Shahrir: Fuel price to be cut further mid-Nov

Fuel-Wallet GaugeAs expected, there will be another round of fuel price revisions coming mid-November (likely the 15th of November 2008, this Friday) and Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Samad indicates that it will most likely be a price cut.

The government announced previously that it aimed for the fuel prices to be revised every 2 weeks and it has kept to this for the past month or so quite diligently. Each round of revisions brought cuts, with the most recent being a 15 sen cut to RM2.15 per litre for RON97 petrol and RM2.05 per litre for RON92 petrol and diesel. This came into effect on the 1st this month.

Anyone want to try to guess how much the cut will be this time?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ricaza (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 2:04 am

ermm..can i guess??

maybe 15 cents also like the previous…

but..it will be good enough this time if it is really cut down like my guess..
    juz hope that G will do something to make the daily goods also cheaper..

and finally the malaysian gets what they deserved…

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 2:10 am

Better than nothing, but price is still too high. If include subsidy should be around RM1.70 – 1.80 per litre. Right now we’re subsidizing the government.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 2:30 am

Higher fuel price don’t affect Malaysian AT ALL!
    According to latest MAA statistic, July 2008 has got highest volume of sales, and that’s when the fuel price is still at 2.70/L before the recent reductions.

• dp (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 4:28 am

i am guessing in the region of 10-15 sen…….the damage is already done…. i ask a few days ago why the prices of the drinks in our ‘kedai kopi’ not revised. you know what, they say ’20 sen extra u cannot afford?’.

• farhan3689 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:54 am

dp, you should counter attack them back man. u shud have said ” 20 sen also u cant afford to decrease ah ?”

yea, price of fuel might reach about RM 2.00/litre..
    It should be much much lower than that …i think it shud be about 1.70 per litre …then only the “RAKYAT” will be satisfied.

• sexygay (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:02 am

I would said RON97 will have 23 sen cut to baseline 1.92 again. Got prize for correct answer?

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:11 am

i think will be RM1.90?….

• rexis (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:44 am

You know how bad is the economy now?

I know someone who operate a construction material factory, he told me that it is already one whole month that he has not received any order, even the machines are stopped until further order came in.

Nearly all constructions and development projects are put on hold. They suffered with insufficient funds or poor sales. People has no money, or unwilling to spend money.

It is not just about slashing fuel price now.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 9:01 am

i’m sure i’ll be another 15sen cut per litre… remember, they can’t reduce too much as it will be a disaster to some party (that what they told us repeatedly)… as if it’s true (or not?)… so for RON97 should be RM2.00/litre… what ever..

• tananiki (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 9:40 am

the petrol price will keep on go down till rm1.50/l because ppl use to change their life style after petrol hike up to rm2.70/l… some change to ngv (e.g me)… some prefer lighter right leg… some change to motorcycle or less cc car… less demand caused the petrol price keep on going down… this time will be another 15 cents cutoff because those dogs already mention not more than 15 cents for each reduction…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:08 am

good, drop some more

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:13 am

im guessing drop 6 to 9 cents

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:35 am

How much now at the US per barrel, should be around 60 something per barrel, Just drop 15 sen per half month and need to revise, WTF how much they own in the half month it should just cut immediately to RM 1.80 or lower. How much show the DOGS want to pretend half per 15 sen they can earn very much from us, as it in Malaysia a lot of person using their own car. DOGS SUCKER G!

• droll (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:54 am

isaacvky: i have to disagree with your view. total volume of vehicles sold says Nothing about the types of vehicles, their cubiccapacities, fuel type, etc. remember: a car is a necessity in malaysia.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:00 pm

IsaacVky said,

November 10, 2008 @ 2:30 am

Higher fuel price don’t affect Malaysian AT ALL!
    According to latest MAA statistic, July 2008 has got highest volume of sales, and that’s when the fuel price is still at 2.70/L before the recent reductions.
    ————–
    That’s because, we need to do more sales to over come 2.70.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:05 pm

tananiki said,

November 10, 2008 @ 9:40 am

the petrol price will keep on go down till rm1.50/l because ppl use to change their life style after petrol hike up to rm2.70/l… some change to ngv (e.g me)… some prefer lighter right leg… some change to motorcycle or less cc car… less demand caused the petrol price keep on going down… this time will be another 15 cents cutoff because those dogs already mention not more than 15 cents for each reduction…
    ———
    I tot they said will reduce til 1.92, and reduce subsidies start from there?

