Proton MPV spotted in Putra Heights!

Proton MPV
An artist’s impression by maru

Reader deanfiero_returns sent in another video of the Proton MPV that he spotted at Putra Heights last week, and it seems that the MPV has been sighted in the area quite frequently for 3 consecutive days. He also claims the MPV was quite fast to accelerate way from his Proton Waja 1.6, despite having about 3-4 occupants in it. The video is quite shaky at first but later there is a close-up, including a shot of the Proton MPV travelling next to what appears to be a red Perodua Kelisa towards the end. Useful for a size guesstimation. Watch the video after the jump.

VIDEO: Proton MPV in Putra Heights

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vivio (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:20 am

i think i like it

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:09 am

Did he over shot by accelerating while the Mpv did a sudden brake?lol

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:12 am

my world of the day is definalty ” guesstimation ” !

the more i see it , the bigger it looks

• mr42 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:40 am

Hi…

He He…Cheeky la this video shot…Seems ada adegan kejar mengejar…he he…

• alihms (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:44 am

Thanks deanfiero for the video, but it leaves me wanting. We have more or less an idea how the outside looks like. What’s missing is the inside spyshots – the dashboard, seats and possibly, under the hood view. That would be the next target – so come on guys.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:04 pm

i ve looked into the interior… huhu…

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:05 pm

chaku render seems out of proportion a bit.
    look weird.

the mpv look not underpower. seems ok.
    but.. we have to see the final product.

the interior remain in mystery.
    dashboard mounted gear knob?
    intergrated gps?

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:23 pm

autojohndoe, if u have seen the interior, and u have nothing to do with proton, i.e. not the staff or worker or related in anyway, please do describe wat u saw, poor guys here already ‘sangap’ to know about the interior! Huhuhuhuhuhuhu!

Cheers!

• ameen (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:34 pm

yup.. autojohndoe.. tell us something bout interior.. rili2 interested here

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:35 pm

i kinda like the spaciousness and the dashbord design…

just a simple comment since the testing model has very simple interior… hehe…

wanna make ppl keep on wondering and guessing too…

• xavier_lert (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:47 pm

owh….it fail the braking test…..crossover the white line…..

• gie7 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:10 pm

betul kan..takde lagi ke orang yang abik gambar tengah parking macam neo aritu…siap ada gambar interior kat dalam lagi…dulu masa yang pakai wish sahaja ada parking kan…nanti mungkin ada lagi..

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:16 pm

I’ve seen the interior from Proton’s peek-a-boo MPV booth during Proton Tech Week. Mr Si-Fu, is it the same as the production ones?

The aircon vents were squarish, dashboard got auto gear attached to the middle console (if im not mistaken, its very dark), beige in color and looks minimal, simple & boring. I expect the dashboard to rival the latest Stream in terms of design & quality.

• awak (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:41 pm

normaluser honda interior is not the best,

actually a good interior is classy ,simple and server its function/control.
    dashboard is base frame to all the view outside on the wind screen,
    – it would batter for the dash to be very neat,

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:45 pm

minyak apa cap limau??? lolzzz…

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:53 pm

ugly van

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:11 pm

I tell you guys, the truth is.. R&D people of proton always come to Kg. Tengah Puchong mosque for friday pray.. and its mean, we’re the first people who watch whatever Proton come with a new model’s.. the thing’s I’m lazy to snap a pictures. everytime thier arrive, always put cover to the car.. Hmm.. by the way, wish you all the best! (PROTON)

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Oh, forgot to tell you guys also.. I guest the situation happened 5-9 month (fogot date) before new Proton Saga launched. After friday pray I went to nearby shop, I’m driving Mit. Evo 8, then I saw a new Saga (under prototype I think). I try to chase the car. but the man driving the car like crazy a**.. R&D people scare if I take the photo’s.. sio la~

• db8 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:29 pm

looks very gangsterish with the black tape all over..like the one u see in movies..nigga’s mpv..lol joking

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:56 pm

pixie_wawan, dun play2 with P1 rnd fellas, they might be just driving a saga or savvy or any prton car for that matter, but they might be able to follow u eventhough u might be driving big and fast cars. Those guys from hnt are the ‘badass’ fellas! they r hard to catch! Its all skilled driving and the handling of the car contribution…but when come to straight road, have to give in la! Huhuhuhuhuhu!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:56 pm

proton city don’t have masjid is it? Must go to Puchong?

