ABT Golf VI: with bodykit and engine tune-ups

ABT Golf VI

ABT has released its tuning kit for the new Mk6 Volkswagen Golf. A fully kitted car can be called the ABT Golf VI. A full range of modifications are offered covering both looks and power. You can already observe the aerodynamics kit that ABT has developed for the Mk6 from the image above, and a rear image is available after the jump, featuring slanted vertically-stacked quad tailpipes with 2 on each side. Wheels are 18 or 19 inch AR or BR design wheels with low profile tyres.

The 1.4 litre TSI single turbo engine with the 122hp output gets a rechipped to produce 160 horsepower while the more powerful 160hp 1.4 litre TSI version with the supercharger and turbocharger gets a similiar upgrade taking it from a stock 160 horses up to a near-GTI-like 200 horsepower. The 2.0 litre TFSI in the GTi gets upped from 210hp up to 240hp. For oil-burning Mk6 Golfs, the 2.0 TDI engine gets a rechip from the standard 140hp up to 170hp.

I don’t know about you, but I kinda feel it’s overdone. It’s either that or the Scirocco has completely stole this Golf’s limelight when it comes to what people would expect from a performance C-segment Volkswagen.

Look after the jump for more images of the ABT Golf Mk6.

ABT Golf VI

ABT Golf VI

ABT Golf VI

[zenphotopress number=99 album=86]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 2:42 am

hot looking abt golf, hehe, hopefully malaysia will have this

• Dracryst (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 6:08 am

I dunno why but the front end looks too mild compared to the previous model. The aggressiveness seems to have been gone. And the quad-muffler looks too fake.

It looks so wrong.

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 7:49 am

I dunno, I actually like the quad mufflers… and man those rear lights look real angry :D

• droll (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:06 am

i kinda dig it, actually though I find the diffuser protruding a tad bit too much from the rear. can i saw it off? :)

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 9:13 am

The version before the facelift has nicer, meaner front grille. This is too tame.. Side profile looks nice though.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 10:34 am

A 240hp compact car…

Do they have any wing and propeller bodykit as add on in case I would like to fly it and see sun set with my girl friend?

• isharestuff (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 11:02 am

This is what VW can produce after Porsche kicks in?

Fortunately it’s gonna be windy, and it’s called Scirocco and it blows!

• tommy73 (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 1:31 pm

I will not be surprised if the Golf VI is not as successful as Golf V. It has no ‘wow’ factor at all.

VW Cars, be warned if you are introducing Golf VI in Malaysia. Scirocco is definitely a better bet!

• torquemonster (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 1:55 pm

quad tailpipe, got its inspiration from the lexus is-f?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 7:32 pm

You know what, this thing does not look too good

• csv (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:21 pm

wait wait wait, scirocco and golf, are they the same cars? or totally different.

all this while i thought they were the same.

• db8 (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:59 pm

actually mk6 looks very alike his old brother..mk4..same front..quite the same back..interior is better than mk5 only the exterior and yeah..i think ppl gonna buy more the scirocco..thats a new hot hatch in town..

• gajen (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 10:20 pm

i dun think it looks nice…i prefer a stock golf gti…or better still scirocco…this one, the front reminds me of the old golf gti [2 models before]…

• seat-belt (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 1:07 am

the front design seen like any usual car@boring….i prefer to say that scirocco is far better than this…..anyway, nice rims.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:43 am

i think this golf is nicer than the mk v

• waja_fr3ak (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 12:39 pm

kewl..hope this car land to our shore soon n price under 200k…hehe

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 12:57 pm

lets hope so

• adam123 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 4:05 pm

rear diffuser looks weird.

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:03 pm

Lexus IS-F inspired quad pipes?

haha

• db8 (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 1:18 am

i hope msia VW will bring in the 1.4 TFSI..fuel saver..low road tax..but got more pawa than normal 2.0…

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Quad end pipes? That’s unnecessary weight…a bad sacrifice in pursue of form over function. What about producing a more powerful yet lighter model over the stock one?

I do agreed that the Mk V has the better look. It looks like the designer is either running outta idea how Mk VI should look like or trying to change for the sake of changing. For European car manufacturers are known for its subtle yet purposeful customisation and outlook vs Japanese’s extreme but limited function customization, crossing over to the other camp would only mean upsetting the supporters.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:18 pm

db8 said,

November 29, 2008 @ 1:18 am

i hope msia VW will bring in the 1.4 TFSI..fuel saver..low road tax..but got more pawa than normal 2.0…
    ——————–
    volkswagen golf 1.4 tsi rm 120,000
    golf gti rm 160,000
    golf r32 rm200,000
    ideal price