Sources: General Motors might sell Saab

Saab LogoAccording to a report by Bloomberg which cites unnamed sources, GM is considering dropping the Saab brand amongst other marques in efforts to continue raising enough money to continue operating. It has also appointed a real estate agent to sell some of its European assets worth over US$250 million.

Both attempts could be hard in this economy when everyone is reluctant to spend, so it might be tough to find buyers for its unnecessary buildings or brands such as Saab. There has been speculation that the Swedish government have been keeping an eye on Swedish brands Saab and Volvo which belong to GM and Ford respectively, and might pick them up if their Detroit owners decide to sell them.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eayamhj (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 2:43 am

Proton should buy this brand….

• jhj249 (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 7:42 am

I afraid Proton will sell it for 1 kroner after that….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 9:56 am

sell to fund their private jets?!

• little_momo (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 10:34 am

buy this!!! buy this!!! proton

• MyviKiller (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 10:49 am

Now the future Saabs won’t have any private jet engines, hahaha!

• droll (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 12:01 pm

the swedish govt is probably eyeing this out of national pride and interests. if GM and Ford do end up dumping these brands, they will be doing it at a massive discount! siapa mau beli? lelong lelong1

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 4:07 pm

did saab have >2.0 above platfrom? their own engine?
    if they ahve, why not p1 buy that part only,..to replace perdana….(bt i think p1 busy with MPV now) soo, dont force them into some other thing,let p1 focus and decide lah….

tak beli pun takpe, tak rugi since MPV project will give more money to p1(target:asean)… let politician use merc at this moment,,:D

• chee89 (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 6:39 pm

buy it!
    and then sell off Proton brand..

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 8:39 pm

Proton buy this! Keep selling as Saab. Use all the proton platform or curi their technology for upcoming cars!

If can buy lotus, can buy this!

• infinity (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 10:26 pm

well, proton can buy this to penetrate the european and american market..i read in the saab’s website..got something about their turbo engine and also xwd…in which proton can use in its upcoming models..

and also by then, proton can supply military vehicals for our government..haha

• clover leaf (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 2:22 am

mystvearn said,
    November 30, 2008 @ 8:39 pm
    ——————————————-
    was told by britons that P1got lotus due 2 country hosting rights 4 ’98 commonwealth games conspiracy.

doubt P1 has the $$$ capability 2 acquire SAAB.

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 8:24 am

briton car brands almost all own by foreign parties. i think most of the guys are not being serious la clover leaf.

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 8:37 am

mystvearn,

especially their turbo technology!!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 1:12 pm

I doubt Europeans will be that happy with Power windows that break less than 2 weeks after collecting the car, strange rattling noises under the bonnet that the service center tell you “is normal(!)” and an interior even a blind man would find ugly.

Better stick to being spoonfed jaguh kampung at home, if you know what I mean.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 1:48 pm

an interior even a blind man would find ugly.
    -not ah beng

are you that blind man? coz i never heard a blind man comment on proton’s interior.

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 4:15 pm

this blindman sure spoonfed by ah beng then.. ROFLOL!!!

• afkar (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 4:30 pm

proton, i know u got money. buy it or it will fell to ratan tata, expanding his empire after swallowing british rover and jaguar.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 5:38 pm

clover leaf said,

December 1, 2008 @ 2:22 am

mystvearn said,
    November 30, 2008 @ 8:39 pm
    ——————————————-
    was told by britons that P1got lotus due 2 country hosting rights 4 ‘98 commonwealth games conspiracy.

doubt P1 has the $$$ capability 2 acquire SAAB.
    ———————————-

cloverleaf, please get your facts right. there is no big hairy secret behind this.
    lotus was already 100% in the hands of foreign companies since 1986. and when proton bought an 80% stake in 1996, they had already changed hands again before then and also heavily in debt. So how a british company, no longer in british hands since 1986 and bankrupt, can influence protons commonwealth games bid for 1998 is really beyond me, unless you can explain otherwise.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 7:21 pm