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:01 pm

wah where they go to sembayang u also wan2 bash?

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:16 pm

a mosque must be built in the factory.and the MD will be the khatib.hehe

just kidding

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:25 pm

mystvearn said,

November 17, 2008 @ 2:56 pm

proton city don’t have masjid is it? Must go to Puchong?
    —————————–

protons R&D centre is in shah alam hicom area, its like 5 mins drive to puchong.

car looks like its got quite a nice shape, but it rides pretty low, unlike van type mpv’s.

• DRC (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:27 pm

Big, hopefully solid than Innova, and priced below 80k. Honda Odyssey is still the most beautiful MPV.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:28 pm

Traffic police there should fine ’em, as they stop after the line…

Just an excuse to tengok2 the interior bah…

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:43 pm

pixie_wawan :

u drove evo8 but cannot even tailgate a blm saga aa..?

i got to say man…

wat is wrong with u…?

ahaks! just kidding though ;p

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:47 pm

si-fu :

i dont think on a straight line, an evo cannot catch up the saga…
    (doesnt matter how mad skills the driver of the saga have)
    if its on “cornery” road or busy street..then cant help it lor…

unless..
    the saga had another engine installed inside it other than the campro iafm we all knew…

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 3:53 pm

rufus-x, please read my comment back, thats wat exactly i said, in straight road, HAVE TO GIVE IN! That means, in straight road, sure loose wan, cause engine not enuf power to catch up or follow! But maybe one model can be good in straights also,…hahahahaha…wait till the model comes out, and i will tel why n how!

Cheers!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:03 pm

si-fu,

u telling proton gonna have a model which can go over 200km/h??and catch with mistu evo..that cool…but can i get sum GENERAL info? is it coming out soon and is it protons very own engine??

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:11 pm

si-fu said,

“But maybe one model can be good in straights also,…hahahahaha…wait till the model comes out, and i will tel why n how!”
    ——————-

si-fu,
    are u saying neo cps or another new model?or im just misunderstood?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:19 pm

im still waitin’ eagerly to see about malaysian’s first mpv ???

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:27 pm

Hahahhaha…i cant tell which model or when…cause i prohibited to do so! Wait till the time is rite, then i will inform u guys kay!

Cheers!

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Still waiting for the interior spyshots. Hopefully the quality will be much better for this MPV. autojohndoe.. you said that you already look into the interior of the MPV. Then describe it man .. share it with others people..

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Anyway Mr Si-fu.. Did the guys from RnD take the MPV for testing to the southern region of Peninsular Malaysia? The spyshots before from the area of Klang Valley and at Penang area if I’m not mistaken..

• shaif (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:14 pm

Thanks mr autojohndoe and si-fu for sparking interest towards proton eventhough some hate it…Well you can’t satisfy everyone right.
    Hopefully with all the hype, proton mpv can be a national pride and acceptable quality on par with kia or hyundai, at least la.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:18 pm

neo cps keluar bulan 12…confirmed!!!

• w_lighter (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:20 pm

holly crap.. tht thing is huge.

• digiman (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:31 pm

any idea on the name yet?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:32 pm

well… it maybe not the finalize material yet because it looks so dull and plasticky, and i am not good at describing things but i try to explain…

the seat it used looks cheap… door trim sooo plastic… gear lever located at center dashboard… the parking brake located very low compared to the driver position… space? spacious…

sori, it is not very good description… but that is what i saw… nothing really impressive… maybe because it is not been finalized yet… is it si-fu?

