Toyota Passo Sette 7-seater MPV: full details!

Toyota Passo Sette

Toyota’s latest compact 7-seater MPV has been unveiled in Japan on Christmas day, so let’s check out the full details of the new compact people carrier that will make its way onto Malaysian shores sometime in the second half of 2009 as the new Perodua MPV.

As with alot of other Toyota compact cars, the new MPV is available under both the Toyota and Daihatsu badges as compact cars like these are pretty much mainly Daihatsu-engineered as it is their speciality.

Toyota Passo SetteThe Toyota version is called the Toyota Passo Sette, which essentially means Passo Seven, or a 7-seater version of the Toyota Passo. Sette means seven in Italian. The Daihatsu version is called the Daihatsu Boon Luminas, where Luminas is a combination of the words roomy and luminous.

All variants of the Passo Sette and the Boon Luminas are powered by the 1.5 litre 3SZ-VE engine putting out 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. Both front wheel drive and 4WD variants use a 4-speed auto, and the front wheel drive version is rated at 15.6km per litre under the 10-15 Japanese test cycle. There is an Eco-Drive indicator light on the dashboard to inform the driver when his driving style is economical.

Toyota Passo Sette

As previously reported, the compact Toyota Passo Sette measures 4,180mm long, 1,695mm wide and 1,620mm tall, with a long 2,750mm wheelbase to maximize the interior space which is 2,550mm long. The Boon Luminas CX with a bodykit is slightly longer at 4,195mm. Other dimensions that Toyota has provided include a 1,630mm space between the front and rear seat rows, a 150mm split seat slide for the middle row, a wide 935mm rear door opening to ease getting in and out, and a 630mm hip point for the driver to also aide ingress and egress.

Despite the car’s relatively long wheelbase its wheels are at the edges of the vehicle so it is compact and it has a 5.2m turning radius.

Toyota has provided the Toyota Passo Sette with some nice features in the interior including a rear seat entertainment system with a 7 inch widescreen monitor, a DVD player with headphone outputs, and the ability to play different media in the front and rear entertainment systems. There is an optional keyless entry and start with a key fob.

Toyota Passo Sette

The Boon Luminas also comes standard with a “music server”, which essentially lets you rip 660 minutes of audio content from your audio CDs and store it onto the car’s on-board entertainment system so you don’t have to carry your CDs around in your car. This is also a specifiable option for the Toyota Passo Sette.

The Japanese specs offers some rather decent safety features, though in the interests of cost and maximizing profit I doubt all of them will make it onto the Perodua specifications. The Passo Sette and Boon Luminas has a total of 6 SRS airbags, vehicle stability control (VSC), traction control, Dynamic Support Headrests which reduce the risk of rear-end collision whiplash, and finally ABS brakes.

Toyota Passo Sette

Now for the Japanese market prices. The Daihatsu Boon Luminas has higher specs so it is more expensive starting from 1,535,000 yen all the way up to 2,073,000 yen, while the lower spec Toyota Passo Sette starts from 1,490,000 yen but can be fully loaded up to a maximum price of 2,033,000 yen.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gori_s9 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:20 am

I hope produa would not do so much less than this since its already less. I mean in terms specification.

• gajen (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:35 am

wow i din expect the features to be this good…dvd player,7 inch monitor,vsc,music server…i doubt perodua will keep the dvd player and monitor but i hope they maintain the rest of the specs…

proton will have a hard time..just like the savvy-myvi battle..cant wait for real perodua mpv and proton mpv tho..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:36 am

its sad that the rear seats lacks ergonomics and looks just plain flat

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:36 am

Hmm..

the design is not bad.
    yeah true. Specs are a lil too lil.

• Swift Matrix (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:41 am

Look impressive for such a compact car. But the rear lamp look familiar to me.. Got curve at the bottom just like Proton MPV, any idea?..

• KuSesat (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:55 am

Haha merry Christmas to our hardworking Paul Tan!
    The third row seats look very very………very flat, which reminds me of the uncomfortable seats found in the old school buses. I notice 2 versions of trim. High specs for fwd and low specs for awd. Eco-Drive indicator may as well be named VVT-i indicator. I guess they are same concept.
    If this car ever got a Perodua badge, it will minus lots of luxury parts for cost-cutting measures and it will not be cheap. Proton MPV sure beats these Peroduas.
    I dun know what’s the point of posting the 2 interview video clips here.? Although they look slim n fit. I am sorry to say they are actually old aunties and are not lenglui bcos u can c their aging wrinkles :P

• natworks88 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 1:38 am

Frankly, IMHO, I believe Perodua made a right choice by combining technologies (badge engineering) cars from Daihatsu. Daihatsu is a well established company with great cars and connections with Toyota and driving a Perodua would mean imported technology. I have to admit quality and specs cannot match the original Jap models but hey, isn’t it good to drive proven technology? Some say Perodua copycat, but I would say smart business model, value for money. To me, Proton is just trying too hard ( no offence to Proton owners ) I own both a Waja and a Myvi, and I can indeed say that apart from good handling from the Waja, nothing comes close. Kudo’s to Perodua, and hope to see this model soon.

• indigo (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:05 am

A move to fuel saving 7-seater. What will it be called for local re-badged then? Myvi MPV? My7?

• indigo (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:13 am

Oops, looks like this is another feminine machine in Japan. In the rest of Asia, we all get feminine machines. Even Belta (Japan Vios) and Fit/Fit Aria (Jazz and City) are targeted towards female drivers. Passo and Boon are under the same situation as well.

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 6:58 am

if its my money, definately will buy this…proven & reliable tech & R&D from toyota & daihatsu….why risk my money on P1…but if someone else give me that money, will risk P1’s mpv coz its much bigger

• lfsism (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 7:43 am

Looking at the flat rear seat, but possibly a Tempur material that makes it comfortable ?

• DRC (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 7:56 am

I own a Waja. Handling and riding/suspension are good(better than Vios); the rest… Proton is learning to build an MPV. This is a good move and they need support from local people. But then, remembering the lesson from Waja, which is the car Proton learn to build themselves, will I buy the Proton’s MPV? Proton may be able to build good vehicles one day because they are learning hard. Remember, they are still learning. Some people, especially the politicians(all of them should buy Proton’s cars/MPV), need to give them a chance.

• DRC (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:04 am

I guess the price will be ~ 70 to 80k. Otherwise Avanza cannot survive. Higher than this, many will go for GL which seems to be a better product.

• cyberx11 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:06 am

Front looks like vois , back looks like ATOS..

• Cikaput (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:17 am

look good.. the problem is … how much??

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:23 am

1.5L for seven seater….

kinda skeptical…

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:24 am

it looks nice :)
    the 3rd row seems to be “uncomfort”?

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:31 am

The space looks so poor…
    The dashboard shares quite quite few things with Vios…
    So the real rival should be the Honda freed in Japan…

• Tracks (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:32 am

Looks wise it’s not bad. 3rd row seat look tall but wonder there is clearance for the feet to slot in underneath the 2nd row seat.

I didn’t see any air-cond vents for the middle or rear seats. If it is not available then it is suitable for climate in Malaysia. Kids are sure to complain. Then again, this is very subjective.

Air-bags for sure to be reduced to only 2units. Anyway, having shared components with MyVi should also help keep the cost down for both manufacturing and maintenance. Let’s wait n see how much it would cost.

• amad_a (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:51 am

Guys.. something just doesn’t make sense here..
    Compact car is meant to be small thus easy for maneuvering, parking as well as consume “less” fuel..
    But when compact + 7 seater = not so compact anymore…
    I dont see a point of having a compact car to carry more people..it defeats the purpose of a compact car.. if u want for really 7 seater, then bette opt for better choice.. no comment for P1 mpv (not out yet), but livina sounds not bad..

may be it just me…

• supernan9 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:00 am

Last row seat like papan.guess it feel when traveling on long distance.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:06 am

“…though in the interests of cost and maximizing profit I doubt all of them will make it onto the Perodua specifications. …”

That’s more like it, Paul. High 5!! And who was it that says oni proton care abt making money n let innocent msians die?

Italian kah… why not call it Passo Nana? Nt proud of own japanese word for seven? Budget if use Italian word can hv Italian flair la? huh. Assuming it’s built to target Fiat multipla la, ahahah.

Natworks88,

Which waja u use la? My dad’s waja with mitsu engine is better than my aunt’s vios to me. Good Lotus-tuned handling, “proven” mitsu engine, “proven” mitsu gearbox, spacious, leather seats, cheaper to buy and cheaper to maintain and that is provided that it’s always maintained on schedule. Apart from having to change the pw twice (suka la tu? ye la ye la, ada la pw prob gak) on the driver’s side, and a flat battery once (of which the mechanic told me that ideally, battery shud be changed every yr. That battery gone flat after using it for 3 yrs), it has been going on strong since the last 6 years of owning it.

There u have it, two “japanese” cars, but why the difference? Of course, I’ll admit it’s a bit of the “assembler’s” fault, but tell me la, ppl who drive myvi usually ganas like ppl who drive proton aa?

“imported proven tech” kah, then why my fren’s latest 3-series masuk workshop after 1 yr oni can finally drive it outside the workshop….

• arie1968 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:14 am

two thing that i’m don’t like, speedometer at the center and 3rd row look like flat. overall looks good to me.

