2009 Perodua MPV: new artist’s impression

Perodua MPV
Click for enlarged image

This is an artist’s impression of the upcoming Perodua MPV that is set to be released in Q3 2009. Theophilus Chin’s rendering is based on the upcoming Toyota-Daihatsu compact MPV project that is set to be launched in Indonesia in early 2009. The Malaysian launch will come soon after.

Theophilus has given the Perodua version of the new Toyota compact MPV an aggressive front bumper inspired by the front bumper of the Daihatsu Sirion Sport. The bulging nature of the front bumper’s wheel arches are to complement the slightly bulging rear wheel arch that the Toyota version has. The grille has hints of the new Hyundai i-series grille in it while the headlamps are inspired by the JDM Toyota Camry.

And there’s of course the Perodua badge. This is probably much more accurate than the random impression posted here some time ago.

Toyota’s new compact MPV set for a 2009 debut

As a recap, here is a table comparing the dimensions of the new Toyota MPV versus some other MPVs available in our market, as well as competing MPVs from other manufacturers.

Dimensions New MPV Sienta Wish Freed Myvi F/L
Length 4180mm 4100mm 4650mm 4215mm 3750mm
Width 1695mm 1695mm 1745mm 1695mm 1665mm
Height 1620mm 1670mm 1600mm 1715mm 1550mm
Wheelbase 2750mm 2700mm 2750mm 2740mm 2440mm

For more details on this new compact MPV, visit the related links.

Related Links:
New Toyota MPV: details of the new 3-row compact MPV that Perodua will also build!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• abtm (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 6:20 am

Perodua can make a MPV by just a simple phone call to Tokyo, but Proton has to spend all the money, effort and criticism and their won’t even be as good…way to go Perodua- that’s how you make “national” cars

• kahing (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:29 am

abtm is so right and so funny. Yeah. I wonder why Perodua is so smarter than Proton these days. Hmmm….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:45 am

haha… the easiest way, without even drop a sweat… and no hard feeling though…

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:52 am

viva?…no, bigger viva!!

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:01 am

To TC – in your rendering, where the front fender and bumper meets under the front headlamp, the surface joint is not so smooth. The buldging front wheel arch and bumper is not harmonious with the rear quarter panel.
    Anyway i personally feel that the Perodua MPV won’t deviate too much from the Toyota/Daihatsu styling.

Kudos to Perodua – they let others do the thinking for them. They just make the money without having to learn anything.

• White Jack (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:06 am

Proton already missed their golden time during 1990s which should be used to develope better cars, MPV, SUV for future growth. That time Proton was so rich with big sales everywhere. I remembered I waited my Wira for 6 months to deliver.

But Proton choosed to spend their money wastefully buying Lotus, setting up sales centers everywhere in Asia Pac (which has no sales), bad (or corrupted?) internal management… and today we have a Proton that has financial difficulties.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:15 am

buying a lotus is a waste?

sorry man… i dont agree with u on that… there is something that u didnt see… the technology (the most is handling) behind it… not just the name, man…

back to perodua… what if Toyota/Daihatsu leave p2… whats gonna happen to them? just curious…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:34 am

buying lotus is just a marketing gimmick for them, i mean seriously, do we really need lotus handling, and which consumer proton cars actually inherit lotus’s handling?

p2’s solely existence is to rebadge, distribute and sell daihatsu cars. hmm if daihatsu/toyota really leave p2, maybe p2 will starts looking for another partner that sells compact cars.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:49 am

lol msian cars doesnt need handling also, cos the drivers also can drive like F1 high speed zig zac here n there lol.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:50 am

correction* lotus handling i mean :P

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:15 am

looks like a hyundai, a modern hyundai

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:26 am

White Jack said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 8:06 am

Proton already missed their golden time during 1990s which should be used to develope better cars, MPV, SUV for future growth. That time Proton was so rich with big sales everywhere. I remembered I waited my Wira for 6 months to deliver.

But Proton choosed to spend their money wastefully buying Lotus, setting up sales centers everywhere in Asia Pac (which has no sales), bad (or corrupted?) internal management… and today we have a Proton that has financial difficulties.
    _________________________________________-

you’re also talking in the past, and should look at whats current, proton and lotus have new management now, lotus is starting to make some money again, likewise proton. their sales are also up, and they are now back and doing quite well in 2 large SEA markets, namely thailand, and indonesia. From what i’ve read, they’re doing surprisingly well in thailand.

as for this mpv, its definitely going to be aimed at a different segment all together than proton.. for a start, look at the stats..
    length: 3750mm(myvi) 4180mm(new mpv).. thats 42 cm longer than myvi.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:29 am

ignas said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 9:34 am

buying lotus is just a marketing gimmick for them, i mean seriously, do we really need lotus handling, and which consumer proton cars actually inherit lotus’s handling?
    ——————————————-

yes, we do need good handling.. seriously. i rather a car thats easier to drive and get me out of trouble anyday over a car that has poor handling.

maybe if you’ve actually driven lots of other car makes and then compare them by driving current proton’s, you’ll be able to answer your own last question.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:31 am

the blind still the blind.

anyway.. after this so called ‘perodua MPV’ .. it maybe sold well.

but in reality to be mention also…

BILLIONS OF RM will FLEW AWAY TO JAPAN..

then when Malaysia loss toooo much money to outside.. then I wonder whats gonna be later…

• ragnahse (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:42 am

as a consumer, i want the best buck for my money…n i dun care if its rebadged or locally designed or wateva…if the build quality is gud, warranty is gud, n design is gud, that manufacturer gets my money…n tats how the whole market works unfortunately…so ppl get to reality…this has got nothing to do w patriotism or anything..its spending my well earned money wisely..

