Malaysian diesel to be Euro 2M grade in 2009

Fuel Wallet GaugeGood news for diesel owners! This goes out especially to those who took the leap of faith and purchased cars with advanced diesel engines like the BMW 530d and the Mercedes-Benz E270 CDI, and also highly tuned truck diesel engines such as the 2.5 litre in the new Nissan Navara.

We are finally going to get a decent level of diesel quality in Malaysia! It’s not Euro 4M or anything like that, but it’s still an improvement over the current standards.

Diesel Quality

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad said Euro 2 diesel will be offered at all refueling stations in Malaysia in 2009. Sulphur content will be reduced from the current 3000ppm standard to a new standard of a maximum of 500ppm. He added that the Ministry is also proposing to oil companies to set the prices of lubricants according to world crude oil prices. This will be discussed next year.

It has not been decided yet whether this new Euro 2 diesel will be priced higher than the current price of diesel (RM1.70 per litre at publishing time), but Datuk shahrir says the difference would not be much especially during these period of low crude oil prices, so now is the right time to make this change.

Diesel Quality in Malaysia

This blog carried a story early last year quoting a presentation by Harlina Firdaus Marzuki and Fazil Mat Isa of Petronas Research & Scientific Services. At that moment of time there were 6 retailers of diesel fuel in Malaysia.

According to their research, 5 out of 6 of the diesel retailers in Malaysia already sell diesel that complies to Euro 2 levels of sulphur, although some other specifications fail Euro 2 standards, thus making these fuels not exactly qualified to be called Euro 2. Sulphur levels range between 500ppm to as low as 200ppm, but only one retailer was selling diesel with high sulphur content – 2800ppm!

The same research paper (you can read it via the link below) also revealed the properties of RON97 petrol retailed by the different brands in Malaysia. Who says all fuel are the same?

Analyzing fuel quality in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 7:44 pm

Will the prices increase? Or will it stay the same? Government has lots of executive diesel cars which need better fuel

• I my (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 9:02 pm

So will we hv better perform, cleaner & power diesel cars??

• KuSesat (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 10:06 pm

Any more specific time frame in 2009?
    I am still wondering which company is listed in column A? I doubt it is ExxonMobil. It is the only petrol station I avoid going to. They give lots of freebies but provide bad fuels.

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 10:30 pm

Bravo Shahrir.Best news from him by far. We maybe some months away, but I am happy that at least the G is starting to look towards the right direction.
    Get this done and this is something that people will remember you for. Good move….

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 10:40 pm

retailer D offers the best diesel ever, hopefully they’ll get euro 4 out, we are so left behind

• csv (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 12:34 am

finally, after 30 long years!

but why not just make the jump straight to euro 3. saves time and effort/red tape etc.

i think the pricing might be a little higher. say 1.90 per liter. guess this is good news for all diesel powertrain owners.

and for us too, less polluted air from lorries. woohoo.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 5:32 am

a good reason for diesel price increase.. hehe

• rodimus (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 7:35 am

Hopefully they will do it this time…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 7:59 am

Yeah! At last it give me more reason to buy a pick-up truck or 4X4 car!

If this success, the road lorries and bus will reduce even more black smoke due to sulfer!

I think the A station stated above if not mistaken is from Shell? coz i still remember they launch the fuel economy diesel without EURO 2 standart..

Anyway good move, hopefully can see Shell bring in Vpower diesel as what they are selling in Europe.. Dont be another stupid promise, i want to see it implemented by 2009! Not like last time said in 2006-07 but nothing happend..

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 9:13 am

Shahril is Joker.
    Sharil = Menteri minyak. (new minister title – clown of the year.)

Such a waste time and afford, if just folow what Tun M did before.. (take average price for fuel). We dont have to do so many thing ie – barang naik, always doing calculation while minyak turun naik loo..

when the price down… oso bising when peniaga tak mahu turun harga loo..
    very funny!.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 9:19 am

does this mean i can use my volkswagen passat bluemotion here?

• shamel (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 9:23 am

I thought EssoMobil one of the best diesel until l met one guys with BMW 530d, Mercedes E270CDi and SUTs claimed he persistently using Petronas’ diesel.

Gasoline from Esso also not good, huh? BTW, Shell Malaysia despite of producing world best diesel, only recently “upgrade” their diesel. Probably A is Shell before their change their standard of diesel.

BTW, EURO3 is more sensible as we don’t have time to wait another 30 years to get Euro3 as Thai so long enjoy them.

A la Malaysia, compare with worst country when doing anything bad.

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 10:10 am

This new diesel standards was officially gazette with Euro 2M Petrol Standard name as Enviromental Quality Regulations (Petrol and Diesel Properties) 2007 and operate since 1 April 2007.

this will clearly can control the diesel blending material in all petrol station and resulting a cleaner diesel vehicle smoke emmision..lower black smoke emmision.thats a good news!!

a good news for our local carmaker to develop a turbo-diesel engine.(since diesel emmision is more safer then petrol car one)

its a good new.towards a developed country.

• ys1 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 10:43 am

Some myths about LSD.