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:37 pm

we want see the interrior shot!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:39 pm

what i mean by “gear lever located at center dashboard” is dashboard mounted… huhu

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:40 pm

I give you the road; from Hikom can shortcut to Putra Height –> Kg Tengah Puchong.. I think 7-10minute from Hikom-Purta-kg puchong.. no wonder.. hey, lets me clear this.. I dint say that I cannot chase the Proton Saga.. I just say that man drive car like ass.. you know ass? YES.. trafik light also langgar, double line also potong.. what else ar?? haa! ya lor.. I follow him through jalan kampung also high speed.. chi sin laa.. If he hit people ar that time.. the orang kampung sure beat him.. :)

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:42 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 17, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

well… it maybe not the finalize material yet because it looks so dull and plasticky, and i am not good at describing things but i try to explain…

the seat it used looks cheap… door trim sooo plastic… gear lever located at center dashboard… the parking brake located very low compared to the driver position… space? spacious…

sori, it is not very good description… but that is what i saw… nothing really impressive… maybe because it is not been finalized yet… is it si-fu?

………………………………………………………………………………………………..

how about the stering look,autojohndoe?
    may the prototype just use the another proton stering
    or they just use a new one?….
    interested to know
    :)

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 5:57 pm

it is not like the other proton’s… but the one looks very plastic hard… i think it is also not the finalize item… just opinion… mr si-fu to justify it…

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:18 pm

deanfiero_returns,
    Which part of Putra Heights did u saw it???

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:41 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 17, 2008 @ 5:57 pm

thanks dude!

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:58 pm

Wat autojohndoe saw is the surface without texture…the prototypes wont have textures on its surface until late into development stage. Cant reveal more, sorry guys!

Cheers!

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:35 pm

si-fu said,

November 17, 2008 @ 8:58 pm

Wat autojohndoe saw is the surface without texture…the prototypes wont have textures on its surface until late into development stage. Cant reveal more, sorry guys!

Cheers!

———————————————————-

oh,like the Saga prototype i saw
    at proton journey to tech week?

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:02 pm

YES sagaknight! Its like the Saga prototype that u saw during the tech week. So for comparison, if u look at the production version of the Saga and the prototype version, u can roughly get an idea what texturing does to the ‘feel’ and ‘quality’ of the car! Thats why the texture is kept secret first!

Cheers!

• szw (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:17 pm

oh ok , i admit , its huge…
    wanna see the final product…

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:57 pm

si-fu said,

November 17, 2008 @ 10:02 pm

—————————-

tenq
    cheers too!
    test properly the prototype abg2 proton

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:52 am

autojohndoe…ur comments is boring…haha

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:11 am

To sifu… u’re from hnt ka?
    If im not mistaken, every engineer from hnt must take driving training class…i mean ‘skilled and hell” driving trainig…

from ur previous technical comment..very very great comment….i wonder what is ur driving grade… A+ maybe!!!…really?

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:58 am

Nakal, yes, every engineer from hnt and powertrain must take driving trainning class…got few levels wan. I am not from hnt, so my driving skill not as good as the hnt guys! If u think hnt guys are good, then if u guys ever have a chance to be in the same vehicle where a LOTUS GUY is behind the wheel, then u will be in ‘a different dimension’. Most of them will puke once they get out of the car if the car driven by LOTUS guys! The guys frm Hethel are crazily agile, precise and super fast no matter what car u give them. Hahahahahahaha!

Cheers!

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:04 am

si-fu said,
    November 17, 2008 @ 4:27 pm
    Hahahhaha…i cant tell which model or when…cause i prohibited to do so! Wait till the time is rite, then i will inform u guys kay!
    Cheers!

It’s satria GT 4wd right?
    2.0cc – 260hp

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:54 am

Sifu..do you know how to improve gen2 low end torque..does anybody from engine department knows it?..my wife’s 2004 gen2 auto really gulping petrol too much..please advise..

