Thule roof racks and roof boxes in Malaysia now available from Proton Parts Centre

Thule Proton

Proton subsidiary Proton Parts Centre Sdn Bhd is now a corporate distributor for Thule products. Proton Parts Centre now has the right to distribute Thule products through dealers in Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei, Singapore and other export markets which Proton has a presence in. The Thule brand originates from Sweden and is no stranger to motorists, as it is one of the most well-known manufacturers of roof racks, roof boxes, bicycle carriers, and other similiar means to enhance your vehicle’s luggage capacity. This new agreement is timely and a sign of Proton readying to launch the new Proton MPV, likely in the next 3 months, as roof racks and roof boxes would complement an MPV’s usage well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ali38hak (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 4:27 am

very good, but whats with Diesel Proton’s???
    proton turkey says: 2010 comes the first proton diesel engine, and its engineered by lotus and proton!!!
    to late, toooo late!!!

persona is a good sedan, where is a Wagon model??? like estate jaguar, break peugeot, t-model mercedes, variant VW, avant audi, touring bmw etc., there is a need for it!!! Proton says they are focused on what the markt need, and this are the needs… so do that…

• johanbey (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 4:44 am

so much for tukar gaya hidup, huh?

• Imran (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 4:46 am

ali38hak said,
    January 10, 2009 @ 4:27 am

persona is a good sedan, where is a Wagon model??? like estate jaguar, break peugeot, t-model mercedes, variant VW, avant audi, touring bmw etc., there is a need for it!!! Proton says they are focused on what the markt need, and this are the needs… so do that…

———————————————-

bro, relax..Proton currently working on their MPV project. 1 model at the time. Plus, whats that all about wagon and estate model? I think that is not the popular choice in Malaysia. I think the best next project is the all new Proton sedan executive to replace the Waja. Hope the project bout the lancer is a real thing..

• arie1968 (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 7:33 am

May be this product is align with their MPV.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 8:49 am

hint : You will need extra storage since there is no room in the trunk in our new MPV.

;p

• awak (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

last time they have trailer, but very crude,

what if a light weight trailer with bicycle chassis, and tub or bed is from plastic, very slim heavy duty bicycle tyre, with a long distant bearing?

balik kampung, air port, or short car like satria might prefer this ocationally.

style what?

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:44 am

Thule, good job.

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 2:06 pm

ali38hak said,

—————————————————-
    gila tak sabar, proton is a small scale car maker beb, mpv project is the answer aa… i dont think honda got city wagon, vios vagon, but they have avanza,stream,innova, it your own need ,not asia need kott?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:22 pm

THE BOX MIGHT ACTUALLY MAKE THE PROTON CAR MORE AERODYNAMIC

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:35 pm

Hmm mpv will be revealed to public very soon.

More of these stuffs also by then,

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Our family’s Juara has Thule bars too =)

• Archer (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Current economic conditions might make the MPV real hard to sell unless Proton tries what Hyundai is offering in the US now.

Buy a car from Hyundai and if buyer looses employment within first year, car can be returned to Hyundai with no further loan burden or liability on the buyer. Conditions apply.

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 7:26 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

January 10, 2009 @ 3:22 pm

——————–
    LOLx..meaning it’s not now?

• wiraone (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Err??? Aerodynamic but add to your fuel consumption :) I wonder if those people driving around with this roof box realised that their fuel consumption gone up at least by 5-15% more than one they will have w/o the box or rack.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Hmmm..new business from proton;)

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Hmmm..another side income from proton;)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm

If you don’t need a roof rack, don’t use it. It will only increase your petrol consumption

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Why put a box on roof?

DO you know that, It might create DRAG on car (cd is HIGHER) and cause more fuel consumption.
    Better DONT put it on brother.

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:30 pm

C’mon la Wiraone, that ‘Sex is wonderful…’ guy is being sarcastic when he said that “it makes the car more aerodynamic”. can’t u read between the line meh..?
    His other comments related to Proton semua sarcastic. He didn’t really have anything intelligent to comment, just like his choice of nickname. :-)

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:33 pm

wiraone said,
    January 10, 2009 @ 7:28 pm

Err??? Aerodynamic but add to your fuel consumption I wonder if those people driving around with this roof box realised that their fuel consumption gone up at least by 5-15% more than one they will have w/o the box or rack.

———————————————————-

i dun really think its a good idea….. adding roof rack will cause more air rersistance…. thus, your acceleration and top speed will be affected…. i dun think so sporty drivers gonna take this as their option !!!!

