Volvo FH16 is the most powerful truck in the world!

Volvo FH16
Click for enlarged image

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the REAL mother trucker! The most powerful truck in the world as of today is the new Volvo FH16, which can proudly display a 700 horsepower badge thanks to its D16G engine, which puts out a massive 700 horsepower and 3,150Nm of torque in its highest state of tune. The 16 litre engine is also Euro 5 compliant, which is important since that regulation will come into force in October this year.

Volvo D16G Engine“The Volvo FH16 is intended for the very heaviest and most demanding of transport operations. It is also a highly prestigious truck for the customer who is looking for something truly out of the ordinary. Now, with 700 hp, the Volvo FH16 sets itself apart from everything else in the industry,” says Staffan Jufors, President and CEO of Volvo Trucks, clearly very proud of the new truck.

Despite the power increase, Volvo has rated the new 700 horsepower truck to consume the same amount of fuel as the previous edition which puts out 660hp. The FH16 is also available in 540hp and 600hp versions, which come with 2,650Nm or 2,800Nm of torque respectively.

These kind of trucks are a rare sight in Malaysia. There aren’t that many uses for such a powerful engine, plus it could be that our displacement-tied tax structure forces some people who want to save ob road tax costs to use underpowered trucks for hauling way more than they were designed for. That is why you can see trucks stranded on a slope sometimes, usually thanks to a burned out clutch from the strain they have to pull.

Look after the jump for a video of the truck in action.

Video: 700 horsepower Volvo FH16

Volvo FH16
Click for enlarged image

Volvo FH16
Click for enlarged image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:42 am

impressive stuff…but i personally dun like volvo’s trucks design…scania’s prime movers are still my favourite…design wise and tech wise..EURO 5 engines are great…in fact the new busses in SG are running EURO 5 but not their diesel of course..

.”These kind of trucks are a rare sight in Malaysia. There aren’t that many uses for such a powerful engine, plus it could be that our displacement-tied tax structure forces some people who want to save ob road tax costs to use underpowered trucks for hauling way more than they were designed for. That is why you can see trucks stranded on a slope sometimes, usually thanks to a burned out clutch from the strain they have to pull.”

I do agree on you on that the dittering point for suchs trucks appearing in malaysia is due to the road tax…16 litres is a super high…but for prime movers they get certain tax benefits e.g. sales tax exemption and if their engines are EURO 4 complaint they get 50% reduction in road tax.. so net effect u’d be paying for a 8ltr road tax. But i believe the reason why we don’t really see such large prime movers is that, for one, volvo after sales ain’t so great and the other fact is that…most of the logistic companies dun really see the point of getting such a large hauler…unless of course ur moving houses from one state to another. I noticed alot of haulage company are complicent with a 360bhp trucks e.g. Scania P360.

cam.shaft

• schdmitz (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:26 am

v impressive ad….is volvo & scania under the same company????their design almost the same….

• Superman_AYKF (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:28 am

Could this more powerful than Optimus Prime???

Anyway, although I know nothing about trucks (what I know is the driver’s skill is always sooooo great), but this ad is really impressive as I feeling getting one as my weekend ride…..

• Jaybond (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:30 am

Scania & Volvo trucks are not under same group.They’re separate.

VW owns some stakes at Scania.

Whereas Volvo Trucks owns Renault Trucks

Looks like Volvo is raising the bar for max horsepower in a production truck. Last time was just over 600 hp.

Wonder how Mercedes ,MAN or even DAF trucks would response to this…

• bolo (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:32 am

In the trucking world, torque is more important than power. I am more impressed by the 3150 Nm torque, and the tranny itself should be something special in its own right in order to handle the monster torque generated by the engine.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:56 am

you need to be hauling a road train or some serious equipment if you need a 700hp prime mover, that’s why we’ll never see it here, i think the biggest truck engine i’ve seen here is 14litres

• CFA28 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:02 am

I wonder at what RPM the 700 horsepower and 3,150Nm of torque is achieved? Also what is the load capacity? Any idea Paul vs the more common prime movers in M’sia?

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:10 am

Jaybond said,

January 9, 2009 @ 8:30 am

Scania & Volvo trucks are not under same group.They’re separate.

VW owns some stakes at Scania.

Whereas Volvo Trucks owns Renault Trucks

Looks like Volvo is raising the bar for max horsepower in a production truck. Last time was just over 600 hp.

Wonder how Mercedes ,MAN or even DAF trucks would response to this…

—————-

Actually VW has increased their stake and now owes Scania in 2008 and MAN. Scania is now part of the VW Group.

cam.shaft

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 2:50 pm

1/3 of its hp and 1/5 of its torque. that’s all i’m asking for in our pick-up trucks!

• Jaybond (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 3:23 pm

OK,the previous engine is not just over 600 hp, but 660 hp.

I think this kind of truck is something for the Autobahn or the Interstate :)

US Volvo truck is front-engined though.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:08 pm

how fast does it go from 0-100

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:27 pm

3k+ torques. Nice power there. Maybe can scrape the tarmac if do quick start:P

• blazerSST (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:53 pm

It’ll rip the tarmac right off the roads in a flash.

Prime movers are uber cool

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

blazerSST said,
    January 9, 2009 @ 7:53 pm

It’ll rip the tarmac right off the roads in a flash.

Prime movers are uber cool

—————————————————————–
    u got that right, and diesel is the law nowadays . i still drool on classic peterbilts though……..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:26 pm

this should be optimus prime

• acbc (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Should be an evil twin of Optimus Prime called Black Convoy in Transformers: Masterforce anime back in the 80s.

• Naresh on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:32 am

Based on my eperience as a truck driver in malaysia,what we need is between 400 to 500 hp only.For instance i haul low bed which usualy pull about 120 tons using a 143 scania which has 500 hp,and i even can say that is already too much power.The most important part that i required most power is the time when i climb hill which has about 45% incline.But there are still small capacity trucks such as those have 400 hp also haul the same weight i haul.I think this new one should haul about 250 ton if u gve me one LOL

• Truckmas on Mar 03, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Nice truck…. Volvo truck