• awak (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Automotive_Critics , adjustable cam pully might help,
    advance intake valve a bit, earlier intake valve closure will improve torque at lower range of rpm.
    but sacrifice top as a trade off. because it reduce valve overlap.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:25 pm

awak said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 1:08 pm

Automotive_Critics , adjustable cam pully might help,
    advance intake valve a bit, earlier intake valve closure will improve torque at lower range of rpm.
    but sacrifice top as a trade off. because it reduce valve overlap.
    ============================
    Awak..thanks for your advise..read it in various comments in many automotive forum before..but what im concerning is there will be any subsequence effect to engine especially its life span as we know the mod will make the engine is out of manufacture specification..is anybody here have experience on that mods?..

• awak (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:46 pm

i think there no adverse effect,
    as long as you play at the allowable adjustment,
    the change is torque curve position, come earlier, and might reduce HP lil bit, because the engine trimmed toward infavour of torque rather than HP,

no valve collision, no worry,

this is the setting of the engine,
    let say one us for car, other same engine use for 4×4, therefore 2 same engine have 2 diffrent setting for different purpose,

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm

awak said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 1:46 pm

============
    Thanks for your technical advice..

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:57 pm

autojohndoe said,
    November 17, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

———————————————————-
    correct,not a good description,…so just wait for next year..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:03 pm

Automotive_Critics,

i have a suggestion..adjustable cam pulleys are expensive..awak gave you the best suggestion you can get but not the cheapest…

if you are driving an auto..go to ah beng exhaust shop..remove you catalytic converter and replace with a so called auto centre bullet…and to improve even more..change to a free flow washable air filter..just the filter..and go for tuning..you can get it done for rm 200 i guess..unless you willing to pay rm 700 to 1000 for cam pulleys

but remember removing catalytic converter will be bad for the enviroment..you will be contributing to global warming!!you can gain up to 4 hp if you do as i told but fuel consumption will improve only when driving on a highway..maybe in da city it wont be any difference…

so remember what i m suggestion to you is da cheapest way and awak suggested da best way..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:05 pm

correction

so remember what i m suggesting to you is da cheapest way and awak suggested da best way..

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Autojohndoe..thanks for the description. Maybe not very interesting.. anyway thanks for sharing with others. Wait for the final production la… like Si-Fu told earlier, the prototype not same as the final production.

How about the name of this new baby..

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Prem3377 said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 4:03 pm
    ===================
    Thanks Prem..how about replacing the extractor? i noticed many forums are suggesting catalytic converter and extractor replacement together to improve the low end torque..Prem, do you have idea regarding the extractor? how it works?..

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:03 pm

Automotive_Critics, what Prem3377 said is true, the easiest way to gain torque and horsepower out of the normal Campro is:

1) Change the extractor to a metal one(aluminium aloy or stainless steel).
    2) Throw the catalytic converter, u can get arnd 4-5 hp extra. (u might hurt mother nature by doing this)
    3) Change ur exhaust piping to a stainless steel wan.
    4) Remain the OEM muffler (dont ever change this, very important to maintain the back pressure of the engine)
    5) Change ur air filter to a better flow wan, like K&N but use the OEM(i.e the same shape with the original wan) type, not the open pod type. Too much air flow means, then u will need to configure the ECU.

Awak’s method also can, but u will definetely need to reconfigure the ECU mapping after playing with the valve timing. Many related systems will be affected by this and might create ‘knocking’ if never configure the ECU properly.

Hope this helps!

Cheers!

• awak (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:19 pm

probally the mpv do have different cam spec ,and programmed ecu,

low cam is an advance cam, and high cam remain, (although VIM is there)

sifu ,just my guess,

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:37 pm

si-fu said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 6:03 pm

===================
    Si-fu, thanks for your advice..really appreciate it.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:12 am

Automotive_Critics,

Sifu the proton guy also told dy..haha..he knows campro way much better than me..so u should listen to him

anyway to answer ur question..extractor is the first part of the exhaust system…where u can see infront of you engine..usually the original extractor a mass production model which is made of simple bends and curves to simplify production..and this simple bends and curve will restrict the flow of exhaust gas and creat certain amount of back pressure..

