New Europestar Jingyue based on Proton Persona

Europestar Jingyue

Youngman Automobile’s Europestar brand has just launched its second offering in the China market, the Europestar Jingyue, also called the Europestar Persona. It debuts at the 2008 Guangzhou Auto Show this week. It’s pretty much our Persona with Europestar badges, powered by the 1.6 litre Campro engine. No specs have been revealed so far.

According to Chinese publication northeast, Lotus is working with Youngman to develop more Europestar models which include a larger car, an SUV and an MPV.

Look for more shots of the Europestar Jingyue after the jump, though they aren’t much other than Proton product photos with the Europestar badge photoshopped on. Even the product photo of the left hand drive interior was just flipped horizontally as you can see from the gear shifter area – the D, 3, 2 and L are flipped.

PHOTO GALLERY: Europestar Jingyue
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:150]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fairsyah (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:09 pm

then, chop2 more.. till we get both left and right steering at the same time… easy to switch driver aaaa

• fairsyah (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:11 pm

and can reduce the cost of power steering… bcause two people can work together if power assist needed…

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:32 pm

“Lotus is working with Youngman to develop more Europestar models which include a larger car, an SUV and an MPV.”

Really lotus?…annoyed youngman!!..
    sedih engineer proton mendengarnya..

• tanasi (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Money coming into the country. I don’t have any problem with that. Especially in these day and age, whereby every damn thing, even the wheelbarrow also comes from China.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 5:46 pm

yeah, so rebadge means china men are paying 50% loyalties to proton like P2? good good.

• abtm (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 5:53 pm

i’m just wondering why proton bothered with left hand drive cars, since it’s not going to the US…

• bestofamat (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:11 pm

wah.. a good move from proton.. but if govt doesn’t want to continue DSZ term,. I will say “gomen mmg bodoh!!”

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:17 pm

WE WANT PROTON!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:43 pm

the only way hw proton makes good money !!!!

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Why didn’t we preserve the name and sold the car as a Proton. Ahh i see… Its like Naza-peugeot case.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:07 pm

2/3 of the world have left steering. That goal of 60% revenue coming from exports by 2015 does not seem too bleak if this trend continues

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:13 pm

abtm said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 5:53 pm

i’m just wondering why proton bothered with left hand drive cars, since it’s not going to the US…

===============================
    China is left drive right? i dont think Proton safety up to US standard. China standard no doubt.
    jual salah, tak jual salah…. but if jual, at least got money ma…

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

now they are selling substandard death boxes in china also?

• awak (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:59 pm

death box? tell me you have driven the persona!

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:03 pm

substandard death boxes ? really ? please share the story. I wanna know more….

• thecordwainers (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:04 pm

some hi res pic from the show

http://picture.auto.sohu.com/@picture_f1259854.html#slide

http://auto.sohu.com/20081110/n260538673.shtml

• Dell (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:10 pm

dodgeviper88,
    persona is a good car, hardly any complaints from my friends whom using them. pleaso do not simply bashed.

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:22 pm

Naza, P2 should follow Proton..bring China money to Malaysia..well done proton. good luck

• mohamad629 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:46 pm

Death box????

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:48 pm

dodgeviper88 said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 8:46 pm

—————————————————————-

Now Aenz said…
    Guys, what should we call some1 with this kind of opinion..? Rumours spreader, blinded basher or attention seeker??? go outside and get ur life dude and come again with a proper informations….

• csv (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 12:32 am

wah, not bad ah.

anyone has any idea how our Proton sales is doing over there?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 7:35 am

dodgeviper88 too proud of the american thing…. american muscle mah… haha…

before this ppl were wishing proton to vanish… but currently it is american that suffer more…

• SelekohBoi (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:10 am

i wish to get a pesona se, while city is on the upper limit of my budget. so any comment / advise can help me to decide (SiFu, can help?). Thx

• rexis (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:24 am

Oww… really hate the sound of “Eurostar”.

Call it luckystar, happystar, polarstar, Dollarstar also better.