• goguncas71 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:15 am

Had a chat with a german fellow visiting Pekan (where they assemble Mercs) about the local auto industry, he said he understood what the govt was doing with Proton as Mercedes Benz deals with countries like China and south africa and understood that some barriers will always be there. But Perodua bugs him as it is Japanese owned, doesn’t do any local Rnd, buys it’s engines from Japan etc. but strangely gets the same tax breaks as Proton. So actually Perodua is no different from mercedes but is treated differently.

• ReactiX (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Awfully ugly. from the orange car view, front like belta queue (aka dugong), is an awful design, and the size is not right too. from TC render, front like Viva, which is truely awful design. btw, these pictures stil not final product yet, so anything can happen.

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:29 pm

Still too early to comment this new P2 lineup

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Yes we malaysian need lotus handling. why?

my uncle die in a car accident. my cousin got over spirited driving his vios and it got overshot. hit a kancil and my uncle who seat behind the driver got smashed head and die on the way to the hospital.

looking at the way malaysian drive, yes we need a good handling car. name it lotus technology or anything else….

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:35 pm

goguncas71 said,
    Agree with you pal!
    Hey G, please protect the real national car manufacturer only!
    or Hey G, Merc can gets the same tax breaks as Perodua too!

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 12:46 pm

as for quite a few here speak of lotus handling, its actually the chassis tat lotus contributed most, if it wasnt for their knowledge our chassis would still be lembik piece of junk! chassis contribute more to handling than just suspension, less twist n bending action happens on chassis during manuever will allow suspension works better n give better traction, thus less unexpected bahavior=less accident=more potential accident avoided=cheap man’s VSC(or some other stability control name) but done manually n more awareness of road condition for driver=SAFER!

y malaysian just dont use their brain to think? just know how to yap yap yap talk tis n tat like they really know it, if malaysian drive with good behavior, most death on road would be avoided even without good handling, but reality isnt the case. u guys really need to compares persona’s handling with vios if u want, not to mention test drive a neo, pls! u wont understand y ppl support proton if u still being ignorant n talk without 1st hand experience.

back to topic, if p2’s mpv is almost like wat TC’s impression, it wouldnt be too bad actually, just a bit small. 6ppl mover or 5 person comfortable mover(might limited to city style tho, i dont like boat like ride and handling, n pls dont tell me after modify it it will be different, basically if u dont know, any car after modification will improve a bit, but its still junk, u cant change physic).

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 1:36 pm

ragnahse said,
    [this has got nothing to do w patriotism or anything..its spending my well earned money wisely..]

Bro..we have (must) to think about patriotism..the local automotive industry is setup to prevent our money from outflown to foreigners..if our money is outflow to foreigners, we would suffer because of our purchasing power deteroriation..do remember the 1997/98 economic chaos, i think if u already born at that time, you might not even can afford one P2..unless youre JAPS or WEST!!

If you look to our neigbouring country (Thailand, Indonesia, phillipines), the Japs and west setup the factories there and yes the local can drive cheap Japs and west becoz of their mega production volume but remember, their money is outflown..if the investment is no longer suitable..what was left is just Deteroriated Polluted Land..

DO patriotic man…

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 1:43 pm

Buying Lotus is a positive move. y? P1 engineers will gain knowledge, experience, and guidance from the lotus guys. It is that simple.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 1:50 pm

This topic is bout proton or new p2 mpv? what a weird ppl…
    Anyone from p2 here? p2 engineers? maybe u all frm p2 can share sumthing bout this model? Proton has mr sifu n mr .. Then what bout u p2? come on..defend urself!!

….P2 engineers really exist?…or p2 ‘rebadge’ the engineers from toyota… localize them!!! haha

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:04 pm

p2 no engineer..
    they just assembler.. they know nothing .. not only about car tuning.. nor how to make a car good handling.. They are just… nothing.

Fine!.. they can make a logo to replace a car..
    (left alone the bumper.. it’s supplier factory engineer did it).

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:15 pm

they have engineers… my friends are… RnD job scope i dont know… but on production, QC and all related with manufacturing basically adapt the toyota way…

But, last time, their own staff doesnt really appreciate what their engineers do.. i mean the rebadge thing.. but the Quality Control… is a bit superb… i’ve been there for a while though…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:19 pm

owh… my point is… the p2 quality is good…

not bad on the looks though…

but does all the people here knows really about quality.. the definition…

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:19 pm

come on man…
    buying lotus is not a gimmick
    having that fella who says that “buying lotus is a gimmick” on this earth is a gimmick , should be said as an extra.
    go dig your own grave…
    proton buy lotus is never a gimmick
    if proton never own lotus , 1 thing for sure is lotus will never exist till now
    another thing is we wouldn’t even see a proton appearing on tv shows like TGA
    seriously , if proton don hav that handling edge , proton won’t be doing so well afterall
    if those who thinks handling is not important , well i see u don need a steering wheel i suspect.
    well u all can try the public bus…
    they don need u to steer…
    so those bugger btr keep quiet and buzz off…

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:22 pm

i definitely know
    u wan ask wat , go search the dictionary.
    and i don think perodua has good quality…
    if perodua’s quality is good den y do u all wanna buy an expensive car ?
    the viva in my house has so many rough edges…
    even my 6yo waja feels much better.

