RON95 may replace RON92 at pumps in 2009

Fuel-Wallet GaugeMinister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad says we could see the addition of RON95 petrol at the fuel pumps in 2009, perhaps replacing RON92 fuel. The government had actually proposed something like this in April this year, suggesting a change of the fuels offered at stations to subsidised RON95 and unsubsidised RON99 fuel.

The best part or should I say the most hopeful part is he says the government will be trying to price it at the same level as RON92 fuel, which is currently about 10 sen (or 5%) cheaper than RON97 fuel at RM1.90 per litre versus RM2.00 per litre for RON97. If they do this, they also have to work on getting more stations to stock the lower octane fuel as some of them currently only stock RON97 fuel.

Many engines are tuned to run either on RON91, RON95 or RON98, with RON98 being rare but commonly specified for rather aggressively tuned high compression engines like the Honda Civic Type R or even the BMW’s N52 normally aspirated engine family.

It’s not much of a saving, but it’s still something. Even some budget cars like the new Proton Saga with the 1.3 litre Campro IAFM engine requires at least RON95 so it cannot use the cheaper RON92 fuel. Replacing RON92 with RON95 will allow the new Proton Saga to use a cheaper grade of fuel and not pay for something it does not need.

In other related fuel price news, Datuk Shahrir also said the government deserves to profit from low crude oil prices via fuel taxes as it had given out subsidies on per litre fuel prices when crude oil prices were high, as well as the RM625 rebate.

However it seems that the fuel tax revenue that the government is earning right now is only a temporary thing until they decide whether to set a floor price for fuel, which will be discussed on the 1st of December 2008.

Source 1, Source 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:14 pm

Currently PAS says that the price of petrol is at RM1.62 and we are paying RM0.38 to the government. Instead of receiving 30cent subsidy as said before, rakyat jelata are giving subsidy to the G. Pandai Dato S berniaga ye…
    Next time you guys must be smart enough to pick your menteri, not simply choose those with ‘prawn brain’ ya!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:28 pm

no news to improve the diesel quality….??

• pqz21 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:51 pm

As far as I know, Wira 1.6 with a compression ratio 10:1, requires RON97. Does anyone know if the engine can be modified for RON95? & how much?

• chanel (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:00 pm

some stupid news report i heard while watching NTV 7 news at 7pm just….

D. Sharir said gov plan to look into RON 95 as RON 95 will be more cheaper than RON 92…..i maybe wrong with what i heard …..hope there are others who watch the news just now…….

this 1 very confirm:
    D Sharir said most of the cars nowadays need only RON 95 to run so why pay more…….1 fact he doesn’t know because he didn’t drive our stupid Proton Iswara of many century ago which it need min RON 97…….it’s clearly stated on the fuel cap there……so if RON 95….& say RON 99 on the market in future….Me & other ISwara drivers will either see their car not performing well and wait for engine to koyak or pay more for the unsubsidie ron 99…which will koyak the poket……….

now we’re infact paying more for petrol…..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:19 pm

They actually been adviced by Proton Management to introduce RON95.Minimum requirements for Proton Cars.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:30 pm

hmmm, petrol now is only 50 dollars per barrel as of now. Time to reduce the price further

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:31 pm

altis_fan,

Lalala, counting down to next election. For now, diam je la. Enjoy getting sodomised by the ppl we vote ahahaha.

All hail DSAI!!

• xenith (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Diesel! Diesel! Diesel!

• mct (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:33 pm

chanel ,you should not worry about that
    unsubsidie ron 99 should be cheaper than our ron 97 you know ,as our g is officially sucking 0.39 sen from our pocket for each litre fuel we pump into our car .

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 11:38 pm

Replacing RON92 with RON95 while maintaining price sounds good, but are they going to ensure that the quality is as good as RON97? I read from motortrader that most petrol companies do not put an effort to improve RON92 as it is not popular among motorist. The only company that gives both RON92 and RON97 equal quality is Caltex by having the same techron formula on both grades. That is why most regular petrol feel lacking of power compared to super. In the end, we end up buying higher grade than what our car requires. Even our diesel quality is still questionable.

• csv (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:23 am

what about diesel?

been more than 20 years!

come on!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:25 am

Can the RON95 giving back the same performance or even can be more fuel efficient compare to RON97. Correct me if I’m wrong that higher octane fuel gives better fuel efficiency.