Translation:
    Jingyue
    Jing – competition
    Yue – happy

• red7 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:26 am

dodgeviper88 said,

dodgeviper88 dont forget that persona is manufactured based on the research of market demand
    example: armrest, power window control placed at the door panel, three box C-segment car, fuel saving IAFM engine and others

cheers~

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:56 am

dodgeviper88 said,

The real deathbox are Perodua VIVA and MYVI ..

• Jing (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:27 am

If you read the sohu report, you will realize that in no where they mention that the car is made by Proton. They keep boasting about how everything is designed by Lotus, how the Campro engine is upgraded by Bosch the german company, this and that… I think they use the Lotus brand to advertise even more so than Proton itself really.

Truth is, an average person reading that will be under the impression that they developed the car with the help of Lotus, and not Proton.

• alihms (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:39 am

European designed car. Hmm.. I’m wondering how many Chinese car buyers can be fooled by this tactic? People who can afford new cars surely have means to get to the internet or other various media to find out the true origin of their cars. Maybe, I’m wrong -Youngman still can get away with it. After all, a casual talk with one Naza Sutera owner reveals that she did not know that the car came from Chinese Hafei Lobo either.

• bernal (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:46 am

Due to recent woo in USA, china surpass USA this year to become the 2nd highest car producer, while jap is number one. So that is why all auto brand enter china market, with standard quality cars. The competition is hard there. They have Dual-VVTI engine altis there, but still face hi competition. VW is working hard to throw out models that suit to china, with ok quality but lower price but bigger size. Their local brand not up to the par yet, but striving hard. Using Proton brand will scare away the people there, as they are brand-concern too ! Check the care price there then you will know how fierce there after USA.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:53 am

Jing, obviously “Proton” is not the selling point there :)

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:54 am

Ha Ha Ha, marketing Proton logo in China means DOOM, many of my China friends said is make from EUROPE from the first place, once i say is from Malaysia Proton than they say the sucks car ar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So why they marketing under Europestar lol to cover the their ass lol!!!!

• luriaz (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 12:05 pm

thecordwainers said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 10:04 pm

some hi res pic from the show

http://auto.sohu.com/20081110/n260538673.shtml

i’ve see the picture…

n the red coloured persona is very much alike the persona SE for our market…

is it??

• droll (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 12:19 pm

don’t you know that good marketing is all it takes to sell a marque? forget about reliability, fuel economy, good after sales service, etc. branding and marketing sells! which is a bit sad, actually………

• awak (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 1:21 pm

whiteeye, before further comment, have you sit in, and drive a Persona,??

• peYno (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 2:36 pm

autojohndoe said,
    November 20, 2008 @ 7:35 am

dodgeviper88 too proud of the american thing…. american muscle mah… haha…

before this ppl were wishing proton to vanish… but currently it is american that suffer more…
    ========================
    i dont think he own american thing
    he just upgrade his kancil to Myvi..
    don’t play2.. japanese stuff maaa

prrrfthhh

• Myvito (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 3:28 pm

bmpower said,
    November 20, 2008 @ 8:56 am

dodgeviper88 said,

————————————————————-

Why Myvi and Viva? Wah lau weh.. no problem wut…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 5:27 pm

whiteeye said,
    November 20, 2008 @ 10:54 am

Ha Ha Ha, marketing Proton logo in China means DOOM, many of my China friends said is make from EUROPE from the first place, once i say is from Malaysia Proton than they say the sucks car ar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So why they marketing under Europestar lol to cover the their ass lol!!!!

strategy seems to be working for proton, and china or not, the persona is doing well in terms of sales. like it or not, the car is still selling.

