Next generation Proton Waja to be based on the Mitsubishi Lancer platform

Mitsubishi Lancer Fortis

After many years of going around in circles talking to companies such as PSA Peugeot Citroen, Volkswagen and GM, Proton has finally ended up at a familiar place, Mitsubishi Motors. Proton announced to Bursa Malaysia today that it has entered into a product collaboration program with Mitsubishi Motors Corporation, Japan. The following is the scope of the product collaboration:

• A Development Agreement, to develop a new Vehicle Model for PROTON based on details of work, target specifications, job sharing and time schedule as determined by both parties (“Licensed Product”).
  • A Licence Agreement, where MMC grants PROTON a non-exclusive license to use technical assistance and patents solely for the purpose of utilization of technical information for restyling, modification and improvement work, manufacturing of local parts, assembling, selling and after sales services / support of the Licensed Product to be sold under PROTON’s trademark and styling; and
  • An Engineering Services Agreement, wherein MMC will provide the work and services for PROTON’s manufacturing of the Licensed Product.

StarBiz revealed today that the Mitsubishi vehicle to be provided to Proton is the new Lancer, which will be used to replace the Waja. A quick check with sources inside Proton revealed that the vehicle would pretty much be a Lancer with only minor changes to the design, even less than what Mitsubishi Taiwan has done to their version of the Lancer.

The Lancer Fortis is shown in the image above, just compare it to the original Lancer (chopped by Theophilus with Proton badges) shown below, it’s a world of a difference! So the good news is our version will likely keep the Lancer’s original aggressive looks.

Proton Lancer
Click for enlarged image

The new Lancer-Waja will likely be priced at a higher price point than the current Waja CPS, but lower than the Perdana. We’ll also get the GEMA series of engines that comes with the Lancer, though it’s not clear at this moment which one. The GEMA engine is available in 1.8, 2.0 and 2.4 litre displacements.

Other proposed areas that Mitsubishi and Proton are in discussions about include the rebadging of the Persona and the 2009 Proton MPV as a Mitsubishi in certain markets and the joint development of an A-segment hatchback (a new Savvy-sized vehicle), but when contacted by this blog, sources in Proton indicated these additional projects are at best only in discussion stages only, and not something confirmed.

In fact, an A-segment hatch may not be such a good area for Proton to venture into right now, given how price sensitive the A-segment market is. Maybe later, if Proton gains enough technical know-how on how to build a car cheaply and once it has enough economies of scale to price it low yet make a sufficient profit.

The only two car manufacturers enjoying success in that market segment are Suzuki and Daihatsu, who are experts in small cars. It’s very hard to profit and with the current condition of Proton’s economies of scale, I doubt Proton could create an A-segment hatch that could have the right features, quality and price to enjoy a decent amount of success whether in Malaysia or overseas.

I doubt even accounting for the potential units sold under the Mitsubishi badge could help out there as Mitsubishi themselves do not have much successful experience in that area.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Like Waja….

• sekali pandang mcm mitsubishi lancer.. dua kali pandang baru perasan logo proton..

• cun la kete waja baru ni..saya bangga syarikat kereta Malaysia sudah mampu keluarkan kereta setanding jenama lain..

• Wait n See on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:46 am

Kenapa bangga? Kerana Malaysia pandai tiru dan celup? Kereta baru ni Mitsubishi Celup lah!

• yaHAha on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:44 am

Do u guys think inspira 2.0 price too high? i think its too high for local assemble car. Should not tax malaysian too high. Lancer gt without tax like in langkawi n labuan cost 73K++. Y not proton sell inspira 2.0 inside 80K?? At least people can afford it more. 1.8 manual can sell in 65K above.. believe me upcoming 2011 myvi 1.5 will hv bad sale if inspira 1.8m price at 65K++. hehehe. Proton if u want to beat perodua sale, u shud revise the inspira price again, actually malaysia prefer mitsubishi engine than campro. hehe. sori abt that. Shud put 4g92 mivec inside persona yah.. :p n 4g91 in saga. Saga more suitable for 1.5 engine, fight with those vios n city n latio.

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Mitsubishi to rebadge persona n proton mpv? wow… what will not_ah beng say?

this really2 good collaboration…well done proton!!
    malay said: air dicincang tak kan putus…maybe this is the best words to describe relationship between proton n mitsu…huhu

cant wait for RM80k lancer …

paul, why u doubt bout proton new hatch n proton mitsu-badged model? sorry, im not clearly understand bout it…

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:40 pm

given the current trust and enthusiasm people put on proton (i.e: BLM, Proton MPV), this one will sell like a hot cake as long as proton price it properly…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:42 pm

another sad story for proton-hater… they wish it is toyota or honda… huhu…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:48 pm

bsides that, it is COLLABORATION, seems good, since each party is not controlling and be controlled…

so, i am looking forward for better future of Malaysia automotive industry…

• ckalex (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:51 pm

If i may, i would like to answer Nakal’s question on Paul’s doubt on the new hatch.

Daihatsu and Suzuki has been using economies of scale in the high volume (>1 million vehicles/year) it manufactures. It has plants all over Japan and ASEAN countries. The lower profit margin of an A-segment hatch means it has to sell many vehicles in order to cover R&D and tooling costs. Proton does not sell more than 1 million/year cars locally and in export markets. Therefore it would be very difficult to be profitable in this segment.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 6:06 pm

this is what ive been waitin for. i might trade in my neo for this practical car, hehee. time for a wajalutionjj

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 6:10 pm

Its like a long lost love.

Tell me Paul, our Saga could be a suitable candidate under A segment for international market. Will there possibilities?

Paul Tan says: The new Saga falls in the same group as cars such as the Ford Ikon sedan in India. If priced right, why not? I did a story on this once.

ford ikon in india – http://www.india.ford.com/servlet/ContentServer?cid=1178851583208&pagename=Page&site=FIPL&c=DFYPage
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/11/26/proton-and-the-indian-automotive-industry/

• matthews1710 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 6:41 pm

yeah!

Mitsubishi engine is better than the campro. Its time for some serious power at a lower price.

• tommy73 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Dejavu……CBU Swift becomes CKD Swifts. CBU Pug 407 vs CKD 407. Now CBU Lancer vs CKD ProtonLancer. Who’s next?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:07 pm

Does this mean Mitsubishi will stop selling passenger cars (again) in Malaysia once the Waja-badged Lancer is launched?

Or will that current Lancer-based Waja be launched in three years time, when Mitsubishi launch next generation Lancer?

This is no good news for Mitsubishi owners who bought their cars lately.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:16 pm

waja replacement….interesting. can be considered as an additional car to me.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:34 pm

tommy73 said,
    December 5, 2008 @ 6:59 pm

Dejavu……CBU Swift becomes CKD Swifts. CBU Pug 407 vs CKD 407. Now CBU Lancer vs CKD ProtonLancer. Who’s next?

—————————————————

maybe Bugatti Veyron, who knows P1 mite do dat !!!!

• co-driver (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Why not replace Colt by Satria Neo , so in Europe we can have Mitsu Neo R3(Handling by LOTUS)

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Proton does not want to make its own cars?rebadge a car now. It is cheaper, but is this like a step backward for proton? The idea was to be independent and make their own cars, not put logo on other cars. Can someone enlighten me

• ziopannala on Jun 27, 2010 at 2:39 pm

not really..proton always left behind it’s quality (just to protect it’s vendor). maybe now it’s time to make some hard collaboration (read joint venture) with high quality car maker. maybe it can enhance proton’s brand in the global automotive industry.. i m waitin …n counting

• isfufushah (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:47 pm

Yes… good collabo. proton. The japanese always the best. Why wait for those european who cannot understand we at all. Demand everything.
    :-P.

Lancer is a good platform but proton maybe could put the price below 70k by using our CPS engine & maybe use its own exterior design. Bcause i don’t like the new lancer design. Ugly. Unlike the Fortis above.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:00 pm

TheophilusChin said,
    December 5, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

…..This is no good news for Mitsubishi owners who bought their cars lately.

No. No good news is for owners of protong with cumpro engine.

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:03 pm

IMHO…i dont see a problem rebadging cars at this time. moreover, proton isnt rebadging whole of its lineup, and collaboration like this actually improves the economy of scale. why not? :) if we were to look at motoring history, once great car manufacturers actually gone almost bankcrupt due to reasons like having too many platform, etc etc etc.. that is why many are sharing now. Good examples of platform sharing: nissan renault, ford mazda volvo, PSA mitsu… again.. its just my humble opinion.

agree with isfufushah bout pricing it below 70k fitting our own CPS, with the condition of not affecting persona and gen2 sales.

lancer’s platform is good to begin with i think. imagine lotus magic on this?? WOW!! forza nippon-aysia!!

happy motoring :)

• chanel (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:09 pm

so will this upcoming mitsu->waja retain it first gen waja little dna? mainly:
    its right side mirror with aspherical (wide angle) features, continental style signal & wiper turn which is the opposite to Japan/Asian car??

the little side mirror with aspherical features is really helpful, but some people with this features also don’t really know how to utilise, if fact they paste another convex mirror on top of this…….

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:10 pm

Collaboration with Mitsu again… hmm… Just wait and see the upcoming Waja replacement. Hopefully the pricing not more than RM80K.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:20 pm

I think what Proton is doing is cutting cost to some extend. By collabrating with MMC, Proton is able to make a big leap in R & D which is costly. This is just a collabration and is not the same as what happened when Proton was in it’s infancy. Maybe what Proton is aiming are to utilize whatever advantages that MMC have to build better car. As for MMC, this collabration is good also because it can sell it’s car cheaper here compared to other Japanese manufacturer since it would be assembled here as CKD or even manufactured here. So both parties stand to win if it worked out. The only reservation I have is the respond of Malaysians to this MoU. You could be hearing people complaining that Proton is taking a step backward in becoming an assembler or these cars is inferior to the CBU because made by Proton. Hopefully I am proven wrong.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:20 pm

the collaboration came a little too late …….. in view of the global financial and economic crisis. Take a look at the global players ……. GM, Ford etc

Honda has also just pull out of F1 …..

• gie7 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:28 pm

sekrang sape yang jadi juara kepada yang menyokong syed zainal…dah boleh buat kereta sendiri pun masih nak rebadge yang lain orang punya…seburuk2 gen.2, aku berbangga sbb d reka n bukan rebadge jenama kereta lain…kalau letak je nama buat pe kalau orang lain buat kerja….

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Sorry MAJUPERAK, Honda pulled out of F1 due to rising cost of running the show. They spend hundred of millions to became one of the slowest team on the grid, so the President pulled the plug.