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:29 pm

hey guys, dont be so harsh on P2.. You see, In P1 we have a world class design engineer/stylist/tuner, teach by lotus (lotus is the consultant for most major co in the 80’s and 90’s, the WRC TRD Corolla was tuned/designed with Lotus help). The problem with P1 is, they don’t really now how to assemble/manufacture it correctly (as lotus built 2 cars /day, handmade! haha, where got process flow/SOP/Takt time crap). It works in the simulation but not in factory. Here comes P2. The learn really hard from the Japs through TMC. They should compliments the P1 design/tuners/testers (basically from whole office belakang la, bukan MVF of Main Plant, tak kisah la Engineering Design ke, Testing ke, Powertrain ke). The P2 guys are so good at assembling/manufacturing/producing parts/cars, they can challenge the whole toyota group if they want here in SEA (TMT with its 0.02 DPU). With their production perfection method, should they compliment P1 and voila we will have the best of both worlds. Good thing is, DSZ is working really hard instilling the japs/Toyota culture inside P1, and now even their kaizen programme (in production) is up and running once again (properly)

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:38 pm

haha… someone with p2 background, and p1 appearance talks… maybe… p1 design… p2 assemble it… how about it?

for the mpv… what engine wil they use? 1.5 DVVT?
    1.8? 2.0? 2.5?

no news yet r paul?

• ignas (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:54 pm

hey i didnt say ‘doesnt need good handling’, i meant ‘doesnt need lotus handling’ with correction, maybe proton fanboys get very defensive, omitted it and start flaming me lol. sry if my lame joke is cold. i better keep it for myself next time. chill :)

oh, n the inherit lotus handling part, i was expecting proton cars really has superb handling as they selling it with LOTUS name, but it turns out to be just ok. maybe because they blow it out of proportion that i feel disappointed. i didnt say it was lousy.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 3:06 pm

lotus can only design cars. they dont know how to make cars. they still relying on chassis design to make money. while that is not bad it still means other car companies can just pay a small fee to get a good base to start developement of a car instead of wasting money, time, sweat and brain power doing it in-house. all the better than lotus and proton are struggling like hell so everyone can get the service cheap.

good thing about owning lotus is tht you can order lotus staff to do your work like what p1 does for almost free. while the handling is welcomed it is also irrelevant because the majority target market of proton dont really care about handling as long as it on par with the competition. only a very small minority and that doesnt justify the price or existance of proton. im pretty sure lotus staff dont like to be associated with proton in anyway.

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 3:28 pm

Autojohn joe,

I got nothing to do with P2 or P1. Got experience working in both worlds, design and produce. Havnt got into sales and after sales (else I’ll be CEO heheh)

topgunthang,

Very true. Now Proton already got all the knowledge, better ditch LOTUS (to some sheikh with ridiculous amt of money like ManCity or Roman dirty rubles) should they cant sell the new breed of esprit (and all VVA based). Lotus bleeding Proton hard.. should buy TESLA instead hehe. All the hard work of integrating and proper planning credit should be given to LGCNS, not LE. Just an expensive lab theyve become (in Hethel)

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 3:48 pm

bmpower said,

[p2 no engineer..
    they just assembler.. they know nothing .. not only about car tuning.. nor how to make a car good handling.. They are just… nothing.]

Please cool down..please show the basis that proves P2 no engineer, no nothing, don’t know car tuning bla..bla..

First, have you visited P2 factory? I have visited once and was told that the big bulding beside the corporate building is R&D where the styling, powertrain Engineering Design and testing is located. Is the people who are working there are not called engineer?

Is not as easy as what ordinary people think to make an automotive part. Imagine how many process or step involves just to produce weatherstrip? from part design, material selection, extrusion die, reinforcement more and more. we not yet talk about the bigger part like body panel and so on. The most important is to design good part is come from failure experience. Then this experiences is written into book as Manufacturing Standard to avoid any failure in future. Many carmaker are keeping their own manufacturing standard as top secret as well as daihatsu.

Daihatsu is even older than toyota in automotive history. I do remember until myVi is introduced, P2 model was very boring because most probably Daihatsu was not willing to transfer any knowledge to P2. It is due to they didnt have majority control of share in P2 means P2 was not their own. When SZ did some share adjustment to 51(D):49(P2) then alot of knowledge exchange between both D and P2 engineers and the consequence was the introduction of the myVi. I think P2 engineers have capability to build a car except engine without daihatsu.

Anyway, nothing in the world is that cheap or free..P2 just make good step to be malaysian-proud car maker gradually..when Daihatsu leaves, just tie up with P1 and produce myvi CPS..

I Support Malaysian!!!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 3:57 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 6, 2008 @ 2:38 pm

haha… someone with p2 background, and p1 appearance talks… maybe… p1 design… p2 assemble it… how about it?

Haha! I like the way you think!

