 100,000km warranty in Malaysia.

Nissan Navara Colors

Nissan Navara Specifications
Click for enlarged specifications table

Nissan Navara Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 6:58 pm

Interior looks simple and feels cheap, just like the Rush. Hope to see more interior pics.
    Nonetheless, the powerful engine and handsome looks may compensate the interior shortcomings.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:00 pm

well this is one mother trucker! haha, imagine so much horsepower and so much torque and way bigger than a honda civic! im sure it would scare camry drivers to the pits

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:07 pm

bad interior for a pick-up truck !!!

• jaygan (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Cool and macho :)

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:32 pm

overprice!!!!!!! i rather get a ford ranger!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:58 pm

poor interior but its serves its purpose to transport stuff. Look at the engine

• mct (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:02 pm

ford ranger cannot offer the 174ps and 403nm
    plus NAVARA have autodim rear view mirror which is consider a quite high class thing which 150k camry also did not have this feature !
    6cd changer ,hid with the manual levelling
    digital compass and 5 speed auto also not to mention a leather interior

• hello (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:04 pm

hmm, i don’t think the GTI has 400 Nm of torque.
    In fact, even the R32 doesn’t have that much torque.
    but navara, awesome.

Paul Tan says: sorry, mistake, confused with another car.

• carfan888 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:33 pm

Not worth for money! Rather get ISUZU!

• kai_stereo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:44 pm

wah… nice. but price so high lah… better buy DMAX or HILUX

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:52 pm

hue…car this big only 3 star NCAP?

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:53 pm

finally something that can make me think to take out the trusty old ranger from my stable…

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:36 pm

impressive power…but when no manual version..its categories as premium pick-up truck..reduce the ‘fun’ factor…
    anyone hv info the navara in thailand? re they hv same specs or less then this?

• droll (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:16 pm

someone should just slap this engine into a small hatchback and offer it at rm100k as a weird experiment!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:25 pm

really awesome…lots of power…looks like more room than rivals…and looks that are very balanced between macho and sleek….I LIKE !
    wish it was below 100k though

the good thing is…it doesnt have a very high ground clearance..like hilux and triton which make them look n ride aweful….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:48 pm

Hell yeah baby! =D

• csv (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:23 pm

i went to see the truck, its bloody big. can scare kancil away.

its like those american trucks GMC etc. the size.

although the interior is plasticky. you gotta admit the engine and equipment is really quite value for money.

nice nice. but imagine if they intro a manual price around 98k. even better.

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:41 pm

man… i wonder who will buy the truck? the size and price has become the negative sides of the truck… despite its mother trucker status, i cant understand why the Navara should exist in Malaysia…

• dp (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:42 pm

you guys need to test drive it. very fast in accelerating to 100. tested it with a 99 cefiro 3.0 v6…. wasnt far off till i let go of my right leg at 130. 1 thing is interesting though, lsd really works well when making a fast 180 at the roundabout. will not loose the rear like my hilux aka vigo. very very good handleling. like driving a rav4 but only that its a truck!!! not bumpy as other trucks. the price 4 me is ok. some more, its a cbu from thailand (correct me i am wrong). the saloon cars like altis (tutup mata) and maybe, just maybe civic fd2 1.8 on the road will have a hard time catching up with it…still considering on wether to change my current truck….bad times

• Actually has been local CKD since October 2011 due to massive floods in Thailand, they have moved assembly in M’sia!

• ninjaboy (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:14 am

TCM is getting greedy here. Too expensive for such cheap interior.

• envee (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:32 am

I dont think so the behind seat is more comfortable compare with mitsubishi triton , problem is how reliable is this model , because tcm pick up not consider very good name in its previous model , hope they can take this as a consideration , highly recommended mitsubishi because they give out free maintenance , is a better deal.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 1:24 am

walau!~ Can we just take out the engine and put it in a sedan or something else. Power is what i can see on this truck, the rest is average.

• plasticwrench (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 6:53 am

this truck is actually being built for North American market. The truck has been marketed in the US for several years already. It is called Nissan Frontier in the US, and its SUV sibling is Nissan Pathfinder. Sadly, there is no diesel engine available for US market. They use the gas guzzlers 4.0 V6 and 5.4 V8.
    http://www.nissanusa.com/trucks/

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:06 am

Haha! Mother trucker!

• theanswer (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:13 am

a bit expensive for tht cheap look interior. nway the truck is placed over frontier ths why the price is more expensive..unless it replaced frontier i guess the price wll lower a bit more.

