Malaysia to ban half-shell helmets in January 2009

Half-shell helmetRoad Safety Department director-general Datuk Suret Singh says his department is working on plugging a hole in the law that did not define what a proper motorcycle helmet is. As a result, many people are buying half-shell helmets, which Datuk Suret says are illegal and are not approved by Sirim.

These helmets are bowl-shaped and are lighter and more comfortable compared to normal proper helmets, and some even consider them to be fashionable because of their unique bowl-like shape. It is also cheaper than normal open-face helmets. Datuk Suret likened wearing these to not wearing any helmet at all as half-shell helmets do not offer adequate protection, and may flip up with strong winds because of inadequate support behind the head.

Not only will the laws defining what a proper helmet is be revised to properly define what can be used, the RSD is also working on banning the sale, and distribution of these half-shell helmets, and this ban could come into effect as early as January 2009.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• konoha (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:10 pm

1st!!!!…KURA-KURA

• HMMaster (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:36 pm

As a result, many people are buying half-shell helmets, which Datuk Suret says are illegal and are not approved by Sirim.

My half-shell helmet is approved by Sirim :o

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:45 pm

should wear full head helmets like f1 helmets

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:12 pm

i expect one may say

“must be some datuk making money out of it”

haha

• derrickmoh (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:21 pm

These half-shell helmets remind me of the ones you usually see worn in equestrian events…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:28 pm

Err.. How about an original ferrari bowl-shaped helmet?.. :p

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:33 pm

Good, no more harley davidson type people wearing these helmets

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:27 pm

should ban motocycles alltogether….absolute nonsence on the road….very rarely u see decent bikers…

• hengsheng (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Any difference with the ban? I see motorcyclists not wearing helmet and happily cycling everywhere. Guess that datuk just want to tell people he is doing his job ensruing road safety of the rakyat. Implemention? not my problem…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:08 pm

This half helmet by Shoei / Arai vs full helmet by Apollo..
    Please ban the Apollo helmet 1st lah gov! It’s soooo unsafe!

• xg9 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:33 pm

e-nabilll said,

December 16, 2008 @ 9:27 pm

should ban motocycles alltogether….absolute nonsence on the road….very rarely u see decent bikers…

——————————————

agreed with you 100%!! most of them dont even respect other ppl.

• israfil (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:53 pm

SOME decent fathers or sons or mothers or daughters use the motorcyles to go to works to feed their families. Not all can afford to have cars. Furthermore, its not the motorcycles were the one making the troubles that we have to ban them, the one to be blame are the motorcyclist themselves. Besides, SOME car drivers also do not respect other people. So, do we have to BAN cars???

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:57 pm

I think that the number of motorcycleas on the road will reduce if they improve the public transport in our country, then many motorcyclists will use the public transport instead of small and dangerous bikes, like what happened in Singapore.

• ^o^ (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:16 pm

china also banning motorcycle frm entering urban areas.
    so meaning tat china does not have poor ppl to feed their family is it?

is JPJ problem la. simply take kopi duit. got such gov, got such drivers + motorcyclists la! cincai la!

• transformer (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:29 pm

what about those without working taillight ?
    what about those without working headlight ?
    what about those without rearview mirror ?

• Dr.Moskva (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:30 pm

Hehe, u caught me there..

Well the difference was BAN motorcycles altogether and Ban from entering urban areas. I referred to the 1st statement. By the way, u just cannot compare China urban areas and our urban areas. Is it all the same? their public transport MAYBE better ( i dont know, i’ve never been there) so thats why they can ban the motorcycles from entering the urban atreas. We just cannot take other nation laws and apply here in Malaysia, we must do research so that it will suit us better.

BTW I agree with rsrulz, public transports play an important role here.

• csv (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:36 pm

those harley davidson riders will be damn pissed.

now they ride their bikes, they have to wear full face machiam japan sport bike.

will look damn funny with their pudgy figure. HAHAHA.

• neurra (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:43 pm

haha i was just thinking of the same thing csv

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

i didnt know there was such a thing as road safety department in malaysia. i think its the mentality of the public transport using public that needs to change. There is no incentive for any company to provide good public transport when upkeep costs and vandalism costs will be high.

harsher penalties on unlicenced drivers and motorcyclist. esp motorcyclists. tons of them driving around without licence. police wont touch em. insurance companies cant touch em. daddy gets off scot free. if dad really needed the motorcycle for work then he wouldnt lend motorbike to the kids to have joy rides around town without helmet or licence. confiscate and crush the bike.

also ban motorbikes from weaving through traffic. they need to wait in line like everybody else.