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:01 pm

autojohndoe said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 2:15 pm
    they have engineers… my friends are… RnD job scope i dont know… but on production, QC and all related with manufacturing basically adapt the toyota way…

What engineer?
    Bumper need engineering? what a joke !

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:14 pm

Economic wise view…

I REMEMBER.. in early 80’s .. when fellow beloved Dr. Mahathir launch a campaign :
    Belilah Barangan Buatan Malaysia

At that momment. it’s kinda hard to be accept among malaysian.. This apply to many sector.. such as Electric product, wears, car, etc.. even food. KFC vs Makcik FC.

When all this going to be good.. All malaysian support malaysian product.. many Malaysian Chinese towkey open factory to product their own chili sauce.. and malay too such aminah hassan etc..

Then we also open our own Superstore chain (the store, maidin, giant etc etc). From that time.. i absolutely no doubt.. our buying power was SO GREAT!.

When we got a better life.. and some of us had big sum of money.. we was lost. We dont want to eat at mamak, we want pizza.. we dont want local cafe or hotel, we go to carlton, etc etc outsiders related thingy..

Now.. when our culture is back to ‘buy everything outside’… Don;t ask why many things are exspensive now!.. Our money is no more enough for us to get what we wanted too…

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:41 pm

P2 guys/p2 engineers…where r u? come on..talk sumthing!! ur mpv or anything bout ur company/ur parents company…

off topic- guys, u forgot sumthing frm lotus: campro, cps n coming soon turbo n FE…they contribute a lot!!

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:54 pm

bmpower said,

[What engineer?
    Bumper need engineering? what a joke !]

bmpower..it is not a joke. Yes bumper does need engineering unless your car bumper can be cultivated in a farm..to produce a bumper..one need to fabricate mould that surely involved various field of engineering (design, cooling, material, tooling) bla..bla..even your kid Tesco die cast car also need engineering..

bmpower..what is understanding about engineering? to build house is civil engineering, to build car is automotive engineering, to suck oil is oil n gas engineering..what else you want to know?

• peYno (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 6:41 pm

someone looking for local p2 guys/engineers???
    prrrfthhh they do exist but they couldn’t answer u guys questions
    why?
    coz everthing done by japs, direction planned by japs..
    what they know, how to down grade this ori japs car and rnd the bumper/bodykit like brother shop does

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 6:53 pm

bmpower said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 2:04 pm

p2 no engineer..
    they just assembler.. they know nothing .. not only about car tuning.. nor how to make a car good handling.. They are just… nothing.

Fine!.. they can make a logo to replace a car..
    (left alone the bumper.. it’s supplier factory engineer did it).
    ==================================

if p2 doesn’t exist oso better.. why we need this perodua MPV car if toyota plant in Indonesia also produce this MPV and sell it much cheaper than peroduas??

take a look Toyota avanza and Rush assembled in Indonesia..
    we can still buy a”toyota brand” product

• theanswer (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 6:53 pm

p1 is not that bad actually. the prob with p1 tht they think that they can stand on its own..too confident. They build a good looking car..but somehow consumers are looking more that a good look..(spaciousness, engine, fc)..even peugeot 308 share the same engine with bmw mini. mitsu colt with smart forfour. kia rondo share the same engine platform with lancer 4B11..s40,mazda 3, ford focus use the same c1 platform.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:30 pm

Proton must take into account this model. Don’t want another pawnage by perodua with the myvi and savvy to repeat again

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:32 pm

mpv? screw them all

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:54 pm

it will work out more if the rear part of the mpv is trimmed more !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:55 pm

luks better than proton mpv though liks smaller !!!

• One92 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:37 pm

damn ugly

• peYno (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:01 pm

mystvearn said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 7:30 pm

Proton must take into account this model. Don’t want another pawnage by perodua with the myvi and savvy to repeat again

=================
    like perodua Nautica pawn proton Juara sales???

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:22 pm

Automotive_Critics said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 3:48 pm
    When SZ did some share adjustment to 51(D):49(P2) then alot of knowledge exchange between both D and P2 engineers and the consequence was the introduction of the myVi. I think P2 engineers have capability to build a car except engine without daihatsu.

Anyway, nothing in the world is that cheap or free..P2 just make good step to be malaysian-proud car maker gradually..when Daihatsu leaves, just tie up with P1 and produce myvi CPS..

I Support Malaysian!!!
    ====================
    Bro, built a car is not easy as “built” a bodykit or headlamp.
    the hardest thing is to built /develope a car from sketch, from zero chassis to a complete part.This is wat perodua lacking now,

anywaty perodua way just reminds me “our angkasawan story”
    if you r proud of perodua as “malaysian made” then you should proud of our gomen and Sheih Muzafar our angkasawan.
    India, china take 20years,invest a lot of money to go to space, but our angkasawan an gomen no need to”think” how to built a rocket, yet can go space

prrrfthhhh

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 9:54 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 7:32 pm

mpv? screw them all

u mean screw all da mpv izit ????? i thought u like alphard !!!!