• najibest (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:19 am

frankly speaking, this is the truck that i’ve been waiting for. there has been good review for this truck and many say it’s very drivable…reminds me of the nissan titan truck which was the truck that i really wanted (but know being a full size truck, it would never come to our shores)

for those who think that the price is too expensive, have a look at the specs and you’ll know why. i mean the triton 2.5 A/T is about 93k and the specs is way lower than this but i don’t see anybody complaining about it…of course some would compare it with d-max 3.0 and triton 3.2, but hey, at least for this 2.5L u’re just paying about rm900 for road tax compared to rm1.8k and rm2k for the 3.0 d-max and 3.2 triton respectively

• DRC (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:39 am

Current Altis 1.6 interior also looks cheap, and priced similarly. Same with Innova (empty box). To me, it is reasonably priced. But I guess there is no heat-absorbing glass, telescopic steering(if want to call premium) and driver seat height adjuster(can see from the picture)??

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:18 am

the best looking truck after the X6

• sky (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:29 pm

guess they still have many old stocks for Frontier, that’s why they cannot totally replace Frontier with Navara. How attractive it will be if Navara can replace Frontier, lower the selling price of Navara, and definately will steal some orders for Hilux. Getting sick of seeing Hilux/Vigo now.

• sky (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:31 pm

should have launched this Navara ealier last year so that I can replaced my Fighter with this one. too bad. I’ve chosed other car already. not the right time for me now.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 1:04 pm

Biggest and most powerful truck in our market ….

One hell of a trucker with a mother trucka price too !!!

• DRC (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Price is reasonable. Leather seats (if price from Toyota, it will be around rm2500), powerful VGT and 5 speed auto plus other goodies; total worth >10k definitely. The overpriced ones or mother trucka price ones are the rest. I am not a Nissan fan, just to be fair. It is like asking why Elantra is more expensive than Vios G.

• wideawake (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Rear seats not favourable compared to my Hilux. A bit on the “tegak” side…
    One thing I noticed is the rear diff. It had cooling fins… unlike other trucks in the market… It should reduce the boiling point of the LSD fluids in there.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:34 pm

why don’t we get the dodge ram srt-8, nows thats a truck i would be proud of

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:37 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,

November 6, 2008 @ 7:34 pm

maybe they don’t have small engine displacement…4L to 6L engine are usual in US, but not in here…road tax super expensive…
    furthermore maybe they still saying “US cars for US peoples only” hehehe

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:33 am

fighter_B2500 said,

November 6, 2008 @ 11:37 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,

November 6, 2008 @ 7:34 pm

maybe they don’t have small engine displacement…4L to 6L engine are usual in US, but not in here…road tax super expensive…
    furthermore maybe they still saying “US cars for US peoples only” hehehe
    ————————————————————–
    thats a pity, the CHEVROLET they give us and attempting to give europe are a bloody joke.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 2:08 am

1. i want to get 1 for my dad !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Ford really must come out with something to compete !!!!!!!

3. hopefully the sales will be million times better than the sissy triton….

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:22 pm

dodge ram rulz

• samdam (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:31 am

this is way better than the vigo more power and class

• LoneRanger on Mar 08, 2009 at 10:46 am

hmm…. only available in auto?? pour mother trucker. cant feel the real 4wheels experinced. Ford ranger XLT are better than mother trucker. Off Road enthusiast only use manual transmission. Maybe it can use for garbage truck. hehehe….

• kurt jemmott on Mar 08, 2009 at 3:20 pm

you haters….. GO NAVARA

• safari on Mar 30, 2009 at 11:15 pm

anyone know how to redo the back seat rest. so straight up-ward. cannot tahan long journey la..

• yup, anything we say about this Navara and one thing I like about this 'another double-cab' is the spaciousness… one of my friend own a Navara and kindly offers me for a ride, I already had a seat on all double-cabs available… it is true, Navara is the most spacious double-cab I ever ride on :-)

• May i know when the navara come a new model for 3.0 engine.

• Joseph on Oct 22, 2009 at 10:29 pm

This navara engine, it is commonrail or not?

• nismosss (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 2:19 am

NAVARA is 6 speed manual NOW…go and GRAB..this manual….reaLLyy..MOTHER TRUCKER…like nissan TITAN at US..

is good to have Nissan Pathfinder version 2005(Terrano) as another option as 4wd passenger cabin in Malaysia compared to Ford Everest 2.5 TDCi

• eutules on Dec 08, 2009 at 10:05 pm

I won't buy any twin-cab 4WD at the moment because the Navara 3.0 L and Vigo 3.0 L will be coming very soon. Actually, both of these models are available already but wait until they are here in Malaysia.