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 5:27 pm

dodgeviper88 said,

—————————————————
    bmpower said,
    November 20, 2008 @ 8:56 am

—————————————————————————
    Myvito said,
    November 20, 2008 @ 3:28 pm

Why Myvi and Viva? Wah lau weh.. no problem wut…
    ————————————————–

hahaha..flame la lg..should call firemen to put it off ;)

• ignas (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 5:32 pm

lol give the guy a break, he’ll get it by now already. everyone is entitled to his/her comment right. just because he/she is skeptical towards P1’s ‘success’ doesnt mean need to condemned right? cheers and happy motoring.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 5:49 pm

for some ppl, skeptical is the license to condemn…

pessimistic…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:22 pm

so lets us all be optimistic about proton’s further success then ;)

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:27 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    strategy seems to be working for proton, and china or not, the persona is doing well in terms of sales. like it or not, the car is still selling.

awak said,
    whiteeye, before further comment, have you sit in, and drive a Persona,??

I’m talking about the logo if Proton really doing well, why not just use Proton logo to market at China and why under Europestar? If you check below the web address and look at Page 1, last right Persona picture (engined by Lotus), why not engined by Proton. If Proton so confident, why not use their own logo and use other’s? If Persona is doing so well in performance and why use Europestar logo?

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:30 pm

If not for Europestar logo, do Proton logo doing well in China?

• wonka_wankel (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:45 pm

I’m talking about the logo if Honda really doing well, why not just use Honda logo to market at US and why under Acura?

I’m talking about the logo if Toyota really doing well, why not just use Toyota logo to market at US and why under Lexus?

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 7:15 pm

hahaha…
    wonka_wankel, u found a point finally.. well done.. i also want the answer too..

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Acura and Lexus, if you say so this 2 cars spec and design is really different from their original company and is much more expensive. And at Us, Honda and Toyota do use their own logo, as for Acura and Lexus the car is more luxury and expensive. No need to use Us until so far, example in Malaysia Lexus and Toyota do exist but Lexus is more expensive than Toyota. If you compare Proton in China using (Europestar) nothing really change in exterior and interior design.

This 2 email address is under Honda and Toyota at Us

http://world.honda.com/USA/

http://www.toyota.com/about/our_commitment/philanthropy/education/toyota_usa/

Selling Acura and Lexus in Us by the same time Honda and Toyota also sale their car there.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:13 pm

to Mr whiteeye,

its basically due to china’s automotive policy..nothing to do with proton image..and its marketing strategy…

and also to improve Europestar image too..

simple la mr whiteeye.. why do you use nickname here??to cover ur ass right??and hiding ur indentity right??

same la..as long as we know its a proton…and as long as there is sales why bother what name they use??

ur china are weird la..how they know proton has bad quality??have they driven one?own a proton before??or working in proton quality department??

before they complain about our malaysian product..please ask them to get atleast 1 star in NCAP safety test for their cars or increase they country product safety regulation 1st..they even willing to kill young childrens for the sake of profits..so please dont tell us what they feel about our national products..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:16 pm

and MR whiteeye,

LOTUS is FULLY OWNED BY PROTON…..DONT FORGET THAT!!!!

so please remind ur china friends k!!!!

• Jing (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:01 pm

rexis: Yes that’s correct. My point is not about what’s being the selling point. But rather the report seems very deceiving in my opinion.

It contains a few of “OH THIS THING IS DESIGNED BY LOTUS FOR CHINA”, and quite frankly I think it’s very misleading and downright wrong. You can check out how they boasted about Campro being upgraded by Lotus to better suit Chinese’s road conditions and Chinese market… Or how the suspension systems is all-new, designed and tune based on long-term research of Chinese road conditions etc.

Others who can read mandarin can go read the report and verify for me. I have double-checked the article a few times and am confident of my understanding of the meaning of the sentences.

Eitherway, I suppose I am just angry at the dishonesty of the chinese automaker.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:28 pm

wah-lao-eh, ini macam pun boleh ar??

speechless~

• elpaciko (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 11:29 pm

to whom it may concern…

do you even read the article? this is a chinese company buying proton cars and marketing it using their “strategy”. its not proton themselves trying to sell there. why complain about proton?

switch off your pc and watch spongebob instead..

this is the place for those who can read and understand the article.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:48 am

Jing,

yep. Lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama. Proton punya susu, Lotus dapat nama.