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:12 pm

hmm Xx- Ferrari -xX, he like alpina, not alphard…

anyway, everytime its about p1&p2…flame war starts -.-” give it a break, different ppl wants different kind of things. i personally like ride n handling, so i choose neo, some ppl wan2 move more ppl(eventho they might not be tat much ppl for him to move, its just malaysian’s insurance mind, just in case)…

if i want a mpv, i’ll go for proton’s size(not necessary proton’s mpv la, just example). cause im looking for a mpv for my next car, for family use. neo is n will still be my everyday car ;) its a fun car to drive especially after work, u dont need to sit in a dull car tat needs ICE to entertain u, neo itself is good enough to put a smile on your face ;)

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:59 pm

ragnahse said,

November 6, 2008 @ 10:42 am

as a consumer, i want the best buck for my money…n i dun care if its rebadged or locally designed or wateva…if the build quality is gud, warranty is gud, n design is gud, that manufacturer gets my money…n tats how the whole market works unfortunately…so ppl get to reality…this has got nothing to do w patriotism or anything..its spending my well earned money wisely..

>>>

Ya sure, when we get into recession n the country couldn’t give u best buck for ur money, I suppose u’ll quit being a malaysian la?

Well geass wat, deny this fact if u want, but Proton today really do give u the best buck for ur money. Ppl want it to hv P2 quality, they get it. But see lar, after all the hard work of Syed Zainal still got ppl like u talkin abt “nothing to do w patriotism”, then fine lar. Stay in ur own island while Proton will keep moving forward.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:00 pm

agree with fastcx
    if you need MPV, get a real MPV size…( 7-8 seater.. adult can seat comfortabily at 3rd row seat and can place huge luggage at the back without fold down ur 3rd row seat).. no point having so called MINI MPV, but 3 row seat can only put your child y, and u have to fold down the 3rd row seat when u carry big luggage

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:05 pm

Anyway, TC’s impression on the perodua mpv is ok, only those 5 studs wheels wont be available. never. those are expensive and perodua will surely opt for 4 studs skinny wheels as usual. profit margin is the most important.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

November 6, 2008 @ 5:54 pm

Bro, I think u missed his sarcasm. Rilex rilex bro. Of cuz bumper oso need engineering, but why so serious? (lol, I sound like The Joker)

In a sense, Proton’s current engineering achievement makes P2’s achievement negligible. All those profits from Myvi sale do what? Just to make the Japs richer kah? kanasai…. dun want to try to stand on own feet then better for T to just utilise the indon plant as peyno suggested la.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 4:15 am

Guys, comon la, stop judging who’s better here. Ya P2 got all those japs engineers to help doing this, implement that, but it still ups to the management to follow this or not. Regarding the Keizen, 5S and all those standard implementation programes, it is not an easy task to do. Putting it in is just a matter of training and ppl involving, but keeping it running is the one that kills.
    If you ask me, P1 is getting more improvement than before. Syed Zainal really doing his job well. I can see that they are learning now and moving forward. Just keeps going on this direction and P1 will succeed.

For the new MPV, just hope the price would not be that crazy as said.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 4:15 am

Guys, comon la, stop judging who’s better here. Ya P2 got all those japs engineers to help doing this, implement that, but it still ups to the management to follow this or not. Regarding the Keizen, 5S and all those standard implementation programes, it is not an easy task to do. Putting it in is just a matter of training and ppl involving, but keeping it running is the one that kills.
    If you ask me, P1 is getting more improvement than before. Syed Zainal really doing his job well. I can see that they are learning now and moving forward. Just keeps going on this direction and P1 will succeed.

For the new MPV, just hope the price would not be that crazy as said.

• White Jack (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:08 am

Buying Lotus is not a waste ? Lotus handling design is so great on Proton cars ?
    Would you spend RM5000 (plan drawing) for a famous home designer to design your low-cost apartment ???

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:20 am

P2 do have Stylist and Engineers, thats for sure. The problem is when they want to do something they always have to get approval for the big boss – the Japs from Daihatsu/Toyota.
    The Stylist and Engineers earns bigger bucks than their P1counterparts but many left because they don’t have any say in the decision making. They could have contibuted more to P2. (Scottleob is probably one of them!)

Any comments from P2 Stylist and Engineers?

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:32 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 6, 2008 @ 9:54 pm

November 6, 2008 @ 7:32 pm

mpv? screw them all

u mean screw all da mpv izit ????? i thought u like alphard !!!!
    ——————————————
    they should call the alphard something else, like a LMPC(luxury mpv), so many mpv these days, like hyundai matrix, avanzha, inovagina, atos etc

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:32 am

So white jack, its waste or not? We just not spend the money to get the drawing plan…but we also hired the that famous designer…learn a lot from him.. we get more than the drawing plan!! ( i think the price of the drawing should be cheaper since we hired that famous designer kan? ..so thats not a waste )

SPIRIT OF ACHIEVEMENT

• alihms (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:01 am

Perodua does have engineers. And it has RnD engineers and designers as well. After all, I remember reading back then, Perodua engineering team went to Japan to CO-DEVELOP (capitalized for emphasis) a vehicle. The Japanese team developed the 2nd generation Passo and Malaysia team came up with myvi.

What is unknown is the manpower strength and the technical capabilities of Perodua designers. Has that team expanded to include more engineers with more technical sophistication and experience is anyone’s guess. Based on the recent launches of Perodua new vehicles and cosmetic change models, the team doesn’t seem to grow though. At least not fast enough.

