New Honda City transported on trailers in Malaysia

A few readers have spotted the new 2009 Honda City being transported on trailers on the highways in Malaysia. They don’t have much disguise on them, just some white cloth or some other material covering up the front and rear of the car, and even that is a little translucent so we get to see the tail lamps peeking through.

From the shots, we are able to gauge some minor details on how the new Honda City will be offered here in Malaysia. For one, we are getting the Asian design for the City which features a sleeker-looking side profile. The European version has some strips on the side of the car which makes the car taller than it really is, and that kind of messes up its sporty profile. There will be at least two variants for sure as there are two sets of alloy wheel designs featured on the cars being carries. One is a more traditional 5 spoke design while the other is the Y-spoke alloys belonging to the more expensive model.

The colour variants we are able to observe here are only two colours – the blue City and the black City. There will of course be a silver City looking at how popular that colour is in Malaysia, but no sign of the delicious red one at the moment. A white coloured Honda City would look good too (white is very popular now), as demonstrated by the white coloured unit spotted in China way before the City was unveiled.

The new Honda City will be launched before the end of this week. Look after the jump for more shots of the new Honda City. Photos thanks to Kevin Lee and Stephen Loh.

2009 Honda City: in-depth details and specifications (must-read!)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:21 pm

Yeaaaaaayy!!! Here at last….it’s time for window shopping again. Hahaha! :-)

• toyota92 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:27 pm

new city launching this 18th. E for the higher spec and G for the lower spec. Prices between 85k-89k. :-)

• WIRA (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:31 pm

the new honda city come in the wrong timing ….retrenchment have just started in penang due to uncertain economic meltdown. BAD TIMING

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Oh! Prepare to trade in your Vios dugong for this beauty…

Hmmm…I see the future of road in Malaysia for this City….

Good…we’ll see a much better looking entry level model compare with the current Vios, the Latio sedan, Suzuki SX4 sedan and many more UGLY entry level sedan that flooded our road!!

Bad…it’s sooooo good looking that we’ll see it more and more like the Civic until we puke! Hahaha…

Cheers and welcome Honda City! :-)

• toyota92 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:34 pm

those in black are E specs, in blues are G specs. Lots different for interior and exterior. E is the better choice. Now must wait for 3 months d. They`ve been taking orders since september. :-)

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:40 pm

It’s time to sell my car and upgrate my personal vehicle….

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:42 pm

WIRA said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 12:31 pm

the new honda city come in the wrong timing ….retrenchment have just started in penang due to uncertain economic meltdown. BAD TIMING

Maybe true bro but we’ll never know. Buying power lies on each individual themself. Recession or not…if the desire overcome the need then the buying will still happen. Well, it just my thought. Anyway, like I said in my first post, since it recession time…window shopping only lor…drop by the showroom and see with our own eyes if Honda gots what it takes to beat Toyota in the entry level segment. Ciao!

• toyota92 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:50 pm

sorry for mistake.

Its E spec & S spec. E is a better grade which is black in the picture. S spec is a lower grade which is blue. There are 5 colours available.

Deep Lapis Blue Metallic
    Crystal Black Pearl
    Polished Metal Metallic
    Alabaster Silver Metallic
    Bold Beige Metallic

E SPEC 16” rims S SPEC 15” rims.

for S:
    -no reclining seats
    -no power retractable door mirror
    -no rear seat under tray
    -no paddle shift
    -no fog light
    -no door mirror with turn light
    -no exhaust pipe finisher
    -4 speakers and E spec has 6 speakers
    -rear headrest is fixed
    -no leather gear knob and leather steering wheel
    -no steering audio control
    -rear armrest without cup holder

those are the difference between E and S.
    those who plan to buy the new honda city please choose the E spec.
    for 5K u can get the above difference! :-)

• narrowband (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:52 pm

A big salute and thanks to readers Kevin Lee and Stephen Loh for these shots. This City is indeed one of the most highly anticipated car in Malaysian auto market.

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:12 pm

5K more seems to be a good bargain considered the extra features. Hows the price like for E, below RM90K?