but with better extractor design the exhaust gases cause flow out to the next unit more freely and this will reduce unwanted back pressure usually due to carbon deposit and all after few years of usage..so u will not loose original engine hp when u change but by changing extractor u might save fuel..and ur engine will feel more free

but there is sensor on the extractor and usually it works well on production extractor and also the connections..when u change usually like aluminium or anything else..it works in higher temperature and this sensor usually can give inaccurate reading..and mite kacau the fuel amount injected and etc..that the general problem if ppl change extractor..

ah beng shop sumtimes dunno how to weld..so if you rev a high temperature might even bocor..so dont waste much money on extactor cause its not a complicated device and dont contribute much unless a race engine..

unless u can get R3 products or expensive exhaust extractor then ok..if you thinking of cost..dont bother changing extractor..

piping and all ok la..but like Sifu said..dun eva change the muffler..the will sound like shit and will spoil the flow and back pressure of the entire exhaust system…

my advise is..always find the simple and cheapest way to modify you car..

Sifu will tell you how many hours spent on R&D of an engine..so everything they have on an engine serves a purpose..and ask advise from people who knows the engine well enough..but not from perodua engineers la..hehe..they might know how to fix..but wont know how it works…proton engineers know how to do both…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:46 am

and forget to tell you..even if i say extractor is a simple device..but alot of calculation involved..especially volumetric efficiency…it might take weeks before we can come to a perfect volumetric efficiency…(in gas turbines or turbomachinery can take even months) but nowadays easy la..got powerful softwares and hardwares..

and ah beng shop wont even know whats that..

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:15 am

Yeah!! This is what we called automotive forum!! very informative..See? errrr…where is ‘proton bashing team’?…any info n knowledge to share?..

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:59 am

So many ppl throw cata conv but mother nature still alrite wat.

If ppl rly care abt mother nature, prius n biofuel/biodiesel shud b banned. Nothing but hypocritical products that kill mother nature 10X greenhouse gas amount they save.

If u still feel guilty, automotive_critics, I suggest u plant more trees or veges in ur backyard. At least, u’ll get free n fresh vege like that while reducing co2 amount in this world ahahahah. Even if u dun have space, use hydrophonic method or whatever…..used to be popular back in late 90s n early 2000s’, where u put seed in a small plastic cup with cotton nden in a water container blah, something like that la lol!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:05 am

even the toyota verso is better than this junk

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:49 am

Prem3377, regarding the extractor…what u said is commonly quite true for engines in general. However for the Campro, the case is quite unique. The reason i asked to change the extractor to a metal based (aluminium or steel) is because the current one is a ceramic based one. The reason to use the ceramic based one is because to keep the heat of the engine, this heat is used to activate the catalytic converter (it needs arnd 900 degC to work). Thats why the Campro engine has the CAT placed near to the extractor. Due to this, the engine operating temp (combustion) becomes high (arnd 800 – 900 degC) thus reducing the efficiency of the engine. If u remove the ceramic extractor and use a metal one, it will diperse heat faster thus reducing the core temp of the engine. Thus increasing combustion efficiency.
    U dun need to worry about the sensor (lamda or O2 sensor) that u mention as the local Campro only have one BEFORE the CAT. The export version has 2, one be4 and one after the CAT. Wat the lamda sensor does is just read the amount of oxygen in the exhaust gasses and then lean or rich the mixture to main emission levels. So changing the extractor wont effect the lamda sensor.
    Ur knowledge is quite good Prem3377…keep up the good work!

Cheers!

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm

1.8 campro actually already develope right?
    and used in a Hover Plane early this year.
    (this many people don’t know yet – EVEN PAUL :D )

i wonder.. is that the same engine will powering this mpv as BONUS and SUPRISE thingy from proton? Because from the video.. i really doubt that was 1.6 engine power kind of movement for big body as that.

