TRD Sportivo accessories to be offered next year

TRD Sportivo
Toyota Vios One-Make Race Car

UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd will soon begin selling TRD accessories from the TRD Sportivo range, a special range that has been developed and tested for durability in South East Asian conditions. These accessories will be offered with a 3 year warranty for manufacturing defects.

We’ve already seen a TRD Sportivo kit offered on a car sold by UMW Toyota Motor, which is the Toyota Fortuner facelift with a TRD Sportivo kit, so you can expect other offerings to be in a similiar tune – mostly aesthetics.

But for the next car that’s getting the TRD touch which is the Toyota Vios, UMW Toyota Motor says it will also offer a sports suspension kit developed by TRD and manufactured by TEIN, which will offer better handling as well as an approximately 30mm lowered ride height. Other possibilities (though a very distant one, unfortunately) which were shown to the media today include full bucket FIA-approved Recaro TRD racing seats and a performance exhaust system which sounded pretty bassy and grunty, quite an unlikely sound to be coming from the tame 109 PS engine inside.

The accessories will first be offered as a TRD Sportivo package to be fitted on existing Vioses and there is also a Toyota Vios TRD that may come early next year, just in time to keep the Vios fresh in the face of the 2009 Honda City.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:55 pm

that’s refreshing for Vios …. in view of the new Honda City which is far more superior and advance ….. let’s wait and see for the Vios vs City. But Vios starts from RM69K onwards while City ???

• oodane (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 3:19 pm

trd…hmm..good..

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 3:34 pm

just addon kits…
    still dont change the looks of it…
    huhuu…

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 3:35 pm

hahaha..
    in the picture it looks like a scarred face do0ogy…hahaha ;p

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:07 pm

its still a dugong in the end of the day, lol

• droll (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:32 pm

what????!!! body kits and suspensions need to be tested for durability in SEA conditions? paint peel off? plastic melt? gas chamber in suspension loses pressure?

when i first read that line i was eagerly expecting they would announce a bolt-on turbo kit. too bad…..109PS family sedan with a sports suspension ain’t exactly fun. it’s someone’s idea of a joke.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:45 pm

its also means that stock vios dont handle well..
    handling and only cruising is 2 different thing..
    vios can be fast n steady if ur going on a straight line…
    but in corners u’ll suffer man…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:05 pm

MAJUPERAK said,
    November 13, 2008 @ 2:55 pm

that’s refreshing for Vios …. in view of the new Honda City which is far more superior and advance ….. let’s wait and see for the Vios vs City. But Vios starts from RM69K onwards while City ???

you dont compare a low spec vios with a higher specced city. you obviously have to compare apples with apples. high spec vios, with high spec city.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:22 pm

still ugly no matter what.

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:42 pm

looks like dugong been punched by autobot… or, looks like digimon..

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 6:04 pm

whats with the fellar?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Any upgrade on performance? How much the kit cost?

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 8:50 pm

We should stop the trend of ‘cosmetic tuning’. Real tuner should focus first, the engine, then followed suspension, brakes, aerodynamic kit and other additional parts to cope with the increase of engine output.

Normal engine with tuned suspension just don’t add up. It will make the car feel weak due to beefed-up chassis.

• ntsc (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:25 pm

1st face lift, now TRD kit. Does toyota cannot come out any new idea?

• l3ryan (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:30 pm

another marketing idea to cheat the consumers’ money…

what’s the use of upgraded suspension with stock engine?
    what’s the use of upgraded muffler and exhaust paired with the stock engine?
    what is the use of spoilers and skirts when you rarely travel above 150kph when the aerodynamics starts to take effect?
    and the recaros.. on a vios??? LOL u gotta be kiddin me

• szw (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:32 pm

a body kit on a body kit ?