• harry potter (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:15 pm

THIS CAR WILL BE LAUNCHED ON THURSDAY (18 DEC 2008)

MY HONDA SALES ADVISOR SMSed ME!

Imavest Sdn Bhd Ampang

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:18 pm

how can a 90k price a good bargain????

the rear and side profile looks very boxy…thr was a review on asian auto magazine last mnth..in singapore of the city…all was good apart from the engine..which according to the reviewer ,the engine was a weak point….

• sakuragi (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:22 pm

ahh.. same ol syit. u trade in a dugong.. u get a baboon. still prefer european cars.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Too Expensive…. Not worth for the money you pay though better than vios…

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:35 pm

i said that RM5K extra is a good bargain for the additonal features. The rims and tyres alone will set you back by almost RM1.5K. Did not say that RM90K for a 1.5L car is a good bargain.

• toyota92 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:53 pm

E Spec 89800
    S Spec 85000

its more wortheit than vios since vios:
    S= 88325
    G= 85025
    E= 79425
    J (AT)= 73525
    J (MT)= 69825

E spec for city is going against S spec for vios.
    S spec for city is going against G spec for vios.

for technology city is much better. vios is just like a normal car. :-)

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:13 pm

This is gonna be a hit. :)

• ignas (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:22 pm

toyota92 : isnt thats vios OTR price against city price without OTR? anyway its not official yet so you might be rite.

e-nabilll: the engine performance is quite subjective to individual. i thought the review more likely to against its pricing in singapore?

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:42 pm

At least we can see some decent looking cars on the roads with the launch of this new city.

Cheers!

• giannyong (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:54 pm

Yeah, 18th Dec. 2008 is the date for launching this 3rd. generation Honda City. Two more days to see this new City. Well hope it include Manual Transmission either now or later. Thailand always have the choice of manual or auto. transmission. I personally prefer manual for more pleasure to drive , confidence to zoom out the junction , or overtaking , petrol saving and if and only if baterry very low, it can push start i suppose. Last but least the overall price of the car is less around 5K. If the auto transmission system causes problem repair or replace, bill you would not like to see.
    Last manual please and reasonable price for the low end or E model

• BlackJKX (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:36 pm

Know what?i have my contribution to build this car.
    Well done hmsb.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:33 pm

U can see them at the respective showroom by tomorow onwards a day ahead of teh launched.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 5:12 pm

boxy gor honda toyota or the likes is trendy…

boxy for proton is outdated…. ahaha… weird judgemnt..

• xstan (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Boxy..?? Hey they have not reveal or open up its blouse yet lah. Lady dressed big loose blouse doesnt meant she is pregnant lah.

It certainly shape like an ARROW…wth split end at the rear. Sharper at front.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:35 pm

xstan said,

December 16, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

–it was look boxy. look at the real car u should. it was turning around in JB last week friday. i prefer this than the new vios. maybe trade in one for this. hahaha.

• szw (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:52 pm

looks better than vios definitely

• indigo (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:40 pm

Very funny to mask the car, you can see it everywhere on the Net or go to SG or TH to view the real thing. Too bad I am out of budget to get one.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:51 pm

whats the point of blocking the car. the pictures are out all over the media and internet.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:45 pm

I have been in the car :P at honda S.C in kelantan. Nice. The higher end version has paddle shifts. Not even accord 2.0 has that.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:07 pm

BlackJKX said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

Know what?i have my contribution to build this car.
    Well done hmsb.
    ——————————————-
    build this car?. Not la. you are only pasang je. Heard from friend’s relative many people are forced to work inhumane there with damn bad management. Still proud? you’re only the slave of the Japs.

• chanel (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:12 pm

hey those translucent plastic are not for blocking or hide the front and rear of the cars…..it’s is actually to protect your front bumper & paints although i can’t figure out why they also cover the butt (maybe to protect the butt when they unloading)….imagine the lorry travelling at 90km/h suddenly a piece of rock come from no where to hit & scratch the new car.???? isn’t this will create more trouble…..???compare to all manufacturer, i think HOnda is the one catching with Internet power…..they never deny (nor they confirm) the truth when City was spotted in India…Honda just lets the user power to spread the news…indirectly they can also have feedback for those to be launched cars….