As for the so-called global players you mentioned… The problem is not caused by the sub-prime crisis but has been boiling for the last 10 years. The big 3 of Detroit has been churning out cars that is very low on FC and unreliable. If you followed their news for the last few years, they have to sell off most of their other brand to stay afloat. Thats why Ford sold Jaguar, Land Rover and now Volvo is being put on sale. GM also sold off it’s share in Mercedes to stay afloat. Chrysler also have the same dilemma. So as you can see, their problem have been brewing and finally erupted when the sub-prime crisis happen. The consumers want a low FC car due to the rising high prices of fuel but sadly the big 3 can’t fullfil this and as expected their sales plummeted.

If I missed out on anything, please feel free to correct me… ciao

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:33 pm

gie7 said,
    December 5, 2008 @ 8:28 pm

sekrang sape yang jadi juara kepada yang menyokong syed zainal…dah boleh buat kereta sendiri pun masih nak rebadge yang lain orang punya…seburuk2 gen.2, aku berbangga sbb d reka n bukan rebadge jenama kereta lain…kalau letak je nama buat pe kalau orang lain buat kerja….

————————————————————–

Exhibit A… as I expected… no comment

• db8 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 8:34 pm

wow..another interesting step by proton..but i hope proton R&D will not stop their works..they should continue to produce to own made car too beside assembling mitsu cars..and i hope they can learn as much they can from mitsu R&D..for their own benefits in the future..

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:02 pm

OK.. Now the here’s the term

“WAJALUTION”

• dewasemut (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:05 pm

During tough time for automotive industry, I personally think its a wise move for Proton. No use to keep the pride and drained all the resources to built new cars that will take years to recoupe the development cost (or never)…

Further, the deal seems to be sweeter this time coz Proton also got a chance to rebadge its model to Mitsu…

haha.. looks like my current waja will also be replaced with another waja one day…

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Well, I’m sure the collaboration is only for certain models and the collaboration also can means that Proton and Mitsubishi will design a totally new model(s) and sell it based on their own name. By doing design and R&D together, the costs can be shared together instead of independently which is very high. So, it is one of the ways to cutting down the operation costs in produce new model(s).

Most of the reasons already been told in Paul’s post above. Especially in the current economy and financial crisis, better working together instead of trying to become a BIG BROTHER. See what happen to GM, Ford and Chrysler. Not only because of the high fuel price (before down to less than USD50, now) that has made them losing money, but because of the operation costs too. Last time perhaps they are trying to become big brother. Bought this and that companies and now see what happen. They have to sell those companies to stay floating if not they will going to bankrupt.

Lastly, I’m sure Proton with the management under Datuk Syed Zainal, we still able to see exciting new models from Proton itself. A new model for A-segment, perhaps? What we need now is to hope the world economy and financial crisis will be end as soon as possible. If not, sooner or later more and more people will suffer.

Happy motoring.

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:24 pm

This is really great news… wish them all the best and hope to own a WajaLancer in the future =)

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Why you all support Perodua? Do you all know that Perodua is just a rebadged Toyota/Daihatsu har? All the money go out of the country to Toyota’s pocket only. All they do is just design bumper and interior and they call it their own car. Must support Proton-mar, see they all have their own R&D, quality also so good until TUV also certified man. Everything also in-house in Malaysia, we all can prosper-mar……….Oh wait, Proton going to rebadge-ar?

• droll (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 10:25 pm

eh? so what happens to the Lancer being sold here then?? habish???????

• claxxion (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 10:52 pm

The lancer would probably be selling alongside the wajalution as there still will be fans who will go for it i think. and hopefully the new waja will be equipped with a 1.6/1.8 engine from mitsu?

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Wat’s the price going to be and hopefully the quality and design will be good?

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:21 pm

1.6 engine overlapping again?

• infinity (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:03 am

any idea when will we get the new waja=lancer?
    even though it is some sort of rebadge (which i dun really support, like perodua), but this is different..coz perodua cars are all rebadged..whereas this proton waja=lancer is a collaboration where proton rebadge lancer, mitsu rebadge persona and mpv..it’s a win-win situation, unlike perodua..
    and also, in this collaboration, proton can learn some R&D know how from Mitsu which could be used in other new proton models..especially now tat proton is planning to develop a new range of engine..
    all the best proton!!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:15 am

my point of view is..Mitsubishi need proton more than proton needs mitsu..

because if we look at mistubishi line up..they are equally weak as proton and besides this lancer they are not really doing good..

even this lancer has not sold as much as honda or toyota especially in europe and US..honda civic has won all those buyers and mitsu foreign patners has broken up and left mitsu strander in the middle..

daimler and chrysler has broken up and futher engine colabration is in doubt because US car companies are not in a condition to even consider help mitsu with engine option since they need more help…mitsu PSA collaboration is also not working so well since those SUV they made not sell well at all..

so mitsu need a helping hand where proton is surviving because they made some good progress..and proton is actually in better state than mitsu…

i guess i know why mitsu has made this kinda agreement..in asia…mitsu badge has better image than proton especially in india and China…

if they rebadge Saga and Persona for those markets..it will sell like hot cake in those countries and if proton can sell lancer in thailand,malaysia and indonesia plus the middle east at cheaper price..mitsu will be able to break even with their investment on this new lancer platform..

so its really a win win situation but who will be a bigger winner???

thats the more important question..and for both company its a step backward..but if they can go two step forward in future..this one step backward will not be a problem…

but what i am really curious to know is..will proton be able to use the GEMA series engines soon to fit in our Proton MPV??

i just wish it will happened….

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:18 am

Haha, such double standardness, but mostly well understood :) I bet DSZ must’ve went like “basket, those p2 fellas suka ati je nk rebadge rush, like that I oso wanna rebadge mitsu lar.” ahahah. Gud decision, hopefully we won’t get apek’s style lancer fortis, but the current alfa-bishi 149 style.

Since msians dun care as long can get ‘jap car wit national car price’, they won’t have anything to complain. Proton supporters, all proton’s doing is to give their biggest customers what they’ve always demanded, n a big slap to its bashers, unless they wanna say “it’s not toyotard/honda” :P . Besides, mitsu wants to rebadge persona n mpv, so this isn’t abt losing pride n becoming jap’s dog. It’s give n take, hey, they might work together for that hatchback, so its not like proton’s future will be as predictably lazy as perodua’s. Imagine getting lotus handling n MIVEC n invecs II or sumthing in one car. What more can msian ask? For the japs, the best handling japmobile……in the world.

Seriously, this is the best news to come out from proton since DSZ came in!! This is the perfect opportunity to strike. As the big players are scaling back, it is the best time for small players like proton to capture market share at full throttle. Go agressive now, we’ll reap its reward when the economy recovers!!

Just look at MAS. Seeing the suvarnabhumi closure, they were the earliest n busiest to rescue the trapped ppl to get out of there. When they see a crisis, they see opportunity, imagine how many windfall profit they made during this incident ;) To apply it in proton’s case, while the “airport” is in chaos, they need to go aggressive to “rescue” the “people”. Immediately. They will then be able to have the cash to go for the economy of scale they’ve been seeking for by the time the “airport” is “re-opened” :)

——–

http://zarfawardrobe.blogspot.com

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:33 am

sfufushah said,

December 5, 2008 @ 7:47 pm

“The japanese always the best.”
    ——————————————-

r u sure? hav u know bout the mitsu-proton issue when proton was in its infancy? after u know bout that, i’m sure u will not agree on what u just said..

the japanese r selfish!

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:35 am

Prem3377 said,
    December 6, 2008 @ 12:15 am

my point of view is..Mitsubishi need proton more than proton needs mitsu..
    —————————————–
    i really like ur comment, informative, logic, and relevent.
    “rebadge Saga and Persona for those markets..” is something that malysian really hope for positive update and also result hopefully.

• tpl (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:46 am

bmw headlamp?

• csv (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:52 am

what……..lancer waja?

damn, then it’s gonna sell like hot cakes again if priced right. although they will be using the gema engine. maybe the campro engine will be neglected.

after all these years, proton went back to it’s original partner before.

i can’t help but wonder what would happen if VW were to collaborate with Proton…..

• bmx (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 1:05 am

Nothing to shout about….Lancer badged with Proton logo to bypass heavy duty taxation system….wake up lah

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 1:21 am

I see that the relationship now is a two-way relationship. Mitsubishi wants to rebadge Proton cars, while Proton’s gonna rebadge the Lancer. Hopefully they’ll use this partnership to further the company forwards. Lets be a little optimistic.

• ^o^ (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 1:22 am

is really friday nite WTF moment for many proton haters out there. kekeke… oi! no need bash anymore la, is logical decision ok.

• roadranger (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:09 am

What? after all this year Proton goes back to Mitsubishi for ideas? Well if it does some good to Proton cars everything goes

• co-driver (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:11 am

The new Lancer rebadged as Proton with some Lotus restyling and handling , Proton interior : The new’ Lotus Carlton’ !
    ASAP !!!!!!!!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:32 am

Hahaha new Waja with Korean engine

• fadelicious (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:36 am

it’s a good move for proton but for mitsu it’s like ” dah terantuk baru nk tengadah” paham kee..

• peYno (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 3:37 am

dodgeviper88 said,
    December 5, 2008 @ 9:33 pm

Why you all support Perodua? Do you all know that Perodua is just a rebadged Toyota/Daihatsu har? All the money go out of the country to Toyota’s pocket only. All they do is just design bumper and interior and they call it their own car. Must support Proton-mar, see they all have their own R&D, quality also so good until TUV also certified man. Everything also in-house in Malaysia, we all can prosper-mar……….Oh wait, Proton going to rebadge-ar?

================
    r u trying to compare proton rebadge vs perodua rebadge thinge??
    prrrfthhh
    proton rebadge for certain model only and the best part, mitsu oso will rebadge proton cars (MPV and persona)..
    where got toyota/daihatsu rebadge perodua cars???
    prrrfthh

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 3:45 am

Do whatever it takes to make profits and compete on level playing field. Screw the preferred Proton suppliers. They have been bastardising Proton for far too long with their supplies of substandard materials.

Please ensure the basics like ABS, EBD and airbags are included in all models.Don’t keep cheating the buyers of Proton cars. Set the benchmark and hopefully the Japs will follow too. The Japs have also been cheating Malaysian motorist for far too long with their bare bones offerings.

About time someone does something what is rightfully belongs to the motoring public of Malaysia.

• arie1968 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 6:49 am

good to hear. hope it’s win win situation for both of them.