But what to do, at least can be happy they’re present at Chinese market. For now, I think it’s just better for Proton to be patient and play along with their game. Unlike Perodua, hmm…..I wonder if they ever wanna enter China, will they market themselves as Perodua or Daihatsu? Already, I heard Daihatsu boon use Myvi design in indonesia, hm….no confidence to use Malaysian logo is it?

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:18 am

Prem3377 said,

November 20, 2008 @ 8:13 pm

to Mr whiteeye,

its basically due to china’s automotive policy..nothing to do with proton image..and its marketing strategy…

simple la mr whiteeye.. why do you use nickname here??to cover ur ass right??and hiding ur indentity right??

same la..as long as we know its a proton…and as long as there is sales why bother what name they use??

ur china are weird la..how they know proton has bad quality??have they driven one?own a proton before??or working in proton quality department??

before they complain about our malaysian product..please ask them to get atleast 1 star in NCAP safety test for their cars or increase they country product safety regulation 1st..they even willing to kill young childrens for the sake of profits..so please don’t tell us what they feel about our national products..
    ———————————————————————
    A name it represent the company, if u say so means that Proton logo is not good enough, may be in Malaysia there are famous. For example i pod shuffle and another faith brand as i pod 1 cheaper and 1 expensive means that Proton is not good enough, if they are confident on their own marketing why have to use other’s? Just use other’s logo it might say your own logo had no value. If u say Proton how good, how best and how fantastic, why not use their own logo to marketing it?

2nd, how many people will really recognize Proton, may be you but not other’s international consumer or they recognize Lotus?

3rd, before July 2007 or previous year what is their sales record under Proton in China?

If you don’t pls check hear or search your yahoo.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_(carmaker)

4, For your information, my uncle was from China and I ask do you hear before Proton? or do you hear before Europerstar? And he said yes for Europestar, so what’s the point, using people’s logo to promote? Do he drive before, yes, he said he would not buy it even he said China car’s not good enough, he rather just by Honda or Toyota.

5, whiteeye is not to cover my ass it represent my user name, than you are saying all people’s name is cover their ass, or ur Prem3377 cover my ass.

6, if you say Proton own Lotus why still use Lotus, why not just use Proton straight away? If how proud as u say why not just use Proton since u are so confident about it.
    ——————————————————————–
    To elpaciko said,
    to whom it may concern…

do you even read the article? this is a chinese company buying proton cars and marketing it using their “strategy”. its not proton themselves trying to sell there. why complain about proton?

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
    Its not proton themselves trying to sell there, did you read any article before, Proton car had enter China but due to poor sale they had stopped a while or did not stop but in July 2007 Youngman they had import the car directly. Not they do want to enter just the logo problem. If you really want to prove you statement is right simple just sent a badge of Proton Persona and sell at China, c weather the Chinese will directly purchase from Proton Persona or Europestar Persona, where you are so confident in Proton.

My point is, if Proton promote this kind of way to people in China, they just will recognize Europestar or Lotus but not Proton. How the world Proton want to be recognize by international level. Simple just like Honda, Toyota or Mercedes why that they did not change name as Youngman had done they might push their brand more higher.

(switch off your pc and watch spongebob instead) as you said if i need to switch it off than you need to suck your mother’s milk and no need to watch you might be tired after sucking or u may watch Ultraman more standard than spongebob……. HA HA HA MY FOOT!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:24 am

Prem3377 said,

to Mr whiteeye,

before they complain about our malaysian product..please ask them to get atleast 1 star in NCAP safety test for their cars or increase they country product safety regulation 1st..they even willing to kill young childrens for the sake of profits..so please don’t tell us what they feel about our national products..
    ———————————————————————
    A name it represent the company, if u say so means that Proton logo is not good enough, may be in Malaysia there are famous. For example i pod shuffle and another faith brand as i pod 1 cheaper and 1 expensive means that Proton is not good enough, if they are confident on their own marketing why have to use other’s? Just use other’s logo it might say your own logo had no value. If u say Proton how good, how best and how fantastic, why not use their own logo to marketing it?