No harmful effects are expected for diesel engines as a result of moving to ULSD fuel. However concerns about diesel engines using ULSD fuel may have been raised in the past with regard to lubricity and seals. These topics are addressed below.

Lubricity
    Some diesel fuel pumps and injectors are lubricated by the diesel alone. The process of removing the sulphur from the diesel reduces the fuel’s lubricant effect. In order to restore the fuel’s lubricant effect a lubricity additive is added to the fuel. This additive will also help to protect the fuel pumps and fuel injection systems.

Seals
    With some older diesel vehicles, fuel pump seal leakage did occur in some countries when they switched from high sulphur diesel to low sulphur diesel. This effect was actually due to a substantial change in aromatic content (in this case the reduction accompanying the reduction in sulphur) in combination with “aged” seals. The experience in other parts of the world to date has shown that these problems are rare as long as the aromatics change is not too great and vehicles receive normal maintenance and servicing.

the reduction in the sulphur content will not have an effect on vehicle performance except for lower emissions that benefits the environment.

The lower sulphur content leads to lower sulphate emissions, which also reduces particulate matter (PM) emission by weight, leading to better air quality

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Could it be Gamen is introducing better quality diesel cos Proton is expected to launch a diesel engine. Heard from some sources that Proton is working on a diesel engine but the engine will KO based on our current diesel quality.

Perhaps sifu or Paul can shed some more light on this.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 5:41 pm

CFA28 said,
    December 24, 2008 @ 4:59 pm

Could it be Gamen is introducing better quality diesel cos Proton is expected to launch a diesel engine. Heard from some sources that Proton is working on a diesel engine but the engine will KO based on our current diesel quality.

Perhaps sifu or Paul can shed some more light on this.
    ——————————

sometimes i wonder…. why on earth ppl always somehow (in their imagination) find/create a connection between govt. decision and proton???

do you think govt ask any consultation from proton whether to upgrade diesel grade or reduces oil prices????

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 10:57 am

Yes, bring on those frugal but powerful small cc diesel currently only european is enjoying

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 2:21 pm

don be like stupid usa only know hybrids

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 2:22 pm

IS GOOD , BUT THE FUEL PRICE WILL BE LOWER OR HIGHER ???…… I THINK THE EURO 2M DIESEL IS BETTER.

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 4:42 pm

can someone please identified the company that is selling the diesel which is marked as D in the above table?

so far, it’s the best diesel (clean) and such info will really help those owning turbo-diesel or diesel vehicle.

heard that many syangnyong and other vehicle with rather modern diesel die after a few years due to taking the ‘wrong’ diesel.

at least they know where to fill up. the rest of the diesel contigent (the commercial vehicle) will not find it necessary to switch… as their diesel engine no need cleaner fuel to run (and not kaput).

i think a lot of posting requesting this info have been made to no avail..

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 5:09 pm

and i personally think the Govt have purposely missed a great opportunity to upgrade the diesel once and for all (to acceptable level). euro 2M or euro II is a indicator that Govt. bow down to oil companies pressure (they dont want to invest $$) when they have been and still raking huge profit years after years.

show that u are govt by-the-people & for-the-people by gazetting emission standard that actually meaningful (and timely) and not some emission standard that could and should had been introduced in January 1996 instead in Jan 2009, some 13 YEARS late!

jumping to euro 4 for both diesel and petrol will not hurt the economy coz it is already being hurt, the damage can’t be reverse and became much worse further (coz euro 4 makes petrol and diesel will probably increase the price by 10 sen?). It didn’t cost much to upgrade refinery facility to produce euro4 fuel. the accountant know how to amortise asset rite? and all that wonderful account magic? if its expensive, buy the euro 4 fuel from outside. my guess is there’s alot of refineries across east asia with excess supply of euro 4 fuels nowadays.

additionally, like many suggest, sell both euro 4 and existing diesel/petrol (now euro 2M) and let market demand decide. gazette it as compulsory to all petrol stations to offer it.

the damage was fully done at time when petrol price were increased by 78 sen. introduction of euro4 will done the rakyat good. dont worry, pilihanraya is still far away…

• Lew SF on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Re: intermilan

Just change the tax/subsidy system to 10% tax for Euro II, 8% tax for Euro III, 6% tax for Euro IV, 4% tax for Euro V and 2% tax for Euro VI, and see how fast Malaysia catches up with Europe and also leave behind those countries in Asia that are now all ahead of Malaysia (Tokyo, HK (IV), Beijing (IV), Taipei, Seoul, Bangkok (III), Singapore (Diesel IV), etc.

• The government should go ahead and implement Euro 4 standard as in Singapore. Do note that there are always National Environment Agency officers at the checkpoint checking the black smoke of lorries, factories buses, school buses. Once caught with emitting black smoke, NEA will issue summons costing SGD600.00. Why should we business users bear the summons charge for polluting the environment when the mistake is at the government side who has no intention of upgrading the diesel quality? They should move on to the Euro 4 standard as soon as possible instead of dragging on with no time frame of implementing it.

• agha shahid raza on Jun 17, 2011 at 5:56 pm

I wanted to know that which grade diesel should be used in 4.0 H.P. diesel engine