Artist gone nuts: Perodua Myvi Cabriolet

Perodua Myvi Cabriolet

This set of photoshopped images confirm that our resident graphic artist Theophilus Chin is a crackhead :P I suppose if Nissan and Mitsubishi can create drop top versions of their tall-ish B-segment hatchbacks (the Micra C+C and the Colt CZC respectively), it’s probably not too insane for Theophilus to dream of a drop top Perodua Myvi… or not!

But seriously, Theo had nothing to do so he whipped up these photoshopped images just for fun. But what do you think? Would anyone buy something like this?

Two more images can be found after the jump.

Perodua Myvi Cabriolet

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:28 pm

I’m not a crackhead, i only smoke crack!

• jinks (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:43 pm

well done theo.
    i like the amount of bootspace available too. ample space to stash a bunch of coke and pot in. XD

• chaku/maru (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:44 pm

theo,super clean chop man!you use mouse or tablet pen?
    i really fell in love with ur uber-clean style…

give some tips la!

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:50 pm

The rear passenger headroom could’ve to low or to cramp for an adult. And with our dusty, hot environment, it will not sell well i guess.

• Paul Tan on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:08 am

These small convertibles are all 2+2 anyway, like the 207CC. Only the 308CC fits 4 adults properly.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:31 am

if P2 can do this by themselves in real life, gonna really respect them.

• csv (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:57 am

slice and dice. lol.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:42 am

wats next , proton mpv losses its roof as well ?!!

or a kancil pickup?!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:26 am

nice, but usually rear seats have little or no space in drop top cars. Yours has a healthy space there:P

• the stik (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:20 am

e-nabilll.. skrg pun dh ade kancil pikap beb.. if im not mistaken laa, kat midvalley ade..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:26 am

chaku/maru, I use mouse, but would love to use tablet pen, if can afford one, or if company thinks I do well (appraisal soon).

If I remember correctly, the cabriolet version of Punto generation one, (seen mostly in yellow in Malaysia in late 90s), was not that tight in the rear for Asian adults. But true, other supermini cabriolets are mostly 2+2.

Now, the only spacious supermini cabriolet, though not available in Malaysia, would have to be Citroen Pluriel.

Having fabric roof helps too in terms of storage.

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:57 am

Certainly interesting but definately not nuts. I suppose KL (or M’sia) is not very conducive to be exposed to the weather, hence the lack of any serious manufacturer (or P1 or P2) to consider this segment.

To me this concept is akin to the 206 cc or 207 cc. I can see the folding roof idea is taken from either a mini or a beetle cab, whilst the back seat reminds me of a Z4’s, which is funny because the back seats actually looks better than the front.

Nonetheless, very cohesive redesigning for which this particular model was never meant to be. Good job.

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:00 am

Theo, if u dun mind me asking, where r working and as what?

• yong88 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:06 am

the 2nd pic really looks like savvy….

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:16 am

Nice man! I wish I had your eye for detail and talents!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:09 am

si-fu, I’m an Aesthetic Engineer in Singapore…

Kidding, i’m a Cheras beng, working as a graphic designer with a welfare association in Singapore.

• I my (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:37 am

hmmm… nice output there.

but it sure need a more power as a heavier body on a cab.

BTW, a 2 door MyVi also look nice.

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:43 am

Interesting! I want to give suggestions (since my photoshop skills are crappy!).

Longer doors – to give more coupe-like profile.

The window between B and C pillar (usually small, triangular, in cabriolets) can usually be lowered. In this case it’s a little too big to be lowered because there’s not enough space to accommodate it.

The rear taillights looked abit chopped – redesign and streamline it with the cabrio profile (especially with the absence of C-pillar).

And… I want folding hard-top, boleh ka? *GRINS*

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:44 am

Btw, have always loved your work.

• DRC (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:50 am

Nice. Will consider buying one if priced below 80k with current Myvi 1.3 DVVT automatic.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:57 am

Nice job Theo….. keep it up !!!! Theo, can u come up with more graphics with proton cars…..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:59 am

theo, how about making a 2 door hard top coupe, much like the copen, haha

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:00 am

cabriolet with 1.3 engine?
    what a joke.. lol!

• niGht kiD (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:38 am

I like it xD

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:51 am

nice job bro….

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Haha! Lucky you Theo!
    Si-Fu is trying to recommend you as car designer at Proton!
    er, Si-Fu, if u dun mind me asking, where r working and as what?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:10 pm

bmpower said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 11:00 am

cabriolet with 1.3 engine?
    what a joke.. lol!
    —————————-

no need to get all serious bro.. its only a ‘concept’ styling drawing done by theo. the engine can be anything you want.

• websterneo (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

I would love to buy this car if it’s really available. Nice. Couple it with the 600cc TC engine will be lovely.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:37 pm

the first pix looks like mini..theo, u work in international ad agency ar?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Nope, just a humble welfare association, doing their funraising events’ publicity materials, the association’s bi-monthly newsletter, annual report and such…

Hey reader, Theo here is looking to work with a car magazine as a Graphic Designer! Help look out!

• torque (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Heeyyy…not bad!! It turns out to look very nice. This is way better concept than their silly latest SE version. Berapa banyak mau SE lar P2….