• Jason Kong on Apr 11, 2010 at 10:24 pm

If got ….3.0L and above …confirm I will buy it. But sad now only got 2.5L ..too small for me is not enough . But why in malaysia don’t have Toyota Tundra like US ar ..? Toyota Tundra have 5.7L ..I very like it ….now I waiting .

• i like the navara.

• Well. I ve been using frontier for the last 5 years. No comment about the car and the engine. Reached until Ranong Thailand.Until now its still in v.good condition just needs service every 5000km. I think mother trucker will be my next pick up since i found that hilux may cause u more on fuel consumption, a bit of headache on the aoto transmisssion. But please review the price…….

• KABEZ on May 25, 2010 at 12:09 pm

PLEASE REVIEW THE UP RIGHTNESS OF BACK SEAT, ITS NOT REFLECT WITH THE COMFORT CONCEPT OF THE CAR. THE REST R OKAY…..

• KABEZ on May 25, 2010 at 12:19 pm

i went for test drive yesterday. The engine was too strong compare to the other pick up so as the low noise and vibration come from engine.

i think this is a good truck for long distance, but again the poor back seat is not practical, too straight…… hope that, there will be a solution from nissan or other fans

• whether the steering wheel 2.5 liter version is different from 3.0? because I see some pictures, on the steering wheel has buttons for whatever, but why here plain?

• I think, we’ll have to wait a whole year at least, after Thailand launch the facelift on their soil. Now still no news. I oso hope they bring in the facelift with black or grey interior, & new centre console, but fat chance la, wait until janggut panjang lo.

I’ve been sending few messages to Tan Chong Nissan, mostly regarding the EURO NCAP result. THEY DON’T RESPOND! Very dissappointed.

• GTR34 on Aug 13, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Wanted to buy a Truck so went for a test drive, this is what I found after testing the Navara:
    1. The back seat is too straight, ie not suitable for passengers to sit for long duration.

2. Althogh engine is powerful, the throttle just not as responsive as to compare to other brand’s double cabins (I have tested Ford, Mitsui and Toyota). Have to be heavy footed to move the car, is it something to do with the gear ratio? If that’s so, then it would be not that economy to drive??

3. I find the Navara’s steering is heavy. Driving it around city road will be harder in compare to other double cabins that I found to be more nimble/easy to drive and park.

4. This one really deters me from buying the Navara, the imobiliser need MANUAL disarming! Is this true or is it just for the demo car. Really the low low point for a car costing 105k ( aside the lousy interior.) Remember seeing this in Hilux 7 or 8 years back!!!

Really really disappointed after testing the Navara, before the test drive really though that this is the truck for me, now have to wait for the Hilux 3.0 before making any decision.

• Aceng3025 on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:37 am

I heard the Hilux 3.0 is coming this October – I wonder the interior setting is the same or totally new compared to current Hilux 2.5. Anybody know anything about this?

• Vgs turbo on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Hi GTR34,

Hope you can find a good pick up. Mostly car salesman won’t tell you about the engine technology. Because some of them don’t understand. Engine technology is important in terms of engine lifetime, durability, fuel efficiency…

Well, first of all, hilux 3.0l and 2.5l uses 1st generation common rail. Where others uses 3rd generation already except 3.2 triton. First generation uses 135mpa pressure. 2nd generation uses 160mpa and 3rd uses 180mpa. So better go for higher mpa so the engine lifetime are longer, more fuel efficient of course less black smoke.

Second, turbo. Some uses vgt turbo to develope more hp and torque and fuel efficiency.

3rd, comfort and car stability.. Coil spring front suspension pick up are more comfortable. But torsion bar is more stable.

Good luck bro. Hope you choose good pick up.

• GTR34 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Does it really matters wheather it’s 1st gen or 2nd gen or 3rd gen?I mean considering M’sia low quality diesel? I don’t.

Also, I’m no car designer but I think buying a car that is reliable is better then buying a car with all the high techs but no support and always broken down. In my area there’s a POOR guy bought a brand new Navara but now having injector problems. Now the car cannot drive and Nissan still cannot manage to get a brand new replacement injector for him. He’s gonna sell the car STRAIGHT off after the replacement.

Buying a car and expecting it uses all the latest technology is not my fancy. I’m using the car as a workhorse, a reliable one I’m seeking. I don’t want a car with rocket engine fitted with all the latest techno but no reliability and HIGH i mean high maintenance fee. This is a double cabin, NOT a sedan, NOT for racing.