• azrai (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 7:14 am

Yes, it is good news to hear. After this we can see our Gen-2’s and persona owner ‘once’ again swapping their car kit to those Mitsu’s just like what Wira and Saga owner have done before. Looks like they have a B, C, and D segments car after this. This mean it will complement each other rather tahn all the 1.6 cars competing each other like now (Waja vs Persona vs Gen-2). I wonder if they manage to get the GEMA engine for 1.8l or even 2.0l for their own MPV. Theophelus, it is time for you to come out with something from the Lancer now. I think the Waja rims, stingbey antenna, and the Honda inspired grille and Persona’s butt chrome’s emblem will do for the Lancer to become a Waja + please tone down some of the aggresive look (those only for the what proton have called a SE) :-) I rather hope the price is in RM70 – RM80 bracket. it will be a killer to Toyota and Honda if they price it right.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 7:49 am

Woohoo….can see the new Generation of Wajalution in future, a good news for those P1 wannabe :)

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 7:55 am

If there is A-segment hatchback new car coming soon, expected it will be the Lancer hatchback as well.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 9:13 am

o…there is another stream of mod for the fortis from Taiwan, for those BMW fan’s can buy this coming P1 fortis and change the BM front bumper….look 80% alike with the M3 for the front look.

• gie7 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 9:29 am

nampak gayanya semua orang menyokong proton nak rebadge kereta mereka…kalau andai satu hari nanti proton menang awrd n kereta tu adalah kereta rebadge, aku takkan beli kereta tu…aku simpan niat nak beli kereta proton sbb ia adalah usaha penat lelah engineer proton,,,ada anak malaysia yang terlibat…tahniah syed zainal sbb bawa budaya perodua yang asik duk rebadge daihatsu atau toyota tuk perodua…lepas ni kena kerja kuat sikit sbb nak beli kereta luar terus dari beli kereta yang mana orangnya tak nak kerja keras sikit sbb semata2 nak ke hadapan…syed mokhtar pernah kata tidak apa kalau susah sikit sbb susah sikit itu yang akann kekal..tahniah syed zainal

• L0ngkangk0ng (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 10:21 am

dude…its not about really about rebadging at all…its more towards collabration which will benefit both parties. Based on current economy situation, its a good step taken by proton management, proton has done enough to prove its survival for last couple of years so by having this kind of partnership, it will certainly help reducing the cost of coming out with a new model…if you are talking about malaysian-engineered cars, yes, indeed im proud that malaysians can design their own cars, but i rather see them collabrating than seeing them collapse like what’s happening to the Detriot Big Three…

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 10:30 am

The waja hv been marketed as the premium model of the 1.6 lots for quite awhile. Leather seats, twin airbags, abs, xenon lights, campro CPS, all the bells n whistles that proton can possibly offer is provided as std equipment for waja. If they’re wise, they know they need to continue to do so with this model. Although we might be missing xenon n projector lens for normal ones, but hey, it’ll be able to be provided is SE models hopefully ;) btw, is the current lancer 2.0 selling here with leather seat?

gie7,

Bro, proton kene la juga beroperasi secara jangka panjang. sampai bila bole stakat bergantung kepada market sini je? Utk menjadi pengeluar kereta bertaraf antarabangsa, mereka harus bekerjasama dgn mereka yg lebih berpengalaman. Lotus setakat boleh memberi kepakaran utk membuat kereta niche, setakat kereta yg orang biasa x beli sebagai kegunaan harian.

Krisis ekonomi sedunia ini memberi peluang terbaik utk proton meng-approach pembuat kereta yg lebih terer dari diorg bila bab nak buat kereta praktikal utk org biasa, psal diorg takut diorg akan gulung tikar. Jadi, mereka kene bekerjasama berkongsi pengetahuan masing2 utk mengeluarkan produk baru yg pasti org nak beli.

Macam pasal proton boleh buat kereta yg handlingnye buat pemanduan harian seronok, mitsu boleh berkongsi pengetahuan teknikal mereka yang terbukti diiktiraf oleh pengguna di negara maju. Takyah tengok jauh, sini pun da bole tgk org tegila-gila nak sangat pakai kereta jepun, tak ke itu satu bargain yg pasti memanfaatkan rakyat? Langkah pertama kerjasama mereka ialah membuktikan bahawa mereka percaya kepada kemampuan masing2, iaitu dengan me-rebadge-kan 1, 2 model masing2. Lepas ni, bekerjasama la, bila model baru keluar, nnt penulis2 motor pasti akan komen kelainan model mitsu dari segi handling, xyah nak teka la itu usaha siapa kan? Utk proton pula, mereka akan tulis enjin dan transmisi rasa lebih efisien, apa yg nk ruginya?

Sekurang-kurangnya, kite tau bila proton nk me-rebadge, kerjasama ini akan diteruskan dengan adanya role utk proton mengdevelopkan model baru bersama-sama. Xde la jadi kuli angguk macam perodua tu, da utg jual myvi macam pisang goreng panas, ingat nak mula develop kereta sendri padahal pi rebadge rush pulak. Ni mpv baru diorg pun nak rebadge lagi, hampeh. xde petanda langsung bila diorg bole ada kemampuan sendri, padahal proton da siap nak di-rebadge oleh org jepun yg org kite pandang tinggi melangit.

Org kata org kaya ni sume ada mentor yg membimbing mereka ke kejayaan. Yang bagusnya, masing2 mentor berasaskan kepakaran masing2. Jadi mereka melakukan kerjasama ini dengan sama rata. Masing2 harus meletakkan ego ke tepi dulu, pentingnya, mereka harus berusaha utk kebaikan rakyat kita dan mereka.

Here’s to the beginning of proton-mitsu collaboration: Yoroshiku onegaishimasu~~!!

——–

http://zarfawardrobe.blogspot.com

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 10:35 am

Here’s a little comparo between Waja, Persona, Perdana and Lancer:
    Waja – 2600 mm (wheelbase); 4465 mm (length); 1740 mm (width); 1420 mm (height)
    Persona – 2600 mm (w); 4477 mm (l); 1725 mm (w); 1437 mm (h)
    Perdana – 2600 mm (w); 4615 mm (l); 1739 mm (w); 1400 mm (h)
    Lancer – 2635 mm (w); 4573 mm (l); 1760 mm (w); 1490 mm (h)

So the Lancer is slightly bigger than Persona (itself slightly bigger than Waja). Add 40 mm to the redesign bumpers and the Lancer can be bigger (just) than the Perdana. Along with a bigger 1.8 engine, that is sadly, not a CAMPRO, this Lancer-based Proton is a suitable Waja and Perdana replacement model

Paul mentioned “that the vehicle would pretty much be a Lancer with only minor changes to the design, even less than what Mitsubishi Taiwan has done to their version of the Lancer.” So Proton only has the front and rear to work with, the bonnet stays, the front and rear fender stays, rear boot lid stays…

If I chop the Proton Lancer, I can only chop the grille, bumpers, lights… and maybe the wheels. The rest stays Lancer.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:03 pm

Agreed with 9166… it’s time we get what we deserved in the first place either from local or foreign manufacuterer.

Also agreed with Prem3377 and Tokmoh. Good points raised there.

For gie7… bukan masalah rekaan atau buatan, tapi lebih kepada kemampuan Proton untuk terus kekal dalam industri ini. Memang kita bangga kalau Proton berjaya dengan kemahiran anak tempatan tapi kita juga harus realistik. Proton tidak mampu bersaing dengan pengeluar kereta Jepun, malah dengan pengeluar Korea pun. Pasaran Proton terhad di dalam Malaysia sahaja dan hanya dalam bilangan kecil di pasaran antarabangsa. Ini memberi beban kewangan kepada Proton untuk membuat R & D dan pembangunan model2 baru.

Dengan usahasama ini, pertama sekali kena diingatkan ianya bukan seperti usahasama yang dahulu. MoU yang lama adalah Proton menjadi anak didik MMC dimana semua yang ‘Tok Guru’ ajar kena ikut. Sekarang si ‘anak murid’ telah menjadi sama taraf dengan ‘Tok Guru’ walaupun ilmu masih kurang pada si ‘anak murid’. Kemungkinan besar, usaha ‘rebadging’ yang dinyatakan cuma salah satu usul yang dikemukan dan belum pasti dilakukan. Dan kemungkinan besar, apa yang akan terjadi ialah Proton dan MMC akan membangunkan satu model baru iaitu Waja dan Lancer baru. Kita cuma dapat mengagak kerana kita tidak tahu cerita sebenar dibalik pintu bilik mesyuarat itu. Jangan lah cepat melatah kerana apa yang dilaporkan oleh pihak media tidak semestinya tepat. Ok?

Back to the issue at hand, I seriously agree with what Prem3377 said. MMC need Proton more because they can see that Proton is making headway in new market, especially Middle East and China. Since MMC is considered a niche model, they don’t expect their models to get a big slice of the market. So by selling their car as Proton in certain market, they can take a bigger bite of the cake. They can still sell their Lancer under MMC badge and another under Proton badge with lower price which wouldn’t compete against each other. A double edge sword attack so to speak. It’s like what Toyota has been doing all along. So MMC has an ace up it’s sleeve and this also help Proton in sense that people outside Malaysia will see that Proton can produce reliable and quality car albeit a rebadge one at it. The same goes for Skoda, Seat, VW, Audi and Lamborghini. Yes, you might argue about the last two but they uses whatever parts that is available in VW Group Part Bin. If this can be done between Proton and MMC, maybe we can see Proton dropping it’s price due to lower cost. That my friend would scare the hell out of Perodua… :D

• erichigc (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:32 pm

This could be a very serious risk to the current marketting strategy. Buyers in china and those muslim countries will still support our POTONG? They migh as well buy mitsu car directly instead of buying rebadged mitsu.

Disappoint with the current management.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 12:38 pm

kingbrutal said,
    That my friend would scare the hell out of Perodua…

haha yah…and the A-class model by 2010 will make perodua beg for mercy from proton..

and guess what..mistu can sell our Proton cars in US a well..since it would cheapest in its class and when US economy is not doing well..it will be a sure seller..like how koreans were before this…

wow…proton has made small steps which can help them make giant leap..and like tokmoh said..making most of a situation..

good thinking SZ…and whoever came up with this idea…there is endless possibilities ahead..its time for us to make use of the japanese..

but proton…please use the GEMA engines for you MPV(damn nice engine to have as an option)…we can send toyota wish,honda stream,kia ronda and perodua upcoming MPV back to japan..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 1:16 pm

lets hope for the best….

maybe when the times come, proton and perodua will also collaborate….

so, become one big happy family… gives what the ppl want… toyota reliability (from perodua), performance wise (mitsubishi), good handling (proton/lotus), and good exterior and interior design (proton/mitsu/perodua)….

my 2cents…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 1:32 pm

rebadge may happen on the Waja replacement, because of limited source and time to develop new model in current period…. it may be a catalyst for proton to design a 2.0 engine, turbopowered with valve timing tech…

besides that, they are also rebadging our car… so? do we lost our pride?

gie7, i love ur pride… but, look at this on the positive side… last time, we thought that the japanese is kind enough to teach us, so, we dont take advantage on them, but now, learn as much as possible from them, dont let them manipulate us like the past…

u cant beat ur enemy if u dont know them….