If khazanah can pump proton from time to time, sure a soft loan to buy this brand is good. Gaining from big 3 losses

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 9:30 pm

if saab is so good then why would GM need to sell it off. same lesson from the lotus debacle.

saab is uninspiringly lousy fwd turbo cars which nobody wants to buy. xwd is just a gimiick when nobody wants to buy ur cars.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 10:50 pm

topgunthang said,

December 1, 2008 @ 9:30 pm

if saab is so good then why would GM need to sell it off. same lesson from the lotus debacle.
    ————

hmm.. i just fail to see your problem sometimes.. at least lotus is making money now, and has posted a profit.. they are also producing cars today that can still capture the imagination of driving enthusiasts, and have at least a new model coming out soon in the evora.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 11:50 pm

I doubt Europeans will be that happy with Power windows that break less than 2 weeks after collecting the car, strange rattling noises under the bonnet that the service center tell you “is normal(!)”
    -not ah beng (but ahbeng enough for us)

i drive in my camry to umw with shaking steering at 140kmh, guess what they said?
    its normal.

some malaysian move along with times. they strive, they learn, they change. some malaysian just sticks around and mumbling. these are the types which will use ‘its normal’ if they’re working at car dealers. ahbeng type. guess what? you’re one of them!

• torque (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Saab is no doubt a good brand but if Ford too wanna sell off Volvo, I think Proton (if they got the money lah) is better to buy Volvo compare to Saab. Yes! The Saab are quite famous for their turbo engine but Volvo too have mass of engine line-up (they also got turbo engine wat) under their belt for Proton to use. Beside that, Volvo has more market penetration compare to Saab. Not only that, the biggest gain of purchasing Volvo than Saab is their safety technologies which they are very famous for and Proton can use this to their advantage.

My vote…ditch the Saab and grab Volvo instead!! Oh ya, kalau betul beli tu jangan la jual for 1 Euro lagi ek?! Peace ya’all! :-)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:05 pm

this blog is full of dreamers saying proton can buy gm, ford, chrysler, saab etc etc bullshit.

• torque (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:52 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    December 3, 2008 @ 2:05 pm

this blog is full of dreamers saying proton can buy gm, ford, chrysler, saab etc etc bullshit.

Sorry bro, reality check…this may ain’t just a dream since Proton did purchase Lotus a few years ago. It’s not impossible what…that they may surprise us with another buy since Proton and Lotus now making “black ink” in their account book. Plus, it’s not like they gonna buy it with their “own” money as long as the G still have their back!! Got my drift?

Plus, if Proton does buy Saab or Volvo…doesn’t that will help much in product development for Proton especially in safety technology, bigger engine displacement, quality interior and much more? All I can see is there’s always an advantage for company like Proton for having these companies under its control.

Fren, GM used to publicly announce that BANKRUPTCY isn’t in their dictionary..remember?! Now…who’s the dreamers?

Cheers bro!

• torque (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:58 pm

Forget one more thing, everyone here are just giving their opinion. It’s not likely gonna happen due to the world recession period.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:50 am

torque said,

December 3, 2008 @ 5:52 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    December 3, 2008 @ 2:05 pm

Sorry bro, reality check…this may ain’t just a dream since Proton did purchase Lotus a few years ago. It’s not impossible what…that they may surprise us with another buy since Proton and Lotus now making “black ink” in their account book. Plus, it’s not like they gonna buy it with their “own” money as long as the G still have their back!! Got my drift?

Plus, if Proton does buy Saab or Volvo…doesn’t that will help much in product development for Proton especially in safety technology, bigger engine displacement, quality interior and much more? All I can see is there’s always an advantage for company like Proton for having these companies under its control.

Fren, GM used to publicly announce that BANKRUPTCY isn’t in their dictionary..remember?! Now…who’s the dreamers?

Cheers bro!
    ——————————————–
    lotus was bought with our money, and all i know is that lotus is currently a fun driving car which nobody really buys as if you want fun there’s the caterham and if you want luxury there’s the audi TT