What’s more important is the actual direction Perodua is taking right now. Does it intent to be able to develop own platforms, engines, powertrains and so on? This is important yet this is also not clear to us. If Perodua intents to more or less remain where it is now, then it has done us the rakyat a disservice. Its existence is then nothing more significant than Honda plant existence in Pagoh or Merc in Pekan.

Come to think about it – heck – even Naza has a clearer future direction than Perodua!

• White Jack (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:13 am

Haha Nakal… your comment is very nakal :)

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 10:12 am

Everyone must remember, P2 plant is owned by the TMC/DMC (51/49 highlighted by Automotive_critics), hence classified them as one of TMC plant worldwide (check yourself at toyota.co.jp). Even the manager is Japs and as strong as Toyota, the meetings is in Nihon-go.., no you cant blame the mgmt as the mgmt is Nihon-jin. In the future, the name of the plant might be just Toyota or Daihatsu as base of small cars in SEA together with ID as AFTA regulations req them to have min 2 plants in 2 ASEAN countries. I believe that is the future of P2. The sales and services will remain malaysian, and of course you will get badge slapping process as good as Naza Peugeot or Inokom Hyundai in the future (just like Nautica). Its good for the consumer but not so good for the industry, its like back door.. in Thailand Toyota & Honda both have their RND centre besides Australia, Europe and States.. maybe not so significant now but in the future who knows man, they might resign and FBT might produce car instead of jerseys..

Proton, well they dont have enough part bin to begin with, that limits their product life cycle roll and they require constant facelift to prevent being bored. The product planning must work extremely hard to prevent wrong planning ( ~90K/yr in the span of 5 yrs for G2? oh please..) and correct product and pricing is very important especially in testing times now. Should they get a good partner (in the form of VW or PSA even BMW perhaps or Daimler but most likely MMC – janda lama) they’ll do good, especially when you have access to the part bin.
    Neo with PSA turbo Diesel? CVT MPV heheh

And to CarCraze, journeyman like Robbie Keane or David Bentley move around. Dont ask why…

• ... (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 2:42 pm

Bumper engineering?

Hmmm….

I know a story about the Myvi bumper…

The 1st bumper there is a bit of overlook at the area where the bumper-fender-headlight meet. There is no bracket there causing the bumper and fender not to align.

For the SE, they used vendor expertise to design it. Guess what? the vendor uses Lotus malaysia engineers to design it for them (as freelance job)…

Look at the 1st SE bumper. No more gap as per normal Myvi bumper.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 2:56 pm

15 years! .. Perodua already 15YEARS..

And they did NOTHING..
    What the H was that? What vision.

More rubbish is.. they got special treatment as Proton toooooo.. and they got more profit than proton.. But SADLY.. they just a PROXY for japan company took our money.

WHAT A SHAME! Indeed… a very bad shame!

• torque (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 3:30 pm

Theophilus Chin,

Nice work bro but the front headlamp remind me of the Lexus wan lah, ambil dari IS 250 izzit? :-) And the funniest thing is…MPV Perodua tapi ‘curik’ tayar from Mazda…keh keh keh…sorry TC, gurau saja since so many ‘flame’ around here! Panas wor…bagi cool down sikit!

• anand (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Whats the point of perodua sharing their brain with toyota..they dont have own initiative to come up with their own design and technology isit..
    at least we have to appreciate proton to try thir own way and style…hidup proton!!!!

• torque (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 4:00 pm

ragnahse said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 10:42 am

Automotive_Critics said,
    November 6, 2008 @ 1:36 pm

Dear Automotive_Critics,

I think as a CONSUMER, Ragnahse have the EVERY rights to voice out what he believe in issue regarding “best bang for buck”! I strongly believe EVERYONE here and out there has the right to spend their hard earn money purely on their choices and tastes rather than purchasing base on patriotism!!! PLEASE, don’t take my comments wrongly (Hate that when it happen)…I’m not saying that purchasing Proton isn’t best bang for buck but I think buying Proton for the sake of patriotism is not very wise. WE…I mean WE as a consumer deserve what is BEST for us (money spend included) and also towards our family. That my friend I think might be even more wiser than purely buying things base on patriotism. Example, let’s just say that Proton still making crap cars with unsolved electric window malfunction problem and reliability issue…would you still buy it purely on patriotism my friend?

But SINCE that Proton is currently on the right path by introducing more models with improving qualities, buying Proton these days is not only I think is best bang for buck but combine that with a bit of patriotism…is a WORTH buy in my book! Just to be fair on both party only…peace! :-)

p/s: Patriotism for me only apply to the COUNTRY not to PRODUCTS!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:16 pm

theophilus chin can succeed anrdrea pininfarina

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:50 pm

Hahahah… Please don’t insult Pininfarina. I’m in NO position to be mentioned in the same sentence with this legend.

I’m only a chopper, and I’m just about relatively good at it, that’s all.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:09 pm

Well said torque. Exactly what I wanted to tell him. Ragnahse is only half correct on the consumer issue cuz he overlooked the part of proton MERITLY do give the best buck for ur money. To still reject proton will therefore mean to reject the other half: patriotic matter. Well, its ok. Lookin like a citizen of an otaku-plagued nation is more important than savin our country for some ppl.

And another thing:
    “p/s: Patriotism for me apply to the COUNTRY and the PRODUCTS!!”

fix’d for greater justice. If a local company isn’t passionate to give the best buck for rakyat’s money, then they’re not making products for us, bt for them to get cocky wit bmws n porsches. remember makkal sakthi!!