• naz@proton (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:09 pm

from my personel view, lancer gt wt campro cps i.6 for waja replacement and lancer gt 2.0 (mitsui engine) rebadge for perdana replacement. For 1.6 price tag should b current waja price and 70-80k for 2.0 lancer gt rebabge. its a win2 situation and we call it rujuk janda lama. Bravo p2, Brave datuk sz.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:28 pm

so will the proton’s turbo engine development finishes sooner? :)

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:34 pm

i think not….

campro turbo is something else… what is the point to invest millions of ringgit, accomplished nothing…

it will go along with the collaboration with the mitsu, if something lacking, mitsu will provide some technical… so, it will get better…

• Hil-mei (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 3:19 pm

Just hope the quality and product offering is better….Most malaysian CKD are like so basic in terms of safety equipment….like CKD Swift with only 2 airbags…..while the Swift Sport have 6 airbags…..so the cars might not be death boxes…..but still lacking especially in NCAP ratings.

To the people who says safety doesn’t sell…..Bull sh*t……as long as a cars is reasonably priced, then its sells. But then I’m not hoping for 80k proton with 6 airbags, EBD and Vehicle Stability as standards…..too much to ask from proton who mostly sells locally.

But if they can offer the same spec as the current Lancer for reasonably cheaper….good enough….I’m a buyer…..

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 3:50 pm

I think the new hatch will use savvy/saga modified-platform…….
    beware p2…this time for sure the proton new hatch will slay ur myvi…huhu (also what will not_ah beng say?)

but i dont think malaysia is the main target market…still china n india

• mutt (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 4:30 pm

im going to cry for what Proton had achieved :P

actually myvi already slayed by Persona and Saga.. but then try to recover by SE edition which i believe still not fully recovered. hehe..

even im a Proton supporter, i still not going to buy Waja or Gen 2. too bad Persona doesnt have CPS engine. this news really make me feel of getting the Proton Lancer once it’s launch! yeay!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 4:38 pm

personally, i like to wait if persona gonna have a cps in future… if proton car sales is healthy, i think we can get the persona cps at lower price…

• mutt (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 5:18 pm

im just hoping that Proton will come out with N/A engine with 200bhp ++ oneday.. then i’ll never opt for vtec engine :P

Proton already made 100millions plus in profit this year. hope after collaborating Mitsubishi their profit can boost up to 500millions at least :)

• mutt (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 5:19 pm

im just hoping that Proton will come out with N/A engine with 200bhp ++ oneday.. then i’ll never opt for vtec engine :P

Proton already made 100millions plus in profit this year. hope after collaborating with Mitsubishi their profit can boost up to 500millions at least :)

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Personally, I think Proton will position this new rebadged Lancer as their new Premium sedan (same as what is happening to the current Waja). Both the Waja CPS and Perdana will be phased out, and the Persona will then likely be equipped with the CPS. Just my assumption. I could be wrong.

• mutt (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 5:42 pm

if they equipped Persona with CPS, then they need to phase out Gen2 for replacement model. cos nobody will buy Gen2 anymore that time unless the discount is something that’s hard to resist.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 5:59 pm

gen2&persona are like wira aeroback&wira sedan.
    some people prefer hatch to sedan :)

hmm..maybe this lancer platform substitute both waja&perdana?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 6:14 pm

good idea, why not?

at least if the next gen Waja is based on the SWEEEEEET Lancer (minor changes of exterior & interior must be done lah), sure will sell pretty well….

and of course must come with few options for the engine lah, including 1.6 CPS (or ABC XYZ whatsoever) and the 2.0 mivec……

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 7:06 pm

somebody is hoping proton to be mitsubishi… haish.. they misunderstand the deal la…

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Yes its seems like a good deal but Proton have to be careful….

Mitsubishi might want our Proton MPV platform since they only have Zinger for budget mpv with ladder frame chassis (Mitsubishi Challanger). It priced quite ok though starting from mere rm73k in china.

Grandis is premium mpv and stripping it down will impact on current owner (resale value). So they made a wise decision using Proton mpv monocoque chassis and rebadge as Mitsubishi, sell cheap and compete with Grand Livina in China, India etc.

However i felt quite uneasy since Mitsubishi is a better brand than Proton. By selling this mpv under Mitsubishi logo, we lost the opportunity to expand Proton brand image in those countries. Unless they pay Proton good royalty per-unit, Proton should be careful.

Regarding who need who, i think Mitsubishi also not that bad since they post rm0.5billion profit 1st half this year after few years loss. so its a win-win situation hope fully.

Again, careful with these Japanese ok!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 8:09 pm

Again, careful with these Japanese ok!

Agree, japanese is very keen to learn but is stingy to share… manipulate their tech before too late…

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Hmm.. Theo.. Just a Badge change? maybe more stuff to it?

BTW.. the WAJA name should be gone. A new name is much better.

• awak (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 9:18 pm

last time we have 4g13 and 4g15 , while mitsubishi has 4g91
    we have 4g93 ,while mitsubishi have MIVEC,

so we have to know what we want,

for campro CPS,it should act like a fully variocam plus with vvt, vvt part from mitsu.

• infinity (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 9:45 pm

since the current mitsu lancer is CVT, most probably the new waja=lancer will be 4-speed auto and 5-speed manual variants, so tat they wont overlap..then, the current waja and perdana will be phased out..persona will be face-lifted with a new cps variant..so gen2 and persona will be like wira and wira aeroback..
    until the time is right, a new perdana will be developed..perhaps the mitsu galant…
    then after perdana replaced, the cycle starts again…to replace gen2 and persona..then savvy(this could be the new A-class JV between proton and mitsu), then satria neo then saga, and then back to waja..not forgetting the new mpv..

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 10:11 pm

i think it would be better for proton to use mitsu platform an engine but use their own exterior and interior design as I fell that it will give a better identity for proton especially in export markets as there is nothing wrong with protons designs.

i also feel that proton should extend this car a bit and make the new perdana and phase out perdana and waja cps. then they can equip the persona with cps and rename it wira (and also rename the gen2 to wira aeroback).

just my view (don’t bash me la)

• kazai (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 10:48 pm

i think rename gen2 to persona aeroback is much better.

• rufus-x (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 2:13 am

to those who opposed this collaboration…

apa la korang ni..
    ckp mcm org takde akal pulak..
    talking like u r much-much better than those ppl in proton or DSZ himself..
    they know what they’re doing la..
    dont worry too much.. ;)

i think that this is by far one of the best decisions made by proton lar..

dont wanna say much..
    i’m just totally agreed with all that defended proton above..

but i do wanna say 1 thing..

dont u guys ever think that this collaboration might be 1 of proton’s effort for other type of engine that they might come up with..?
    i mean..so far, proton only have a campro with cps at 1600cc displacement..?
    dont u want higher displacements..? 1.8..? 2.0..? or above? more powerful engines..?

mitsu have that ok..mitsu have all the powerful engines and all the experties that proton will need for the technologies..

no one ever doubt mitsu’s engines right?

so, i think that proton is wise enough to make the deal with mitsu..

oh yeah, one more thing..

why aa some ppl so much not appreciate proton’s campro cps than the gema engine family..?

dont u guys know that our campro cps with its 1.6 displacement is one of the most powerful 1.6 NA engine around..?

to gie7..yes,u have to be proud of it bro..

125hp NA stock..can u tell me which engine can beat that on its turf..? – well, other than honda’s vtec laa…
    (itu pun, cps is only the beginning on what else proton could achieve after this..and do note that lotus itself described that campro cps is a low cost solution engine – cps is the 1st full working generation engine from proton ok..more will come after this..come on guys..)
    and that is stock engine brothers..
    lots more can be done to “open the seal”..
    just see the output after the old campro without the cps can achieve in neo r3 not long ago..

so,proton DO can achieve such things and this collaboration is something that can speed up the process i think..

so, the conclusion is..
    proton IS making a giant leap to make us malaysians more proud!

i am with the collaboration..

cheers~

• rufus-x (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 2:19 am

oh yeah..
    1 more thing..
    why u want to waste millions if not billions for RnD if u just can get the techs from somewhere else?
    other ppl got it..i’m not saying anything about stealing or copycat ok..
    but the name of collaboration itself is the best solution for the time being..

it will save billions for proton for them to do their own RnD after this i’m sure..

• awak (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 6:40 am

last time waja 1.8 employ renault engine with vvt, use vvt supply by toyota,

• kkleefx (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 10:38 am

Will the waja replacement based on the current or new model of Lancer?

If re-badged Lancer receive special tax treatment, where will it stand in WTO, FTA?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 4:28 pm

kei9 said,
    December 6, 2008 @ 8:36 pm

Hmm.. Theo.. Just a Badge change? maybe more stuff to it?

BTW.. the WAJA name should be gone. A new name is much better.

———————————————–

ermm… how about the name Proton ” WACER” –> WAja + lanCER… haha….

• szw (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 12:01 am

wasted , proton shudn’t have push VW away , imagine we get so much better quality…

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 9:51 am

I rather like a technology transfer between Proton and Mitsu. Proton may optimize some features from Mitsu to their upcoming Waja replacement.

Doing rebadge is some kind of backward step. Dont do like Perodua lah..(doing rebadge all the time).

Hope this is a collaboration..

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Fridz said,
    December 8, 2008 @ 9:51 am

I rather like a technology transfer between Proton and Mitsu.
    —————————————————-
    i also like if Mitsu can give teknology transafer,,,but do you think that mitsu so stupid to come and give proton all knowledge like that?
    there are 2 option
    1) let mitsu bought all p1 share( most dont like this,persona and MPV will die on the spot)
    2) rebange, example: let mitsu take >=2.0 class, for local NAP,
    and p1 cover 2.0 if p1 got untung from persona and saga outside sale?

but if only mitsu give lancer for NAP,,and p1 did not got oppurtunity to sale persona or saga outside,,then i will say p1 stupid. definately i gonna say that.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:47 pm

the mitsu lancer is a lousy car compared to the civic

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 8:41 am

LOL as usual Alpina with a useless and stupid 1 sentence comment on any proton topic…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:54 am

alpina is a lousy car compared to lancer compared to civic… hahaha

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 10:07 am

Prem3377 said,

December 6, 2008 @ 12:15 am

–can’t agree with u totally. they required each other equally. Mitsubishi hv more models than proton. both need more markets to be expanded – international and local. if Mitsubishi need more on proton they would hv buy proton shares earlier since proton had been looking for partnership quite sometime. Mitsubishi is a group of companies and thinking of something that we might not know. but somehow proton hv nothing to loose at this moment.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Haha… As i estimated, in the end due to market force. Proton will have to collaborate with others like Mitsu back for more newer models. Serve you all Proton fanatics who dont think about reality~! Even your Persona, Waja and Saga Auto gearbox is still using Mitsu also, so in the end your Proton will also have some Japanese gene inside.. :P

Proton will never have 100% made in Malaysia. Except they are really big like Hyundai group which have a lot of industry built togather. At least we can drive WAJALUTION by 2010, haha..

