Southeast Motor V3 Lingyue: Mitsubishi distributor’s first own-brand compact car

Southeast Motors V3 Lingyue

Fujian-based Southeast Motor only sold Mitsubishi vehicles like the Zinger MPV in China, up to now. This is their very first self-branded car called the Southeast Motor V3 Lingyue, which uses the 4G15 Mitsubishi 1.5 litre MIVEC engine.

Dimensions of 4,405mm x 1,700mm x 1,415mm with a 2,500mm wheelbase make it slightly bigger (and heavier) than our own second generation Proton Saga. The 1.5 litre MIVEC engine it uses puts out a decent 109 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 134Nm of torque at 3,000rpm.

It’s priced between 60,000 yuan (RM31,850) to 80,000 yuan (RM42,450), depending on which model. Four models are available, but all of them come with 5-speed manual transmissions with no automatic available.

Looking at its dimensions, wheelbase and the detailing of the design it looks pretty much like the sixth generation Mitsubishi Lancer (the one the Evo4, Evo 5 and Evo 6 is based on) refreshed with a different front end and rear end and some technical updates.

Look after the jump for many more shots of the V3 Lingyue.

PHOTO GALLERY: Southeast V3 Lingyue – Interior features
click thumbnails to view larger photo

[cpg_album:158]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fashraf (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 11:55 pm

well, the design looks not bad at all. But i doubt on its quality. I went to see Cherry MPV last week at the showroom, but i must say, it was worst beyond even our local standard!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 11:55 pm

That’s Lancer generation six, with new front and generation eight-like rear lights.

Overall looks decent for a China car.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 12:04 am

Wait a minute, that first pic,the main one, its right headlight is digitally “altered”!

• cyberx11 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 12:34 am

kia carens headlamp+ kia Spectra hood+ honda accord front + (WV + CIVI tailamp)

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 1:03 am

i dont really see the point of this car, though less so than the point of this post.

• seat-belt (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 1:48 am

what a boring design……but the headlamp is quite familiar….

• ragnahse (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 1:51 am

well..at least its got ipod integration..or wateva mp3 player tat is…most of the cars here sold(toyota, honda).. don’t even have tat as an option!!! can i post a question here?…anyone knows how we can change our car head unit and still retain the steering wheel audio controls?..u guys any pros our there or anyone selling some kind of custom adaptors or sumtin?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:02 am

i think i like it

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:17 am

Is my eye playing trick on me or the front looks like a Saga… anyway it looks decent….

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:06 am

It ain’t look that good. :/

But decent it is. Not quite sure of the frontal designs though. It appears to have Kia’s design in it.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 10:07 am

china cars designs are weird…

• giannyong (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 10:24 am

Well, first design of the car is considered very good. See the prices and 1.5c from Mitsubishi 4G15. ALSO EVO. tHE REAR LOOK SLIKE hONDA lENGENDRA SPACIOUS come to M’sia .
    great

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 10:25 am

it does seem like it has a lancer underpinning. even the dashboard resembles! lol, so i guess its a cheap car to be modded if this car is sent over to malaysia, haha

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 11:32 am

their design are better than ‘some boring design’ from toyota. (avanza, viva, etc etc)

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 11:54 am

Frankly speak, by seeing the grill design, my eyes will automatically detect = this car is made in China.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 11:56 am

the whole car is 99% melamine!

• giannyong (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 2:26 pm

Sorry, first comment in hurry. 1.5 litre engine from mitsubishi 4G15 with 2 air bags new car price very attractive. In Malaysia where can get it ? Of course, we must read the full technical Spectfications and the test drive report. However, overall it looks impressive. Hope in the near future the cars are available in Malaysia.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 5:21 pm

1.5litre 109hp only.
    compare to our campro iafm 1.3 = 98hp / 1.6 cpas = 125hp.
    ours far better.

beside of all other good thing in this car ie: airbag not (most new proton had airbag as standard except base model). remote boot, gps, and… nothing..
    good deal.. but.. what is other good thing about it?

with price comparison 31 – 42K..
    many thing to be doubt…

however.. i stand on their design are better than overpriced and unsafe viva.

• xenith (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Hey, it has the Proton Persona ‘floating’ grill which was copied from Honda Civic….

• naikmotoje (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 6:15 pm

copy persona front grill… and VW rear…

overall so rubbish looking. Just my 5 cent…

p/s : 1st pic looks like computer render image

• naikmotoje (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 6:17 pm

maybe their use Europestar Jingyue (persona) as benchmark?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Wow decent car…interior better than proton.

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 7:18 pm

Proton Saga is way better than this one… Those secondary-level China car is still not quite up to date… They still need some time to catch up…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:52 pm

saga is better, but china is learning fast, and this thing looks ok la. Problem is those china brands that enter malaysia, what happened to all of them now? so senyap. No one wants to buy china cheap car cause resale value suck and build quality is questionable.

• 9211 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

At a glance, very typical and you can immediately know this is china made car, just like the korean, japanese, german or even malaysia marque. Each design has their own identity of the country. As for me, the design is very moderate. And of course they should overcome the perception of build quality issue…. not to say performance, reliability, handling etc.

• zanggief (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 12:33 pm

It looks like the Evo4 model. But interior design is seems to be better than our 2nd gen saga

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:32 pm

crap, but better than proton

• wahdan on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:34 am

I just got one . Its a nice car

• Where do you get parts for this car if someone know