• tango5 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:39 am

to e-nabilll, xenith, csv..

since you ppl mentioned diesel, I strongly believe GTL is the answer.
    read comments in previous post:

1.http://paultan.org/archives/2008/11/18/shahrir-government-now-enjoying-fuel-tax-revenue/#comment-189462
    2.http://paultan.org/archives/2008/11/18/shahrir-government-now-enjoying-fuel-tax-revenue/#comment-189523
    3.http://paultan.org/archives/2008/11/18/shahrir-government-now-enjoying-fuel-tax-revenue/#comment-189617

go GTL!

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:02 am

MisterBenjo, right on que! Hahahahahahaha….as we discussed earlier, now u can pump cheaper fuel for ur car! No need for US to tune the engine to RON 92 and above! RON95 and RON97 wont have a significant difference if the additives are blended properly with the base fuel. It will show some difference in the dyno, but on the end user side, i dont think u will have any problems in terms of performance! Octane number doen’t necessarily can gauge ur fuel efficiency, i.e higher octane better fuel eff, it doesn’t work like dat. Octane number is just a gauge on how much knock resistant is the fuel, the higher octane, it can resist knock better, thus allowing for higher engine compression ratios! Wat determines the fuel efficiency is mainly the additives that is added to the base fuel. Different company, different additives, different formula. So feel free to try all the fuel that is provided by various companies out there. See which is the best for ur engine, and gives the best fuel economy!

Cheers!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:54 am

MR G always show how care are they to the nation, dropping 15 sen each time to let them earn money, all is just bull shit, if want to drop straight away lol, y need to revise that revise this wasting time!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:55 am

MR G always show how care are they to the nation, dropping 15 sen each time to let them earn money, all is just bull shit, if want to drop straight away lol, y need to revise that revise this wasting time!….

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:58 am

MR G always show how care are they to the nation, dropping 15 sen each time to let them earn money, all is just bull shit, if want to drop straight away lol, y need to revise that revise this wasting time!…

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:00 am

MR G always show how care are they to the nation, dropping 15 sen each time to let them earn money, all is just bull shit, if want to drop straight away lol, y need to revise that revise this wasting time.

• droll (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:33 am

the govt deserves to profit??????????????????????????????????????????????????? WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAH.

come on. stop kidding us already. the fuel tax is a *TEMPORARY THING*???? i bet my bottom dollar this will be another flip-flop decision unless the change is so that the government can make more money.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:45 am

The problem is, even most existing older Wira(s) wont survive on RON 95. This is because they don’t have knock sensors, to tell the engine management system to retard timing when it knocks.

If this is to help consumers, its pretty short sighted.

Does anyone know if the new Campros have knock sensors?

jolly_idiot said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 12:25 am

Correct me if I’m wrong that higher octane fuel gives better fuel efficiency.
    —–
    Only if your car needs the higher octane. If not, you are just wasting money.

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:53 am

ALL CAMPRO HAVE KNOCK SENSOR! Infact all modern ECU controlled engines must have knock sensor as part of the on board diagnostic system!

Cheers!

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:41 am

I know Caltex is using the same cleaning additive and same amount of cleaning additive on its RON 92 and RON 97 fuel, so both fuel will help clean the engine while you drive. For other brand of gas, I am not sure, most of the time, they will have better cleaning additive add on their high end/premium fuel…

I don’t think a lot of cars can use RON 92, only for certain car with lower compression ratio like lower than 10.0:1…

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:54 am

like that those old antique cars use what

• adrt (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:55 am

On top of having two grades of petrol, let’s start having two grades of diesel as well. Let the consumer choose. If they do not need Euro 3 or Euro 4 diesel, they can choose to fill up the existing Euro 1 diesel at subsidised prices. Have 2 grades of diesel at the pumps as well.

• kokwai (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:04 am

si-fu said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 7:53 am

ALL CAMPRO HAVE KNOCK SENSOR! Infact all modern ECU controlled engines must have knock sensor as part of the on board diagnostic system!

Cheers!
    —————————————————————-

Don’t forget about the hundred of thousands of carb. Iswara/Wira ppl are still driving around…..

For a typical driver, they won’t even notice their engine is knocking itself to pieces until it breaks down..

• red7 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:06 am

If the G can increase the price of petrol when the oil price is high, it’s only fair to give rakyat the low price we deserve right? but instead they just take advantage over it!

• mr_em (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:41 am

I am with adrt, e-nabill, xenith & csv on this fuel debate…. WHERE IS THE LONG OVERDUE INTRODUCTION OF EURO 4/ULTRA LOW SULPHUR DIESEL?????