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:38 pm

i can say this car is good compare to vios. Honda always has complete fresh design whenever they launch new model except city predescor which share many parts with the Jazz. They are not like toyota where everywhere is carry over part. I can’t believe all toyota fleet in malaysia shares same door handle with myvi. thanks honda but not damn local management.

• derricklai (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:59 pm

After i saw the new city with my own eyes, these are my comments:-
    i) actually the new city’s door handle (by the way it’s chrome color) is a bit Bigger than usual
    ii) view from rear amazed me.. truely. again… it’s Big ;)
    iii) the materials used in the interior… especially the door panel… plasticized /.\
    iv) front grille is certainly the signature of the new city very Sui~
    v) front light a bit like toyota altis/camry with projecting signal light
    vi) 5Y spoke 16″ rim is very much prettier then normal 5spoke 15″ rim.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:00 pm

wearing pampers?

for the time being.. honda must put the real ‘right price’ ..
    most peoples are really care about their budget now..

• toyota92 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:20 pm

mystvearn: its Ban Chu Bee rite?

last time during launching of jazz oso they kept inside the service centre before launching. So we can see it easily.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:26 pm

bmpower said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 10:00 pm

wearing pampers?
    ————————————
    I suspect the bumper paint quality is low due to cost saving. It might easy to peel off or chip when hit by stone. that’s why it covered with such thing like pampers. I never see any maker transport their car like this. another cheap quality from honda by damn local management? i guess.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:45 pm

guys.. my friend own a honda city vtec year 2007 where it’s door step got rusty. He been told that malaysia made Honda doesn’t put undercoat at interior. My wife 2005 gen2 still no rust from day 1 to date. Is it Proton cars better than Honda nowadays? or the local is degrading Honda quality as hell as it’s image? any honda engineers can answer?

• csv (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:21 pm

VIOS and LATIO will be killed.

this car will pawn them heavily.

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:26 pm

Am hopeful that this new City will have better quality than Civic.

Those flimsily plastic panel that dislocates themselves, missing side-sill for the doors, anytime-will-break paddle shift etc. Please learn from mistake. (A bit late ehh? Since it’s already being transported)

The exterior of any Honda car, regardless it’s an Accord, Civic or City, always stand out from its competitor in terms of design and concept. However the interior material and quality are really disappointing.

A sharing from a City owner, its ABS has been changed 4 times still engineers couldn’t resolve the issue. Me myself, with people I know who own a Civic, have issue with the front suspension, that makes cracking sound every time you run on an uneven road or a sharp corner. Do not know anyone who owns a new Accord, so hardly tell how’s the quality. Look at the price and its direct competitor, the Camry, I believe it doesn’t suffer this much of issue.

Ehh now it reminds me, Paul didn’t do a review on the new Accord did he? Those soon-to-be owners please write in your feedback share us the experience.

Launching date is at the corner, think it’s time to act again. By the way to those who are interested to test drive or consider a new ride, for your maximum pleasure, if possible no seluar pendek no sandal. Sometimes car quality defines its employees too. Wahahaha… :P

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:40 am

Automotive_Critics said,

December 16, 2008 @ 10:45 pm

–i m wondering how would u said it if u were to hear 4 of my friends who own honda city year 2005 2006 2007 2008 respectively said so far so good compared to my friends who own gen2’s and persona’s complained few times. don’t know whether ur friend understand the undercoat application to a car or not? what i can say is that u just dislike honda in malaysia aren’t u?

• King Samurai (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:50 am

Not only this New City wear pampers during transportation. All other models coming out from their Melaka factory wear this pampers…or this so called protective coating to minimized secondary defect during transit to showrooms. Seems that their PDI taking serious measures to get the car arrived in good condition however their manufacturing side still have loads of work to do with Honda M’sia CKD quality…agree with u Automotive_Critics

• autoindustrie (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:54 am

Those are not cloth, not “pampers.” They are not used to disguise the car. It is used to protect paint from dings, dents during transport and delivery as many people will still come into contact with the car after paint quality inspection is done at the factory. Which is why the material is used on areas most frequently touched. Every car company with a decent level of concern on quality uses them, and it has nothing to do with poor paint quality.

