E36 BMW 3-Series Coupe with Honda S2000 engine

E36 S2000

Here’s something a little different from the many E36s here in Malaysia who have Nissan inline-6 turbo engines under their hoods. A Japanese dude decided to plonk in a F20 engine from the Honda S2000 into his 2-door E36 BMW 318is coupe’s engine bay, and Best Motoring featured his car! He must be trying to create the ultimate touge monster, the 50:50 balance of a BMW E36 3-Series combined with the relatively light, compact and high-revving engine in the S2000, and one that had the same cylinder count as the stock engine that came with his car. One that goes all the way up to 9,500rpm, good for 250 PS. Watch the video after the jump (I know some of you won’t be focusing on the car…) and you’ll see the stock BMW instrument cluster’s tachometer needle cross all the way into the area thats used to show the real time fuel consumption. Hardcore BMW fans will slam this as sacrilegious, but it’s insane nevertheless!

Video: E36 BMW 3-Series Coupe with Honda S2000 Engine

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:07 am

hmmm…insane…but what’s the point?

cam.shaft

• HondaMan on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:41 am

P.O.S BMW fail. It understeers like a nightmare

• Luqman_HKM on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:05 pm

BMW? UNDERSTEER????

HAHAHAHA, ARE YOU CRAZY? BMW DON’T UNDERSTEER, THEY OVERSTEER

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:31 am

beat the germans… thats what i think…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:51 am

sacrilegious? Of course it is.

But then, its sure is fun.

The point? Just to see if can be done is point enough. ;p

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:52 am

Look at how Drift King manouvers!!! awesome…

ps: got a lot of ‘distraction’ lahhh…

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:53 am

That video have been in torrent for quite some time. Its taken from Hot Version – VTEC Club Vol 4.

If you think this is insane, try viewing VTEC Club Vol 5. They transplant K20A i-VTEC into Honda Fit/Jazz, EK9, and Toyota MR-S!!!

• 8918 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 8:25 am

So what’s the conclusion?The E36 drives better with the Honda engine?or it’s a better combination rather than just the S2000?

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 9:09 am

my conclusion:

*creativity at its best
    *powerful car must be tamed by expert

offtopic>>
    about the “distraction”, i dun quite remember since it was 1year ago i last watched this clip. i watch many of these kinds of clips last time, so i dun recall which one is which, so many “distractions” :D

• tananiki (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 9:11 am

who ask u all to watch d rpm… watch d balls n upskirt… hehe…

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 9:36 am

Cool driving skill

• terracottaz (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 9:52 am

haiya….old video..seen 2 years ago already..no fun..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 10:50 am

the owner probably did it because it was a cheaper option then getting an M3 halfcut probably.

anything to do with conti-cars in japan is hugely expensive.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 12:08 pm

not only in japan.. in malaysia too..
    buying new BMW power plant really expensive..
    parts oso exspensive..

many of 3 series using nissan power plant under their hood.
    I planning it too… maybe cefiro v6 3.0 powerplant.

s2000 engine should really damn expensive too in malaysia..

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 12:25 pm

Because no German engines could rev all the way to 9500rpm hehehe..
    Correct me if im wrong!

E90 M3 8250rpm?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:24 pm

rev so much for what, wate petrol only

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:54 pm

paul, its nothing new, hahah, but check out this. its more extreme, even has defi meters :D

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:56 pm

http://www.chromjuwelen.com/de/partner-und-mitglieder-blogs/jpcnews.blogspot.com/bratwurst-with-a-wasabi-kick.html

forgot the link

• xenith (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 2:16 pm

old video…..
    Paul and ‘(00) just discovered it?

• engtaokia (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 5:20 pm

after test drive the Beemer, there goes test drive the kawaii gal :D :$

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Excuse me..wanna chilok a lil bit..

I was in Proton City Tanjung Malim 22 Dec 2008 because of my work. I work as lift technician. So,on that day I went there because the new Proton office there has my company’s lift. After serviced the lifts, as usual I have to see the in-charge person to put his signature on my service sheet. There, the in-charge person was an executive in what department I didn’t know. So I asked him about this new mpv. An according to him, this new mpv will be launch in May or June. And surprisingly, this no-name-yet mpv is under testing because he said that the campro is ‘tak larat’ to run it. And what a wonderfull world, a mitsubishi engine will be under its hood. I forgot (actually afraid) to ask him more like how much the mitsubishi engine capacity to be use with this mpv.

Any other Proton staff here, please correct me if I was wrong. And I hope whoever Proton staff here please don’t find this executive and report about what he told me about to the ‘orang atas’ Proton and then fired him. Pity for him. I think this info is not so confidential to share with ‘rakyat’. Right si-fu?

• highway04 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:42 pm

aiyoh
    outdated la
    watch tis clip on utube 1 n a half years ago…..

• shuriKen (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Tsuchiya-san could have gone faster at the corners if not for the soft springs. The car kinda rolls a lot… well just my 2 cents :)

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 12:09 pm

Distraction level: *****

The 1st ride and 2nd ride were so much different..LOLx..

• Alifz (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 4:01 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 8, 2009 @ 1:24 pm

I think you’re too much on sex rather than driving car. Honda V-Tec Dohc is a happy revving engine yet deliver good FC. My friend B16 engine is superb but just need RM25 for journey back and forth from KL to Malacca.

Even it’s old news I really awsome with this kinda mod. Even better than SR20 of 1JZ engine mods..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Alifz said,

January 9, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 8, 2009 @ 1:24 pm

I think you’re too much on sex rather than driving car. Honda V-Tec Dohc is a happy revving engine yet deliver good FC. My friend B16 engine is superb but just need RM25 for journey back and forth from KL to Malacca.

Even it’s old news I really awsome with this kinda mod. Even better than SR20 of 1JZ engine mods..
    ———————————————
    lol, don get me wrong, honda makes great engines.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:57 am

duh..coz japs r better than germans.bmw engines lembik

• .drive (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 11:52 am

if you’re thinking more about driving your car then having sex, i really feel sorry for you, man :D

• The e36 m3 euro engines redline at 8500