V10-power: Audi R8 5.2 FSI quattro finally unveiled!

Audi R8 V10

Here we go, the Audi R8 taken to the next level, now powered by a V10 engine! Many an Audi R8 prototype cars have been sacrificed for this car to be finally unveiled today. Audi had experimented with the 580hp turbocharged V10 from the Audi RS6 in the R8’s snug engine bay and naturally the prototypes experienced overheating problems. A total of 3 prototypes have burned down to part car, part ash as of November last year.

So anyway clearly that did not work, despite Audi powertrain boss telling Autocar UK earlier this year that they’ve solved the overheating problems thanks to some innovations which also appeared on the Audi R8 V12 TDi Concept. But diesel engines usually run colder than petrol engines. Maybe it didn’t end up viable after all.

So this new more high powered you see here is powered by a normally aspirated V10. The Audi R8 5.2 FSI quattro’s engine is similiar if not the same as the 5.2 litre FSI V10 found in the Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4. However it is detuned as it makes less power: 525hp at 8,000rpm and 530Nm at 6,500rpm compared to the LP560-4’s 560hp and 540Nm. But like the unit in the Gallardo, it sends power to all four wheels. 0 to 100km/h takes 3.9 seconds and the car goes on to a top speed of 316km/h.

Audi R8 V10

The 5.2 litre FSI V10 long-stroke engine uses a dry sump lubrication system, which allows the engine to be mounted low in the engine bay, helping lower center of gravity. The engine itself has a low center of gravity thanks to the 90 degree cylinder angle. The crankcase is made of high-strengh aluminium alloy, the conrods of forged steel and the pistons of aluminium. The car’s weight distribution is what Audi calls an ideal 44:56. I wonder what has BMW and their 50:50 have to say about that.

Two transmissions are available, a 6-speed manual or a single clutch automated manual called the R-Tronic which I suspect is similiar to Lamborghini’s E-Gear automated manual. Both R-Tronic and the manual versions have a Launch Control feature which takes the car off the starting line as fast as possible with tire slip reined in to a minimum electronically. quattro all-wheel drive also helps out with this.

Audi R8 V10

Brakes are large 380mm brakes at the front and 356mm brakes at the rear, which are all ventilated and are gripped by large 8-pot calipers at the front and 4-pot calipers at the rear. Optional is a ceramic brake system which is made of a composite material containing high-strength carbon fibers and abrasion-resistant silicon carbide. These brakes are 9kg lighter than the set of standard brakes, and cope better with racing requirements.

The Audi R8 5.2 FSI quattro suspension design uses double wishbones made of aluminium at both the front and rear. The shocks feature Audi magnetic ride as standard, which adapts the damping characteristics within milliseconds according to road conditions and driving style. Audi magnetic ride uses magnetic particles in the shock absorber’s oil which rearrange themselves to slow down the flow of oil through the valves when a voltage is applied.

Look after the jump for a gallery of the new R8 V10.

PHOTO GALLERY: Audi R8 5.2 FSI quattro
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[zenphotopress number=99 album=29]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 2:50 am

wow.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 5:05 am

yaya.. impressive..
    choosing lambo and this R8.. sure i will choose lambo laaa. kakaka

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Definitely the one of the best car i have ever know…. This Audi R8 looks more of the REAL SUPERCAR compared to even Bugatti …. I think R8 sooner gonna take over other supercars in terms of sales and fame !!!! Itz totally Brilliant !!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 3:24 pm

LOVE the Rims !!!! Wow…. Seriosly it looks totally totally Hot !!!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 3:30 pm

now this is super enough, can beat the nissan gt-r

• vivio (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 4:35 pm

mmmm2 delicius v10 there

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 7:58 pm

will this burn as well:P Nice rims

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Good looking. Guess it can rolls pretty fast with the spec.

Looking at it somehow leads me to think, if they manage to build a car with a huge 4.2 liter V8, why not try something, say a 2 liter V6 that could provide the same power. Instead they squeeze a bigger 5.2 liter under the hood. And soon V12… endless V endless cc.

American cars used to have crazy cc engines size, and jap cars proved it could be better if we go small but more horse power.

Also, read from somewhere, F1 engines can pull out over 700HP easily but the cc is only at 2.4 liter (max, as per 2006 regulation). And the intention of FIA is clear, to bring such technology to the consumer car market.

