Proton GEN2 to be assembled in Iran

ProtonAn agreement has been inked between Proton and Iranian distributor Zagross Khodro for the supply of automotive parts to Iran which will allow Zagross Khodro to assemble CKD kits of the Proton GEN2 in Iran. Assembling the Proton GEN2 locally in Iran will enable more competitive pricing.

The first locally assembled Proton GEN2s are expected to roll off Iranian assembly lines in April 2009 from Zagross Khodro’s assembly plant in Borujerd city, southwest of Iran. The two companies have previously inked two other agreements on licensing, technical assistance and equipment purchase.

Proton and Zagross Khodro’s CKD partnership goes back to the early 2000s where the latter assembled and sold the Proton Wira in Iran. It previously sold fully imported Proton cars in the Iranian market. Zagross Khodro was established in 1996 and claims to be Iran’s largest private automotive company.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 12:38 am

well done. Keep moving forward and do us proud.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 7:32 am

but, some still will not proud….

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 7:55 am

Good job proton! But remember there still a long way to go. All the best!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 8:08 am

How about the China case? Quiet de… Dont do stupid deal.. later ppl will sue us back and we lost even more money..

If this deal is good, i support it.. Anyway hope that Proton will survive this recession. As world wide big manufacturer are big cutting cost..

• DRC (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 8:17 am

How is the quality of new Gen2? Comparable to Persona? Don’t take it as sinister, just asking only. Anyone?

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 9:09 am

The china case is in lawyer study condition. Posibly that china company (those delaying many progress) will be sueing back by proton.

In other POV, Iran is good for Middle East jv partner. And since they had lots of oil… as main gradient of PLASTIC… we can get benefit of that.. perhaps.

They are producing Gen2 CPS right? It’s a good car .

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 9:51 am

Keep on the good moves P1. Make sure the quality even better and better locally or internationally..

• goguncas71 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 10:21 am

Funny mentioning the China case, the Chinese company DIDN’T get the licence it was supposed to get, is it Proton’s fault the chinese company bribed the WRONG officials?

I guess they thought the best defence if offence, better sue Proton before getting sued themselves…

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Nice one. my technician just got back from egypt. he said theres a LOT of Gen2 there. theres even Gen2 club there, with lots of crowd in it. since iran is way nearer from there, expect a lot more sales for proton. good job proton!

p2??? jaguh kampung… WTH~

• figolim85 (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 12:43 pm

i read some articles from china page said: GEN2 is type of RACING car???
    any idea?

• transformer (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 12:59 am

recently read from newspaper there are feasible studies whether Bolehland should go for Nuclear power… Iran PM or our PM visit them ?

now P1 goes CKD into Iran…. ?

are we exchanging P1 cars for nuclear tech ?

reminds me of russian sukhoi fighther jets purchase related to Bolehland’s taxi-ride angkasawan programme…..

• Mr_Zack (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 11:52 am

ReactiX said,
    December 24, 2008 @ 12:24 pm

Nice one. my technician just got back from egypt. he said theres a LOT of Gen2 there. theres even Gen2 club there, with lots of crowd in it. since iran is way nearer from there, expect a lot more sales for proton. good job proton!
    ————————

here http://geek2live.blogspot.com/2008/07/first-road-show-in-egypt-proton-gen2.html

• Mr_Zack (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Proton Gen.2 Popular Among Egypt’s Younger Generation
    here http://www.mysinchew.com/node/18967

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 11:25 am

transformer said,
    December 25, 2008 @ 12:59 am

recently read from newspaper there are feasible studies whether Bolehland should go for Nuclear power… Iran PM or our PM visit them ?

now P1 goes CKD into Iran…. ?

are we exchanging P1 cars for nuclear tech ?

reminds me of russian sukhoi fighther jets purchase related to Bolehland’s taxi-ride angkasawan programme…..

——————————————–

makes sense as well….. Do Not Trust Any G !!!

• lordragos (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 11:57 am

any news about Proton people will either congrats or bash and in between racist statement.. emm…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:37 pm

make your own G… ahaha

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 1:57 am

Mr Zack. Nice link you have up there.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 9:24 pm

Anyway, I saw news at rtm1 I think, the showroom there looks nice, they even got saga displayed there. rtm oso show a few waja taxis there. cool. Shud play on “islamic” aspect, then I believe it can sell pretty well :) . Like, say, every purchase of saga get free sejadah, n every purchase of gen2 get free yassin etc etc? lol

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 3:05 am

what a stupid article. First time car buyers of course will report good things about the car. if they ever did report anything about it.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 11:41 am

Paul… U bleedy idiot… Dun try cap our freedom to comment … Deleting user’s comment all…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 10:53 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    December 28, 2008 @ 11:41 am

Paul… U bleedy idiot… Dun try cap our freedom to comment … Deleting user’s comment all…
    ———————

Well he has the right to do that… This is his website and he want to share with us updates on automotive’s tech. When you or other ignorant ppl gaves comments that are offensive he has the right to remove them…