• elpaciko (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:04 am

ive said it before, im saying now and ill say again..

some people just simply cannot go to their rich daddy and cry “daddy, daddy i want a car!!”

many people are forced to use motorbike because they cant afford to use car and they are actually decent and law abiding citizen, and they have a family to support. what we really need is actual enforcement of existing law to weed out all the mat rempit

sorry for off topic but i really hate it when people cry “we should ban motorcycle” like a …………….. <— please fill in the blank

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:52 am

e-nabilll said,

xg9 said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 10:33 pm

Childish, unintelligent, unethical and imprudent comments. Young people nowadays should learn to be more responsible with words coming out from their disrespectful mouth. Luckily you guys aren’t in the parliament. I’m sure you guys could be paired up in the parliament to bill a notion “to ban all motorcycles in Malaysia” and “give free Proton as replacement”. So boys, go home and drink milk and stop harassing this forum. Come back after 10 years when your brain has fully developed.

• figo (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:10 am

Ban those car without Airbag lah.

• the stik (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:33 am

e-nabilll said,

xg9 said,

oi bukan semua mat motor kuang ajar lol.. aku pun kadang2 pakai motor.. and bukan semua org boleh ade kereta.. lu org baru kena cilok skit ngan mat motor dh marah2.. pikir laa… cakap serupa mat rempit aa lu..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:33 am

FWIW, its a good policy. However, our law enforcement agencies have no teeth.

Grow some teeth first. Plenty of things they can do before they get this far down.

OH BTW, I nearly got hit by 2 motorcyclists (yes TWO, not just one) running a red light just this morning…and they have the audacity to finger me. Maybe i shouldn’t have braked for them and enjoyed thier superman display.

• the stik (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:36 am

e-nabilll said,

xg9 said,

one more thing, i bet u both got no talent bawak motor, dats y laa u 2 can make such a brilliant idea.. heh

• I my (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:00 am

Q? it is ur own life to take. just like the safty belt to buker up or not is the driver/passanger suka.. u wan to kill urself that’s not a problem to others. the G is to info or teach road user what is the right 1/way to used.

• irwinsim (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:03 am

I think it will be better teach those rider how to wear the helmet properly. Education is more important.

Sirim Helmet? Anyone believe it safe? How much the sirim sticker sell outside?

a 2 cent word from a rider also a driver.

• mangkuk (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:09 am

e-nabilll said,

xg9 said,

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:13 am

the gov intention is good.
    i’ll buy a new helmet soon :)

offtopic>>
    when i drive, i encounter bad motorcyclists.
    motorcycles should be banned.
    when i ride, i encounter bad drivers.
    cars should be banned.
    then what mean of transportation should i take to go to work?

here in car forum, some of drivers bash riders.
    there in motor forum, some of riders bash drivers.
    i as usual want to make these groups of drivers&riders aware of the situation. perhaps a better solution can be made?

sorry man, way offtopic.
    please think before u type anything here :)

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:40 am

“also ban motorbikes from weaving through traffic. they need to wait in line like everybody else.”
    -topgunthang

Sorry bro but your suggestion sounds nonsense, unless the bike is as wide as a car.

• Jaimi on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Correct. Try watching videos on youtube. Lane-splitting in London/Paris/Tokyo. Lane-splitting is legal everywhere in the world.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:16 am

why such drama queen la….if ur driving on a daily basis through congested roads , u will likely face a scenario wer u wd think to urself ‘ why do motorcyclist do that ‘ obviously im not implying all are like that …dont be ready to be narrow minded….im talking about personal experiences..u like it or not…and wats with the ‘ dady buy me car’ and ‘rich ppl’ crap ??

im jus a regular ppl…..observing terrible bikers with terrible attitude…fine if u turn on a blind eye on that…but its wat ive seen…mosly young ppl on bikes…again…i know most feel beter if u misunderstand me n think all bikers are that kinda catagory thn u can jus bash…but seriously…wat do u want me to think wen i see those young ppl weaving through traffic like thy r abt to commit suicide , or mat rampit menance , or those who consistanly show middle finger to road users , or wen u see a snatch thief on a bike with ur naked eye……c’mon……..

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:36 am

offtopic>>
    conclusion

bad drivers = bad riders
    no need to argue anymore.

bad drivers =/= good drivers
    cars should not be banned.

bad riders =/= good riders
    motorcycles should not be banned.