Typical idiot motorheads who don’t know what are they talking about.

By the way, don’t your hopes too high. I thought the plastics in a Vios is bad. Wait till you see the ones in the City. Surprised that not much comments on these from Thai and Singaporean users.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:10 pm

autoindustrie said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 9:54 am

Sir. Maybe people have reason why the call it pampers. If that thing is to protect dings and dent, why the more important area is not covered. look to door panels, rear pillar. i think dent and dings on steel panel is more difficult to be repaired since it need to be ‘ketuk” tarik simen repaint etc. why bother only bumper? only typical idiot motorhead in Honda do this i guess.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Those still unable to read many of the positive reviews from Thai or sort..could check out this site:-

oh ya…many were pleaased that the interior quality is better off then the Vios except for the 3 air cond dials.

http://bangkokpost.net/260908_Motoring/26Sep2008_motor004.php

http://www.bkkautos.com/

Try google…many of this gave good remarks for the interior which is better then Vios, definately.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:21 pm

tec96248 said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 9:40 am

[i m wondering how would u said it if u were to hear 4 of my friends who own honda city year 2005 2006 2007 2008 respectively said so far so good compared to my friends who own gen2’s and persona’s complained few times. don’t know whether ur friend understand the undercoat application to a car or not? what i can say is that u just dislike honda in malaysia aren’t u?]
    ———————–
    Sir, complaint i address here is about paint work. don’t mix with other complaint. yes i don’t know how the undercoat work but in principal if 1 coat is missing means that protection level is low. isn’t it? the raw mat easily to expose and get rusty. i dont know whether local made honda’s color coat and shining coat is durable enough. I respect Honda for giving high satisfaction for customer to own a good design product but not local management who pasang the honda’s. they all barking with no responsible to their employee at all.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:36 pm

lets hope they give it a good price. not like singapore, disaster.

• scottloeb (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:36 pm

here we go again.. Honda vs Toyota, later must include Proton then tell the granma stories again..
    BTW.. I LOVE THIS CAR!! seen in flesh and shit really gorgeous!! tutup satu mata on the interior plastic.. cant expect slush molding trim la, these japs mau bonus 6 bulan jugak.. bukan toyota saja bonus 8 bulan haha

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:35 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

December 17, 2008 @ 1:21 pm

“guys.. my friend own a honda city vtec year 2007 where it’s door step got rusty. He been told that malaysia made Honda doesn’t put undercoat at interior. My wife 2005 gen2 still no rust from day 1 to date. Is it Proton cars better than Honda nowadays? or the local is degrading Honda quality as hell as it’s image? any honda engineers can answer?”

–hello mate, i didn’t mix with the complaints but u r the one who did so as mentioned it earlier. i was just asking u only or how to sum up that honda is no good.

• derrickchai (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:37 pm

Honestly, I find the New City is quite nice in term of overall, it should be better than the new Vios. However, in term of the quality, I think we have to wait for those reviews to be published by the respective car magazine then… :P

• xstan (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:02 pm

“guys.. my friend own a honda city vtec year 2007 where it’s door step got rusty”
    ————————————————————

Hiya Guys…the side step or some call it door step is an optional accesory lah..originally the car came without. We buy it at Brothers cheap thus it cause rust on the cheap aluminium step upon expose to water. Its the side step that rust not the car. Especially ‘chekai’ brand ..not Honda made.

• myworld122 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:07 pm

My Honda salesman called me just now, he said the new City will be launched at KL Convention Center tomorrow (18 Dec). The showroom will only be stocked with blue and black City. Paul, really hope you can be there tomorrow for the shots and review.

• maserati (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:45 pm

How can this car affect Vios sales? Look at how many of the new Vios and Altis are on the road despite ppl saying both are shyt cars..

This new Honda City will affect the vios sales like a ant bite..It wont even get close to Vios sales.

Besides,its selling price at RM 90k for a 1500cc car just doesnt make sense..

