SPYSHOT: BMW Progressive Activity Sedan

BMW PAS

These excellent shots of the upcoming BMW Progressive Activity Sedan (BMW PAS… future Terengganu exco car replacing the new E200Ks if PAS ever regains control of Terengganu?) were shot by reader Zakwan in HohenSchwangau, about a 2 hour drive from Munich where the BMW headquarters is.

BMW PAS
Click for enlarged image

These shots reveal not very much of the rear brakelamps, but we are able to see the sleek, compact and upwards-pointing headlamps that probably follow the theme set by the new F01 7-Series. You can expect large kidney grilles with this car as well.

The BMW PAS was originally rumoured to be called the V5, part of a new V-Series which were supposed to consist of *gasp* BMW MPVs. It definitely doesn’t look like an MPV of any sort. It’s more of a fastback version of the 5-Series. Many car manufacturers offer a third model variant to its large sedans – a fastback or a hatchback in addition to the conventional sedan and estate bodyshapes. The Mazda6 is one of them.

BMW PAS
Click for enlarged image

Yes, that’s probably what it is, a version of the BMW 5-Series Touring with a sloping rear roofline designed to compete against the likes of the Mercedes-Benz CLS. It may not be called a 5-Series though… maybe an X4 or something. I really don’t know.

The shot above reveals a dual trapezoidal tailpipe configuration for the exhaust system. Various spyshots of the BMW PAS around the internet has revealed a couple of other tailpipe configurations as well. What we’ve seen so far is a twin-tailpipe exhaust on one side of the car which could be a baseline model or a diesel model, a quad-tailpipe version (two twin tailpipes on each side), and also a dual round tailpipe configuration on either side of the car which could belong to a variant power by the N54 3.0 litre twin turbo petrol engine. These trapezoidal tailpipes likely indicate the 4.4 litre twin turbo V8.

BMW PAS
Click for enlarged image

The multi-spoke wheels on this test vehicle also look like one of the larger ones we’ve seen installed on this car so far, which indicates this is probably one of the top of the line variants.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:36 pm

WOW,they really know how to tape cars!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:49 pm

PAS? hahaha nice jokes LOL..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:55 pm

BMW with Volvo grill? The body looks like Gen2

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:27 pm

dunno wad da hell happening 2 BMW nowadays !!! the rear looks very bad for its badge !!!!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:14 pm

good coverage zakwan mate! haha i wish i lived closer to munich

• AMG (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:19 pm

Wow… Looks like some sort of wagon car?

Besides, nice work huh Zakwan! You’re the first Malaysian take i saw to take BMW spy shots!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:21 pm

i tink that rear bootlid mite be a fake…hard to figure out how it looks…but the front probably the front looks like the new 7 series…the rear is anyodys guess…

• csv (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:31 pm

so is this gonna be an MPV? or what?

• cyberx11 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Roll Royce alike…

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:57 pm

Oh NO! Why did BMW steal the design of our beloved Gen 2! Damn you BMW!! ;)

• tata (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:19 am

those thingy at the back are just a cammo.. they done this to ensure the fresh surprise when it’s launched.. who would forget x6 in cammo spyshot?

• Paul Tan on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:22 am

I think we don’t have to mourn the Concept CS’s temporary demise… I got a feeling this may end up looking like the Concept CS.

• tata (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:27 am

agreed. the rear end is pretty similar to the concept

• tata (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:40 am

spotted a video about the v series http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzNuXc2fHdE

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 1:25 am

PAS! he he good name, next time BMW should come out another name like the PKR or BN or something. But the design will take some time to get familiar with. Awful!~

• layman (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:05 am

Another outstanding car in the making !!! Too bad in Malaysia it is out of reach for many of us.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:17 am

its a 4 door coupe, bmw only lying when they say they not making

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:33 am

hahah. this must be a marketing gimmick.. they “paid” Zakwan to take this pics, so that he can leak it to paultan to post up ;)
    just like how some claim that proton pays people to take pics of their test cars.

but hmm.. definitely looking like a hatch. almost like an X6 without the higher ride height, and like a slightly overgrown 1 series.

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:03 am

Ralliace said,
    November 5, 2008 @ 11:57 pm

Oh NO! Why did BMW steal the design of our beloved Gen 2! Damn you BMW!!

—————————————————————-
    LOL…..yalor….why you BMW copy our Gen2 design la?….jeez..BMW…Make your own design lorrr… :wink: :wink:

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:33 pm

SKUNK_WORX said,

November 6, 2008 @ 11:03 am

Ralliace said,

—————————————————————-
    LOL…..yalor….why you BMW copy our Gen2 design la?….jeez..BMW…Make your own design lorrr… :wink: :wink:
    ————————————
    why you gen-2 copy design of opel astra/corsa and volkswagen polo?

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:34 pm

and lets not forget renault megane(the old old one)

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:01 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 7:33 pm

SKUNK_WORX said,

Ralliace said,

—————————————————————-
    LOL…..yalor….why you BMW copy our Gen2 design la?….jeez..BMW…Make your own design lorrr… :wink:
    ————————————

—————————————–

hahaha….. hope opel astra/corsa and volkswagen polo/renault megane didnt copy from other automobil !!!! or else we can form a automotive cycle !!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:37 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 6, 2008 @ 8:01 pm

SKUNK_WORX said,

Ralliace said,

—————————————————————-
    LOL…..yalor….why you BMW copy our Gen2 design la?….jeez..BMW…Make your own design lorrr… :wink:
    ————————————

—————————————–

hahaha….. hope opel astra/corsa and volkswagen polo/renault megane didnt copy from other automobil !!!! or else we can form a automotive cycle !!!
    ————————————————————
    nobody seems to realise this but that mercedes cl is really the peugeot 407 coupe

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 10:29 am

November 7, 2008 @ 11:37 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 6, 2008 @ 8:01 pm

SKUNK_WORX said,

Ralliace said,

—————————————————————-
    LOL…..yalor….why you BMW copy our Gen2 design la?….jeez..BMW…Make your own design lorrr…
    ————————————

—————————————–

————————————————————
    nobody seems to realise this but that mercedes cl is really the peugeot 407 coupe

r u sure bcoz i tried to compare pictures of those two cars but not much similarities except for the shape, in which it luks a bit similar !!!!

• David9988 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:03 pm

Rubbish…
    I saw the cl near wisma HELP the other day…looks no where near like the peugeot.
    It looks more like a 1.5million ringgit car (no.. really..it is)

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:22 pm

David9988 said,

November 9, 2008 @ 2:03 pm

Rubbish…
    I saw the cl near wisma HELP the other day…looks no where near like the peugeot.
    It looks more like a 1.5million ringgit car (no.. really..it is)
    ———————————-
    yeap, the mercedes cl doesnt scare you away(why is that peugeot smiling at me….)

• aaronmaseri (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 10:04 pm

isit 5 series or 7 series?