Man to be charged for speeding 200km/h in a 60km/h zone, thanks to YouTube evidence!

Kawasaki Z750

Be very very careful what you upload onto YouTube! A random search on the popular video sharing site will easily reveal many “topspeed” tests recorded by amateur videographers, to show off or perhaps just as footage proof that said vehicles are truly capable of such speeds. But beware, if the road you’re on isn’t one without speed limits such as the Autobahn, you could be making it really easy for the law enforcement to track you down, as the video itself is evidence of sorts!

One YouTube user learned this the hard way. User jmm006, or Joel as his profile indicates, recorded videos of himself riding his Kawasaki Z750 through the streets of Canberra, specifically in a zone that had a 60km/h speed limit.

The coppers traced his YouTube account to his home and paid a visit with a search warrant. Among items seized were footage, a camcorder, a laptop and a hard drive. 20-year old Joel will face the court in a future date.

“We take these offences seriously. As a result of some good work from officers in traffic operations, this investigation was quickly concluded and it should send a message to anyone who seeks to glorify actions that place the lives of innocent people in danger, that they will not be tolerated,” said Superintendent Mark Colbran.

If you want to watch the incriminating videos, check them out after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 8918 (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 11:31 am

Wah…stupid road like that dare to drive up to 230kmh?if he’s in m’sia NSE then can reach 300kmh lor!

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 11:48 am

What happened if this fella hits on NSE-_-? otw to Thailand..LOLx.
    Damn, Max for my uncle team was only 170 on NSE, drive safe la pal.

• myka206 (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:37 pm

too bad la..

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:22 pm

after this traffic policeman will equipaied with internet ready motocycle, so they will surf youtube during office hour,,,,

• TheGunner (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:58 pm

I think these people should get a life.

For one, that guy is just trying to showoff, and second, if I were a taxpaying Aussie, I would be hoping that my country’s law enforcement spend more of their time solving proper crime.

It’s just like the folks here, instead of going out to catch the snatch thieves and robbers, they go and harass people who hold hands.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 3:49 pm

well for ppl like us who cant afford a Ferrari, watching videos like tis is the next best thing… the thrill of 0-100 in ~4 secs… not many of us have tried that acceleration in our life… onli supercars can accelerate that fast…

• carsut (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 5:42 pm

huhu.. jz serve ur right.. think before u post!!

• chun (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Love that bike. Thinking of getting one to ride around town instead of using a car as often.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 7:21 pm

Next time do some video editting. That way can terlepas.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 8:49 pm

that is quite interesting …

hmmm … i think our PDRM won’t be so free to search for who is doing 200km/h on the road ..

but dun worry, our police may use the evo x to catch the speed freaks ..

• isharestuff (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Reminds me of Edison Chan.

Video + Internet = Always surprise.

• charles27 (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 2:54 am

wow.. 2 way traffic somemore.. dam scarely.. hehe

watch this japanese arrest by UK police.. hehe.. final part very funny.
    “do u think this is a bloody playground… “..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xpf-52eyBhA

• rexis (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 8:20 am

wow, nice sexy bike.

She even got a trottle panel, cool!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 5:54 pm

I dunno whats the f**king problem with those police…. Whatsuupp with you bleedy police if drive fast…. We pay so much to buy super-cars to drive fast !!! NOT to drive at bleedy 110km/h… Wad for fast-automobil on earth !!!! Bleedy SHIT capping speed-limit at 110 km/h !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 5:59 pm

I don’t have the habit of driving at slow speed like 110 km/h …. !!! So, cops can f**k OFF from my way !!!

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 8:29 pm

ops
    police watching u-tube when work~~
    curi tulang`~~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:33 pm

youtubstinkt!!!!!!!!!!!