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:40 pm

finally a tortoise without a shell…hey I like Theo’s drawing, but not the car..

• theanswer (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:50 pm

bmpower,

whats so suprise abt 1.3 cabrio? smart roadster only got 600+ cc engine. thts aint a joke.

• theanswer (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:51 pm

nway, i prefer if theo did a 3 door myvi.

• gie7 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:04 pm

hehe…begitu banyak bahan yang membuktikan anak malaysia boleh pergi jauh kalau d beri peluang…mana tahu, satu hari nanti akan ada seorang anak malaysia yang merintis untuk mereka kereta sendiri seperti esne venere…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:24 pm

Nuts enough.
    Paul how come you have avatar huh, how to put?

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:28 pm

90125 said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 2:40 pm
    finally a tortoise without a shell…hey I like Theo’s drawing, but not the car..
    —–
    tortoise? with a soft shell? haha..

• huckerz (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:53 pm

hey i like it…. cause the existing myvi is tinggggi!!!!! ugly!!!! hehehe….
    put the `.5 engine la like in JAPAN..but quite nice.. i would buy if it is 1.5 VVT engine :)… i heard myvi 1.5vvt turbo is coming..any news paultan?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:03 pm

I did chop a 3-door Perodua MyVi before. Don’t remember where I saved the file.

• volks2 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:47 pm

i like hardtop..if possible, maybe can utilise the Merz SLK type, with automatic roof top.

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:47 pm

msmar_453, i think by now, most of u all know where i am working already…which is in P1. Current Dept i cant tell…but definetely in RND. Huhuhuhuhuhu!
    Theo, i suggest, that u submit ur resume to Proton, request for the styling dept. And if they call for an interview bring all ur chops, drawings n designs. They are using a software called ‘a***s’ as their styling software and u will definetely get a tablet pen’. And they are many other gadgets and technologies for u to play with. So u can improve ur skills and contribute ur idea to ur nation….just my thought, if u r interested that is!

Cheers!

• hotwheeler (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:21 pm

oit theo…u better send ur resume dude. got strong recommendation from sifu…aiya, syoknya!

• David9988 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:44 pm

in a myvi..i don wanna be seen….

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:47 pm

si-fu, but I’m not a car designer, I’m only digitally altering existing cars. This “skill” I have, if it’s any skill at all, doesn’t get recognise.

• darkwizard (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Theo, i have been browsing a lot and i found that your photo chop skills are very clean and precise (almost Look real) especially the high resolution one in the forum.

Anyway, if Proton or Perodua now want to move on further, it is a good options to get some talented Malaysian to design their future model based on Malaysian/Asian Taste.

Anyway, just go acording to Si-Fu suggestion. Give it a try. Take the chellenge of life to learn new technologies or gadgets.

I my self also Got a different Job than what my skills and education background. I took it as a motivation chellenge at work at first.
    I work in Manufacturing Line (electronics) while my background education = Computer field and my interest/skills is in Analysing things (As most of the things i learn is through analysing or looking and listening and some research).

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:49 am

Hello Theo.. Nice photoshop bro.. try take the challenge from Si-Fu. Maybe your luck is there…

• manitaaan (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 1:32 am

howdy theo…great skills dude…

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:23 am

if have Myvi cabriolet, it may sell well here…

• etmail (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:01 am

I like it. Perhaps Myvi should have a limited edition for this.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:47 am

Theo, go la. Azlano (ur potential new boss) is looking for talented ppl, hehehe.

Apply here: http://siva-my.jobstreet.com/_ads/my/jobs/2008/5/p/10/630284.htm

Anyway, another job well done, except that I dun like the car itself at all ahahahah

si-fu: it’s Autodesk AliasStudio rite?

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:59 am

theo, i know where u got the interior, its the audi a3 cabrio rite?

• Beemer Freak (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:28 pm

Hey Theo
    Good work with the Myvi. Lets see you so a cabriolet version of the Persona. Something looking like the VW eos

• db8 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:11 am

nice imagination..this car if u drive along kampung road with trees shed would be wonderful..no need powerful engine..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:07 am

try designing a toyota avanza cabrio

• king (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:07 am

quite a pointless car…since one of the main reason in a convertible is look cool and show off…

but over here you need to wear a full face helmet to hide your face…for looking like a clown in this pathetic car.

imagine an avanza convertible and u know what i mean…i am ashamed to be seen riding in that van.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:38 am

lol…too true, the goverment should allow us to tint our car windows as dark as possible, so that people cannot see us in a car like the toyota avanza

• catatonia (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 5:34 pm

Love your work man! Excellent!!!
    Proton should hire you as their chief designer!

I’ve always thought that the new Proton Saga has a lot of latent potential. It could potentially be a 2 door roadster model.

a) Lower the roof line, give it a sloped look
    b) widen the body, give the wheel some solid arches.
    c) Oversize the grill to give it an angrier look
    d) Slap on M3 skirtings
    e) Make the lamps ala civic or 350z.

Can you give it a shot kah?

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 2:58 pm

Maybe this is a sportcar maybe the MyVi can beat up Ferrari LOL :) ;)