• transformer (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:18 pm

how can that ancient Belta(Vios) compare with a totally new City… its not fair!

but i didnt like Belta since it was launched natively(JDM)

• 2ndgen (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Saw the new City already, yeah its great a first glance.
    But dont think the design have any originality.
    For me its quite boring. Still prefer Vios anytime.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 12:07 am

Joke la. Ah beng stuff. More lala (kerang) Vios on the road.

• csv (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 12:31 am

too ah beng la.

how much they gonna charge extra also.

• kenninaz (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 12:50 am

not everyone mods their car to be a performance beast. some do it for – yes (surprisingly as it sounds), cosmetic purposes.

why upgraded suspension? why upgraded muffler and exhaust ? why spoilers and skirts when you rarely travel above 150kph when the aerodynamics starts to take effect? why recaro seats?

high speeds do not recognize the type of engine u are using. turbo or stock, speed will still kill you. so wats wrong with having a little bit of better handling and stability thru upgraded suspensions?

plus, everyone loves pretty things. so why cant they add spoilers/skirtings/mufflers/exhausts? recaros on a vios is a joke? wat cars then would “befit” the use of recaros? wat car do you drive?

ofcoz, whether UMW will screw toyota customers is another issue all together. but lets not diss ppl who modify their cars for the pleasure of it.

cheers. :)

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 1:54 am

too bad we forumers here are only a small segment of their market players. even if we rant city is overpriced, still honda doesnt care, cos of the H badge ppl will buy. even we shout its cosmetic for vios, but many out there would still suckered it, because its something ‘extra’ being offered to enhance the looks/performance what ever of vios (even its still the same stock engine and same not appealing).

in the end of the day, both are still cars, doing what they are supposedly to do, from A to B. so which uncles or aunties or ur average white collars cares about technology, looks…etc if both drives comfortably… sadly its all depends on the budget, and loyalty to the badges.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 9:17 am

Hai there forumers,

I’ve heard the word ‘Ah Beng’ for many months now. I wish somebody could explain me the origin of these famous name becomes so famous in the Malaysian motoring industry. Hahaha. Did this Mr Ah Beng manage to drift somehere at the Hills of Shinjuku at Japan like what the legendary Initial-D did? Have a good day!

• DRC (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:03 am

UMW & Toyota is again trying to makan our duit. I bet the package is going to be overpriced again, just like the RM3500 for COMBINATION leather seat in Innova, more expensive than a 5 seater full leather sofa set! Other cars offer optional 7-seater leather seats at a significantly lower price. The TRD kit is not sporty and it’s NOT pretty; VIOS is not pretty in the first place and it is difficult to make it pretty, unless Toyota steal some idea from Mazda 6 (the front lamps and the grill) during the new facelift, then it may just be a lil nicer.

• ReactiX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:22 am

Ugly car…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:05 am

looks cheap

• torque (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 1:02 pm

Maaaaaaan…I LOVED TRD stuffs!! Got a few of it bolt on my ZZT and it works great! Pricey but great nonetheless. Still, TRD on the Vios dugong?!! Not saying it’s wrong but it doesn’t seems right. Aiseyman, sometimes I really felt sorry for the creative engineers and technicians at TRD since Toyota is still STUBBORN enuff not to release their sports cars range. It’s already long due la Toyota with your Supra, Celica, MR2, Altezza and the legendary Corolla Levin AE86…sigh! :-(

I also know for a fact that the new Supra is underway while the Celica and the AE86 projects has started to kick in but….FASTER LAAAAAAAAAA…can’t wait already liao. Nissan is bz with their GTR V-Spec and 370Z. Honda is coming out with new NSX and S2000. Pity the TRD fella la…

Cheers everyone!

• torque (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Oh! One more thing, to make my point…look at the picture la. Did you guys see the face of the TRD fella…the fella is f*cking sad man….pity him!! Not even a smile or a thumbs up. He must be saying in his freaking mind while taking the picture, “TRD! TRD!! Toyota Racing Development…RACING!!! What da heck am I doing with this dugong for crying out loud!!! Ops! Can’t cry now…picture taken. Sigh!”

