SEMA: 2009 Honda Civic HFP Concept

Honda Civic HFP Concept

This year’s Honda Civic Honda Factory Performance (HFP) Concept is an odd concoction. It’s based on the Civic Si with the powerful high-revving i-VTEC engine but has aerodynamic elements from the Honda Civic Hybrid in order to improve fuel efficiency.

The HFP Civic Si “Hybrid” features aerodynamic wheels similiar to those you find on the Civic Hybrid, a lighter HFP exhaust system and an upgraded HFP suspension. According to Honda, a similiar kit is already being used in the real world in the Super Taikyu Series race in Japan.

Look after the jump for more shots of the SEMA Civic sedan and coupe.

Honda Civic HFP Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Zuwairi (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:41 am

cool coupe! sadly it wont available in Malaysia

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:42 am

Both models nice…. but prefer the 2 door version.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:54 am

hmm nice but arses too long.

• maxtek (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:12 am

We’ve already got the Civic Type-R in Malaysia, that’s waaaaay better than what they’ve got there. XD

• abtm (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:25 am

the hubcaps look like the ones from F1, it works aerodynamically but it’s ugly!

• ignas (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 2:12 pm

me like asia civic, me dislike continental civic.

• the stik (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 2:37 pm

front end civic putih tu cam golf gti wannabe laaa..
    ape daaa…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 4:18 pm

our civic looks better

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:10 pm

dun spoil the car please !!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:02 pm

the white car is a bit ugly. The blue car took the rear end of the accord coupe and placed it directly on it…

• cyberx11 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:43 pm

wah…civic originality is back…like its break lamp..

• dp (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:58 pm

like an in between model of civic si and type-r….
    lighter and faster and returns more mpg
    i wonder if Honda ever though of a coupe civic in ASEAN market.
    could sell well…..maybe
    come on Honda, do your homework

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:20 am

don’t think they will, the type-r civic isnt even selling that well

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:40 am

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 10:20 am

——————————————-

you should go and try and book a civic type R in any of the honda showrooms today, and you will find that there is a waiting list, and no stock available.

does that still mean the civic type R isnt selling well?

heck, for a RM200k(more expensive than golf gti) low-volume niche performance car, i’ll say its a sales success.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:36 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

November 6, 2008 @ 10:40 am

——————————————-

you should go and try and book a civic type R in any of the honda showrooms today, and you will find that there is a waiting list, and no stock available.

heck, for a RM200k(more expensive than golf gti) low-volume niche performance car, i’ll say its a sales success.
    ———————————————–
    they could be holding it, release later, why are there hardly any type-r’s on the road then.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:46 am

November 6, 2008 @ 7:36 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

November 6, 2008 @ 10:40 am

——————————————-

———————————————–
    they could be holding it, release later, why are there hardly any type-r’s on the road then.

————————————–

i’ve seen a couple of type-R in johor bahru b4…… actually the engine sound of Type-R is not bad, but im not sure its still under stock condition or not bcoz dat owner modified it badly !!!!