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 1:07 pm

dp said,

November 10, 2008 @ 4:28 am

i am guessing in the region of 10-15 sen…….the damage is already done…. i ask a few days ago why the prices of the drinks in our ‘kedai kopi’ not revised. you know what, they say ‘20 sen extra u cannot afford?’.
    ———–
    Smart entrepreneur increase their goodies according to petrol hikes to coupe with financial stress. Intelligent entrepreneur remain the same when they knew they’re dealing with flip flop situation, and gain more customers/ clients.

• kamelads (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:25 pm

a little bit too late. see what happen to all goods prices. it won’t come down.
    all the ppls affected. life a struggle now. we can hv a choice not to drive if petrol high but not foods. many companies are struggling now. my company start with 4days work perweek due to slow business. next year will be even worse. it’s just the beginning.

• izzy (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:50 pm

idiot govt, too quick to raise gas prices now have to undo it and petrol dealers will suffer from it.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:36 pm

You have to know under this kind of ruling how smart is it u want to be rule, and some more after G dogs had corruption at the whole nation and living us of empty bone, so now he want us to start all over again to do gardening to fill up the empty bone to meat . I wondering when will Malaysia Will become another USA where Obama take the leak now, i surely hope for this day to come.

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:47 pm

It is generally perceived that government is making money from us at this rate. As long as this G is still running the country, you will still see more of this coming your way.

My guess will be a reduction of 10sen. Media will say, actually only 6sen, but G very kind and understand the struggles on the people, so round up to 10sen. There you go, be very happy.

As I said before, this is a sure fire way to loose the next election.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:58 pm

I will be glad to c that if next election lose, instead of keep going like this we will all suffer although i’m Malaysian doesn’t mean i’m not patriotic, if we have the power to elect why not choose our own PM just like Obama, under Umno Malaysian ruling will go down to drain and yet it doesn’t benefit us but struggle us year by year, even bumi also are struggling those who said benefit thei own bumi usually just know how to cover their ass only, don’t be so happy where day by day Malaysian getting worst and worst.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 9:28 pm

RM2?

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:00 pm

The Truth Is Out There ….

• BW (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:55 pm

erm, 15 cents? or 51cents which is TOTALLY impossible…
    Lolx why dun alang alang cut rm 75 cents so it cost rm1 per litre…

• moonier (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:20 am

Just maintain RM1.80 per liter for petrol

• p1basher (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:34 am

wow, the G once again proved to be so smart, yahoo. To raise quickly when the price is up, and drop really slowly when the price is going down, that is genius i like it, just like those entrepreneurs who should be rewarded to live in legendary planet called heell. I bet they dont plan to drop initially but forced by the public pressure.

I think for our next election may b we really should go state by state to elect our pm and tpm like wat the US did.

Oh ya, i come out with a greater plan to save the earth for those genius. Why dun we stop subsidy the G for petrol and car instead and give them proton saga ngv or free tickets to take public transport? sure save petrol and oil.

Oh, u are busy and u need to go here and there? use web cam lo, dun like it? like u say u can immigrate.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:41 am

Hai,

Another political drama in here, owh gosh somebody is wondering why Malaysia couldn’t be like USA’s newly elected Mr. Obama. The first non-white President of the United States. Many doesn’t realize (or chooses not to) that Malaysia is unique in its own way. Apart being multiracial and multilingual Malaysia is also multi-religious. The only reason why the USA citizens especially the White People supported Obama is because they are sick and tired of the Bush’s Administration; waging 2 bloody oil wars! Now the the USA’s seem impossible recovery process lies in the hand of Obama’s team. I wish him good luck and god-speed.

Furthermore, Obama is a Christian. USA has proven they’re not entirely racists (as oppose to Malaysia) but religion is still a big matter in any country. USA after all is a majority Christian country. If Obama is a Muslim I’m sure he will not even win a single vote.

Moreover, USA has only 1 education system and 1 official language. In Malaysia, we have Government school, Chinese School, Indian School, Sekolah Agama and etc. Our education system itself is still in haywire. The Chinese and Indians doesn’t want to compromise either to send their children to national school (Sekolah Wawasan). I’ve been to a Chinese school before. During my time the Bumiputera students will be segregated from the Chinese students. I’m not sure how’s the policy of the Chinese school nowadays. Funny eh, racialism still exists even though we tried our best to deny it.