• naz@proton (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:26 pm

i drove a rented nissan serena on my recent visit to langkawi last week, a 1 year old car already got dashboard sound, a rm30 can only clock 100km b4 fuel indicator turned red. My friend a tan chong salesman said the livina 1.6 model is a bestseller then 1.8, so proton make a good move to introduce 1.6 engine, and i very sure if they can produce 1.3 cps engine the car can sell beter then avanza 1.3. From my opinion malaysian like big car at small price, because majority ride motorbike go 2 work. If u look at economic scale better enter the avanza/livina 1.6 market share then captured wish or 2.0 market. Bravo p1 n p2.
    Bro Paul can u comfirm rumors p1 will rebadge lancer gt as a waja replacement and should b lauch late 2009?

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:35 pm

tokmoh said,

November 7, 2008 @ 11:09 pm

Well said torque. Exactly what I wanted to tell him. Ragnahse is only half correct on the consumer issue cuz he overlooked the part of proton MERITLY do give the best buck for ur money. To still reject proton will therefore mean to reject the other half: patriotic matter. Well, its ok. Lookin like a citizen of an otaku-plagued nation is more important than savin our country for some ppl.

And another thing:
    “p/s: Patriotism for me apply to the COUNTRY and the PRODUCTS!!”

fix’d for greater justice. If a local company isn’t passionate to give the best buck for rakyat’s money, then they’re not making products for us, bt for them to get cocky wit bmws n porsches. remember makkal sakthi!!
    ———————————————————
    buy airplanes better. no need ap.

• torque (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:43 am

tokmoh said,

If a local company isn’t passionate to give the best buck for rakyat’s money, then they’re not making products for us, bt for them to get cocky wit bmws n porsches. remember makkal sakthi!!

That is sooooooo damn true bro!!! My point exactly. Why do we want to support a local products base on patriotism alone while the local manufacturers/owners who’s only CONCERN to make big bucks and arrogantly buying/spending on foreign products (exp. cars, clothes, vacation and such)!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 6:29 pm

torque said,

November 8, 2008 @ 11:43 am

tokmoh said,

If a local company isn’t passionate to give the best buck for rakyat’s money, then they’re not making products for us, bt for them to get cocky wit bmws n porsches. remember makkal sakthi!!

That is sooooooo damn true bro!!! My point exactly. Why do we want to support a local products base on patriotism alone while the local manufacturers/owners who’s only CONCERN to make big bucks and arrogantly buying/spending on foreign products (exp. cars, clothes, vacation and such)!!
    —————————————–
    buy european and japanese produce

• outspoken (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:00 am

some people made direct comparison of this car with the up-coming Proton MPV. I heard that the Proton one is a proper 7 seater, and this Perodua is more of 5+2 MPV.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:20 am

i think we jz wait n c how izit goin….mabe they compare it bcoz it is perodua n proton….i think the proton mpv is bigger than this…so…if proton mpv is proper 7 seater…its nt fair to cmpare 5+2 mpv with a proper 7 seater….

• peYno (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:29 am

November 8, 2008 @ 6:29 pm
    =====================
    but some malaysian think “perodua is japanaese product maaa”..
    do u think they buy myvi or viva becoz of perodua name??? noo… they buy becoz it’s japanese base car maa
    prrrfthh

look at perodua Nautica.. eventho CBU 100% from Japan (except emblem and bumper).. nobody wanna buy that car
    prrrfthhh

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:06 pm

peYno said,

November 9, 2008 @ 11:29 am

November 8, 2008 @ 6:29 pm
    =====================
    but some malaysian think “perodua is japanaese product maaa”..
    do u think they buy myvi or viva becoz of perodua name??? noo… they buy becoz it’s japanese base car maa
    prrrfthh

look at perodua Nautica.. eventho CBU 100% from Japan (except emblem and bumper).. nobody wanna buy that car
    prrrfthhh
    —————————
    sure nobody buy, who buys that car?toyota rush for stingy no car knowledge uncle and aunties, they see, toyota rush, japanese brand, cheaper than malaysian brand, of cos i buy toyota la.

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:02 am

this p2 mpv looks promising :)
    hopefully the finishing&fitting quality matches that of T.

offtopic>>
    my eagerness towards p1 mpv is greater than p2’s ;)

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 1:52 pm

the engine… what is engine spec????

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:21 pm

vvti?dvvt?

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:30 am

Come to think of it torque, recently, a “local company” that’s concerned abt getting “cocky wit bmws n porsches” is the bee anne gahmen.

Ahahahaha, tu la, undi lagi bee anne, kan dah kene liwat kawkaw, konon subsidi minyak, skrg kite plak subsidi diorg ahahahah. I’ll be able to vote nxt election (missed last 8 march cuz still underage by a couple of weeks =.= ) n I’ll def gonna use it wisely.