Paul Tan says: That was a case of reporter sesat. The moment the story came out I checked with Proton and they said they also don’t know why the reporter typo 1.6 become 1.8.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm

correction.. it’s 1.8 campro CPS

• awak (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 2:29 pm

sifu, thats mean export model cant deny having the cat since its double check ater cat,

the choice they might choose is high flow cat,

i have my neo discarded the cat, the feel is quite a surge along with rpm, but not significantly torquey but the improvement is there,

about advance intake, i saw some of the dyno chart is quite realistic, interm of earlier gain though not tremendously, i do agree remap does to done, inrelation this new setting, interm of ignition, and power optimization,

like the case of increasing the compression ratio, definitely it need to be careful with ignition to be tad delay a little,

anyway the cat has it lifespan/will kaput probally at 1/3 of the life of the car, and, very expensive to replace,

but it robs accleration which i hate,

sifu, any info of campro 1.8 cps?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:22 pm

si-fu,

thanks for the info..i didnt know campro one was a ceramic based extractor…

thanks once again..

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:54 pm

Prem3377 and other guys…there is a mistake in my comment above. The Campro engine’s extractor is NOT ceramic base, but CAST IRON. I am sorry for the wrong info. However, the function of using cast iron is as i mentioned be4, to contain the heat of the engine, inorder to activate the CAT at arnd 900 degC. Other type of extractor, like aluminium alloy or stainless steel will be able to release heat easier. I am sorry again for the wrong info.

Cheers!

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:55 pm

There is no 1.8 Campro CPS engine…it doesn’t exist!

Cheers!

• awak (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 5:39 pm

sifu,
    thats clear cut, its the answer to speculation of 1.8 campro, afterall probally the engine stroke allowablity is for 1.3 to 1.6,

so then 1.6 campro is really tuned or tailored for the mpv purpose, and i remeber you said before in last topic,

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 5:49 pm

oh I see.. OK!.. kill the Utusan reporter! :D

• awak (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:54 pm

sifu is it true that, siemen ecu dictate the engine in such manner (lack) so that it meet the euro 4 emmision

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:03 am

sifu,

u r a really fast in admitting and correcting ur mistakes man..so nice of you..hard to find people like you in this blog man..keep up your good work..

try suggesting proton to build ceramic coated engines where the inside of the cylinder and piston is coated with a special ceramic which can retain heat and work in higher temperature..and help to produce more complete combustion..better FC and HP..and will help attract more customer to choose proton since using cutting age technology

• ranggi (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Sifu…

mpv bergerak selaju lebih 140km/ dlm full loaded (penuh air dlm kotak plastik) utk menyamai perkiraan ‘human simulation weight’.. masa test kat highway

enjin mpv baru menggunakan Campro CPS 1.6 + light turbo, chasis dia menggunakan Galvanized metal, super high strength high tensile steel iaitu lebih ringan dan kukuh/tahan lasak berbanding high tensile steel yg digunakan pada BMW 3 series dan saga baru

betul ke??

• awak (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:25 pm

my experience with campro engine,
    as it gain millage, the engine is getting batter and energiatic.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:10 am

when is the volkswagen touran coming here?

• lmst (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:20 am

ermm it’s looks nice in full bodykit…ermm what’s the standard rim?? 13??14??15??

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:54 pm

so the guy at the show room today told me the MPV is set to launch sometime in March 2009 with 1.6 CPS. now don’t tell me I have to wait after the MPV launching for the Satria Neo with CPS engine.

• plasticwrench (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:12 am

It looks like the Thais are using this website as a source for the new MPV but how come I never saw these spypics before?

http://www.thaiprotonclub.com/news_read.php?id=1851

• oodane (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:37 am

i saw 3 proton mpv this morning (9.45am) around persiaran kewajipan today..4 ppl in each car..coulnt snap any photo since i was driving alone.

• awangdewas (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 4:58 pm

My friend who is a Proton dealer told me that he & other dealers have been invited to preview the new MPV. He is satisfied and said the price will be below RM75,000 (with a 1.6 engine). I’m not an auto expert, but if I’m not mistaken, he told me that the MPV has 135 hp(?) (is it reasonable or powerful enough?).

But overall he said that the with the overall package, the MPV definitely can sell. No name yet as this will be officially announced together with the winner of MPV naming contest