Never the less, I also don’t want to wake up every morning MANUALLY disarming my car’s alarm ( next time better yet, Nissan can fix a BIG pad lock there). I EXPECT HIGH TECH IN THAT AREA for a 105k car. Manually disarming alarm is stone-age techno!!

• Aceng3025 on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:22 am

I did go around a few showroom but not able to see the SE version. Even the showroom in Jalan Ipoh also don’t have the unit. I wanted to confirm the interior (dashboard) colour – Is is the same with the LE (light grey) or is it the same with the standard version (dark grey)?

YES – the dark grey is very plasticky!!!

I used to drive Hilux manual since Feb 09 until recently July 10 my Hilux got “cilok”!!! I am considering other not so hot vehicles. I wonder what is like to drive and maintain a Manual Navara and an Auto Navara – in term of robustness and maintenance cost. Kindly share some info.

• Vgs turbo on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:29 am

Relax bro,, Common rail generations actually does a lot of different. 3rd generation common rail actually more durable than the 1st. Plus, it is far more fuel efficient.

Honestly, what you mention about navara is right. I also found a lot start to produce black smoke and lead to injector problem. Plus, some have to remap the common rail ecu. This is the main problem of nissan.

• GTR34 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:06 pm

I don’t get it??? U say 3rd gen is more durable but why keep broken down?? They are quite a few number of cases already in my area?

And also Fuel efficient.FYI, Navara is heavier than all the other double cabin ( hence called the mother trucker ?) and you talking bout fuel efficiency? I tried Navara and it’s not so nimble and response is no better then the other brand ( although using the 3rd gen).

• Vgs Turbo on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Well, let me explain…

Fuel efficient, in malaysia navara get the 3rd after Dmax and Ssangyong.

Well, I also have the experience like you before, thinking of get a pick-up. In the end, I don’t buy a navara for a reason. I also have tried.

Nissan developed this engine, 2.5l with very high power and torque, even 3.2l 4m41 mitsubishi can chase them. They put a higher rpm compare to others and vgs turbo on a small cylinder engine. This actually gave the engine ‘stress’ when you accelerate hard or during more torque is required. This is how Isuzu develope their engines and that is why Isuzu engines are weaker in hp and torque. They trying to minimize the ‘stress’ of the engines and thats why the engine are very durable. taking isuzu’s 4ja1 engine for example, 80hp and 175nm torque such a low strength, I ever met a friend drive more than 800,000km without overhaul. Engine ‘stress’ actually very important. In long term, usually injector may cause problem or the common rail ecu. But so far, I found 1 navara suffer crack engine block.

Nowadays, a lot of car makers trying to put a high hp and torque for customers satisfaction and usually durability ‘just enough’ to cover the warranty period. So I had choose the one made for engine durable.

• Hrk engineering on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:18 pm

You’re right.So far my 3.2L triton working well except black smoke. maybe due to the 1st common rail. Frequently use but now feel a bit drop of torque. Engine doesn’t cause much problem except black smoke.
          My friend own a dmax and same use as me. but his dmax working well and no black smoke. fuel consumption much lower.
          Dmax runs with 3rd generation common rail?

• Vgs Turbo on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Yeap. 3rd generation.

• eutules on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:26 am

Still can’t match my Mitsubishi Storm V6 with 181 ps. Sorry Navara! My friend just upgraded his Storm V6 with the installation of MicroTech system & the power even much more higher ~236 ps! ;)

• Navara 3.0l v6 V9X diesel engine. Original 230hp 500nm.

• francis/..labuan on May 27, 2011 at 6:48 am

no comint every thing is good but 4 wheel is always make a problem

• apeng on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Nissan offer rebate 6k for new navara full spec LE…
    Wow…

• CW Cheow on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Navara?? Problematic car.. What mother ??uker? Got to tow back to service centre in less than a month. Talking about brand new Navara. In and Out of the Service Centre since than till now. Clock 105K need to change Gear box at RM6.5K inclusive of gear oil. Think hard before you own the Mother Trucker before he owns you??

• lplew on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:25 pm

I owned brand new Navara, now mileage clock to 78,000km. 2 months after power steering leakage, Nissan change it new for me, fine. After a year, suspension got squeezing sound, service center just tighten the srew, after 2 weeks again occurs and persistently not resolve. Now engine oil leakage, found out the nut and body thread is damages, they said this is wear and tear part and not under warranty. Very frustrated with NISSAN NAVARA, who want to buy pls think it twice.