2nd, how many people will really recognize Proton, may be you but not other’s international consumer or they recognize Lotus?

3rd, before July 2007 or previous year what is their sales record under Proton in China?

4, For your information, my uncle was from China and I ask do you hear before Proton? or do you hear before Europerstar? And he said yes for Europestar, so what’s the point, using people’s logo to promote? Do he drive before, yes, he said he would not buy it even he said China car’s not good enough, he rather just by Honda or Toyota.

5, whiteeye is not to cover my ass it represent my user name, than you are saying all people’s name is cover their ass, or ur Prem3377 cover my ass.

6, if you say Proton own Lotus why still use Lotus, why not just use Proton straight away? If how proud as u say why not just use Proton since u are so confident about it.
    ——————————————————————–
    To elpaciko said,
    to whom it may concern…

Its not proton themselves trying to sell there, did you read any article before, Proton car had enter China but due to poor sale they had stopped a while or did not stop but in July 2007 Youngman they had import the car directly. Not they do want to enter just the logo problem. If you really want to prove you statement is right simple just sent a badge of Proton Persona and sell at China, c weather the Chinese will directly purchase from Proton Persona or Europestar Persona, where you are so confident in Proton.

My point is, if Proton promote this kind of way to people in China, they just will recognize Europestar or Lotus but not Proton. How the world Proton want to be recognize by international level. Simple just like Honda, Toyota or Mercedes why that they did not change name as Youngman had done they might push their brand more higher.

(switch off your pc and watch spongebob instead) as you said if i need to switch it off than you need to suck your mother’s milk and no need to watch you might be tired after sucking or u may watch Ultraman more standard than spongebob……. HA HA HA HA MY FOOT!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:25 am

Prem3377 said,

to Mr whiteeye,

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:25 am

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:26 am

——————————————————————–
    To elpaciko said,
    to whom it may concern…

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:27 am

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:28 am

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:30 am

To elpaciko said,
    to whom it may concern…

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:31 am

To elpaciko
    If Proton promote this kind of way to people in China, they just will recognize Europestar or Lotus but not Proton. How the world Proton want to be recognize by international level. Simple just like Honda, Toyota or Mercedes why that they did not change name as Youngman had done they might push their brand more higher.

(switch off your pc and watch spongebob instead) as you said if i need to switch it off than you need to suck your mother’s milk and no need to watch you might be tired after sucking or u may watch Ultraman more standard than spongebob……. HA HA HA MY FOOT!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:55 am

rexis said,
    November 20, 2008 @ 8:24 am

Oww… really hate the sound of “Eurostar”.

Call it luckystar, happystar, polarstar, Dollarstar also better.
    —————————————————————-

Pornstar?

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:42 am

Sure they have to use “LOTUS” to get attraction in China, else they are unable to sell any single unit by using PEROTON name. Many of china folks doesn’t know where heck is Malaysia and the so call Eurostar are selling with sky high price(almost the same price with Malaysia) where as there are alot of other good car selling even cheaper than Malaysia due to different taxes policy. For example the Honda Jazz is selling RMB 90k plus which equal to RM46k plus….

• shaif (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:45 am

The equation is like P2 bought the Huafei Lobo from China and repackaged and rebranded it to be Naza Sutera.
    So it is the right of the company to use whatever marketing mean to get the product saleable in the market.
    Afterall, Lotus is owned by Proton. Europestar just maximise the brand image that can atract buyer. For me as long as proton can bring profit to this country, benefitted the local vendor, local people, it is a wise strategy.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:55 am

a really crappy car, europstar is doing badly in china, nobody wants their cars

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:04 am

whiteeye live in their own world. he/she wouldn’t want to read and understand your fact btw.. So don’t feel frust and regret later beacause he-she will reject all you point no matter what. So don’t to educate him/her because it’s useless..

++
    shaif said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 8:45 am
    The equation is like P2 bought the Huafei Lobo from China and repackaged and rebranded it to be Naza Sutera.

They also stated = DESIGNED BY PINIFARINA as well!