I am not going to go into looks because its subjective.,but to me,it is as ugly as the Vios.So Toyota will win hands down on brand power.

The only ppl who will buy City are the young chikos.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 1:18 am

tec96248 said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

hello mate, i didn’t mix with the complaints but u r the one who did so as mentioned it earlier. i was just asking u only or how to sum up that honda is no good.
    ————————————————————–

Sighs… tec..tec..
    Stuck in an argument again? unsatisfied when somebody says japanese car inferior from local ones? you say this… i say that… never ends.

Lets just call you typical ‘japanese wannabe’ this time? Or you name it since this is your line of work.

Regarding the new City…. nice looking car. Will personally test drive it next week.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 9:18 am

maserati said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 11:45 pm

How can this car affect Vios sales? Look at how many of the new Vios and Altis are on the road despite ppl saying both are shyt cars..

This new Honda City will affect the vios sales like a ant bite..It wont even get close to Vios sales.

Besides,its selling price at RM 90k for a 1500cc car just doesnt make sense..

I am not going to go into looks because its subjective.,but to me,it is as ugly as the Vios.So Toyota will win hands down on brand power.

The only ppl who will buy City are the young chikos.

———————————————————-

Look the only way City could beat Vios in sales is INCREASE THEIR PRODUCTIVITY CAPACITY from 800units/mth to VIOS’s 4,000 unitp/mth.
    CITY shd also appeal to VIOS’s favourite client ..LADIES & UNCLES.
    CITY shd target also the FOLLOWER group..not just great leaders.

As said thare is always 1 leader (City’s owner) to a group of merely FOLLOWERS (Viosie). I’m always leader not a follower.

Just to say VIOS only appeal to gentle gender ..ladies, girls & conservatove group..UNCLE, Grandad….& of course young green schoolboy.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 9:27 am

Wisdom said,

December 18, 2008 @ 1:18 am

–not stuck in an argument. care to read again properly? i m asking only. hahaha…..’japanese wannabe’? i preferred German or Italian or even British cars.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:42 am

i’d buy a suzukit swift

• pheonix_comet (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Been to the show room today

price for miri, sarawak.

S-RM 85,480
    E-RM 90,480

at the time being only modulo skirting for side, front n back.. no front grill.

Nice ^_^
    the engine is very small, i’m 178cm sitting in there still have some room.

E diff with S is the steering, rim, electrical flip side mirror, adjustable back seat.. this is the major things that i found out at the time being.

then engine is so silent that you barely can hear the car is running.

car boot is so spacious.

the design for the ipod socket isnot behind the lcd screen. then put the player behind the lcd screen. the socket is just infront of the gear level. ^_^

a pretty neat n nice car to buy. im still 30k short on my down payment… need to work hard for it kekeke..

• pheonix_comet (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 4:38 pm

Been to the show room today

price for miri, sarawak.

S-RM 85,480
    E-RM 90,480

at the time being only modulo skirting for side, front n back.. no front grill.

Nice ^_^
    the engine is very small, i’m 178cm sitting in there still have some room.

E diff with S is the steering, rim, electrical flip side mirror, adjustable back seat.. this is the major things that i found out at the time being.

then engine is so silent that you barely can hear the car is running.

car boot is so spacious.

the design for the ipod socket isnot behind the lcd screen. they put the player behind the lcd screen. the socket is just infront of the gear level. ^_^

a pretty neat n nice car to buy. im still 30k short on my down payment… need to work hard for it kekeke..

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 7:40 pm

heard the car will be RM60k since there is no tax on imported car anymore on next year 2009

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:08 pm

doraemonkiller said,

December 18, 2008 @ 7:40 pm

heard the car will be RM60k since there is no tax on imported car anymore on next year 2009
    ———————————
    serious? no more import tax, then i can finally get that maserati granturismo s

• my New City is smooth and quite powerful, hence prefer used for long journey 1.

Since want to go to Cyberjaya very2 jam, need a bike to cilok + come earlier 1 huhu..

Car just for weekend + family trip 1 haha…but I need comment 1 thing about New Honda City 2009..the front bumper need add some grill to protect any stones break our Radiator 1..

Thanks!