• isfufushah (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 12:35 pm

Ala, ape u guyz susah sgt klu p1 nak rebadge. Nak buat mcm mane klu x leh buat. Rebadge aje la. Mase buat gen2 dulu pun bnyk “trial n error”. Nak kasi vVt pun kene mintak kat lotus. (cps memang d best) tapi lepas beli lotus, klu x-hampeh la enjin campro skrang. Lagi 1, p2 memang la target dia nak buat kete murah. Tapi dah x mampu, nak buat camne. Klu x suke pun, myvi still d best.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 2:09 pm

LittleFire85 said,
    December 9, 2008 @ 12:08 pm

Proton will never have 100% made in Malaysia. Except they are really big like Hyundai group which have a lot of industry built togather. At least we can drive WAJALUTION by 2010, haha…

they become big because they are supported by the ppl… we are not, most ppl condemning it so, it will fall…

the dream of 100% malaysia already there but only few wants to contribute… how?

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 3:39 pm

#
    LogicallyMad said,

December 9, 2008 @ 8:41 am

LOL as usual Alpina with a useless and stupid 1 sentence comment on any proton topic…
    #
    autojohndoe said,

December 9, 2008 @ 9:54 am

————————-
    autojohndoe and logically are lousy biological objects compared to a stray dog which just got fucked by a cat

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 4:38 pm

as usual….dirty comments again..

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 3:03 am

replacement model for wira uses wira’s name for european market..persona..and it matches..(ok la)

but if this waja replacement takes the same way as wira’s..it won’t match..a car that has fierce face to be called impian?

it’s better to call:-
    -waja neo
    -wevo (waja-evo)
    -ejavo (dejavu for proton to colaborate again with mmc)
    -rewaja (replace waja)
    -wajah
    -gen.3
    -gen.tra
    -gen.tron
    -genevo
    -gen.x
    -gen.ten
    -genetix
    -evogen
    -tigra (waja is the 1st to use ‘tigerness’ proton emblem)
    -lander (instead of lancer)(sounds like lender=peminjam)
    -enerja (energatic waja)

• ‘tigra’ = i like. same as Opel Tigra in Gran Turismo for my old PS1 game
      ‘wevo’ also sounds cool to me

• torque (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 2:24 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    December 9, 2008 @ 3:39 pm

autojohndoe and logically are lousy biological objects compared to a stray dog which just got fucked by a cat

Sigh! :-( Great…abomination will likely to follow then…kinda harsh don’cha think dude…

• torque (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Great comments by some of the few people here. I applaued you all! Hmph! :-) It’s been a while now kingbrutal…welcome back!

• Alifz (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 4:36 pm

autojohndoe said,
    December 9, 2008 @ 9:54 am

– Yes i second that. That’s why it not on production..even Top Gear also making jokes on this car…haha

Just hoping this time is the true partnership, not like previous partnership as all P1 people know how stingy is Mitsu’s guys. Get all good technology, then chow..hahaha

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 7:37 pm

greatr, now more poser wajalution

• l-fye (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 10:26 am

here is my photoshop rendering based on mitsi lancer gt 08
    http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/7471/protonwajaeditpg1.jpg

• l-fye (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 10:35 am

sure all lancer gt owner will cry to see dis car gonna be proton..

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 6:58 pm

Agreed. Proton is going to tarnish the good LANCER name.

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:19 pm

yea, then those proton waja sure show off, i pay only rm70,000 also can get evo. not like you ppl so stupid pay rm300,000 for ur evo.

• f3gti (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Waja lancer will be nice but it quite long to get in 2010.
    Just pray we get malaysia version.
    For rebagde spatutnye x take time. Proton strategi who knows.

(*_*)

• awak (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 8:41 am

paul, is there any long term test drive report for proton car,
    like waja g2 persona neo saga,

this is as good as reading about new car,

sorry paul a bit off,.

• f3gti (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 1:31 pm

or maybe waja lancer vif camproturbo..with cps.
    pahh..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:06 am

how about the bad worse worst cars in malaysia

• lmst (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 12:59 am

i dont care about wajalution…
    i can’t wait to see mitsu’s persona..sure crop circle brake light will change to mitsu style… then everybody will mode persona to become mitsu again… huhuuhuh everyone don’t like proton..huhuuhuhuh

• mtay (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Why say “Wajalution” when u can say “Lanja” :P

• msashi (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 4:05 pm

awak said,

December 13, 2008 @ 8:41 am

paul, is there any long term test drive report for proton car,
    like waja g2 persona neo saga,

this is as good as reading about new car,

sorry paul a bit of

To AWAK, i wrote this a couple of months ago in the CPS thread. Hope this repost will help you out. Take care.

I received my G2 AIFM Manual last month. I agree with H.Singh & P. Tan’s story above. Previously I owned an Iswara AB Manual 2003. After sending the G2 for first service last week, I pushed the car close to the limit. This is what i can report.

+Fantastic handling! My oh my.. I thought my old Iswara was very neutral (thanks to Lotus handling), but the G2 can take corners at 30% higher speeds easily. Understeery at the limit, but can be cured with a bit of lift-off to bring the tail back in order. I think its because of the Silverstone ‘silent’ tyres not offering enough grip up front. Not as neutral as my brother’s EVO9MR, but the G2 does not come with limited slip diff or active yaw con. I can say confidently that the G2’s handles way better than my GF’s Vios. Steering feedback is great too but the Iswara was more communicative. G2’s Steering freeplay is too much for my liking but more direct than the Vios. Very balanced and weighted feel too, Vios is too light and vague.

+Engine makes a wonderful growl when pushed. Not so nice from the outside, but inside the cabin it sounds quite bassy. I didn’t hear any mechanical noises at high RPM that many complained abt in the first batch. Engine is not punchy & immediate as the Vios or Iswara, but the torque is relentless. There isn’t any strong G-forces when launched off the line, but speed builds up smoothly & quickly. Drag raced against the Vios, the G2 was ahead all the time.

-Drive by wire style throttle control I HATE! There must be something i can do aftermarket to make the throttle respond faster. There is lag between pushing the accelerator and the engine finally revving. There is a 1 second lag when accelerator is released. (update- I found this quite irritating when crawling in a jam, coz when i release the clutch, the engine has not responded yet and the engine stalled a few times. But you will get used to it – push the accelerator first before releasing the clutch. Another thing you can do is to release the clutch slowly and the car will move forward without pressing the accelerator.)

+Brakes are good enough for spirited driving. Haven’t smoked them yet. Gearchange is fantastic, smooth and sharp. Dropping a cog is smooth when the speed is right, but double de-clutch required if you want to drop 2 cogs or the car is moving faster than the gear.

+Overall the car feels great. Smooth, quiet and firm. I still think the interior plastic feels more upmarket than the Vios (though my GF still claims her Vios plastic is ‘thicker’). (Update- The back seats fold down perfectly flat. I put 6 potted plants on top of a piece of plywood n drove to Rawang.)

+G2’s power window button is lit. Makes it easier to lower the window at night. I’m tired of lowering the back window of the Vios accidentally whenever I get to a toll!! G2 does not have ignition key light, so expect some scratches on the plastic there after some time.

+Remote boot opening is great!

+Nice lateral support on the seats, but lacking lumbar support.

-Build quality is something you cant not talk about when it comes to Proton and its the same case here. The chassis makes constant ‘nyek-nyok’ noise whenever i drive over speed humps. (Update- Got the sounds fixed by PESB. Feels brand new again)

-Gear knob plastic is deformed, but I’m going to replace it with an aluminum knob anyway.

-Some widget fell off the fuel filler cap and i dun know how to put it back. So now i am using my fingernails to open the cap until next service.

-A/C fan is making funny noise but apparently this is common and can be rectified.

-(Update- Average FC is reported at 6.1 litre/100km. I dun know how accurate this is but Rm50 petrol at Rm1.80 pump price goes about 330km average depending on how fast i drive- ps. my car is manual)

Otherwise its a great car for RM53k new. Maybe some think the Vios is better and is willing to fork out RM30k more for a live rear axle and “thicker” plastic. For me the G2 is fine until i can afford an EVO.

• aquatallica (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 9:59 am

I LOVE MY WAJA…..COME ON GUYS AND GALS GIVE IT UP FOR WAJA IN THE NAME OF LOVE……hehehehhe

• did proton announce when this car will launch?

because i like waja , but it too old already……

should i buy the old waja or wait for this 1?

• i dont thing that 1st image is new lancer,the front lamp is similar like BMW X3.the 2nd image also not a new look of Proton Waja… but we dont know..just wait la…

• rubapoison kiss on Feb 27, 2009 at 1:25 am

boleh juga proton tapi i nasihatkan kepada proton jgn copy design kereta org lain tak baik tau ok hah proton .

• shamsul on Feb 28, 2009 at 12:51 am

i think why proton do this collaboration is to overjump the time barrier..

they are now successfully developing 2 type of engine..Campro CPS and Campro AFI..correct me if i am mistaken..and to be abble to produce a high segment car such as perdana they need a different enginein order to develop, lots of know how and money needed..so by doing this collaboration with Mitsu especially the lancer type where the produce engine with variant from 1.8-2.4, proton will have the chance to get the know how faster than having to do it on their own.pls the R&D cost also will bw less..it a very good condition for proton.on yhe other jand the MoU also consist that Mitsu will rebadge the Persona and MPV..as we know that its not easy to penetrate China and India market.but with the reputation that Mitsu has, i think it will not be so hard for them to sell the cars, plus proton will increase in production capasity. thiswill result in more jobs for malaysian and also we can have cheeper cars in the future because of proton can produce cars in a big volume..so..dont think this as a step backward.i think this is a long jump for proton..

• finally something better than the campro. good for Proton.

but… mitsubishi rebranding the persona?? now thaaat is weird. they are downgrading themselves!

• I dont think Mitsubishi need to badged Proton car coz they have much product car like mini, compact, sedan, MPV, Van, lorry…See;
    http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.jp/lineup/index.h…

Under the G Tax protect, Malaysia still a huge car market for Mitsubishi if working together with Proton. At least P2 still rebadge mini compact car. No doubt Wira was a most successful car and the best selling in past 12 year. Even now it still have higher 2nd car price. And Proton need help from Mitsubishi to penetrate China and India market but world market.

Nice to see they finally come together, and hope so the new waja come with 1.6~1.8L 50~60K. It should be a big success car after Wira.

• error on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:02 pm

any idea when the new waja be launch?

• hp7500 on Mar 31, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Where in any of the press releases about this collaboration does it say the word 'Lancer'? Even the Starbiz report quoted by Paul in http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…
    does not say anything that the next Waja will be based on the current Lancer.