• the stik (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:58 am

people dun care what u’ve seen cos they also see it everytime.. dun be such poyo n make a cam bagus statement..
    aku kadang² rider jugak beb tapi masih menjaga tatasusila dan menghormati trafik sebab aku also bwk kereta di waktu yg lain..
    ape pun peace… jgn gado²… mai sechawan ~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:30 pm

what about bmw c1 bike, still need to wear helmet?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

i used to ride, but mainly drive now.

to me, we shouldnt care what the govt says, or what someone else says about safety..

the most important thing is, we should be mature and informed enough to make the right safety decisions ourselves. dont wait for someone to tell you what safety is.. practice it regardless. if you dont know how, go google it.. there is enough info on the internet on this topic.

when i used to ride, I made it a point to buy the best safety equipment I can afford. a cheaper local full face helmet, is still better than a local open face helmet for example. after all, not everyone can afford an arai, or shoei, or agv…etc.

i also advocated, and used rear seatbelts years before the govt thought of making it a rule.

likewise with baby seats.. do we want to wait for someone to tell us its the law to use babyseats before we all scramble out there to buy one?

think of yourself and your loved ones safety first.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:36 pm

true :)

• the stik (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:43 pm

yeah.. utamakan keselamatan.. ingat org tersayang.. jgn lupa amik rebet roadtax n insurans.. rugi woo kalo tk amik hehehehe…

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:09 pm

Datuk Suret Singh has gotten his priorities wrong though this is good initiative from his department.

He and his department should first look at the “examption” of wearing helmets during friday prayers! Is that not a concern? Is that really allowed? Thousands of motorcyclist refuse to wear their helmets at that time.

• JejalanMknAngin (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:11 pm

in sarawak (area kuching & samarahan) this type of helmet very popular there esp mat2 motor…i tried once and it seems wear nothing

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 5:32 pm

Let’s see… if our “jungle politicians” up there wants to ban motorcycles;

[1] Our regular Postman and Mat Despatch will have to use car or public transport to send letters or packages. The price of stamps and delivery service will increase abruptly $$$.

[2] Our typical “Pizza Boy” and “McD Delivery Boy” (you’ve to admit most of them are Mat Rempits) will have to charge us extra $$$ (including toll and parking). Don’t be surprised if your typical Pizza and Burger will cost you more $$$.

[3] Traffic Jam would be CHAOS cause all Mat Rempits and bikers are forcibly to own/use cars. So they would be more Mat Wiralution, Mat Wajalution and Mat MyVilution on the road harassing others (and flying steering stop locks as well).

[4] More fatal road accidents will occur due to high influx of cars on the road. Bad habits of “menyelit” die hard among bikers and they might tend to do the same while driving a car!

[5] PLUS will profit in overnight as massive exodus from two wheel vehicle to 4 wheel vehicle occured. More toll for them and more? … you guess it more $$$.

[6] Big “G” will have to raise the price of fuel, taxes and no more rebates as the volume of fuel guzzler Wiralution, Wajalution and MyViLution increases (all in the name to improve public transportation, yeah right).

[7] More “under perform car loans” will occur on the Banking side as these previous owner of kapchais can’t service their car loans on time (as a result of forcing poor people to own cars).

[8] Employees will have a very good reason to come late for work because of terrible jam they have to encounter on daily basis.

[9] Statistic shows that almost 50% road users are Motorcyclist, now you will have endure traffic jam on the road and traffic jam at Fueling Station as well (as the number of car users increases).

[10] Lastly our “jungle politicians” up there suddenly notion a new bill on the parliament saying that VIPs, Datuks, Super Rich Millionaires, Billionaires can own Big Bikes to go for work and can also use Helmet “Kura-Kura”. Meanwhile, the rest of the rakyat will have to “Ubah Gaya Hidup” by using the inefficient and rotten public transport.

I rest my case.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 6:47 pm

bring in cheap ducati’s for everybody

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:07 pm

mv agusta? ahaha…

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:49 pm

As a driver i really appreciate those willing to ride bikes, exposed to hot, humid, dust & even rain, to work or getting places coz at least you’ve given more space on road & parking lots. As a token of appreciation, you can cut the queue. Thanks.

Some driver used to felt disgruntled when bikes passing them and some even try to block them. Are you one of them?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:23 am

autojohndoe said,

December 17, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

mv agusta? ahaha…
    ——————————
    imagine if they could have given us that mv agusta in IROBOT

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 10:36 am

I both drive & ride…but prefer riding to wk due to congestion. I consider it as my small contribution to reduce the traffic jam, preserve scarce fossil fuel & reducing my carbon footprint (bike a 4 stroke wt cat)

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:04 pm

and you can also avoid traffic jam

• kickas5car (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 4:33 pm

what is wrong with this helmet? should just ban motorcycles on the road. lesser accidents and lesser trouble for the road users.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 11:08 pm

kickas5car said,
    December 19, 2008 @ 4:33 pm

what is wrong with this helmet? should just ban motorcycles on the road. lesser accidents and lesser trouble for the road users.
    ——————————————————

Another ‘daddy i want a car’ type of prick. Not expecting they are so many.

• jong84 (Member) on Dec 21, 2008 at 4:53 pm

If like that, just jalan kaki lah.. I believe that there will be no troube lasting in the future