Mercedes-Benz Concept BlueZero to tackle alternative fuels in 3 different ways, sort of

Mercedes-Benz Concept BlueZero

Some are going the way of the electric car, and some are going the way of the fuel cell. Some are doing both. Mercedes-Benz has decided to take it up a notch and do three at once – an electric vehicle, an extended range electric vehicle and a fuel cell vehicle. When January 2009 rolls around, the 2009 Detroit Motor Show will bring us the new Mercedes-Benz Concept BlueZero, which comes in 3 variants.

The first variant is the Concept BlueZero E-Cell. It’s powered by an electric motor and a lithium ion battery that supports plug-in charging that give you 100km of maximum range in 2 hours of charging. That’s going to be an issue in Europe – city driving will be fine but what about cross country tours across the vast European continent?

That’s where the BlueZero E-Plus Cell comes in. It’s an extended range electric vehicle, which means it has an internal combustion engine installed at the back that burns through regular fuel not to power the wheels but to generate electricity to recharge the batteries. This takes the range up to 600km, and you can get more just by topping up the fuel.

Finally you have the BlueZero F-Cell, which uses a fuel cell that produces electricity from hydrogen, something Stuttgart have already been dabbling in in the past.

Look at more images of the Mercedes-Benz Concept BlueZero after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 5:59 am

hmmm why do i have this funny feeling that people would prefer the extended range vehicle and simply top up fuel to recharge the battery rather than plugging it in at home?

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 8:05 am

well it depends really, cos if the vehicle is plugged at home u can’t do much till it’s charged. at least if they top up fuel u can recharge on the move… just imho~ =P

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 8:20 am

Technology aside, I have a feeling the design and styling preview the next B-Class.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 8:32 am

Perhaps they should start investing in Altair Nanotech for their Nanosafe battery technology.

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 10:46 am

Color and design too funky. Very much similar to GM’s concept cars spotted at a recent motor show.

In Malaysia I guess people who go for a Benz usually because of its luxo factor (nonetheless its durability and tech etc as well).

• lochangyong (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:25 am

suzuki a-star front
    http://ekhatch.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/suzuki-astar-concept1.jpg

with BMW flaming surface body ala Z4 design .

anyway , is this going to be just concept forever like the fish look design they got earlier on ?

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:38 am

IMHO, the BlueZero E-Plus Cell is more practical..

anyway.. apart from its grille, its kinda citreon-ish isnt it??

happy motoring!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:04 pm

ilmondo said,
    December 12, 2008 @ 11:38 am

IMHO, the BlueZero E-Plus Cell is more practical..

anyway.. apart from its grille, its kinda citreon-ish isnt it??

happy motoring!
    ————————

even the interior design seems to have a little bit of that fun and flair usually reserved for french cars.. not your usual black and grey leather mercedes interior.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:08 pm

so ugly

• afkar (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 6:11 pm

another merc concept…and it’s going GREEN(as they call it)..any news about the ocean drive concept?

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:53 pm

i’m kinda like the BlueZero E-Plus Cell concept….even tough it’s sound quite funny, but it is practical… btw, the interior looks funny….if i were in that car, the first thing that i will think about is BIOLOGY(cell sap pattern)…haha..

• csv (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 12:32 am

i think it’s feasible, but the extended range will probably do better.

nothing will beat the mindset there a car with a combustion engine will function better.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:27 am

haha.. 3 in 1… later price oso x3. die

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 4:25 pm

a merc that looks like a citroen from the rear