The only thing we have to go on are what 'the sources in Proton' said: "…the vehicle would pretty much be a Lancer with only minor changes to the design"

How reliable are these sources, Paul? Had to belanja them teh tarik or not? :)

• proton fans on Apr 12, 2009 at 11:53 am

wah!! cantik2.. kene beli ni.. (",)

• lee yamin on May 14, 2009 at 7:27 pm

baru ja nk beli pesona……….kna tggu nih…paul, tapi btul ke????????

• doublezee on Jun 09, 2009 at 12:47 am

proton must work on their workmanship and quality so that their car won't be as troublesome as we all know. and proton genuine parts, the quality is just the same as the not genuine ones, but the price is almost double.

people will still buy the car because of imported cars are more expensive. so what the heck, other malaysians won't care as much as i care.

i'm proud to be a malaysian but i'm not proud to be a malaysian car owner.

• broprobrossscps on Jun 12, 2009 at 11:36 pm

the engine should be CPS turbo for New WAJA Lancer. Baru ganaih beb…

Dpt sentuhan dari lotus skit bab ride & handling baru mantopp..

• john syiah on Jun 17, 2009 at 12:59 am

hidup waja…pada mereka2 yg bg bad comment kat atas tu semua jeles..ntah2 kereta pun dorang xpernah pakai

• kalau kuar betul mcm gmbar kat atas…waja baru ni mesti dpt smbutan hngat bro…gua kompom lh.

• teruskn…teruskn…jgn peduli apa org kata…org yg bnyk komen tu pun sbnarnya pkai kete jepun jgak..dlm bisnes kita mesti mgutamakan pelanggan..buat satu soal selidik betul2.sy rasa dlm 10 org yg kita ambik secara rawak..mesti skurg2nya 7/10 akan kata waja baru ni cun…sorry yek..teman pun pkai waja skrg ni..mesti tukar baru kl btul2 mcm imej kt atas tu…

• tommyboy on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Hello wake up la! You think the japs will badge our persona/Exora for certain markets???I don't believe it!!! Probably Poton claims it so that people out there will say then it is OK for Poton to rebadge Lancer!!

• komeng on Jun 27, 2009 at 6:41 am

kalau betul waja amik acuan lancer ok gak. kalau persona amik acuan lancer sebab persona tengok yang asal nampak sporty. cuba waja amik acuan corolla altis dan perdana amik acuan camry sebab waja dan perdana seperti kereta eksekutif. interior pun buat acuan yang semacam dengan kereta-kereta tersebut amacam… ada berani!!!

• jacko on Jun 27, 2009 at 8:03 am

acuan..acuan..acuan…beli la yg ori beb.. Mcm mana nk hapuskan cetak rompak kalau industri kita pun tak habis2 acuan je…hodoh..

• fadzly on Jun 27, 2009 at 9:40 am

tak percaya sudah tommy boy

• Elvis on Jun 27, 2009 at 9:58 am

I am all for it!! Bring on Proton Lancer or Proton Wancer or Proton Waja Lancer or Mitshu Waja. The most important thing is can Plug and Play bodyparts from Mitshubishi to Proton. JUST LIKE THE OLD DAYS!!! For those against it, i pity you guys for being stupid and arrogant. Wise old man say, copying is a form of complement. Many Malaysian products are been copied by Indonesians, indonesians think we are very smart and advanced. And just think….those products were copied from Japan!!!

• Straw on Jun 28, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Oi sudah merdeka berapa lama? masih mau mitsu tolong eh? lagi mau main copy copy tapi quality tarak copy.. proton can't make us proud ka?

tapi tuan-tuan dan puan-puan sila beli barang buatan malaysia, ia nampak macam barang jepun dan ada jaminan CEPAT rosak.. BAGUS..

• Mohd Saiful Ameri on Jun 29, 2009 at 1:01 am

surely buy this car if da new waja like this

• Never like proton product, but this lancer I dig!!May be its not a proton. Anyway, I am buying 1. Correct me if I am wrong, I can already for-see Malaysia's cities flooded with these WAJAs with Mitsu's badge slap-on, carbon-hooded and bodykitted to look like an EVO. Unless you look through their tinted windows, and look at the interior, you are not going to be able to tell apart a real EVO and a modded WAJA, now thats cool! Street full of EVOs!

It will be a good work horse car for run around use, but don't expect to feel too special or proud driving one of these, coz these lancers is going to flood the city like current Myvi and Wira.

• MdFrd E'In on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Aku tak kisahla model apa Proton nak keluarkan. Aku cuma nak nasihatkan Proton, bila keluar model baru, janganla bandingkan dengan model lain sama seperti yg mereka buat masa keluarkan Exora. Kalau Proton mula bandingkan dengan kereta lain, pengeluar lain pun akan buat perkara sama. Setakat ni, aku perasan KIA RONDO menggunakan taktik sama dengan Proton. Aku nak tunggu Honda, Toyota, Hyundai DLL buat perbandingan pulak. Kereta mereka takdela bangus sangat, biasa je. Tapi, tengoklah "impact"nya nanti, bila banding membanding terus diamalkan.

Apapun, dalam ekonomi tak menentu ni, aku akan terus "kayuh" je dengan WIRA & sebijik MPV yg aku dah ada ni. Nak tukar-tukar lagi tu, tunggu la dulu sementara gaji belum berkembang ni.

• Victor on Jul 01, 2009 at 7:10 am

shyt.. if Proton really produce this car.. Mitsubishi or those Lancer owner can sell off their Lancer already.. Damn, please don't made this car into production.. It would be a shame for Lancer owner.. Proton, please remain the "speciality" for lancer owner pls.

• Bull shit…no idea to create a new model than copy from another model on the road like mitsu…

• Mohd Shukri on Jul 06, 2009 at 8:17 pm

Why u ppl make so much havoc about this rebadgee things? lot a company been doing it now.. therefore they can save a lot of resources. Who said the perodua & proton just put on their logos to the cars they want to sell hera in malaysia. These 2 companies been sending their engineers & designers to Japan to work together with Mitsu, toyo, daihat etc in order to come up with a nice design that will be well accepted by ppl all over the world … not only here in Malaysia…

• Maximus on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:01 pm

I guess the people who are actually excited are those who likes the current Lancer but the price for it is too steep. Thats why they are going for the WajaLancer, Slap a mitsu badge on and *POOF* i have a lancer too !

But honestly speaking, Our countries car market is a little skewed, if this WajaLancer sells for RM70-90K, it is still considered expensive when u compare the Income/carPrice ratio of our country to that of other countries like Germany, US and other countries where Car Owners get their money's worth when purchasing a vehicle, thats whats going to shape the car industry in the end.

IMHO, For Proton, it doesnt matter what u rebadge, If you DO decide to do it, Take a product and make it BETTER and in the same time more AFFORDABLE -understand the term *National Carmaker* being cheaper than a Vios doesnt mean u are you are affordable. It would be really sad to see Proton going backwards in a very much Protected market where other cars have been taxed so much so that Protons looks affordable.

• sexy mama on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:17 am

no way u losers…

• bro simple on Jul 09, 2009 at 9:08 pm

I'm waiting model Persona type 'R' the new model

• hardrisk on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:40 pm

I’m waiting model Saga BLM type ‘R’ the new model

• amerz on Jul 14, 2009 at 9:03 pm

I hope this one don't hv windows problem and qc issue like common proton car.

• SAGA is a very value for money car, but I will never be caught drivin it, coz I dont want to park far away while visiting friends. And if you run down the spec sheet of a SAGA, ''Picking up Girls/Coolness '' is not even an optional add-on, NOT even after market!! But Wajalution, can get that spec in OEM package! If anyone just have to buy Local car, hardcore Malaysia-boleh gruppies, Wajalution is the better option! Don't say I never buy local car, this will be my first one!

• Alitstar on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Really hope Proton will just stick with the Lancer rebadge. Apart from her current economic circumstances, service competence and reputation. Less design embarasment if they try to facelift it to something else. And great reduction in R&D work (if any).

Just look at the Lancer Fortis, you can see the BMW 1 series headlamp, E60 lower bumper and fog lamp, Camry radiator grille and what seems like a Hyundai doors.

Its a beautiful car, keep it that way.

• Waja Owner on Aug 02, 2009 at 10:28 pm

I would say I dont like this Waja Replacement ideas. I think Waja has become profitable product to Proton since already it already pass Profit Return Point or somthin' else like that la in economic term. Therefor, why need new model? Just ammend a bit the shape (especially the front..euwww) & improve some minor past defect, then sell it as Waja '09. Better profit margin & some more can established Waja image. Compared to other previous productions, Waja quite comfortable & spacious. Just the face..hard to find accessories to improve..

Then sell it under Mitsubishi badge in 3rd world country…Paul, can you comment..

• ferol on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:54 am

xpo aku tgu kmunculan mu wahai waja lancer….msti gmpak

• acir2004 on Aug 09, 2009 at 1:54 pm

i need proton to team up with Subaru..create some turbo charge car under rm100,000 this will make proton sell more car if price is right, design of the car is sporty and no more add on sport accessories as usual. I love those boxer flat 4 4 wheel drive vehicle :). Proton can also consider to make a rear drive car for drifters who wanna test proton car to the best. Its take take time money and effort to make world most favorite sports car in the future…

acir2004 grillflame dot net

• Alithome on Aug 10, 2009 at 5:54 am

Or maybe Proton should do a public poll, of which design to copy. Then probably they can sell what they produce.

Perhaps they can also incorporate a module type front and back facia. Those local plastic moulding companies can do wonders. Just count how many bumpers were produced for a Saga.

Then the buyers can opt for which facia they want, BMW, Subaru, Mitsubishi, Honda, Toyota, etc…

• fuyoo on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:40 pm

the trend of changing wira to evo will be back….this time waja to evo 10

• Cibai on Aug 27, 2009 at 2:51 am

Kaninabu Proton is fucked up.. The Perdana itself gulps down more petrol then it can swallow. So a next Wajalancer? Man I hope they do it good and not place a fucking old Evo -1 engine into a waja. Goddamnit malaysian policitics and car productions.

• ahmad on Sep 01, 2009 at 10:15 am

aiyoo, ini la org malaysia,

baru 20 tahun belaja buat kereta dah nak sombong..

apela salahnya belaja daripada mereka yg dah expert…

Good move from Proton…

• run budget on Nov 21, 2009 at 1:13 am

whatever is, p1 should think about a DESIGN matter. Almost p1 car look an 'imbalance design' with entire exterior, which have on Saga(back), Waja (front design), Savvy(from where that's design comes), Gen2 and Persona(headlamps too small than body) and Exora (entire body too high than front part). Thats a main issues why the Waja and savvy and the certain model going down sales(my brother told me as P1 salesman). Even Persona or Gen2 (in my sedan list to buy) im think twice and twice when i compared with new City, Vios, Accent and coming soon FORTE! But im still waiting p1 to unveiled a new sedan which are not related anymore with previous design. As Malaysian i'm still proud to P1. I hope a new Waja becomes a differ.