Fyi.. Jazz vs Gen-2 CPS , gen2 cps can smoked jazz what?

• lambov12 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:31 am

The Youngman enterprise should say something or like that in the brochure of the JingYue : “What we have just done is go to Malaysia, ask Proton to send a Proton Persona to China. Then after 6 months of R & D, we finally make a car that as same as the Proton Persona. What we have inprove is we have change the badge.Nothing else”

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:42 am

Persona is an ugly car, no doubt about it. I doubt it is doing as well as some blind P1 supporters claim. After all, no NAP protection there.

@bmpower:

“Fyi.. Jazz vs Gen-2 CPS , gen2 cps can smoked jazz what?”

Errr………this is a dumb comparison – like comparing apples to orange. Your lovely Gen-2 CPS can beat the new City iVTEC or not? 110 hp vs 120 hp?

Not to mention in LOTS of other factors other than speed Gen-2 is still a piece of junk. Looks? Comfort? Safety features (Malaysian spec ah, dun tell me about the Euro-version)? All crap.

Can’t believe P1 still sell dare sell this piece of junk to Malaysian. Whatacrap.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:49 pm

beauty is in the eye of beholder…. it subjective….

someone may say “Jazz is a f*********ing ugly car, no matter what and no doubt about it….”

• elpaciko (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:16 pm

dear whiteye…

i didnt mention names, what makes you think that my comment is meant specifically for you?

and guys..

youngman using dubious marketing strategy and why proton get the blame?

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:34 pm

whiteeye said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 1:31 am

If Proton promote this kind of way to people in China, they just will recognize Europestar or Lotus but not Proton. How the world Proton want to be recognize by international level. Simple just like Honda, Toyota or Mercedes why that they did not change name as Youngman had done they might push their brand more higher.
    ===============
    Whiteeye..why do you so concern about name?..it is a normal practice everywhere..mercedes did not change name is not true..the mercedes is rebadged to ssangyong in the south korea..it is mercedes engine inside the ssangyong..it does proton also in china market..it just marketing strategy..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:35 pm

not_ah_beng said,

November 21, 2008 @ 11:42 am

Persona is an ugly car, no doubt about it. I doubt it is doing as well as some blind P1 supporters claim. After all, no NAP protection there.

@bmpower:

“Fyi.. Jazz vs Gen-2 CPS , gen2 cps can smoked jazz what?”

Errr………this is a dumb comparison – like comparing apples to orange. Your lovely Gen-2 CPS can beat the new City iVTEC or not? 110 hp vs 120 hp?

Not to mention in LOTS of other factors other than speed Gen-2 is still a piece of junk. Looks? Comfort? Safety features (Malaysian spec ah, dun tell me about the Euro-version)? All crap.

Can’t believe P1 still sell dare sell this piece of junk to Malaysian. Whatacrap.

—————————-

Gen2 CPS is 125BHP la my fren,everybody knows that.your example also comparing apples to orange,i never know city got great handling to race with Gen2 CPS

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:54 pm

my Abarth 500 essesse will tear up any of your wiralution, wajalution,savvylution, satrialution, perdanolution, juaralution, arenalution, gen-2lution, tiaralution, putralution. proton is pathethic.,

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:08 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

Gen2 CPS is 125BHP la my fren,everybody knows that.your example also comparing apples to orange,i never know city got great handling to race with Gen2 CPS
    =====================

MisterBenjo..you fact is true..but you need to consider the engine capacity, transmission and race condition..city is 1.5l with auto transmission..i believe if it is compared with Gen2 Cps manual it can be easily outperformed by Gen2 no matter in the start or top..but since the City is auto..the correct comparison should be with Gen2 auto one (eventhough city is lesser in engine capacity)..In this case, the city will surely outperform gen2 no matter in the start or top speed..because u know..the gen2 4speed mitsu auto mission is not smooth as city 7 speed CVT..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:37 pm

@mister benjo:

Gen 2 cps is 1.6, city only 1.5.