Honda is one which generates 200HP with a 2000cc engine couple years ago (1:10 ratio). And recently the Type R, which already in the market, 220HP with 2000cc, without turbo. Many manufacturers still couldn’t do so, say 2000cc but 140HP.

Building a faster car definitely makes the company looking good. But that also pulls us away from dream. And we have seen too many, Ferrari, Lambo etc. Especially in hard time like this, an innovative car that gives us satisfaction (in term of power, design and $$$ saving) will definitely cheer us up.

You can’t blame me for being realistic. I live in bad economy like you too. :P

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:03 pm

next, cram in that bugatti veyron 8.0 litre quadturbochargedw16 inside

• csv (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 11:21 pm

oh yeah this baby looks so sweet. draws gazes and performs like a star player.

i drive one.

in need for speed undercover. hahahaha.

• jamsbong (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:18 am

isharestuff, I see where u are coming from. I know that you can turbo mod a 6cyl or 4cyl to get huge power but there is disadvantage to this approach. 1st, there is turbo lag. 2nd, at max power, the mod engine will consume more fuel than a big capacity NA engine. 3rd and most importantly, it does not sound cool (does not sound expensive).

the noise of a V10 engine is something you don’t forget. Its got that beautiful harmonics that reminds me of the F1 V10 era.

Oh, I do love this car. Park this car side by side with a Lambo and you’ll see the R8 is a larger and longer car. Easily intimidating the Gallardo. Personally I prefer the looks of the R8 because it is more unique. Gallardo is an evolution from Diablo – Murcielago – Gallardo. the Audi R8 is the first of its kind.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 12:51 pm

jamsbong said,

December 10, 2008 @ 9:18 am

isharestuff, I see where u are coming from. I know that you can turbo mod a 6cyl or 4cyl to get huge power but there is disadvantage to this approach. 1st, there is turbo lag. 2nd, at max power, the mod engine will consume more fuel than a big capacity NA engine. 3rd and most importantly, it does not sound cool (does not sound expensive).

the noise of a V10 engine is something you don’t forget. Its got that beautiful harmonics that reminds me of the F1 V10 era.

Oh, I do love this car. Park this car side by side with a Lambo and you’ll see the R8 is a larger and longer car. Easily intimidating the Gallardo. Personally I prefer the looks of the R8 because it is more unique. Gallardo is an evolution from Diablo – Murcielago – Gallardo. the Audi R8 is the first of its kind.
    ————————-
    now f1 is for sissy

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 1:57 am

jamsbong said,

December 10, 2008 @ 9:18 am

——————————

The 1:10 cc to horsepower ratio I mention is about NA, not turbocharge approach. You miss the keywords “without turbo”. Paragraph number 5 line 3. :P

Not a fan of turbo / sound / mod. But for luxury sport car like this, owners most likely prefer to be outstanding, you know, drive a Lambo but YC at mamak that kind of stuff.

Now this part is a joke (bad one). I can only imagine a time an engine sound plays its role. Here’s a scenario. Imagine, one just parked his million-dollar track day killer machine near to a crowded restaurant /mamak. Wide open the car door, get up from the bucket seat, with his sunglasses still on, he stands up and keeps reminding himself “I’m cool I’m cool”. No chicks look over, no envy eyesight from a bunch of guys age ranged 18 – 30, nobody gives a… you know. That owner probably pissed to the max. Reason? Its engine too quiet. Hahahahaha…

Yeah yeah my bad. For people like me, so normal yet poor, will never learn the fun of sound. (Extremist possibly get orgasm by listening to it)

Back in 2000 there was march of cars mod with super loud exhaust on the road. At the speed of 50KM/H they sound like a fighter jet just pass by super low to avoid radar detection. It is even funnier when they get smoked down by a stock car.

Ahem… we promote responsible driving. Buckle up.

• drjekyllmrlee on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:30 am

I hope to either purchase a new R8 V10 or used Ferrari F430 in 3 years. What would you guys pick? Thanx for comments

• drjekyllmrlee on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:34 am

Would like to purchase either a new R8 V10 or used Ferrari F430 in 3 years. Would appreciate your comments on either vehicle. My wife says pay off our mortgage but what fun is that?