• make good product, good design – u can sell

• Alice on Nov 23, 2009 at 1:48 am

When the new proton waja will be sell out?How much for this proton waja?

• well done proton !! PROTON NOW KNOW…WHY PERODUA GET SECRET SUCESS 4 YEARS FOR PAST YEARS..BCOZ USED JAPAN DESIGN BRANDED.  VIVA,MYVI & NOW NEW MPV ALZA REBAGE FRM TOYOTA CARS,MIRA,PASSO,SETTE.  NOW WHEN PROTON USED CHASIS & BODY LANCER…SURE  CAN BEAT PERODUA…

• Nicholas on Dec 05, 2010 at 10:50 am

perodua get sales because all the models that you have stated didnt come in to malaysia so no one knows all that models so they thought that all perodua models like viva,myvi and alza was new.

proton inspira is based on a model that did make it into malaysia so malaysians will know
      proton inspira smart guys get it(the car)

i mean smart guys dont get it(the car)

• saifulameri on Jan 18, 2010 at 7:43 pm

I'm in dilemma… actually after make comparison and test drive between lancer GT and Civic 2.0.. i'm in love with lancer gts… but now i heard that proton had canfirmed that waja 2010 are based on lancer gt… eventhough, the spc n engine are different.. which one i need to prefer to buy in….

• hisham on Jan 24, 2010 at 7:58 am

It will be great if this will be the new waja.Proton has always made car so every malaysian can have one.

• ok..engine and gear box will be from Mits. that'll be great,but that's it,and we'll get a less quality Lancer

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:18 am

i think that the new proton waja should be like fortis 2.0. if not that is not my taste. and also the prices shoud be the lowest one.Why cause i have not enough money to get it.please helpme

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:19 am

hi.testing

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:33 am

saya nakproton waja baru nanti harga berpatutan dan teknologi serta design menarik. baru saya suka dan berselera

• Proton Wancer?

Proton Jala?

Proton Walawala?

Proton Lembing?

Proton Cucuk?

or finally just Proton Jalan.

• bawang on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:10 am

c segment is waja replacement model..and lancer is the same segment..for perdana is d segment car like mitsu galant..hope WRM spec like kia forte and price arond 60k-70k..

• WRM spec to be like Forte?…wat a joke….only taking some old Mitsu gearbox n body….then put some crappy Proton technology….then sell at 80K….those who buy tht is equal to suicide…really stupid…Proton's safety, NVH and quality is at junk level while Koreans are on par with Europe and Germany…

really…the design team at Proton can balik kampung tanam jagung….these kind of copy cat jobs even my grandma can do….

• Mufasa on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:10 am

definately new waja will not as same spec as new mit lancer….

maybe 1.8 , maybe old engine,

if same spec,what will happen to current lancer owner? price drop? so after that no body want to buy any mit new future model, possibility of price drop … dont dream aa … but if same spec , i going to book one… hahaha

• aku noob on Jul 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm

almost same spec la bro….engine mivec….go book one laa…i will book too :-D

• andrew on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:28 am

Cant wait to see more spy pix.I am start waiting this model to introduced in the market.

• ProTon ProuDer on Mar 13, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Proton Waja brothers…

• akolo on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:55 am

hopefully the price around RM 80 000 above,

then stupid mupid , dont waste money to buy the new waja.

lets the affordable buy, and our road not sesak with new waja…

you know lah malaysia style, get cool car can be samseng,

• ommph on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:37 pm

what are u talking about?

• aku noob on Jul 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

aper la ko nie…biar la new waja bnyk kat malaysia nie…dgn harga rm70-80…lebih power drpd vios or city…saper yg dah beli city or vios tu dah nak menyesal la nie….hahahaha

• Motor-head on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Andai menjadi kenyataan.. Wajalution yang sebijik Evo X… harg aunder 80K… Akan ku sambar sebijik… color Merah… garanggg…………..

• azlan on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:25 pm

barangan jepun memang terbukti dari segi kualiti. saya menyokong penuh waja menggunakan spesifikasi luaran dan dalaman mitsubishi. mungkin dari segi bentuknya akan dapat diperbaiki agar kelihatan lebih menarik. Saya yakin akan kereta yang dihasilkan lebih berkualiti dan mendapat lebih banyak tempahan daripada pembeli

• Upsetminded on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:25 pm

can’t wait for this “transformers” !!! will grab 1 if they use lancer engine..

• aku keje ngn proton. harga x lebih dr 80k. cc 1.8.. design sebijik lancer..ada beran ke

• azreeny on Aug 03, 2010 at 12:29 pm

kalo xlebih dr 80k okaylah tu..mana lagi enjin dia 1.8..saya pon suka lancer…ramai gak yg transform waja jadi lancer sebelom ni kan..skang da ader design cmtu so apa lagi..hehehehe

• 1.8 cc, engine apa? hmm renault lagi ka?

• Putra on Aug 04, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Salam bro Razi.. Kalau beran kasi up la full spec WRM ni.. Let us hear the feedback..

• harga lbh kurang 70k-75k
    untuk model pertama….kluaran cbu..import.
    500unit shj.siapa cpt dia dpt…..n exora akn kuar model turbo n green engine.
    tunggu kmunculan waja dlm bln 10….

• harga murah dari vios spec e.
    sbar sape yg nk bli lancer 2……

• nk bli kol aku nanti……..nk booking awal pun bole gak……booking awal dpt cbu model…

• JACk LIm on Aug 15, 2010 at 11:06 am

Just get some news from my fren… THis car i is price around 90K …. which it be compatible with T vios or H city? not sure…. we will see about that =)

• aizatnaser on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Kebanyakan kat sini yg kutuk :proton pemalas,dah 25 tahun pun masih nak copy org punya kete….dan lain2….(ini semua minda kelas ke tiga).Mereka fikir buat kereta hanya design.Itu org x blaja namanya…..Proton ada kepakaran utk design…itu tak memberi masalah.Tp anda kene fikir….strategi baru proton adalah untuk memisahkan segmen persona & waja.Dimana ketika ini Persona sdg mendapat permintaan tinggi.Model baru waja ini pula adalah model yang pelanggan sasarannya tak sebesar prospek bagi model persona (dr segi CC).Adalah lebih baik Proton rebange model company lain bagi menjimatkan kos dimana kos yang dpt dijimatkan 2 akan d gunakan utk RnD model2 akan dtg seterusnya mencapai sasaran tahunan kalo tak silap 1 tahun 2 hingga 3 model baru.Kepada yang suka sgt kutuk proton…fikir-fikir lah semula.Anda terlalu fokus Proton copy model Mitsu,kenapa anda tidak fikir mengapa Mitsu bersetuju untuk memberikan keizinan dgn syarat pertukarannya adalah model Exora & Persona?Ape yg ada pada 2 model ini sehingga mereka bersetuju?

• drogbob E.D on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:19 am

sape yg kutuk2 proton pemalas la.. peniru la.. pejadah sewaktu drnye la…. korg kne fkr r.. kite org malaysia ni bkn semua kaya2 nk beli kete import je… mslhnye skrg proton bikin kete yg malaysian mampu pakai tp dgn sentuhan n citarasa yg sporty ala import. x ksh r bro lau x dpt pkai mitsu ori aslkn ade colabo, engine touch yg same, kre k r kn… psl logo n body kete tu, standard r… lau korg ckp body kete malaysia x selamat, risiko mati dlm kemalangan tu tinggi, so x yah r pkai kete bro… naik bas atau LRT je… xpun lau korg kaya sgt beli la lori, keras sket ye x? senang kata, lau korg sedar bodywork kete malaysia off the chart, korg reti2kn la drve dgn berhati… bkn salah bro drv slow2, kire korg bg org tgk kete korg la tol x?? x ke bangga?? senang kata, aku fhm pe yg proton nk sampikn dlm penjualan model baru ni bro… proton nk keluarkn 1 model yg mpunyai 1 sentuhan n citarasa import tp pd kdr mampu rakyat malaysia yg berpendapatan sederhana. pe2 pn aku pun x sbr nk tgk full spec kete ni… congrats proton.. tq

• spkcre on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:59 am

saya ade jumpe picture kete nie on road dalam website lain..kalau di bandingkan dengan yg merah tu,hampir sama.ada kah betul model nie>?hmm..

• dalam berita TV3 semalam bgtau, dua boleh bulan december ni…satu upgrade yang sedia ada dan satu lagi model ganti waja…bulan 12, lambatnye kuar….

• sangam boy on Aug 28, 2010 at 3:41 pm

go proton go….

• sangam boy on Aug 28, 2010 at 3:42 pm

proton boleh aku sokong proton 100% tak sabar nak beli waja baru nih…

• anand on Aug 30, 2010 at 1:35 pm

there’s always a diference between Panasonic and Pensonic

• panasonic adalah berbeza dengan pensonic.kebetulan bunyi hampir sama. proton guna teknologi mitsubishi.so you are wrong.

• raizil on Aug 31, 2010 at 1:52 am

No bashing no fun.

Comparing Proton to honda, toyota is obviously funny. you cant compare Sean Connery and Zac Efron. Experience is name of the game. Go Proton

Some hot topic here too
    http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=136591

• anand on Aug 31, 2010 at 9:35 pm

And the funnier one is the Proton….don’t worry, Proton will not go anywhere….still waiting for a model from Proton which will be born 100% from Malaysians…

• Mohd Zaee on Sep 04, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Aku bangga gak proton guna teknologi jepun ni…. aku merupakan pelaggan setia proton dari first model…pertengahan hingga sekarang persona….tapi kali ni aku kecewa sedikit dah 3 tahun pakai persona AT ia asik prolem gear box…hingga 30hb ogos 2010 kereta ni buat hal lagi dah ganti gear box baru masih lagi kena masuk wad…………….kereta ganti terpaksa tunggu giliran Raya dah dekat…..ini semua atas kesilapan teknikal menyebabkan aku menaggung……bulan 5 tu ari dah gantung 1 bulan tanpa kereta ganti kerana masalah yang sama…..minta proton semakin baik buatannya….agar rakyat lebih yakin dengan kend nasional….keluar je persona tak sabar aku nak beli sekarang aku tak sabar menanti kereta tu dibaiki……….

• Mohd Zaee,

Bukan first case … kalau masuk paper … tak tau berapa puluh ribu customer akan masuk complaint …

Skg .. Nampak Jepun Model … tak pi .. tak tau lah … quality .. pasang … matching … QC …

Takut jugak kalau pikir balik nak ambil kereta ni …. Baik ambil Fiesta …

• megat on Sep 05, 2010 at 5:08 pm

mashallah,it is niceeeeee car i’ve never seen build by proton,congrate

• anand on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:43 am

Bodoh…proton copy la…mana la dia orang ada otak nak design sendiri…

• CopyCat on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:23 am

YES..finally after long waiting…I hope Jeremy Clarkson will review to the world this new Waja Lancer what happen to Proton after 25 years of what they call Pride, Passion & Progress.

