2009 Toyota Rush Facelift unveiled in Japan

Toyota Rush

Toyota launched a minor facelifted version of the Toyota Rush in Japan on the 13th of November 2008. The version of the Rush sold in the Japanese market is the short wheelbase version of course, which is sold here as the Perodua Nautica while the Toyota Rush that UMW Toyota Motor sells is a long wheelbase 7-seater version.

The new Toyota Rush features a new front bumper, new tail lamps, and a new alloy wheel design for the G trim level. The 2WD automatic model also scores 15.4km/l on the Japan 10-15 mode fuel economy test, which is a 5% improvement over the original Rush.

The Toyota Rush is also known as the Daihatsu Be-Go, Daihatsu Terios in different markets, and the Perodua Nautica in Malaysia. It is available in both short wheelbase and long wheelbase versions with the option of 7 seats, depending on the market it is sold in.

Daihatsu also unveiled its facelifted Be-Go in Japan on the same day, as they are parallel products – the same thing sold under different badges in the same market.

Look after the jump for more shots of the new Toyota Rush.

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Daihatsu Be-Go

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eng. (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 5:00 am

1st here..

if p2 bring here..
    they will named it..
    of couse p2 nautica SE..

• peYno (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 6:47 am

2nd here
    then P2 will inform media, we sent 100 over engineers to develope this SUV

prrrfthhhh

• 9211 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:48 am

The air-con outlet grille looks like an old radio speaker. Overall, both exterior & interior are ugly. The rides are bumpy too. Whatever it is, Rush, Vios, Altis, Avanza, Innova have one in common.. UGLY DESIGN but yet sell them expensive because of the Toyota badge. At the momeny there are promotions by UMW Toyota like 3 years free service, low interest rate, free Sony MP3 Walkman etc. Maybe because of poor sales due to this blunder.

• db8 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 8:34 am

i like the steering..looks like lexus steering..

• nasiklemak (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 8:37 am

wah 9211, any toyota car u say ugly ah? how come?
    not fair to say all of them ugly la, i think the term should be ‘could have been made better’. right?
    ugly should be for funny cars like kangoo & fiat multipla ..haha ..i really hate those two cars on the road … so damn ugly looking car ….(and p1 juara/arena too :) wahaha )

btw, did anyone actually buy nautica? … price so expensive, who wanna buy ..i’ve never seen it on the road ..lol

• cyberx11 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 9:09 am

no TRD body kit for this?

• delos3nos (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:06 am

If you want to pay for the price of toyota and get kancil why not is your money.

• Cars fan on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:44 am

you already said is their money….so why u masih bising…..diam-diam la…..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:30 am

Sold to low income Japs and rich, ignorant Malaysians mhuahahaa.. Nautica is as rare as a Bentley Continental GT(saw one at Ampang Jaya yeaterday, sweet, have not seen a Nautica in 23 days oredi)

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:34 am

I notice the digital auto climate control. Since the Nautica is exactly the Japanese built Rush/Be-Go, why don’t they incorporate the auto climate control for the nautica? For a small SUV with a premium RM90K price tag, Perodua should consider to make it as standard. The current one looks cheap despite coming from japan.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:42 am

white rush look like a rav4

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:53 am

i rather be seen in a renault kangoo than a perodua nautica. LOL. french vs malaysian. malaysian wins! those who want to be the greatest loser can remain in their nautica

• Cars fan on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:45 am

i think you are the biggest loser here…no money to buy toyota than insult other ppl…..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:20 am

NAUTICA GOT FACELIFT?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:36 am

Do you know what “bego” means in Indonesian?