But you are right, is all apples and oranges. But if you gve me choice between picking city i-VTEC and the ugly as hell with cheapass interior Gen 2 CPS, money no object, I know which 1 i rather buy.

Apparently, so too do most malaysians, which is why city sales >>> Gen 2 sales, despite City being more expensive. LOL.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:20 pm

Stop comparing Gen2 and city,its is different segment…should compare Persona vs new city…we all know city wins by far margin.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:22 pm

not_ah_beng said,

November 21, 2008 @ 3:37 pm

@mister benjo:

Gen 2 cps is 1.6, city only 1.5.

But you are right, is all apples and oranges. But if you gve me choice between picking city i-VTEC and the ugly as hell with cheapass interior Gen 2 CPS, money no object, I know which 1 i rather buy.

Apparently, so too do most malaysians, which is why city sales >>> Gen 2 sales, despite City being more expensive. LOL.

————————
    u agree with @mister benjo: it was 1.6 and 1.5 also it all apples and orange..
    they why u still compare both sales? Compare la that 1.6 gen2 with other 1.6 cars and 1.5 city with other 1.5 cars…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:30 pm

Mr whiteeye,

you have started crapping again i guess…

just answer my questions..

1. why toyota uses perodua logo to sell their passo in Malaysia??scared ar??

2.why mitsubishi used proton to sell thier cars early 1990s??scared to use their own image ar??

3.why volkswagen uses skoda logo to sell their car??no confident of their image is it??

4. why renault uses nissan logo to sell their cars in malaysia??no confident ar??

its a patnership…if proton is no good…why europestar what to use proton to sell as a product in their country???

they buy proton to market as their own product like how perodua by toyota passo to sell as their product since they are not capable of producing their own product..unlike proton or toyota who are capable of producing their own produce!!!

if you still dont get it..you da dumbest person on earth!!i seriously mean it!!!!

and stop being rude to others…cause others can be rude to you too!!!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:39 pm

why tiba tiba gen2 and city came into the picture??haha..weird la

anyway the latest city doesnt use 7 speed CVT transmission but uses 5 speed auto..

if zero to hundred i guess gen2 cps will win cause campro has better acceleration compared to honda’s engine..but dunno how city’s transmission ratio!!

city would be better than gen2 cps cause of FC..but since gen2 cps has upgrade interior matching persona plus leather seats..i feel gen2 cps will give city a tough time..tats on paper of course!!

in Malaysia..people are too concern about brand than spec..so city will always have a upper hand!!so no point comparing also!!haha

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 5:06 pm

ya, absolutely agree, Malaysians majority will not look at the specs before buying a car…. all concern about brand and popularity….

“WOW!!! so many ppl buy dugong, i also want!!!”

“WAHHH!!! all my neighbours got Merc and BMW, i drive VW and Audi, so malu, no face to see them”

wtf…………..

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 12:16 am

whiteeye..dont be so emotional..calm down..its all about bussiness, your comments here show that u err stupid? or really u r? haha…

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 2:40 am

To supportive Prem3377 and Infinitt

Since both of you agree than leave it to u, nvr mind since you so protective to Proton.

1, Its not scared is just a joint venture company between Malaysian and Japanese partners, if Malaysian able to buy cars straight away from Daihatsu and Toyota, y need to make cheaper car to Malaysian? In Hong Kong there are no Perodua Kenari but Daihatsu Move.

2, another same question, Based on technology and parts from Mitsubishi Motors, production of the first model, the Proton Saga began in September 1985 at its first manufacturing plant in Shah Alam, Selangor. Initially the components of the car were entirely manufactured by Mitsubishi but slowly local parts were being used as technologies were transferred and skills were gained. Do you still need the answer, who are using whose technology?