• abu dhabi on Sep 20, 2010 at 10:57 am

brape agak2 harga dia kawan2??

• AntiProton on Sep 20, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Proton is such a disgraced!
    can’t even design and make a ‘wow’ car to Malaysian and the world…

taken Mitsubishi Model and be its own model and claim is PROTON…
    sigh…

• with current eco situatiion and also government policies on outside cars…. compared to vios and civic price nowadays…. why not we just bare with proton decision to rebadge Lancer… at least we have a better car with off course a very low price…. great move proton…

• anand on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:44 am

Firstly from what I heard, it’s only having 1.8cc engine….no 6 speed gear box….and most of the parts are not MMC….all ciplak…just wait for the power window to get spoiled…

• I heard the body is actually designed by Potong. It is Potong strategy to let MMT to market first. Then launch it a few years later here so that it has better perceived value because people believe Japanese product must be good one.

• Yap Gris Som on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:45 am

Proton should focus to make cars in 1.3L & 1.6L segment, while using upscale Mitsubishi model to compete with Toyota Camry or Honda Accord in Malaysia market. Proton don’t have the technical know-how and financial strenght to compete in all car segments.

• i like…wajalution…how much?

• Picknsee on Sep 27, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Can the car move by 1.6cc campro engine with look a like lancer platform …? ? ?

• japan mitsubishi lancer 2008 for asian market. proton help japan continue its sales

• hasriz on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Bila Nak Lancar ni

• jenny on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:23 pm

who already book this?

• routakano on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:07 pm

alamak…ramai la lepas ni mat proton INSPIRA kejar kereta aku, dia cakap kita sama, we are from mitsubishi., anyways bagus utk proton, tang mana engineer malaysia designed ..tang depan kereta aja, hehehehe..btw,
    kita main kira2..

INSPIRA
    rm95000-rm10000(kalau ada byr deposit banyak ni) x 4.2/100=rm3570
    rm3990x9 (sbb tak mampu nak buat loan pendek)=rm32130
    rm95000+32139=rm117130
    rm117130/108 bulan = rm1084.53

ORI Lancer,

rm124800-rm13000( 10% deposit)=rm111800
    rm111800x3.3/100=rm3689.4
    rm3689.4 x 9 tahun =33204.6
    rm111800+rm33204.6 =rm145004.6
    rm145004.6/108 bulan =rm1342.6

beza Lancer with 18 inchi rim and best nya suspension, confirm assemble from japan, quality japn, semua org sibuk pi kedai potong nak carik rim jepun konon..hehe ialah..

rm1342.6-rm1084.53=rm258.1

rm258.1/ 30 hari = rm8.6, nilai ni lg murah daripada dunhill 20 btg, apa sangat rm8.6.

jamin, 100,000km warranty, 2 year service free,
    banding kan harga sebijik tayar lancer ori rm900 yokohama n rim mitsu ori japan..

oleh itu, paklah kata..BIJAK BERBELANJA..BELI LAH ORI.

• andak on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:55 pm

sudah hilang kepercayaan pd quality proton. mula-mula je gempak pastu??? semua barai.

• Halim on Oct 17, 2010 at 10:46 pm

routakano,

mana you dapat tau yang suspension INSPIRA lain daripada Lancer GT?

• razak on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:36 am

lu tak abih kira, kira la betul2 macha…..rm 258.1 x 12 x 9 = rm 27864….kalo yg cerdik duit ni buat d/pmnt rumah….tapi yg sengal beli batch mitsubishi…..suspension LOTUS lagi bagus ke mitsubishi lagi bagus?…..lu pikir la sendiri macha…..study dulu pasal kereta sebelum komen…..

• CA YA LAAH…..

• ac macinni on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:30 pm

to:proton ceo,

let make it a clean,neat and beautiful business marketing that is to price peg against vios,city or any related class car.u might ask why?this is to show that proton is willing to service of the malaysian citizen demand that the malaysia government got the capability and talent back in the 90’s to give malaysia cheap and can afford car.that when proton is showing a gentlemanship and got the capital to earn a little bit with more supply without the minus world-class standard
    thus show the world.do it right.
    and daring to do it big with the most best-buy with least cost as possible.
    tx,
    mark hiew chee yun.

• jalil on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:41 am

tahniah ! proton. cam ni baru cun. tak le macam savy, juwara dan tiara. barulah futuristik. nak buat cam na, memang otak kita tak setaraf otak jepun terpaksa tiru sebiji macam model mereka. apa pun diharap kualitnya juga ditiru. moga rakyat malaysia tidak terkena tipu dengan retorik luarannya saja.

• After 25 years, Proton is back to re-badging japanese cars. I am sure our former PM is very proud of their achievement and progress…

• I have always been supportive of proton as much as I support the person behind its existence, but one thing I still do not quite understand is how Proton managed to sell its model cheaper overseas. Being Malaysian I am proud driving proton car. I suppose all government department must use proton car as their official vehicles, and for that matter proton should produce 4X4 diesel version with engine capacity 2,500 cc and above.

• Hakim96 on Oct 15, 2010 at 3:06 pm

terbaikkk

• After so many years in the market,,,,, in the end guna peoples barang balik OMG!!!!! WHAT A BIG LAUGH!

• petaling street car.
    cheap car ? rm95k ? worth for buy the car which have power window failure ? engine over heat ? absorber tahan 2 tahun ? aLL this is proton all-time defects

• Nazri Harun on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:03 pm

To Datuk Zainal;
    Tahniah Proton kerana melancarkan model baru Waja. Tapi kenapa tiru hampir 95 peratus model Lancer itu. Kalau nak tiru harus tiru cara SMART. Bentuk keseluruhan ok. Bentuk bahagian depan, sisi dan dalaman ok, tapi bahagian belakang kenapa lampu belakang ditiru 100 peratus bentuk Lancer. Mungkin lampu belakang itu boleh dibesarkan sedikit atau diubah sedikit bentuknya, agar tidak ketara sangat nampak 100 peratus lampu asal yang diguna Lancer. Lakukan sedikit inovatif pada lampu belakang. PROTON BOLEH….Tq.

• Nazri Harun on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm

To Datuk Zainal;
    Tahniah Proton kerana melancarkan model baru Waja. Tapi kenapa tiru hampir 95 peratus model Lancer itu. Kalau nak tiru harus tiru cara SMART. Bentuk keseluruhan ok. Bentuk bahagian depan, sisi dan dalaman ok, tapi bahagian belakang kenapa lampu belakang ditiru 100 peratus bentuk Lancer. Mungkin lampu belakang itu boleh dibesarkan sedikit atau diubah sedikit bentuknya, agar tidak ketara sangat nampak 100 peratus lampu asal yang diguna Lancer. Lakukan sedikit inovatif pada lampu belakang. .Tq.

• wak ja on Nov 05, 2010 at 2:04 pm

salam bro Nazri.. ini bukan tiru tp sememangnya 95% model Lancer.. cuma proton yg bawak balik pasang diMalaysia..kalau proton nk buat semua kos adalah tinggi.. Mitsubishi pulak dh upgrade Lancer 2.0 ke 2.4..jadi model 2.0 diberi kpd proton utk pasaran diMalaysia dgn harga yg lbh rendah.. dah tgk model Lancer 2.4 hatchback?? RM130,000.00…

• Nazri Harun on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Apa yang dilakukan oleh Proton sekarang ialah amalkan konsep OPEN INNOVATION dimana telah menggunakan hasil kerja Mitsubishi untuk diterapkan bagi keluaran Proton. Kaedah ini sama digunakan Syarikat Konglomerat besar lain yang terkenal dimerata dunia seperti Volov, Merce, Ford dan sebagainya. Cuma diharapkan hasil daripada Open Innovation ini akan akan di patent dan menjadi hak milik Proton yang akan dapat mengembangkan lagi model-model baru yang lebih menarik pada masa depan. Syabash Proton. Tq.

• stupid, proton ran out of idea.. poor man…. after again and again FAILUREsssss , hahaha…….burn money only… USELESS……

• detroit on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:01 am

Seems like we got so many potential proton MD la like this, ‘iv’, ‘meme’, ‘andak’, ‘mike’, ‘anand’, ‘CopyCat’, ‘Yap Gris Som’… etc
      Why don’t you guys send your applications.
      Want to talk bout quality, sendiri punya life quality also x bole jaga. Teh tarik and roti canai still mamak stall jugak. Bukan bersih sgt pun.
      Want to demand for high quality, get ready to spend your money la.
      Spend your money for toyota cars if willing to pay for quality, and that exclude vios and avanza, coz these models are meant only to dominate the market, not for quality benchmarker.
      Kalo mau murah saja tp mau quality mcm2, or can try to make your own car.
      Nowadays mau buang air oso pay 20cents ma..
      I think Proton is making an equally commendable effort lately.

• jack_stoner on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:12 pm

as my knowledge,,mitsu take exora body parts to export at china,,that y proton make suuch a deal to take lancer body..

• razak on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:27 am

u know why people still buying lousy stupid livina instead of exora….nissan ma…TAN CHONG MOTOR….toyota avanza…toyota ma…as lnong as not proton….tapi pelik yg malays pun ikut2 beli kereta lain….y….stupid ma……suka ikut…itu melayu la……maintenance toyota berapa?….lu all buka mata luas2….cuba tengok kat U.S,…TOYOTA TAK LAKU MA…. y…..kereta da problem dgn pedal minyak….tapi malaysia…TOYOTA MA…we still stupid……not like amerika…..they love GM……problem solved……save ur money, buy proton…….and buy house….dont spend money too much on wrong car…..

• At last Proton come out with really good plan, copy people design. I wonder proton got any designer team or department, if got, they can start find other job as Proton will copy another successful design. Why they need you..

• ugat-ugat tu jentik2 on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:45 am

Sedih dgn Proton, dah lbh 20 tahun tapi masih tiada identiti malaysia lagi kat kereta kita, setakat tukar logo x yah lah kita nak banggakan dgn produk kita, ini kenyataan,bkn nak mengata sye pun pakai proton jugak, sye nak sangat suatu hari nanti proton blh keluarkan sebuah kereta tanpa meniru mana2 pengeluar lain.

• c-les on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:54 pm

VERY DISAPPOINTED!! PROTON HAS NO DIGNITY!!! LAME LAME LAME RIPPERS!!!! HUH TUKAR BRAND JE?? MODEL INSPIRA=BARANG CIPLAK!!!

• Nicholas on Dec 05, 2010 at 10:42 am

if i buy this 2.0 version i buy toyota vios trd better handling or kia forte looks better

both have good quality,reliability and durability

who ever agrees with me put a thumbs up