• crazee_rascal (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:19 am

is your money… So you choose between p1 &p2 but definitely the p2 more expensive compare to p1 mpv, my auntie own a myvi and new saga, the differences is money, new saga apprx 35k and myvi apprx 45k, both can carry 4 – 5 ppl. i’m not a car expert but this is truth from my own experiences, both are using same type of rear absorber, torsion beam with coil spring – that less comfortable to me, i dunno what p1 mpv will use, but check with chery v5 spec, it used dual link with anti roll bar( i dunno how its look like, the handling and comfort but somebody please share with me!!). i dunno what p2 mpv will use for rear suspension, i guess torsion beam b’coz of space concern, that definitely will jeopardize our comfort. From this POV, its your money, then you choose the right car for you… to me, i choose the cheap one…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:23 am

sometimes it more to brand concern…

p2=daihatsu=toyota=reliabitlity…

but, check this link,

“Toyota recalls more than 120,000 cars in China”

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/26/apworld/20081226072748&sec=apworld

• OpenMind (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:50 am

The car looks decent for the price they are charging in Japan. The specs seems to be reasonable or well expected for this generation car. Very clever marketing by using nice look ladies and most importantly, slim and petite ladies created a comfortable feeling when seated in the car and makes the car looks bigger that it is when they are standing next to the car.

My view is that, this would be good towards the competition to the compact MPV market. I hope the price stay competitive but I seriously doubt so as it’s already proven in the past that this car segment is going to be more and more expensive instead of the other way.

1.5cc is really a down side for the car, and if you are purchasing the car simply because of its’ space and capacity to carry more people, you will soon realize it’s no fun to drive as it will be substantially underpower under a full load condition. Of course, with 1.5cc, the price of the car can be contained better.

I am not sure if you realize that the actual length of the car is still 100mm shorter than the famous Wira.

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:51 am

myvi stretch …

then p2 will later launch the myvi stretch SE equipped wif those luxury equpiment, e.g. the dvd player & music server ..

i dun think the base model by p2 will be well equppied .. they would jus get some old useless stereo and fit into the car …
    to gain more profit ..

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 10:13 am

crazee_rascal, the Proton MPV will also be using Torsion Beam with Coil Springs.

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 10:25 am

Paul, off-topic. Even Lexus has manufacturing defects.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/26/apworld/20081226072748&sec=apworld

Toyota recalls more than 120,000 cars in China

BEIJING (AP) – Toyota Motor Corp. has issued a recall for more than 120,000 cars in China to fix a problem that could result in loss of steering control, China’s quality watchdog said Thursday in the latest piece of bad news for the Japanese automaker.

Tianjin FAW Toyota Motor Co., a joint venture between Toyota and China’s FAW Group, will recall 121,930 vehicles beginning Friday, according to a notice on the Web site of the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine.

The notice said the recalled models include Crown and Reiz luxury sedans produced between 2005 and 2006, and Lexus cars produced between 2004 and 2006.

The agency said that manufacturing defects could cause the electric power steering systems to fail.

It was not clear if the same models would be recalled in other countries. Toyota officials in Japan could not immediately be reached for comment late on Thursday.

Toyota will contact owners of the affected vehicles, conduct checks and replace defective parts without charge, the Chinese agency said.

The notice did not say if any accidents have resulted from the defects.

The recall announcement was the latest in a string of bad news for Japan’s No. 1 automaker. On Monday, the company said it was sinking into its first operating loss in seven decades. Then Wednesday, Toyota reported that global vehicles sales had plunged 21.8 percent in November – its biggest drop in eight years.-AP

• andrewdaniel (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 11:10 am

If the price is below RM65k then it is still worth it. The car design look very similar to GRAND LIVINA. To those who’s thinking of getting P1 MPV please think twice as it was a 1st trial sure got many problem want.

• scottloeb (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 11:40 am

Passo Nana.. good one lah bro.. ini semua bakatare nih..
    dia punya price kene hit sweet spot la, kalau tak baik angkat GL..

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:00 pm

We must carefully differentiate between needs and desire.

Correct Openmind, this so-called compact mpv is 4180mm long while our wira 4270mm, almost 100mm longer.

Looking at the seating position we can clearly see the space will be cramp for even 5 adults plus 2 kids (especially the knee area). It will only suitable to ferry small children (6 of them) to school on daily basis. Do you have that much children? talk about family planning…..
    Car is enough if you have mere 3-4 children to school.

With this… we cant forget long trip, or some still say it can, but do you want your family to suffer all the way in the cramp space?

If you really need an mpv, start saving money get the real one. If you need to ferry yours and your neighboor’s children, get this.

Else… better get a proper car.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:07 pm

Not bad, for national car. Should be hot seller (although that is primarily due to car tax).

This car and its “cute” design combine with reliability an brand strength of Toyota/Daihatsu name will KILL the Potong MPV, no doubt about it. If Perodua can offer “Premium” model with most of the Japanese features (imagine, in-car entertainment system and 6 SRS airbags….slurp) this car will become premium choice for all the mummies and aunties fetching kids to school, tuition or whatever.

Potong got no chance to become No. 1 back again now! Another step to their doom. Hahaha.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:13 pm

@Wisdom:

Plz think carefully abit? Thanks to our “brilliant” G’s car tax system, not all family have money to go for MPV like Wish or Odyssey? Just a lousy mid-range (in Europe) MPV already cost almost RM150k?

Nowadays during CNY n Raya can see some family squeeze inside Kancil n Kelisa to go back hometown even, so at least in this car got more space. And who says 7-seater MPV MUST ferry 7 people? Can always fetch 2 adults (mum and dad) and 2-3 kids (some kids bigger size) then backseat use to store luggage or carry shopping.

All Perodua needs to get right is pricing. No doubt if around the 60-70k mark (for basic, for premium if offer the right options most wont mind even if touch 75-80k) is gonna kick ass like Myvi kicked Sawi’s ass few years back……. ;-)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:24 pm

hurm quite nice car. Good that it will kill the ugly third world only AVANZA.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:36 pm

like mini GL at side profile…
    i think for rebadged p2
    they alihkn no plat ke bumper balik
    hah,like myvi & viva before
    originaly toyota/daihasu plat no at bumper
    and lit change headlight
    no auto gated shift
    nah,p2 myce 7n~
    My vehicle Can Enough 7 Now
    sori,ni i teka je…
    anyway good luck p2
    with u 7 seat myvi
    :)

• natworks88 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 12:45 pm

tokmoh,

I drive a 2007 Waja Campro 1.6. Yes I agree about the previous model’s Mitsubishi technology. That one should be alright but as far as I’m concerned, my waja has suffered a steering gear problem and I changed my clutch bearing ( manual ) So far, pw no problem…haha. However, I do find build quality nbot up to standards. Both these cars, I do not trash coz petrol dis days… poket kosong. So far, I never miss a service for both my babies. Anyhow, P1 gotta catch up in some areas and they can still be a market leader.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 2:14 pm

again… someone talk about tax…. ahaha… i doubt if there is no tax, ppl will buy perodua ..

• f1 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 2:24 pm

Hmmm..still too early to comment much but i think this 1 is more sportier
    than proton mpv which i think would suit more matured buyer. Like toyota wish & estima depends on the buyer needs but in d end still falls onto d PRICE…should start from RM59,999 onwards coz it will be local assembled rite which would not effect Myvi sales i guess so have to wait & see then. Name it ‘Myspace, Mylife or Mywish!!! ha ha ha

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 2:36 pm

The looks of this MPV are nothing to shout about. Typical Toyota design. The long wheelbase and the wheels at the edges of the car make it look slightly wierd. I have a feeling the Proton MPV will look much better this.

But, of course, in a typical fashion, most Malaysians will opt for this MPV because it’s a Perodua.

• yippi33 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 2:36 pm

expect that the ride comfort will be the same as avanza. passengers at the back will surely bounced on an uneven road. and the papan lapis seat dont look good to me..but heck, when its a toyota, many people will buy..i think the price will be in the range of 70k-80k..

• madimat (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 2:52 pm

go on, Perodua.

Make more profits with this another nose job.
    Continue to provide Malaysians with a rebranded above average quality Toyota vehicles. Then after a while do another round of nose job for your own SE versions. And make more and more profits with that.

But with RM65K-75K range in price, what the heck..?? For a rebadged vehicles you can do better than that, c’mmon..! I mean without spending any plain $$ on re-engineering stuff other than marketing and those expensive TV commercials…?? Where are all the buyers money go..? Please sell it cheap say RM55K + then I will be among the first to que up for it. Then only then you can call yourself a No. 1 People’s Car Maker.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 3:11 pm

i dont know if they will assemble it here or just assemble the bumper… because to modify whole manufacturing line will cost millions…

or maybe they wil stop producing avanza and modify the production lineto suit this mpv…

• saki77 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 3:17 pm

tax..? hehe..same person, desperately looking for the same attention again…and again..and again…

autojohndoe…i agree with u….
    “i doubt if there is no tax, ppl will buy perodua ..”