Thee hee hee… :-)

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:18 pm

it does make sense! good one hahaha

• japankiller (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:25 pm

where about Vision Motor at Bangsar?Aren’t they a sole distributor of TRD parts in M’sia?

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:53 pm

mugen rox

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:01 pm

a real retarded human being in malaysia will buy the current toyota Vios…..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:05 pm

most of the singaporean buy toyota altis instead of vios…. its really hard to see a toyota vios in singapore…. the difference in price between vios and altis here is just $5K….. so, only mentally disturbed ppl buy vios here !!!!

• torque (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:59 am

japankiller said,
    November 14, 2008 @ 8:25 pm

where about Vision Motor at Bangsar?Aren’t they a sole distributor of TRD parts in M’sia?

It’s Vision Auto. No, they are not the sole distributor of TRD here in Malaysia, it’s Wing Hin. Vision Auto is just an authorise dealer of TRD but they are Tom’s sole distributor if I’m not mistaken. It’s located close to McDonalds and BP petrol station at Bangsar. All I can say is the staff and mechanics there is very good at their job and friendly too but don’t be shock on their labour charge bro….it’s quite expensive!!! Still, I can bet, you get what you paid for…unlike some of those mechanics along Jalan Horsepower at Sunway which BRUTELY and done CRAPPY work quality when they attend to your car!!! Dunno if actually they envy of you or not…beats me!! Sigh…. :-(

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:04 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 14, 2008 @ 10:05 pm

most of the singaporean buy toyota altis instead of vios…. its really hard to see a toyota vios in singapore…. the difference in price between vios and altis here is just $5K….. so, only mentally disturbed ppl buy vios here !!!!
    —————————————
    its nice,in singapore, you can call anybody who drive proton or perodua crazy, retarded etc

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 4:21 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 15, 2008 @ 3:04 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

—————————————
    its nice,in singapore, you can call anybody who drive proton or perodua crazy, retarded etc

—————————————-

there are proton and perodua here in singapore on roads…. but its not singaporean’s car…. its malaysian’s cars whom comes here for work…. singapore people dont buy proton and perodua here in singapore bcoz it is priced exactly the same amount as in malaysia, but in singapore currency… what i mean was if proton persona cost u RM50000 in malaysia, it cost $50000 singapore dollar in singapore…. so, you can buy a altis or sylphy or lancer for $50000 in singapore…. so ppl dun buy them ….

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 10:35 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 15, 2008 @ 4:21 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 15, 2008 @ 3:04 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

—————————————

—————————————-

there are proton and perodua here in singapore on roads…. but its not singaporean’s car…. its malaysian’s cars whom comes here for work…. singapore people dont buy proton and perodua here in singapore bcoz it is priced exactly the same amount as in malaysia, but in singapore currency… what i mean was if proton persona cost u RM50000 in malaysia, it cost $50000 singapore dollar in singapore…. so, you can buy a altis or sylphy or lancer for $50000 in singapore…. so ppl dun buy them …
    ——————————
    exactly, thats why u can laugh at those select few morons. just like in uk. malaysia, 96% of them don’t want to buy a proton but what choice do they have.

• hailliejade on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:45 pm

vios rocks!!its DOHC ppl!!no matter how u ppl compliments city,it's still SOHC..eat ur heart out!!

• hailliejade on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:48 pm

and btw if u ppl think vios isnt good enuff 4u,go buy ferrari laa or lamborghini..susah2 jer nak ngutuk vios kat sini..tak cukup duit nak beli cakap terus terang..mentaliti kelas bawahan betul..

• firdaus on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:12 pm

paul…how bout the trd sportivo bodykit? where can i find em n how much would it cost??

• manx miraie on Sep 08, 2009 at 3:36 am

hye paul..where can i find trd sportivo bodykit n how much would it cost..