Gov should not be too obsessed about its subsidies or revenue on petrol… all they are doing is pleasing the oil companies by sticking to OBSOLETE policies of offering low quality (cheaper to processed) fuel such as the Euro1/Euro2 and high sulphur diesel etc…

If oil is relatively cheaper nowadays, the current G should be having more thought or long term strategy on how to make sure the ppl can choose cars with better MPGs (eg modern turbodiesel cars or newer small petrol engined cars) and higher efficiency etc… and not about this silly money making RON95/97/99 debate…. the thing about majority needs RON95 is a smokescreen… he knows so well that in our country normal ppl like us dont change cars every 3-5 yrs like in UK/Europe/US (as cars there are much cheaper), of course, ppl in that country can afford newer better tech cars that can run on RON95 without problem etc and outside Malaysia, ppl get to buy cars such Focus TDCi (see Tom Yam Land)… and enjoy better mileages from their cars…

and what we’re stuck with? Old Wira/Iswaras/Sagas that may or may not run on lower octane fuel… and why? Because of the ludicrous high tax/duties on our cars prohibits us from changing cars every so often… may be Datuk Shahrir should give us some STATISTICS on the AVERAGE AGE of CARS in Malaysia compared to Singapore, Thailand, UK, Europe and US…. and then start swallowing the reality out here…

stop talking about this fuel policy on its own, we need a well thought out INTEGRATED POLICY ON FUEL, VEHICLE TAX & DUTIES, PUBLIC TRANSPORT AND THE LIKE and not a bunch of mismanaged, disorganised, badly coordinated policies from the like of our Consumer Affairs, MITI, Transport Ministries & the Gov as a whole…

stick to RON97 lah… save the retailers from having to stock different types of fuel and who knows, they may give excuse that “SORRY, RON95 HABIS!!!” and we’ll end up filling with RON99 most of the time… hahaha… ain’t that more ‘con’ scheme or headache to think about next time around with such a policy?

• armandd (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:27 am

shell v-power is RON99 right?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:31 am

The G still dont get it that the diesel quality currently is making the environment worst… I think we need to blast e-mail to the environment minister and tell them the worst of low quality diesel…

I think most of the minister, datuk or tan sri dont care, coz most of them own luxury or high performance car.. that why they need ron99…

I am against it, as a lot of those old cars and motorcycle doesnt need ron 95 above! If they want to sell ron 99, sell it like shell doing! remain the ron 92, 97 and ron 99. Same as diesel! If you want sell low quality diesel, sell the high quality togather! like Euro 1 or Euro 2 or Euro 3 diesel with different pricing! The G also dont know how to do business also…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:53 am

what the f**k u want shahrir !!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:21 pm

armandd said,

November 21, 2008 @ 10:27 am

shell v-power is RON99 right?

——————————

Our V Power still RON97, other than 92 and 97 the goverment wont subsidise.

• pippen (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:41 pm

G subsidize the rakyet? excuse me, i think we are subsidize back the G more, and oil is under $50 per barrel!
    High car price, high tol rate, high petrol, inefficient public transport, low quality petrol, no green environment to the automotive industry, i mean, what they have in their mind is very simple, get all the money via any creative way(u figure goes to where). And how come the oil price and staff noneed to go through cabinet to go through? decide by 1 guy?
    More G related subsidary company showing “bad investment” is not conincidence. More shit disclosed.
    If we save all those wastage money, we can probably buy up Ford! hahaha
    Can we have someone who really cares about the country’s future, citizen?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:19 pm

Don’t worry, fuel will increase back again, so more like G now stocking money to subsidised later so that will not go more the rm2.70. I really don’t think the fuel price drop is a lont term event, only something seen this year and next year, 2010, can see fuel prices increase again.

• Jomo (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 1:24 am

Don’t you all aware that world oil resource are going down rapidly? this price drop will never stay the way you see it now…please think wisely…I don’t think people know or understand the real situation here…don’t you all ever expect that human life will remain the same…world change..everything change…of course oil price drop a bit (for now), but it will rise again…soon oil resource will gone. Think for the next generation. You have choices, either you burn up the oil today and ruining the earth or you save the earth for the younger generation.

• lmst (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 9:50 am

ermm poor to m’sia ppl…before this, G always said that petrol in m’sia is 2nd cheaper in asean .. now, what the ranking???

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:23 am

he want us all to only use shell v-power racing

• dagaro (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:28 pm

Replacing RON92 to RON95 does not matter as long as the price remains the same i.e. current 5% cheaper @RM1.90.

I have Honda City & Myvi, both can use RON92 and I have been using RON92 without any issues.

Just don’t replace RON92 with lower RON like RON87.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:48 pm

what about ron77, sound liek cristiano ronaldo

• andrew on May 15, 2009 at 7:16 am

should make a car list that show which model of car that can use ron 95 and which model can't use.