• Swift Matrix (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 3:28 pm

When someone mentioned that this P2 MPV will kill P1 MPV, i feel sorry cos I doubt about this. Personally, I’m not really sure whether this P2 quality will be better than P1? I’m also not really sure whether this Compact P2 will suit most of the potential buyer compare with for those who looking for Medium Size P1? One more thing, should the price is almost identical, did people will still go for P2 which some of us really2 damn confident that it carrying iconic word “reliability” (though I’m bit sceptical on this cos i owned Myvi before) or people may just go for underated P1, which for me is more practicle since it will be on medium size category. Whether P1 will be a big loser this time, we should wait for battle Round2 when both of this most anticipating MPV officially running wild on our road. Prior to that, its worth for all of us to save our judgement first, as its unfair for us to judge both MPV based on our past experience and based on hear say only. In this case, Forward Thinking is almost welcome.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 3:43 pm

Ah_beng:
    Plz think carefully abit? Thanks to our “brilliant” G’s car tax system, not all family have money to go for MPV like Wish or Odyssey? Just a lousy mid-range (in Europe) MPV already cost almost RM150k?

-Thats why i told you to start saving money. Ooo i see, you’re the type that will by any new model in the market. Zero saving. Typical beng huh?

Nowadays during CNY n Raya can see some family squeeze inside Kancil n Kelisa to go back hometown even, so at least in this car got more space. And who says 7-seater MPV MUST ferry 7 people? Can always fetch 2 adults (mum and dad) and 2-3 kids (some kids bigger size) then backseat use to store luggage or carry shopping.

-Then no need to buy mpv. just buy a car. Say the price will be close to Vios or City. Just buy them then. What +/-500 liters boot capacity not enough meh? Its not that you’re homeless.

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Ahah…this will be the 1st Perodua car which has radio turner switch button fit at the steering…

3rd row seater?…sad to say…so tiny to be classify as 7seater mpv..the long journey will be disaster..

although,this will not be the same class as P1 mpv.so dont compare these two.

think twice…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:16 pm

myvi?
    no.. it’s not.. it’s VIVA stretched version.

Quality? not it’s not too..
    Viva plastic so bad, gap within join a large.. viva handling oso sucks.

Good FC?
    I dont think so… 1.5 engine surely underpower.
    to make it more lighter.. i believe the safety getting worse!..
    remember the tiny bar to stick up bumper in viva? i bet it the same!..

Sorry .. my money on P1 mpv. P2 badged toyota are overated!

• DRC (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:20 pm

Proton MPV versus Perodua MPV which one will I choose? I choose Proton Lancer (if most parts are Mitsu’s) if pricing similar.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 4:32 pm

points for bashing proton… tax point already used…

next point will be
    2. Iswara with no safety feature
    3. power window problem
    4. BMW Asia…

ahaha….

i think this mpv more suitable or 5 adults with 2 kids…

so, the market target may be different…

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 5:11 pm

autojohndoe,

u’re so right :D

• Peroistopper (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 5:13 pm

a. Daihatsu Boon Luminas higher spec is all the way up to 2,073,000 yen = RM 78,963.82

b. Toyota Passo Sette lower spec is up to a maximum price of 2,033,000 yen = RM 77,470.07

Hopefully Perodua or Toyota could assemble the car here, surely the price can be lowered down. Coz, not very much into this car with such price plus high gov tax….Hmmm.

Is this the end of Avanza?

• rodimus (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 5:25 pm

Good some other choise for the market, people nowaday can define which is a better make already. :p

• jules (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 5:37 pm

I think it’s going to be imported in from Japan… like nautica therefore.. Expensive. I think Perodua can only assemble till 1.3L.

• zoomming (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 6:37 pm

another boring car from Toyota…….and the story goes on..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 6:50 pm

hopefully Perodua will make their own version looks more attractive….

and maybe a 1.8 liter engine as option?

next year shall be a MPV Battle Year, haha!!

• mct (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 7:27 pm

before you all said it will definitely under power
    you should see the size of the car first lah
    this car is not longer then the new saga
    and it weight about the same as new saga
    is the new saga under power ??? it use and 1.3 campro only
    while this mpv use and 1.5 engine , if this call underpower
    what about grand livina ? weight 100kg~200kg more and only 0.7kgm more and 3hp less then this mpv . is livina underpower? i doubt that livina underpower

this sure is the strecth myvi, not viva , viva is much narrower and the name of the car tell us clearly that it is a passo 7 seated not mira 7 seated .pls take note to those who still said perodua mpv will base on viva .

i dun think the ride will same as the avanza as it will use a more comfortable suspension setup and it is the same setup as the g.livina
    without the g tax
    a normal wish will only cost at 70k complete with dvd ice

• crazee_rascal (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:30 pm

p1 mpv vs p2 mpv????
    p2 mpv, change rear & front bumper only maaa… then call p2 mpv…
    but p1 mpv also change bumper but it is not same with chery v5, totally different… that is how p1 engineer works and i believe p1 will push to the max to avoid the quality issue, otherwise will lose to p2…
    p1, please improve ur quality and u will become no. 1 again…

• csv (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 8:39 pm

wow, this is the p2 mpv huh, i know probably the dvd player, media player and climate control wont make it. as is the 6 airbags which will be retrofitted with 2 here.

• mct (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:28 pm

P2 mpv is not in the same league with P1 mpv , but still got a lot of ppl like to compare them ,this is same goes to savvy and myvi, both are in difference class!!!
    P1 MPV???????????????????????????????????????
    ????????????????????????????????????

• mct (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:30 pm

P1 mpv is not a rebadge version cherry V5
    this being discuss many times already !!!

• szw (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm

wat a piece of crap is dis ?
    crap for crazy ppl…
    muahahaha !!!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 9:57 pm

“Thats why i told you to start saving money. Ooo i see, you’re the type that will by any new model in the market. Zero saving. Typical beng huh?”

LOL.

Hello, plz wake up. Even if people have money, doesn’t mean they need to spend it all on just a car! Not just that, as someone mention wish only cost around 70-80k without tax, so why the hell ppl want to pay so much to the G? Somemore nxt yr economy not good, still wan to spend 150k on new car? Or, correction, 80k on new car, and the rest donate to Swiss bank account of AP king or some minister’s wife Paris shopping trip? No way, Jose.

If this new Perodua MPV can manage, enough la. Even though might be tight fit, not everyone is so stupid as “certain people” to take 7 yrs loan for a bloody car!

“Then no need to buy mpv. just buy a car. Say the price will be close to Vios or City. Just buy them then. What +/-500 liters boot capacity not enough meh? Its not that you’re homeless.”

Haha. You must be a Proton fanboy – thats y never had chance to sit inside Vios/City or even Myvi before! Hey friend, even a “cheap” Myvi also more spacious interior than a City ok? You talking about comfort? Well I guarantee you that for around 4-5 ppl you DEFINITELY will be more comfortable in Myvi than City. Only maybe Latio is more spacious.

How I know? Well my GF drives Myvi and up until early this yr I own City V-TEC. I sat in backseat of Myvi quite many times for relatively long drives (up to few hours) and FYI is much more comfortable than City.

If even a Myvi is more comfortable than City, then definitely this MPV is better buy for family than a compact sedan.

Btw, tired of ppl saying all Myvi is is “rebadged” car. Perodua sent 80 designers to Japan in joint collaboration with Daihatsu – Get your facts right!!!

Ok, they still didn’t do most of the work, but even JV 30% of a decent car (quite good considering our national car standard) is better than 100% of a crappy piece of junk.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Beng…

Myvi more comfortable than City? Haha. Clap clap.

Myvi felt more ‘brittle’ than City on uneven roads. Though both using rear torsion beam, City copes better on uneven roads especially in addition of rear boots (higher loads). But any car with proper rear independent setup beats both any day.
    Heck even myvi have lower quality support at their backseat/ bench than city. Are you ok?

As usual, your foolishness starts to appear after each successive comment. Glad not hearing your ‘Iswara kills’ story. Btw, don’t recommend this stretch myvi to any of your friend coz the build-up looks fragile. We dont want to hear ‘perodua mpv kills’ story from u next time.

Cheers

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 10:34 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 26, 2008 @ 9:57 pm

Btw, tired of ppl saying all Myvi is is “rebadged” car. Perodua sent 80 designers to Japan in joint collaboration with Daihatsu – Get your facts right!!!

——————————–

you can say what you like dude, fortunately, not everyone is as ill-informed as you are.

as for perodua, you are so very wrong. they are not a car manufacturer and thats a fact. you can argue all you want, and type all you want on this forum, or on any other forum in the world.. but the fact is, all peroduas are rebadged daihatsu cars.. i’m very sorry to have to break your bubble on this.

i personally have no issues with perodua. my first car i owned was a kancil 850, and it served me well.. all i’m saying is, stick to the facts if you wanna argue.

btw, i cannot agree with you on myvi being more comfy than the city.. not that the myvi rides badly.. but the problem is the foam in the seats.. after sitting for about 20 mins.. the foam has gone flat.. and that gives me a sore back..

• f1 (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 10:46 pm

Good job paul seems like u got so much pic & details of d car even may be more than p2 mpv coming launch. I think that maybe now toyota/daihatsu & p2 r sharing some of d design coz the more i look at it the more myvi shadow . Especially d front grill & bottom part of d bumper really like d original myvi front except d headlamp of course.

Dont mind if p2 put myvi or viva headlamp onto this car coz it may look better than this passo/boon headlamp & could lower the cost for cheaper price. Well, guess we have to hold on to our down payment until we see this baby comes along after p1 launch its mpv.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 26, 2008 at 11:25 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 26, 2008 @ 9:57 pm

Joke of the year!…
    and that even set-up how low your knowledge are!