• AL-88-MZ (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:37 am

normaluser said,
    November 15, 2008 @ 10:34 am
    —————————-
    I notice the digital auto climate control. Since the Nautica is exactly the Japanese built Rush/Be-Go, why don’t they incorporate the auto climate control for the nautica? For a small SUV with a premium RM90K price tag, Perodua should consider to make it as standard. The current one looks cheap despite coming from japan.
    —————————-

Automatic Climate control is a JDM-only item (For the top spec versions.). The export models that the rest of the word gets (Including Malaysia.) get the manual knob controls (Also used in the JDM base models.) & plain looking center console layout (Which is also used for the manual tranny (No pun intended.) variants.).

• AL-88-MZ (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:42 am

Typo: World

• szw (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:57 am

wat a rush to create a facelift…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 12:07 pm

yucks….

• mct (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 2:11 pm

kangoo is a really nice car
    dun judge by its cover !!!
    and abundant of headroom
    but it is not cheap also
    70k price tag kills

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 2:48 pm

looks the same…

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:24 pm

nvm about the rush, sorry to be off topic but can anyone explain to me why there is no reduction of petrol prices? It’s already the 15th

• choong on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm

you got that right!! When things are right for the ppl they are ALWAYS SLOW!!

• db8 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 4:09 pm

lol viper88..i’m waiting for the fuel price decrease too..too slowwww

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 4:41 pm

db8, biasa-la government always ripping us off. Went to petrol station this morning before work and still same price. Geramnya.

• wajara (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 6:50 pm

harga minyak naik macam ribut…
    turun macam siput….

• clover leaf (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:17 pm

fugly! facelift = deface.
    the front bonnet looks like sanitary ware aka WC’s lid.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:31 pm

daihatsu be-go…..that has a different meaning in malaysia :P

• awak (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:31 pm

actually a reshape 70k avanza ,
    as a result 90k rush (malaysia), not much different driving the avanza

• gie7 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:37 pm

perodua…tipu punya syarikat..nama je perusahaan otomobil kedua…tapi nampak macam perusahaan tukar bumper n mekap sana dan sini….sungguh menyedihkan..kalau perodua bawa lagi benda ni n tukar badge macam nautica, lagi menyedihkan…orang putih kata pathetic..betul ke ejaan tu…

• theanswer (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:16 pm

gie7,

ape yg die tipu kite? semua org tau P2 rebadge toyota/daihatsu. kite sendiri boleh wat decision samada nak bli or tidak. kalau x suke..x bli ah..dlm bisnes yg penting profit dan juge kepuasan pengguna..(hopefully puas la kot)

• awak (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:43 pm

look at jdm car,
    heavily tinted,
    in malaysia wrong? i cant undertand it.

it protect skin,
    it optimises the use of ACC, (the energy not wasted – good for people and environment).

well, not to the extent that its opaque,
    70 percent is ok,

• willpower (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:46 pm

gie7 said,
    November 15, 2008 @ 7:37 pm

perodua…tipu punya syarikat..nama je perusahaan otomobil kedua…tapi nampak macam perusahaan tukar bumper n mekap sana dan sini….sungguh menyedihkan..kalau perodua bawa lagi benda ni n tukar badge macam nautica, lagi menyedihkan…orang putih kata pathetic..betul ke ejaan tu…
    —————————————————————-

Gua agree sama gie7 cakap. Memang “pathetic”, tambah lagi “sympathy” kerana syarikat perusahaan nasional kedua kena dengar cakap orang lain.
    tiada pendirian sendiri. Memang memang menyedihkan.

Perodua= Perusahaan Otomobil Dengar Ungkapan Auntie…

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 12:34 am

Akazamabamaboo said,

November 15, 2008 @ 11:36 am

Do you know what “bego” means in Indonesian?
    —————
    Stupid, idiot, nuts, dudul, dodol, Daihatsu bego loe~