3, Scared wat, if you want to c Skoda on the road is very seldom even the car they will never sell the same car’s in 2 brand. and for your info Volkswagen of Germany moved in, first buying 30 percent of Skoda then buying the lot. New factories have been built. The Skoda production plant outside Prague is larger than Monaco. New investment in engine plants, production and research and development all helped produce the Octavia, Fabia and Superb models.The results are now clear to see. Skoda has clawed back nearly half the car market in the Czech Republic and now exports 80 percent of its production to neighboring European countries. The company has even won various awards for its newest models, which car experts say speaks volumes for the improvement in performance.
    Means VW saved Skoda is different from Europestar branding in other companies logo.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 3:00 am

4, Youngman is importing Proton car’s but Renault–Nissan Alliance is the first of its kind involving a Japanese and a French company, each with its own distinct corporate culture and brand identity, linked through cross-shareholding.is it they scared again? Is different story….(-.-)””””””

Prem3377 said,
    its a patnership…if proton is no good…why europestar what to use proton to sell as a product in their country???

(Wat a joke, if Proton is good y need to use other logo, you think Proton don’t want to earn as much as they can, is just that they can’t)

they buy proton to market as their own product like how perodua by toyota passo to sell as their product since they are not capable of producing their own product..unlike proton or toyota who are capable of producing their own produce!!!

( if Malaysia use Toyota Passo to sell than Perodua Myvi sell what? If under Toyota sure expensive just that they want to sell to Malaysian more cheaper and rmb Toyota and Perodua is joint venture lol, so where can sell 2 car’s in the same time?)

if you still dont get it..you da dumbest person on earth!!i seriously mean it!!!!
    and stop being rude to others…cause others can be rude to you too!!!

( just that u guy’s did not want to accept the reality, i m not being rude, i just tell you what wikipedia told)
    Can u check 1st ar? Lame man.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 3:06 am

Infinitt said,

November 22, 2008 @ 12:16 am

whiteeye..dont be so emotional..calm down..its all about bussiness, your comments here show that u err stupid? or really u r? haha…

What a good business, no wonder Proton under you guys baby bottle still the same ideology. How to critic a person if the persona already stupid. Lame can u give more than this kind of critic, just follow people’s critic and simply say say . LAME MAN, additional for you NAIVE!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 3:09 am

Just an opinion, just keep on this way to promote, unless you don’t want people to know Proton at China, you guys very good in business and marketing strategy, keep on the good work!!!!!!!!!!! (-.-)””

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 3:16 am

bmpower said,

November 21, 2008 @ 9:04 am

whiteeye live in their own world. he/she wouldn’t want to read and understand your fact btw.. So don’t feel frust and regret later beacause he-she will reject all you point no matter what. So don’t to educate him/her because it’s useless..

Just the fact keep protecting Proton and giving excuses, you really good work man bmpower i’m sure you will be next deputy PM, Congratulation.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:30 am

vw only gives the foundation and engines to volkswagen and skoda, other things, they are free to explore. ethe seat leon cupra is allowed to be faster than the gti., seat ibiza faster than polo gti etc…

• awak (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:28 am

proton sold in china,

so whats the problem?…

cheap? not up to highest standard?.proton take proper measure fot that,,,,
    in progress,

• awak (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:37 am

scoda is control by vw,
    any performance up-ed of a skoda, is under the is within the vw technology.

• awak (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:38 am

scoda is control by vw,
    any performance up-ed of a skoda, is within the vw technology.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 12:08 pm

good effort from proton!
    teruskan!
    :)

• zzua (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 12:32 pm

welcome to w****e**.org

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Paul, Proton already introduced a Persona in Egyptian market.. do u have any reviews about that??

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:53 pm

any chinese man who buys this car is a disgrace to the chinese

• Max291 (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 11:23 am

what la.. there got eurostar, here got NAZA. its all business. china has the biggent potential market in the world, with highest population. we try to sell our things but facing problem. proton dont have guanzi there, so find a local chineese partner who can sell them. its China policy. its up to them on how to conduct business. in the end,we're exporting to China rather than importing. baru ada Balance of Trade, x la asyik import ja. learn International Business la woi. bon't simply bash like mad. u looks stupid la. congratulations proton.

• TheKHAI on Aug 11, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Why don't learns a few skills from chinese car maker, especially on car design, such as Geely GT, & management, and then make a dirt-cheap sport car here.