• mct (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 2:34 am

i think what not_ah_beng trying to said is the myvi is more spacious than city
    thus myvi could offer a better rest place on the long journey as the city could be a bit cramp on the leg room if compare to myvi, yes the seat on city are more comfortable than myvi,but the leg room it had is much lesser then myvi if you a tall person , the greater headroom and legroom from myvi mean more comfortable for a long journey trip .(sitting comfort,not the ride quality )

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 6:17 am

yeah, people choise,,but,, we should consider next year economy growth and situation, we realize current economy situation. do people want to buy new car? or just maintain whateva car we have?

if thsi new MPV or proton MPV have gud sales figure,that mean… our malaysian are really optimistic to our own economy strength… which is gud lah..

• peYno (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 6:43 am

Ah beng said myvi is spacious(more head clrearance /leg space means comfort???

then NISSAAN VANETTE is really comfort???
    prrrfthhh sitting in spaciousd myvi like sitting in spacious VANNETTE or bigger kancil
    comfort for long journey means the seat that can give u good sitting posture, adjustable head rest which can support ur neck and the most important is your ride quality (less bumpy and good suspension setup)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 9:56 am

mct said,

December 27, 2008 @ 2:34 am

thus myvi could offer a better rest place on the long journey as the city could be a bit cramp on the leg room if compare to myvi, yes the seat on city are more comfortable than myvi,but the leg room it had is much lesser then myvi if you a tall person , the greater headroom and legroom from myvi mean more comfortable for a long journey trip .(sitting comfort,not the ride quality )

that would be a very fair argument, if it was true.. ever sat in the back of a city? the headroom is and legroom is fantastic. i cant imagine needing anymore. true enough, same goes with the myvi. but as i said, the foam in the myvi seats are way too soft, and go flat after sitting for any length of time… hence not enough support.

• abundai (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 10:35 am

its about time Daihatsu follows Nissan steps 4 years ago, add the 3rd row seats to their Cube, and walaaa…Cubic was born..
    I cant wait to see the Perodua version.. it should be cool!! a compact 7 seater is exactly what an average income, medium family in Malaysia needs right now… 15.6km/L is pretty darn good……

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:00 am

“Myvi more comfortable than City? Haha. Clap clap.”

Apparently some don’t understand the meaning of spaciousness…..

“as for perodua, you are so very wrong. they are not a car manufacturer and thats a fact. you can argue all you want, and type all you want on this forum, or on any other forum in the world.. but the fact is, all peroduas are rebadged daihatsu cars.. i’m very sorry to have to break your bubble on this.”

They are a car manufacturer, go read up the definition plz…..their models may all be based off Daihatsu/Toyota compacts/subcompacts but at least the quality of the car is reasonable compared to the “other” car manufacturer. They may not be a car designer, but as I said many times before, I rather drive a rebadge decent car than a “original” piece of junk like Gen-2.

Btw, now Proton oso crawling on hands and knees back to Mitsu for JV so will you Proton fanboy also claim they are not a car manufacturer? I don’t think so!

And btw, just FYI, when Potong build Campro engine they realize they can’t build the engine cylinder head themselves, so force to contract out to P2. Don’t believe me? Go google it. :) God knows what else they force to contract out. So much for “original”, “own design” and whatever BS you fanboys type.

“ever sat in the back of a city? the headroom is and legroom is fantastic. i cant imagine needing anymore. true enough, same goes with the myvi. but as i said, the foam in the myvi seats are way too soft, and go flat after sitting for any length of time… hence not enough support.”

1st of all, I used to OWN a city. I’m talking about 1 version before the current 1, the 4th Gen. If you are tall, and the driver is also tall, pushing his seat all the way back, then there is not much legroom at all! Do think, if legroom was SO great in the 4th Gen, then how come the new city increased it for both front and rear passengers? LOL.

As for headroom, City is pretty good. I never claimed otherwise.

As for “foam seats”, “too soft” whatever man, that’s subjective. Of course Myvi is nowhere near as comfortable as many cars, but then look at the price range. Its certainly more comfortable than Potong cars.

• abundai (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:12 am

just to add respond to some other comments posted earlier:
    This is based on my own experience owning a nissan Cubic 7seater 1.4L 102hp

> 1.5L for a 7 seater? A compact 7seater with cramp leg space, uncomfortable 3rd row?? No 2nd row air cond vent ?

For me, the 3rd row seats are meant for emergency cases. Not evry1 who owns a 7 seater car in this entire world drives with 7 person in it evrytime they take a drive. It’s like the old saying, “sediakan payung sebelum hujan”.. yes, its cheaper to buy a disposable raincoat from 7E, but it would more convenient if you have an umbrella, dont u think? and it doesnt rain evryday!! Have you ever experience a moment where your family and friends came over on a holiday to your place, and you need to bring them around town. Dont you wish you could have an extra seat to drive them around in your 5 seater car ? Wouldnt it be fun and convenient ? the more the merrier, right? not mentioning the fuel saving…

for power, u’ll need torque more than u need top HP… and again, its not right to drive at high speed when ur responsible for the live of the other 6 passanger in your car…90-110km/h is sufficient, which is considered fast already for malaysian road…

a compact 7 seater is compact… u dont need 2nd row aircond vent to cool the entire space…its not as big as Avanza nor Estima.. My Cube also do not have a 2nd row aircond and i never get complain from the 3rd row saying its hot at the back…anyway, a good tint really helps alot…btw, u drive your car at the front row, and maybe carry a few people on the 2nd row…so why bother TOO much how it is on the 3rd row? its meant for emergency cases only, remember? .. but if your emergency case happens too often, then your better off buying an Avanza at a higher price… or Grand Livina….

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:13 am

Oh man, ah beng. U must be really deluded to think that myvi is more spacious and comfortable than a Honda City. I rather be driven in a City than a myvi. Heck, i’d rather be driven in a Gen2 rather than a myvi. The same goes for me driving it. I think Myvi is just an overated rehash of a boring car.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:22 am

Greatest Clown here..trully Ah Beng. My Mini spacious then City..greatest joke of teh year. Bloody hell…Myvi rear seat can only seat 2 adults & 1 kid only. Cant even load in luggage & bloody dabgerous on highway. High FC & weak centre of gravity. Comparing mini car to saloon shows he is pretty iognorant.
    Cleary he doesnt own City. Bloody bouncy at rear seat if u sit on Myvi…heck even Persona is spacious then the myvi.

Myvi for god sake meant for gentle gender lah..its cute car not handsome. The so call self not so Ah Bendg must me small size build thats why he tot Myvi is spacious then City..if u r built , real man size u know City can sit 3 at the rear. In fact it has better headroom then Vios ..ok.

BTW..my so called Hirer is in tooling & precision engineering & is contract to mfg tooling eqpt for P2 MPV since early this year. Anyway…this P2 MPV is said to be only 6 seater (not 7) as attest by its P2 CEO & came in only 1.3L engine. Donno how true is was mentioned by P2 CEO & as my financee..

But I trully believe so as P2 is meant to produce only Mini cars with small engine capacity ..thus the version in M’sia will be 6 seater with 1.3L engine.

• f1 (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:29 am

i think myvi is more spacious & comfortable coz with d price of city u can buy 2 myvi liau…isnt that so spacious & comfortable Ha Ha Ha!!!

• xstan (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:30 am

Another Clowny comments from the Real Ah Beng Clown of the year..Hey City is only on 3 rd generation. This year City is Generation 3 while the outgoing is Generation 2. Wat whole lot of crap u r??

My foot u owned City…clery u are Mini Car guy. Go drive ur gentle Mini car. Go play with other school boys ..grow up then comment here.

U for got about the wideness of teh car…the boot lugguage size..the Myvi tall seating position thus ur leg move freely..& most of the most dangerous car ..accident , driver goes to hell with safety features merely for show only. Worst centre of gravity thus driving along highway..gush of wind blow, u turn turtle…if a car bang u from behind,,hell all passenger die on the spot.

Anyway..Myvi suits gentle gender & elderly driver with no confidence on road…Learner Car. Xcel as Lembu Car.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:36 am

Adding to Ah Beng comments…all new generation car launched will grow in size ..wat bloody ignorant u r.

Just like Vios 2nd Gen, rear space is lot worst..poor leg room & head room, now that is cleary smaller then My Mini. The New 3rd Gen Vios improved in size ..better legroom (with longer legroom) but still weak in HeadRoom.

Do ur homeowrk..mymini when stretch to back by tall person like me at driver side..my leg got brush by siting at rear. I’m 5’11” & I’m physically fit with buff up body OK..I’m wat u call Gym Freak. Tats why I can tell u Wideness is deemed important..Mymini failed misserably.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 11:42 am

REALLY AH BENG…

u doesnt understand the word Spaciouness..please do grow up.

Go check wide x length x Height…go check if the City bottom compartment of rear seat can keep luggage..thats space. Sit 3 at rear (compare to 2 1/2 of my mini) is spacioness.

Have to admit Mymini is Tall..thus seating position at high up thus allowing roomy leg allowances. But then when I raised my arm to the side..I can even reach to teh other edge.

Go study wats spacioness to u.

