2009 Honda City launched in China with 1.8L engine

Honda City

The Honda City has been unveiled in China by Guangzhou Honda at the 2008 Guangzhou Motor Show, but it will only make a showroom debut with official prices on the 12th of December 2008.

What’s most interesting is in the Chinese market, the City will come with two engine options. One is the new 1.5 litre i-VTEC that we’re also going to get, but the other engine option is the R-series 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC from the Civic 1.8.

A lightweight Honda City equipped with a 140 horsepower 1.8 litre engine could be loads of fun. China always gets special deals such as this, for example the current generation Toyota Vios sold in China is equipped with a 1.6 litre Dual VVT-i engine while the rest of the world have to make do with the 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE family engine.

I’m not sure if this is what Guangzhou Honda meant by developing a Civic competitor (the Civic is sold by another Honda-linked company in China).

A previous report said a 1.8 litre engine was going to be plonked into the City to create a C-segment competitor, but an engineer quoted in the report also mentioned that the new 1.8 litre City-based car would have Civic proportions and a new name and shape.

2009 Honda City: in-depth details and specifications (must-read!)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• domo8 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:07 am

City TypeR? Can you say ROCKET? I want!

• theanswer (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 8:59 am

1.8 engine for tht car..sure get a healthy pwr to weight ratio.

• SelekohBoi (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:30 am

Hua……if our new city is 1.8 powered = ngancam man! but then how will they price the 1.5? (which currently speculated >rm90k). So I might js look for 2nd-hand Civic 1.8 (also >rm90k) , as my wedding car lo … ;p

Saw the coming soon japan facelifted civic, though front not much changed, must say the rear has bring the civic to another level (but got the old accord feel).

• armandd (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:03 am

nice! i think it should have better fuel economy than civic 1.8.

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:44 am

Stock version doesn’t really have the wow factor. But I’ve seen Modulo City in a couple of old posts, those are nice and futuristic.

1.8 Civic engine under a City hood, can they just develop something new rather than moving parts from one to another?

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:01 am

this car will really fly. i saw a singapore registered one on the north-south highway a few weeks back and its really small. power to weight ratio maybe healthier than civic 2.0L.

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:32 am

Now petrol so cheap, Honda Malaysia should bring in City 1.8 version la :)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:48 am

thy dont hav those crazy taxes on cars la…thats y thy can afford to put a bigger cc engine without much price difference

• anand (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:01 pm

1.8..1.6 or even 2.0…tis car is still luks totally ugly..i can say other cars which range 1.5 or 1.6 in m’sia..stil looks better overall design compared 2 this two ugly junks Vios & City..The 1st impression for these 2 junks is totally small,ugly shape and out of design.not meant for guys..more feminine..dont have muscular luks at all..heehehehe..

• nmh (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:02 pm

to add more spice, hope it replace the rear torsion beam with sumthin better….multilink

• adam123 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:35 pm

1.8?? thot it was a ‘city’ car.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 2:01 pm

ho hums..

Bigger engine. Just what China needs.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 4:12 pm

haizzzzzz…….
    again !!!!!!!!!!
    after da long-wheelbase requirement for Audi A4 !!!!

• BlackJKX (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 4:53 pm

i know u can be better

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 5:35 pm

Heard is coming out in 18th Dec. Beginning price might start from 89k.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:15 pm

People there like big cars. Even standard Beemer has been elongated because they like it big. No suprise by their move here. Another thing Chinese consumer they pay lump sum. They don’t like installments. Save money then spend on a car. Good way of buying a car, no need to pay bank interest rate

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:42 am

what engine are we getting

• henryee (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 10:27 pm

See, China is the BEST!
    GOGOGO, China!

• ruzieriio7 (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 12:23 pm

how much is it going to be sold in Malaysia eh?? wana buy it instd of civic

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:50 pm

my advice is buy the civic

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:52 pm

MY ADVICE IS BUY A BRAND NEW HONDA CIVIC 2.0…:)

• i hv toyota wish.but i want city.arghhh..beytang.