Apart from that, most Chinese and Indians especially those at urban areas feels that Bahasa Melayu is a second class language and they feel much more appreciated if they’re well verse in their own dialects or at least in English. If you’ve been to Indonesia, the race integration over there is much better than ours with the Chinese can speak fluently in Bahasa Melayu Indonesia.

Meanwhile in religion, please bear the facts when the ‘social contract’ prior to independence was brought up it was agreed by our forefathers the formation of Malaysia will adhere the facts that Islam is the official country, the Sultan will symbolize as the Ruler of Malaysia and the Malays (and Bumiputeras) will maintain its privilege. Malaysia follows the model of United Kingdom monarchy-parliament so the power of the Sultan will be ‘implemented’ by the parliament (henceforth the term “demokrasi raja berparlimen”). I will not elaborate more on these because there are a lot of documentations on these matters out there.

Please bear in mind it was the Malays act of goodwill which allows the 1 Million Chinese and Indians to join the Malay Federation (Persekutuan Tanah Melayu) in 1957. The British during that time oppose the idea of having so much Chinese joining the federation and even limiting it to merely 80000. The British during that time fears the threat and influence of the Communist regime.

I believe someday Malaysia could have its own non-Malay prime minister with the condition he is a Muslim. For now, our current political demographic only allows a Malay Muslim could be the Prime Minister Malaysia. But it is also plausible to have a Chinese Muslim or Indian Muslim to be the Prime Minister as well. It all depends on how well the Chinese and Indians wanting to compromise.

Conclusion, the Chinese and Indians will need to compromise by untying themselves from their countries of origin China and India to allow full integration with Malaysia. These could be carried out by revamping our education system, emphasis on the usage of Bahasa Melayu and acceptance that the Sultan is the Ruler and Islam is the official religion. Only then the Malays and Bumiputeras will truly accept Chinese and Indians entirely and hence, the process of the total removal of DEB/NEP could be fulfilled.

No compromise, no integration, no unity at all.

Just my 2 Ringgit and 15 Cents.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:39 pm

the heck with politics, the state of malaysian politics is going no where anytime soon…. as far as i’m concerned, any reduction in fuel pricing is a good reduction.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:38 pm

To: SY0H,

Are u a Malay? But nvr mind, this is a free nation, we have the power to vote, as sure for now since 5 state had under PR so when times comes everything will change slowly, so you are talking being a PM need to be Muslim, so u are talking racist issues now, why we always shout MERDEKA, and what is the true meaning of it but nothing less it had became abuse buy our region they, if 1 person can leak the country to be develop and economic from financial crisis y not? Y have to be Muslim or anything els, no wonder Malaysia will come to this trouble.

• torque (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Yo guys,

The news is about petrol price ‘might’ be reduce…just be grateful la. To hell with those politician, cronies, leeches or watever!!! We all are the end user here…so stick together men!! Stop attacking each others especially don’t touch any issue regarding race and religion here!!! It’s just plain NONSENSE!

Back to the issue, my guess is just 5 cent only and the max the G will reduce is not more than 10 cent. Let’s wait and see…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:59 pm

whatever !!!!!!!!

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:25 pm

Don’t be too low !!!
    Else jam again.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:16 pm

what about car prices, should drop also

• food_fan (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:57 am

Morning guys,

Today is 15th of nov… As Shahrir claimed, the G keen to review the price of Fuel every 2 week.. Last fuel reduced is on the 1st of nov.. Suppose to be the price will be revise yesterday and the new price will take place today… London Crude of price yesterday is around $58.. which around 1.70-1.80 price per litre…

Here the thing, when come to reduce the fuel price, the G always keep delay…

Shahrir also claimed that Malaysian are used to Rm1.92 per litre petrol price.. If the price of crude oil keep lower, the G may keep at that price as the 18 billion subsidies are to much for the G… The G may want to reduce the subsidies to only 5billion ..

If this happen, its seems now the RAKYAT will subsidy the G.. How could this happen?????

• tommy73 (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Hellooo Shahrir, where are u? Today 16th Nov already!