Real Clowny Real Ah Beng.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 12:14 pm

not_ah_beng…

truly u r talk about what things that u dont know..

i been in both places…

first… perodua practice rebadging…. it is even said by one of the Assistant Manager at Perodua to me myself…. been in their RnD and saw some of Japanese models ready to be modified… wanna argue again?

second, the cylinder head… it is only to produce the raw cast of the cyl head is made by perodua, proton also outsource other country vendors to make it… but the design is theirs… wanna argue again?

GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT!!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm

why do i argue with this beng? i also dont know…. ahaha…

he love p2 so much and if proton is even better he will never accept…

bcoz, to him it is solely proton fault he never can buy Honda, Lexus, Toyota, Ferrari, Lamborghini and etc at lowe price…

• xstan (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 1:26 pm

mct said,
    December 27, 2008 @ 2:34 am

————————————————————-
    Dude…Myvi rides still trully bumpy lah even on normal road condition. Ur bum will soar. Its bloody struggle at highway,,thus is so loud that u would not enjoy ur sleep. Wat compfy are u talking about.
    I’m 5’11” & my rides a City/Persona & Vios(my sis) ..my passengers with 5 adult guys sit comfy at the back with spacious leg room & head room. Wat sense are u talking about.
    My Aunty’s (real grandma) is Mymini SE…..& driving at town is terrible for 3 adults coz its cramp. I drove hers to send for service. For god sake it cant sit 3 adults..merely 2 adults & 1 midget at rear. Worst cant even load ur luggae. No power with only 1.3L its struggle.
    Good point..its a good ride for no confidence driver & good parking at tight space. Dangerous Road hog.
    Just to say..u r missing the width..
    & City can sit 3 tall adults even with height 6′ at rear with 6″ driver up front. Best in City u can stuff ur shopping bags at the compartment at the bottom of the rear seats & still lots of leg room to move freely.
    Mymini sits 2 tall adults with 1 midget & u call SPACIOUS….wat clown.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 1:31 pm

For those who missed my earlier comments:-

This M’sian version P2 MPV seats 6 only & with engine 1.3L. M’
    sian govt incorporated P2 to produce mini car segment with small engine placement of 1.3L & below.

Anyway..I came to know this from my IHP hirer early this year as he does contract tooling precision job. BTW, P2 CEO also mentioned that it will be 6 seater MPV with 1.3L engine. Go check previous announcment post or as reported in media.

• KF (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 3:11 pm

The Toyota Passo 7 Seater looks tempting but personally I’d rather get the Nissan Livina

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 3:28 pm

if it is true 1.3L…. it will be more skeptical on the performance… 1.3L avanza doesnt get much praise isnt it? correct me if im wrong…

i think that will be their marketing strategy… 1.3 first than roll out the 1.5… like the avanza…

• Swift Matrix (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 5:42 pm

Another Italian Job from P2 this time?????

• peYno (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 6:10 pm

This MPV also will be assembled under Daihatsu brand in Indonesia and exported for ASEAN market as downgraded and low end product.

but off coz, gorv oso wants to protect our so called “2nd National car” P2, this MPV daihatsu indonesia made won’t enter msia market ,but they let P2 produces this MPV and sell it higher than Daihatsu Indonesia price.

this is what we call.. MESIA BOLEH

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 6:20 pm

Ist of all, P2 will remove unnecessary itmes such 2nd and 3rd row head rest, downgrade the engine (1.3l) suspension and setup, change the bumper and tadaaaaaaaa.. done.. New joint development with toyota and this time we sent 100 over engineers there.. prrrfthhh

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 8:25 pm

i bet, they gonna put the same old engine in ‘new’ avanza. With slap some dvvt badge, walaaaa.. sell it overprice. Sure laku maa.. p2 fan just blind..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 8:31 pm

if they gave us this instead of the stupid indonesian avanza

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 27, 2008 at 8:52 pm

Natworks88,

Why, u’re more rational than I thought!! Sorry if I hurt u bro, but anyway, I hv a gud news: proton is improving ;) With DSZ coming from Perodua background, Proton now is going through a process of being “perodua-ised”, or “toyota-ised”, or kaizen, or whatever.

Ya now even if petrol price x sakit, still hv to jimat so that can save to buy food n other stuffs. But gud la in a way. Since that’ll cause us to drive with more care, it by right shud be more reliable in the long run haha. Happy motoring dude ;)

scottloeb,

Ya, or Passo Shichi.

To those who believe P1 MPV better than P2 MPV,

Yes, I agree. I hv confidence P1 MPV will impress me. Unfortunately, the problem is not the MPV. It’s the Msian market. Anything Japanese je trus “gud car, gud 2nd hand value, reliable, blabla”. Anything msian je “satu lagi projek BN”, “kroni”, “AP”, “pwr window rosak”, “campro terbakar” et cetera.

We may argue Proton edi change, just look at saga sales. Sadly, the fact that myvi n viva are still on top is an indication that the consumers here are THAT ignorant. sigh.

• mct (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 12:08 am

xstan
    i mention earlier, sit comfort ,not ride comfort
    the ride on city is way better but i said the space you got when you get into the car
    city have a better interior width than myvi and that true, but the leg room of city is not as good as the myvi , i sat couple of city before, the result is the same , the headroom also , i only have a bit of space before my head is touching the roof of the car , myvi offer slightly more headroom.

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 12:12 am

Urgh! Not very nice, boring yawn to max, but…but more quality and reliable than crappy Proton for sure!
    Yeah, improving by giving substandard quality, that’s you P1.
    Since this forum is for fetus fanbois and fangirls of hardcore diehard P1, bombard me?

Ha ha….

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 1:18 am

“1st of all, I used to OWN a city. I’m talking about 1 version before the current 1, the 4th Gen. If you are tall, and the driver is also tall, pushing his seat all the way back, then there is not much legroom at all!”
    -Ahbeng

Anybody reading this post can immediately know that you never own a City before. And we know you try to cheat readers by referring to the last face-lifted 2nd generation City, which you’ve mistaken for 4th generation, showing how shallow your knowledge is. Well wth, some joke can be a good entertainment but if you really meant what u said, u better check your ‘fuse’.

The most, you’re driving a myvi. Yeah right myvi is the ‘best’ car in the world.

Another funny comment;
    “I rather drive a rebadge decent car than a “original” piece of junk like Gen-2.”
    =I rather wear a rebadge decent Levi’s (from thailand) than a “original” piece of washout authentic Levi’s.
    Talk about cheap malaysian….

• natworks88 (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 1:19 am

tokmoh,

thanks for nice comments. personally hope Proton will improve in some ways quality, etc. Heard Proton is regaining ontracts with Mitsubishi for new Waja as Paul had mentioned earlier. Still enjoy my Waja ride + handling and yes, I use the Waja to ferry my gf.. lol. Anyhow, we should all support both P1 and P2 and its a pride that Malaysia can actually come up to these heights since the first Saga way back in 1985. Thanks and all of us, dare to change.

p.s

Drove my Myvi to KL and I had sakit belakang for a long time.. however, the seats were still fine. Hope Perodua can bring prices low to suit most Malaysian’s pockets. Any idea why FR cars aren’t popular today? Apart from Rush and Avanza, its hard to find any FR cars in the reasonable price bracket.. le sigh.

• madimat (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 1:46 am

yeah right finally i, the proton fanboy, have to agree with not_ah_eng, the perodua fanboy, that his MyVi is the best car in Malaysia and also the best car in the world, beaten even a honda or even the original toyota in terms of comfortanility and spaciousness, well maybe even beaten a lorry or a bus, .. that if we all believe his nonsense.

yeah and also i have to agree with him, the perodua fanboy, that all proton cars are junks or whatever, that me, a proton fanboy always having this kind of problem with my current proton car : i just cant resist to drive it !

and yeah right also we have to agree with mr perodua fanboy that all perodua cars are designed by perodua engineers, .. whatever. yeah honestly i think that all perodua car bumpers and skirtings are very nicely done and look great,………. and thats all. perodua can send 80 or 100 or 3000 engineers to daihatsu to design new bumpers and side skirts and all those stuff. So everybody, let us all just agree that perodua is now officially a “Car Manufacturer”.. yeayy..!

So mr not ah beng, hopefully you’ll be happy. why dont you go celebrate and ask your girlfriend to drive you for like, 500 kms with you sitting at the back. have fun !

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 10:33 am

I think probably this new Perodua MPV just a bit larger than Jazz, if u all want larger space just choose Proton MPV or if u want stylish just choose Perodua MPV n just ignore the third role seat, it just small i think, and about the dvd player, engine and wat so ever when enter to Malaysia all will be down grade, and don’t hope for any cool gadget inside, if yes sure this MPV will be damn expensive, just compare with Avanza, Jazz and not Wish, mostly i think it just another Toyota tactic to competition with Honda, the measurement of it almost the same at Honda Jazz.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 11:44 am

better than perodua MPV….