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 12:37 am

theanswer said,

November 15, 2008 @ 10:16 pm

gie7,

ape yg die tipu kite? semua org tau P2 rebadge toyota/daihatsu. kite sendiri boleh wat decision samada nak bli or tidak. kalau x suke..x bli ah..dlm bisnes yg penting profit dan juge kepuasan pengguna..(hopefully puas la kot)
    —————
    Sedih se kini anak-Malaysia gak getu gile, uda tau sok beli.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 12:39 am

szw said,

November 15, 2008 @ 11:57 am

wat a rush to create a facelift…
    ——–
    coz it’s not selling well. Hopefully they do not sabo Altis..or i’ll bang my head on the wall when i want to sell it.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 10:28 am

dont worry there’s no altis in japan

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 2:35 pm

-theanswer

Seldom we heard people who willingly giveaway their money to satisfy other people’s greed.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 7:05 pm

very bad….. the current Rush is far more better in terms of evrything !!!! those of guyz planin to buy rush, better buy now or else u’ll be dissapointed with this new design when its gonna come out !!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 8:27 pm

the current rush is from indon

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Indon huh? Last time they build our houses, shops and buildings. Then they became our maids and serves us day in day out. Now they built our cars. Whats next?

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:22 am

Next we get marry with them likes ashraf n bunga..hmm semoga bahgia ke anak cucu.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:33 am

Ahaha, kesian Daihatsu Indonesia, I dare them to bring this model WITHOUT changing its name, ahaha. bego punya daihatsu…..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Wisdom said,

November 16, 2008 @ 11:40 pm

Indon huh? Last time they build our houses, shops and buildings. Then they became our maids and serves us day in day out. Now they built our cars. Whats next?
    ——————————
    without them, malaysia will be nothing

• Are we not greatfull to them, preparing us almost everything for our own confort. Would any lazy malaysian work as maid, bulding construction under the hot malaysian sun……
      After all, what is wrong marrying indonesian, they are just as human as we all are. Irf whites can be proud of their own kind why can’t we, the bloody Asian..At least the Malay group, philiphine, thailand, indon and malaysia……….

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:26 pm

Perodua Nautica CKD Version??

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:15 am

they should do ckd

• Aaron yee on Apr 02, 2009 at 5:48 am

boleh tahanlah bukan so bed

• Aaron yee on Apr 02, 2009 at 5:48 am

no bed

• ameza on May 31, 2009 at 6:40 am

Allaaaaa. …. harga masih tinggi, capelah nak beli Rush. Main tarok-tarok aje harganye Krete lain harga lebih murah lagi banyak baik macam exora! Warna dalam asyik krim je , warna lain x de ke? Nampaknye lu pakai sendirilah krete tu

• malingsia banyak komen aja kau…..taunya maling aja

• Observer on Jul 25, 2009 at 11:43 pm

So many negative comments. Do you, yourself drive or ever own this car…Empty barrels makes the loudest noise..haha

• motorush on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:14 am

haha.. i agree wit observer.. well, i actually own a rush.. i'm happy with its performance.. of course, you dont get the power of an x5 not even a harrier.. well, whaddaya expect? RM 90k++ price tag.. it's totally worth it.. especially love the fuel efficiency.. i've experience a 15 cent per kilometer in a combination of both highways and city streets..

• kapan tiba di Indonesia

• janor on Sep 24, 2009 at 10:39 pm

asalkan okey sudahlah. janji boleh guna nak pi mana-mana.

• Saffinee Sulaiman on May 31, 2010 at 8:00 am

Maybe this comparison could give a fresh perspective on this model:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?BRSR=5&CarCode=10323

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=10320

• Wanna perfect car, buy Ferrari or Lamboi ……..if we can’t afford, rush is far better that a bicycle……..hehehehe

• Albert on Jan 10, 2012 at 7:57 pm

The best Vehicle i have ever owned, the people that complain should not compare a this to a lux vehicle, it is not, it is what you pay for and 10 x more than the money that you pay for it. If it was your money and you have to buy a light on fuel cheap 4×4 that would take you though most of africa, you would buy this one over and over again !
    face the facts, if you compare this to a audi or a Pajero it will loose in styling, but build quality is good and engine reliable, in SA if you want reliable you buy Toyota :)