• juicer (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 1:48 am

i saw the rear view rili sakit mata , is it myvi rear ass . Xp .
    pls dun hurt my eye :'(

• razak515 on Mar 11, 2009 at 1:57 am

Why must U release the MPV by Q3? whiles others are rushing to produce their MPV early this year. Can't U make it much earlier, co's nowadays, customers are rushing for the trend. Eager to have it as soon as possible.TQ

• john rambo on Apr 19, 2009 at 3:31 am

viva perodua!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Guys, guys…here's what it is…this 'battle' between perodua and proton is healthy..it kinda reminds me of the ageless battle between fords and holdens in Australia…but like it or not, the real 'national' car is still the Proton…if we were to remove all the badges on the Satria NEO and relabel it with..maybe..BMW or Merce…and increased the price by 20K…it would sell like hot cakes – so the point here is that, its not the car that you guys are pissed with..its the brand..and that too is always judged by the management of the brand…the cheapest perodua is over 40K, which is a death trap is you ask me…there is no value for money there…but the cheapest Proton is 36K – wch offers a lot more – Malaysians always think of resale and fuel consumption etc etc…if we were to compare 'safety' issues, proton beats perodua hands down..but that of course is not the concern of the public…by the way, I also own a 1980 daihatsu charade (one of my 5 cars)…and even that is better than wht perodua is churning out now…so yeah, stop bitching abt Proton and support the efforts that the proton guys are putting into their cars…anyone can 'make a call' and get a car…but its not Malaysian…its just relabelled and assembled here…preety much like how Ford (malaysia) is actually a Mazda…haih…even if proton took a merce and relabelled it as a proton…i guess u critics will have issues with that…and just incase no one noticed – you critics are comparing an infant car maker to one that has been in the industry forever (toyota & daihatsu)…give them a chance – (perodua is not a car maker) – I guess its just human nature to think that the grass is greener on the other side…(only until we get there) :) – Anyways – for those who are shooting their mouths off without actually 'testing' any new proton..maybe it's time to test drive a proton :)

• The Reader on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:37 pm

I don't care what proton or perodua is better. What I want is a good car. Why need to write so long comment ? Knowledge is sharable and not copyrightable, so as long as it is a good car, and local company can learn something, I don't care if what brand copy what brand or rebrand to what brand.

• duke hauser (Member) on Oct 25, 2009 at 11:24 am

persona vs new perodua mpv, which one better….if i got budget for only +-60k…..what cr should i buy…….any + advised 4 me……ty……

• sabrina on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:52 pm

I thinks many proton workers/engineers around here.Thats why they "scared" about what impact perodua can give to proton after perodua launch their new MPV on this end of month. Firstly please do not compare "epal" with "mangosteen"..please compare Epal to epal.As we known P1can develope any kind of car if they want,but P2 only build or develope a compact car.We should compare EXORA with GRAND LIVINA,that not fair if you compare new perodua MPV with EXORA. For your information all part in new P2 MPV totally build by local vendor,same vendor built part to P1.One more even proton cast their campro head at P2 casting shop. Who said perodua not have engineers???ask P1 members how many P2 engineers that DSZ ask to follow him to P1…P1 is good car manufacturer,but they only focus on quantity but p2 is more on Quality.Thats why DSZ has been told by someone to leave P2.heeeeehe..

• amir melaka on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:46 am

fuyoooooooooooooo….. i give u 1/2 star hahahahahah.

very9 lawak king! thnk u produa 1 malaysia

• rais jawa on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:50 am

1 malaysia 1wajah 1 lawak!

model yang membosankan yang pernah saya jumpa.

hari ini dalam sejarah 1 malaysia

• amir melaka on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:54 am

relax lerrrrrrr..takan tak boleh komen…..macamana nak maju……tapi i think tak menarik la,mcm myvi jer.takan nak 1rupa macam 1 malaysia.

• geng toyota wish on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:56 am

aduhai jauh beza dgn wisah laaaaaa……….mcm bumi dengan marikh la…………tak ada idea lg ke wajah lain ke.ni sama je dgn wajah kereta tutttttttttttt.

• menarik la juga wajh mpv tu…syabas produa!

yang penting ada kualiti

• ajai - brimal on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:37 pm

apa yang ko org merepek ni semua ha…..perodua ikut model daihatsu & toyota skrg…same design…proton skrg dgn lotus…so kena ikut la p'kembangan dunia keta….sy CABAR la sapa2 yg pakai keta2 mewah mai lawan dgn satria neo CPS@ gen2 CPS naik cameron & genting???????? kita tgk sapa blh lawan corner…..tlg jawap sy pya comen ni……..

• ajai - brimal on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:47 pm

sapa kata proton tak HEBAT??????????mai kita tgk sapa yg tinggal…….

• seera on Jan 16, 2010 at 6:08 pm

suka sgt design nampak kemas n cantik… tapi….awat meter dok kat tgh…kalo meter kat depan stereng cam viva lagi kene ar….huhu..susah la meter kat tgh ni..

• inilah keluaran produa yg paling kelakar dan huduh…depan myvi,blkg mcm viva @ atos..petak jer dri blkg..sesuai dgn tagline 'juga kereta mpv' @ sama mksud dgn 'lebih kurang kreta mpv lah…'

• mula mula alza keluar..anak kau tiba tiba gelak…dia cakap macam robot layah…petak petak….aku punyalah gelak….

tp memang betul pun…langsung tak der aerodinamik….harap lampu jer projector…

exora is the best…value for money…comfortable…

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:52 am

Walaumacam mana pun saya kena tunggu waja baru nanti.barula berselera.harga murah dan design menarik.mengancam… bila nak kuar nih