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 11:51 am

not_ah_beng is totally owned!
    haha!
    get your facts straight before you even touch the keyboard…
    guess he/she is goin to change the nickname soon…hehe

• f1 (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 12:19 pm

G..u guys r still talking about ah beng, myvi & city since yesterday arr???
    any other subject besides this? Like d topic of this comment…

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Wisdom said,
    December 28, 2008 @ 1:18 am

“I rather drive a rebadge decent car than a “original” piece of junk like Gen-2.”
    =I rather wear a rebadge decent Levi’s (from thailand) than a “original” piece of washout authentic Levi’s.
    Talk about cheap malaysian….
    —————————————–
    Yo bro, potong cars may be ‘authenthic’, but please don’t mention them as ‘levi’s’ of this world! keep ur dream of being the BIMMER OF ASIA to urself!

for me there’s nothing wrong with what p2 is doing now. they r just a minor company from small country trying to make it big.

remember: ‘hardworking people create, smart people copy’. the romanticism of originality is no longer valid for smart buyers.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 12:58 pm

noactiontalkonly said,
    December 28, 2008 @ 12:41 pm
    remember: ‘hardworking people create, smart people copy’. the romanticism of originality is no longer valid for smart buyers.

The problem is… they are not that smart.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 2:13 pm

natworks88,

IIANM, FR are more expensive to manufacture, so aside from the Germans, others wanted to save cost on their bread-n-butter models.

madimat,

haha, gotta love ur sarcasm. Yes indeed, Perodua is the best. P2 is divine. P2 is God. Those who bash P2 are jealous. Those who bash P2 are poor proton owners like us. We by right shud just shut up more and work harder instead so that we can buy the bestest car in the world, the P2 myvi. Hooray!!

Right…. on to not_ah_beng, enjoy ur 500km trip in comfort!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 7:00 pm

we argue here about p1 and p2… but we dont know if p2 will use this model for their mpv… because, last time when i was there, the staff said, p2 cant manufacture the same new model of TMC and DMC at the same time…

like viva and myvi, after 3-5 years it is launched at Japan, than the p2 can manufacture it…

i dont know…. can someone clarify this…

• Swift Matrix (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 9:15 pm

Guys, as what i mentioned earlier, its better for us to wait until both MPV officially launched by P1 and P2 before we can say which one is better MPV. You can state your impression on both MPV but its wise for us not to conclude your own judgement first. Personally I felt that people hearsay is not enough coz maybe there is P1 &P2 Salesman between us which posting bias comments here.

• abundai (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 10:33 pm

cant we start giving comment bout the Passo Sette?

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 1:40 am

“Yo bro, potong cars may be ‘authenthic’, but please don’t mention them as ‘levi’s’ of this world! keep ur dream of being the BIMMER OF ASIA to urself!”
    -noactiontalkonly

To be honest, i never own the bimmer of asia and never dreamt of it. i’m ok with their recent improvement. and i reserve my further comment since you admit that you’re talk-only type.

Back to the sette (or some already called it Myvi Satay), recap the dimension, its taller and almost identical width compared to normal sedan means higher center of gravity, might equals to less agile handling. i best not recommend this mpv to u guys since we’re car enthusiast. The kind of person who have passion on cars, and usually a spirited driver (some can drive with only two fingers). This car can’t provide us much excitement.

Hope toyota and daihatsu will not ‘tiu’ Perodua like they did with Nautica. They spent a lot sending those 80 engineers. Another few miilions flow out of the country.

• AM2 (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 1:46 am

This should replace the Avanza.

• AM2 (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 1:48 am

Its much more modern than the ASEAN Avanza, now if they’d only make an ASEAN version of the JDM Passo Sette.

• mct (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 2:14 am

whiteeye
    this car competitor is an 8 seated honda freed (mini mpv as well)
    not jazz, and jazz is 300mm shorter and that amount of length can give us a big space

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 9:42 am

i have a bimmer,
    but i had no doubt waja is far better than vios.

btw, if proton mpv had a 3rd row seat like that..
    i don’t know what bashers will say.. hahahahahhahhaha

actually.. that sette 3rd row seat remind me an old 80’s bus seat!..
    and what i see from all those pics.. it’s really cramped legroom!

• arie1968 (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 10:54 am

i think this passo mpv should or must replace old avanza with ‘make up’.
    avanza is too long in asean market. Give us with new tech and good car affordable price. try to be not greedy.

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 7:01 pm

1.5cc 7 seater…might be using the avanza/vios engine…anyway, i believe a Turbo Diesel 1.5cc would be better due to better torque & gud fc…..heard gomen will introduce euro2M diesel quality….

really hope we get gud quality diesel coz i really enjoy those huge torque + gud fc from modern diesel…

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 2:34 pm

i would love to own this car
    1.3cc for myvi is speedy. but for 5 adults, it kinda struggles

1.5cc for this perodua mpv should perform just like a myvi.just add a thule and it’ll be perfect !

people don’t really care much about power. they care about space. perodua has good reputation for OK performance. it is gonna be a seller!

price wise? should compete with avanza 1.5

• OpenMind (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 4:42 pm

To Not_Ah_Beng, sorry that you are been bashed left, right and center. But i think you may want to really listen to other people opinion instead of being too defensive.

Most people consider comfort as in comfort in ride, so, it is an aggregated of factor within ride comfort: e.g. space,, head clearance, leg room, quality of the seat, the cooling, how silent it is, how does it feel when you are going over a rough surface or bump or taking corner, how smooth is the car, etc. And when you just consider space only, that’s why many people couldn’t agree with you.

Secondly, sending 80 engineers doesn’t mean anything about building the car and most importantly it is Perodua positioning from day 1 to be a local car manufacturer by doing rebranding.

For those who claimed that this car is underpower, it merely means how they feel when you really packing it with 7 people or 5 people plus load. No one say that saga is not underpower or livina is not underpower…you are thinking too much.

Myvi is no doubt one of the best seller in Malaysia, but it doesnt warrant it’s position as the best best (even within it’s category).

Mr. Wisdom, I dont think he or his girlfriend even owns a Myvi…….

• tanasi (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 5:31 pm

MyVi – very high spring stiffness, short compression motion, especially on the rear. Don’t believe me, go on the KLIA highway, Shah Alam bound. Just before the overhead pass of the Putrajaya exit, at 110kph, the whole car just bounces over the road surface.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 9:47 pm

The back seat of Mymini is known as BENCH…tats wat Cars.my or was it AutocarAsean mag recent review quote. One must be the lady driver (Ah Beng’s girlfren) to have seat very upfront to the steering (as usual to many lady driver), thus result ample leg room for rear rear passenger .
    If I adjust & drive Mymini, the back row passenger legs will brush the front seat. I agreed it has spacious headroom. But the leg room is indeed similar to City.
    To say..the back seat passenger will enjoy much comfort in Myvi is overstatement unless one is midget or waffle thin size & bum to numb to the springy sensation.
    Just don understand …mini size car but with BIG EGO.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 31, 2008 at 8:12 am

“mini size car but with BIG EGO”

Well said mate… =D

• nss (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Let see the price at Japan market, we would know what really price is.
    1 Yen exchange 0.04043 ringgit.

Myvii
    http://toyota.jp/passo/
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/boon/grade/index.htm

Myvii Panjang?
    http://toyota.jp/passosette/concept/concept/index.html
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/boon_luminas/grade/index.htm

TVCM

Daihasu Boon Luminas

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/cm/boon_luminas/media/top_01_01.wmv
    ha ha ha beautiful sunday(3 column)
    ama ama ama amazing sunday(3 column)

• Arise on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Ape macam dengan Perodua MPV ? Any news ? Any specs revealed somewhere out there ?

• EricG on Mar 03, 2009 at 9:09 pm

It could be the Daihatsu Luxio tu as well..

the link: http://www.autoincar.com/daihatsu-luxio-minivan-f…

• kalendar2009 on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:26 pm

produa have no idea on mpv…

please dont wait for their mpv as there is no news at all…

postpone new produa mpv next year

• goldust on Mar 15, 2009 at 4:36 am

I just went to see the new sette. Honestly the design is quiet nice but the space from the rear is abit cramp. To compare, sienta the design is abit funny but overall the spacious of the seat is good. As specially the rear sit . Very friendly organised. And not to forget the sliding door. So guys. if you are a family guy like me. You would definitely,take spacious compartment.

• It can beat Exora if the price is lower. If the price is as Nautica then this MPV will bungkus early le.

• xstan on Mar 16, 2009 at 7:46 pm

trust me…the version in M'sia wil be priced lower the Exora, but it will be smaller with 6 Adults version with small engine capacity say 1.3L.

A statement made by Perodua Chief sometime back.

Note, P2 is meant to produce small mini car with engine placment not more then 1.3L so as placed itself far from Proton.

• carman on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:30 am

no… no.. if it's powered by 1.3 engine… sure underpower to overtake.. or

slow to climb hills.. why we always get the knock down car in terms of performance.. MYV should come also with 1.5 engine..

• xstan on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Tats wat Avanza is offering of 1.3 L…clumsy yet high fuel consumtions. Its was a project by jointly with Perodua remember.

As said..Perodua is meant to PRODUCE small capacity mini like vehicle.

• Guys, look at the picture from Tokyo Customize event 2009, so amazing.
    http://toyota.vo.llnwd.net/e1/toyota/custom-event…

• xstan on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:50 pm

ya..CUTE , just like Myvi with blend of Vios.

• Arise on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:48 pm

[quote comment="220665"]I just went to see the new sette. Honestly the design is quiet nice but the space from the rear is abit cramp. To compare, sienta the design is abit funny but overall the spacious of the seat is good. As specially the rear sit . Very friendly organised. And not to forget the sliding door. So guys. if you are a family guy like me. You would definitely,take spacious compartment.[/quote]

Meaning this is a good buy ?

• [quote comment="222046"]ya..CUTE , just like Myvi with blend of Vios.[/quote]

Which means that is mother dugong???

• osh_kosh on Mar 19, 2009 at 12:11 am

[quote comment="222138"][quote comment="222046"]ya..CUTE , just like Myvi with blend of Vios.[/quote]

Which means that is mother dugong???[/quote]

nope… it's Mutant Dugong.. LOL

• DinKnight on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:12 am

This Perodua MPV is definately coming to Malaysia, as I saw a covered up version of this car coming up Genting for testing, I was on the other lane going down. I recognized the side profile instantly when I knew I wasn't seeing a test version of the Proton MPV. The length is quite long as a Grand Livina i would say.

Too bad I didn't have enough time to take a spyshot.

• blabla on Mar 23, 2009 at 12:45 am

cant wait for it to come. am a fan of MPV. miniMPV. although owning an estima or alphard would be nice, but i ain't got no money! damn. hope this is not expensive. fingers-crossed. lol

• stroller on Mar 28, 2009 at 9:28 pm

dear PT,

still no updated news regarding this p2 MPV… the satay… eagerly waiting also.. too long waiting all malaysian manufactured / assembled mpv…

• sulong on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:31 pm

should i buy avanza 1.5?

any idea.. give point 1 by 1?

• malado on Apr 07, 2009 at 12:11 am

no. wait for p2 MPV….never go for P1 EXORA..it look like paus…:)

• AntiPerOdu@ on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Copy Cat !!!!

• AntiPerOdu@ on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Dont ever ever ever ever & ever go for Perodua !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• malado on Apr 08, 2009 at 6:10 am

hehee..kelakar2….bacam bebudok….hihiih..exora :p

• sette on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:55 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgtNlWpEwO4

i'm sure this fella will kena..

video of "Toyota" MPV trial at Perodua factory

• farhitech on Apr 09, 2009 at 12:42 am

senang betul perodua buat MPV … xyah buat R&D . Semua org dah buatkan . Copy n paste je … tentula boleh jual murah .

Ape yg aku perasan , xde aircond ventilator utk 2nd n 3rd row … sure anas giler beb . Dah la seat daripada VIVA . Seat belakang mcm papan lapis daa .

Dpd membazir duit beli bnde alah ni , baik amik Persona ke .. Waja ke ..

• ateng_69 on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:38 pm

its kinda cool ….. salute perodua team…

but still skeptical about d 1.5 for 7 seater…

pls respond

• 1.5cc is no problem. This MPV is smaller then Exora. If Exora can move, this MPV sure can move one. No worry, test drive first then only buy or not. But don't buy Exora first, wait for this MPV first.

• prolever on Apr 19, 2009 at 9:17 pm

if the car been crash from behind…..

i think the ppl in the third row will be like a pancakes……

ye la…..

have u see the zafira crash by the top gear…..

uuuuu scary….

• DinKnight on Apr 19, 2009 at 10:01 pm

[quote comment="227969"]senang betul perodua buat MPV … xyah buat R&D . Semua org dah buatkan . Copy n paste je … tentula boleh jual murah .

Ape yg aku perasan , xde aircond ventilator utk 2nd n 3rd row … sure anas giler beb . Dah la seat daripada VIVA . Seat belakang mcm papan lapis daa .

Dpd membazir duit beli bnde alah ni , baik amik Persona ke .. Waja ke ..[/quote]

I don't buy a car because of what R&D they do, who owns the company, who the shareholders are, whether they are patriotic or not, whether they are car making or car assembling company, whether the brand has loyal fans or not, whether people think it is cool or not, or where the money I pay goes to.

I buy a quality car which offers me the best value for money which I believe I am getting. This is also how many other mature car buyers think, and that is why you see Perodua are number one in the local market.

• bobdbilder on Apr 20, 2009 at 6:59 am

[quote comment="231711"][quote comment="227969"]senang betul perodua buat MPV … xyah buat R&D . Semua org dah buatkan . Copy n paste je … tentula boleh jual murah .

Dpd membazir duit beli bnde alah ni , baik amik Persona ke .. Waja ke ..[/quote]

I don't buy a car because of what R&D they do, who owns the company, who the shareholders are, whether they are patriotic or not, whether they are car making or car assembling company, whether the brand has loyal fans or not, whether people think it is cool or not, or where the money I pay goes to.

I buy a quality car which offers me the best value for money which I believe I am getting. This is also how many other mature car buyers think, and that is why you see Perodua are number one in the local market.[/quote]

If the German manufacturers did not invest in R+D on ABS, Dual Clutch transmission, Diesel Engines, Safety, do you think, they could sell more cars? Anybody heard of the Lupo? Hehehe. But then again, it only matters to people who really are interested to make a better car. Quite obviously, Proton does care which I really can't say for the other camp.

• DinKnight on Apr 20, 2009 at 7:59 am

[quote comment="231891"]

If the German manufacturers did not invest in R+D on ABS, Dual Clutch transmission, Diesel Engines, Safety, do you think, they could sell more cars? Anybody heard of the Lupo? Hehehe. But then again, it only matters to people who really are interested to make a better car. Quite obviously, Proton does care which I really can't say for the other camp.[/quote]

I think you don't understand what I'm trying to say.

I'll say this again. I buy a quality car which offers me the best value for money which I believe I am getting.

Now, did I say I didn't like R&D? I am saying, I don't put attention to all the dealings of the company selling the car. I don't care if one company proudly boasts of doing R&D over another, because the only thing I care about as a REAL BUYER is the END PRODUCT.

Perodua may not need to do R&D since most of their cars are from Toyota or Daihatsu, but although I am currently not a Perodua owner, I would choose their cars any day over protons. And considering I was an ex-proton owner myself, it isn't difficult to see why.

• ya ya ya~

• Bodow on Apr 21, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Malaysians are punished with exorbitant car prices so as to support proton as a car manufacturer as a national company . while perodua only assembles modified toyota /daihatsu models yet p2 is given national car status as well enjoying tax breaks …and not showing any efforts at all to do R&D and manufacture its own cars … in fact p2 acts as a cash register for TOYOTA .in effect the largest beneficiary of the Malaysian car industry is TOYOTA and its subsudiaries . What kind of arrangement is this ? it's sickening to say the least . Might as well p2 rebadge continental cars like Naza is doing rather than the stupid dull boring Toyota cars !

• 1 word : Nice Car !!! @.@

• 1 word : Nice Car ^.^

• pacifictuna on Apr 30, 2009 at 3:43 am

[quote comment="231920"][quote comment="231891"]

If the German manufacturers did not invest in R+D on ABS, Dual Clutch transmission, Diesel Engines, Safety, do you think, they could sell more cars? Anybody heard of the Lupo? Hehehe. But then again, it only matters to people who really are interested to make a better car. Quite obviously, Proton does care which I really can't say for the other camp.[/quote]

I think you don't understand what I'm trying to say.

I'll say this again. I buy a quality car which offers me the best value for money which I believe I am getting.

Now, did I say I didn't like R&D? I am saying, I don't put attention to all the dealings of the company selling the car. I don't care if one company proudly boasts of doing R&D over another, because the only thing I care about as a REAL BUYER is the END PRODUCT.

Perodua may not need to do R&D since most of their cars are from Toyota or Daihatsu, but although I am currently not a Perodua owner, I would choose their cars any day over protons. And considering I was an ex-proton owner myself, it isn't difficult to see why.[/quote]

the point is there. it is all but price and worthiness. in fact those matured buyer may have contributed more in the actual sales profit of car manufacturers. P1 have savvy if you look for quality, but then again, doesn't turn heads.

P2 is smart enough to be able to fill the gap of what the rakyat want and what P1 lacks, and no R&D required! but P1 is learning and the recent models looks good. Sure is exciting. P1's R&D is catching up but the QC still hibernating though….

• azzahar on Apr 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

when this model come to malaysia, perodua will change the bumper and headlamp mostly and called it perodua mpv. no DVD player, no monitor, reason, cut cost

• azim730 on May 04, 2009 at 12:25 am

u guy,s under estimate the price….Toyota Rush sells at RM86k manual and RM94k auto. Comparing the this by logic: accessories,safety,power,size… IT WILL BE ALMOST TO RM100K OR SLIGHTLY MORE……

• iskandar on May 04, 2009 at 8:03 pm

question

1) how to booked this new MPV perodua (i wants become top 10 owners)

2) does this new perodua MPV got aircond at the last back seat, like Exora got and nissan grand levina tarakkkk….my worries is we need aircond at the last seat behind…

thanks.

• xcantik loo on May 06, 2009 at 12:34 am

seat paling blkg skali macam kerusi bas tata je.. buruk!

• iskandar on May 06, 2009 at 8:58 am

wahai xcantik…

tapi ada blower aircond tak seat paling belakang tuh?

• Hot blood on Jun 01, 2009 at 12:29 am

I got the answer. Dont thinks about 3 roll acond la, the second roll also u will never get it-maybe P2 forgot to think Malaysia weather conditions. The headrest at 3rd roll seat also need to throw away before fold down. Worst then grand livina.

It is just a wagon car. Only choose either boot space or 3rd roll seat.

It is nicer then a car but less then multipurpose vehicle.

Let enjoy this japan movie..
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/boon_luminas/gui…

• Ian W. Suffield on Jun 01, 2009 at 9:23 am

Most of you people need to learn English, forget SMS-speak and get a life. As a Brit, living in East Malaysia for 13 years, I've noticed that most of you guys think SMS-speak is how we speak in Britain. You're Oh so wrong. Anyway, the point under discussion is not the Honda City vs the Perodua Myvi, it's the Proton Exora vs the Perodua/Toyota/Daihatsu MPV. The main thing is: What does the "MPV" stand for? In the Exora, Avanza, Grand Livina it means MULTI Purpose Vehicle. Obviously then, the Perodua's MPV is MINI PEOPLE Vehicle. As to the question of the Proton vs the Perodua, the Exora must win hands down. Why, you ask? Did anyone hear of Lotus, VW etc. who have engineered this car. Lotus have a better reputation in F1 than Ferrari, although they haven't raced for over 20yrs. VW speak for themselves. Their effect on the motoring world since the lauch of the Golf GTI in the 70's is now lrgend. Gov Tax/import duty is also an issue. As a wholly Malaysian engineered product, albeit with outside technology, the Proton must also win on a nationalistic basis.

Our first car was a Kancil, second, which we still have, a Proton Juara. The third and fourth, a Perodua Kenari which replaced the Kancil and a Proton Gen2. And my wife recently took delivery of a Toyota Hilux. I hope my next car, to replace the Juara, will be an Exora, a vastly superior product to the Perodua MPV which, many of you have pointed out, is shorter than the Waja by about 100mm or 4" in old money.

You need to be very subjective about things. Buying a car is a large investment even if it's the cheapest car on the market. For instance, if you already own a car, why buy a larger one, or why buy a Mercedes when you could buy two houses & rent them out for the same money as buying the car? I don't know where you guys live but you wou won't get much change from RM140,000 for a Toyota Wish or RM 350,000 for a Mercedes "B" Class in Sarawak, not including the loan fees, insurance etc.

• go naomi go….

thax paul for the models clip..

• GwaiLohMustDie on Jun 12, 2009 at 11:31 pm

[quote comment="242414"]Most of you people need to learn English, forget SMS-speak and get a life. As a Brit, living in East Malaysia for 13 years, I've noticed that most of you guys think SMS-speak is how we speak in Britain. You're Oh so wrong. Anyway, the point under discussion is not the Honda City vs the Perodua Myvi, it's the Proton Exora vs the Perodua/Toyota/Daihatsu MPV. The main thing is: What does the "MPV" stand for? In the Exora, Avanza, Grand Livina it means MULTI Purpose Vehicle. Obviously then, the Perodua's MPV is MINI PEOPLE Vehicle. As to the question of the Proton vs the Perodua, the Exora must win hands down. Why, you ask? Did anyone hear of Lotus, VW etc. who have engineered this car. Lotus have a better reputation in F1 than Ferrari, although they haven't raced for over 20yrs. VW speak for themselves. Their effect on the motoring world since the lauch of the Golf GTI in the 70's is now lrgend. Gov Tax/import duty is also an issue. As a wholly Malaysian engineered product, albeit with outside technology, the Proton must also win on a nationalistic basis.

Our first car was a Kancil, second, which we still have, a Proton Juara. The third and fourth, a Perodua Kenari which replaced the Kancil and a Proton Gen2. And my wife recently took delivery of a Toyota Hilux. I hope my next car, to replace the Juara, will be an Exora, a vastly superior product to the Perodua MPV which, many of you have pointed out, is shorter than the Waja by about 100mm or 4" in old money.

You need to be very subjective about things. Buying a car is a large investment even if it's the cheapest car on the market. For instance, if you already own a car, why buy a larger one, or why buy a Mercedes when you could buy two houses & rent them out for the same money as buying the car? I don't know where you guys live but you wou won't get much change from RM140,000 for a Toyota Wish or RM 350,000 for a Mercedes "B" Class in Sarawak, not including the loan fees, insurance etc.[/quote]

First of all, thanks for reminding our Oh-So_Not Perfect English. Guess what? This is Malaysia, not Britain! Tak Suka? Keluar!!! (Our Gov favorite phrase, if you don't understand, I suggest you start taking some BM lessons). We don't need your High and Mighty Snobbishness to remind us of your perfect English. And guess what? I can speak better Cantonese than you! Eat that you stupid arrogant gwai loh!

Still so proud of Lotus? Hello, we ownz you now, so shut up already!

• Komentar on Jun 14, 2009 at 8:04 am

kalau nk kuar MPV ni kena banyak ubah dari segi bumper hadapan supaya ala-ala MyVi Se atau Toyota Wish supaya nampak labuh dan garang bukan macam pondan! banyak bumper keluaran Perodua nampak kosong dihadapan dan tergantung. Kerusi belakang jmacam alas tidur sahaja, paling tidak pun, macam Toyota Avanza baru ada kelas. Meter pulak jgn tiru bulat-bulat terletak kat tengah dashboard pulak. Buang masa dan merbahaya sebab nk tgk meter jauh kat tengah, sebab ada pemandu yang rabun jauh menyusahkan mereka. Perodua patut mengeluarkan model ini lebih kelas dari Toyota dan Daihatsu untuk menunjukkan jurutera kita lebih kreatif dan 'berjiwa muda' bukan tangkap muat!. Akhir sekali harga biarlah mampu milik!

• Setuju dengan Komentar tentang meter. Sama seperti Vios, cantik tapi meter di tengah seolah-olah merencatkan pandangan. Lain dulang lain kaki, lain orang lain hati….

• afinin on Jul 03, 2009 at 8:25 pm

cantik wo !

i tunggu dah tak sabar ni…

• ELIEN on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:21 pm

boleh tahan jg

• elly's on Jul 12, 2009 at 10:01 pm

let's see how???

when lauch the new P2 MPV, catch the selling P1 & P2. which more?

it meaning which "P" it's more ppl like? agree?

i dint'n say P1 not goods, i just more like the P2 car. the HP i didn't think a'bout it.

'cos in malaysia, how fast we can drive? at highways, 110kmh only.

i just care 'bout quality & Style of facelift. i can sure all people same…

maybe P2 its copy "cat", i don't care, cos i like,but more ppl like P2. Y? cos more ppl like toyota, daihatsu, like a Passo/Sirion=myvi, Move=kenali etc…

P2! 3years top selling. Y? ppl mostlike!

more ppl say tak suka ni tak suka tu…

when lauch P2 MPV then look-out the selling result, then we know which MPV mostlike as in malaysia ppl!

i support P2! i'm SURE will more then P1!

• Jackson Au on Jul 18, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Pretty impressive with safety measures better as compared to Proton Exora.

It would be beneficial if the price is within the budget of Malaysian family who earns much lesser as compared with the Japs, Koreans, Singaporeans & the rests in this region.

• leesun on Aug 28, 2009 at 2:13 am

hope perodua be a true copycat. don modify, please

• yusuf on Aug 29, 2009 at 8:27 pm

kira-kira kpn peluncuruan mobil toyota passo sette di indonesia & harganya berapa???????

• elly's on Aug 30, 2009 at 5:27 pm

i'm also hope perodua totaly copycat…

but i like perodua gauge meter pretty…..

i really hope copy bodykit like toyota passo settle, interio like P2…

p'fect!!!

• myviRS on Sep 28, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Check out this link.. Perfect glimse of D46T.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBGRbETIWNY

• HISHAM on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:31 pm

habisssssssss………..

bungkossssssssssssssssssssss……….

PROTONNNN……….EXORA……

(pakai la lagi enjin CAMPRO tu sampai tahon 2020….)

• Hisham: I Think Malaysian will go for style not comfort. So Alza is the best choice.

• yoong on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:56 pm

tell the truth…. proton cant fight with perodua cos :-

1) proton came out with good look but low cost from inside look…

2) perodua give u more than proton…

• candyze on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:31 am

i agree what yoong said!!!

now mostly ppl respect the look!!!

• zahrin on May 02, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Bravo!!! Bravo!!! Bravo!!!

Passo Sette (toyota)
    Boon Luminas(daihatsu)
    ALza(perodua)

your performance totally GOOD, VERY VERY GOOD. Congratulation!!!!!

• Kamal Ghazi on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Thanks for a good MPV. The only observation is that I don’t find any place for placing spare wheel. Can somebody solve my problem. I shall appreciate an e mail. Thank you in advance.

• Imran Khan on Feb 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Please send me address for purchasing Passo Sette (toyota)from Karachi Pakistan. I want this car.

• Esther punyua 0721933457 on Nov 05, 2015 at 1:20 am

I love Toyota passo sette its my dream car how do I get it soon pls.

• Golaam Mahbob Newaz on Dec 09, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Its a real family car.

• Golaam Mahbob Newaz on Dec 09, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Toyota Passo Sette is a real family car. I like to purchase this brand from Dhaka Car Market, Bangladesh.

• samwel muchiri on Aug 21, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Type your comment here..Hi. I bought a Toyota settle last here and it broke down and spoiled the fuse connector found inside on the passengers side tight on the body. Have tried getting it in vain. How can I get help?

• Zayar on Jun 18, 2023 at 1:43 pm

How to turn on eco mode in passo sette