• aMoei (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 11:42 pm

another stupid comment from the idiots

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 12:01 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 10, 2009 @ 10:33 pm

wiraone said,
    January 10, 2009 @ 7:28 pm

Err??? Aerodynamic but add to your fuel consumption I wonder if those people driving around with this roof box realised that their fuel consumption gone up at least by 5-15% more than one they will have w/o the box or rack.

———————————————————-

i dun really think its a good idea….. adding roof rack will cause more air rersistance…. thus, your acceleration and top speed will be affected…. i dun think so sporty drivers gonna take this as their option !!!!
    ——————————-
    lol, i wonder if got people put rack on their ferrari, lamborghini, bugatti etc…….

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 12:53 am

aMoei said,

January 10, 2009 @ 11:42 pm

another stupid comment from the idiot

_

If others are idiots and their comments are stupid, give us your wise and clever one, ie if you have any at all!!!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 1:08 am

ali38hak said,

Wagon??? Hey ,are you out of your mind? That is if you got any at all! Open your eyes and look around man. See many wagons on the road? Of course you do. N/S 120Y Wagons, N/S 130Y Wagons, T/Y KE70 Wagons, N/S AD Resorts. Most of them now are reduced to being bone-shakers except maybe for the AD Resorts. The wagon trend has long gone. Look forward. The trend now is MPVs.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 1:13 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

January 10, 2009 @ 3:22 pm

___

Roof boxes themselves are aerodynamic! They don’t make cars more aerodynamic. They only make cars guzzle more fuel.

• ali38hak (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 2:20 am

brothers, i am from turkey and i was often in europe like france, germany and UK, for the europen markets, turkey included, wagon models are must!!! i dont know what the malaysian or japanese situation is.. but for europe its realy realy a must…!!! and a another thing, DIESEL!!! here you can get euro4 diesel and next year or maybe this year euro5 will be aveilable…!!! 80% of the solded passenger cars here in turkey are diesel engined!! and the monthly sale volume of proton is only max.50, complete sales are 25000 cars montly!!!
    thanks all and a great selamaleykum to malaysian brothers…

• Dr.Moskva (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 5:29 am

Wa’alaikumussalam brother ali38hak..
    i think this all is a miscommunication. firstly i also thought your view was out of place as we mostly here refer to our Malaysian market. But then when finally you said you are from turkey and you are referring to the turkey and european markets, at least things are clear. maybe what you said is right. as i also saw more wagon here in Moscow compared in Malaysia. but for the time being, let proton finish their project carefully one by one, so that we all will get the best products from them. if you refer to other post here, proton have their plans for the diesel engines. just be patient bro ;)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 2:47 pm

BELIEVE ME.. ppl will actually buy it and put on their roof. For pasar malam purposes.

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Good to have Thule box.But while if there are no extra cargo in your car,you must unfit the Thule box.Fitting the roof box on the car top will make an air friction and result about 30% higher fuel consumption.

buying Thule is good.but think wisely if you are not using it.

wagon is no more demand at this time.MPV rulling the road now

• red7 (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 6:07 pm

a creative marketing plan from proton.
    keep it up!

cheers~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 8:45 pm

January 11, 2009 @ 3:37 pm

maybe one to cover up my loin. another one for my pasar malam shopping full with condoms!
    ——————————–
    sure, don’t forget porno dvd, maybe also can put in some hookers inside

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 11:25 am

ali38hak said,
    January 11, 2009 @ 2:20 am

brothers, i am from turkey and i was often in europe like france, germany and UK, for the europen markets, turkey included, wagon models are must!!! i dont know what the malaysian or japanese situation is.. but for europe its realy realy a must…!!! and a another thing, DIESEL!!! here you can get euro4 diesel and next year or maybe this year euro5 will be aveilable…!!! 80% of the solded passenger cars here in turkey are diesel engined!! and the monthly sale volume of proton is only max.50, complete sales are 25000 cars montly!!!
    thanks all and a great selamaleykum to malaysian brothers…

—————————————————————-

Over there in europe, most sales are for diesel cars….we are still behind rgrdg diesel usage due to our diesel stds..hence P1 would need to produce diesel if want to be competitive/sell car in Europe

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:34 pm

even kia c’eed has wagon version

possible CRDi in MPV facelift (blom launched lagik sudaj pikir jauh2)

:p

hehhehe

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:47 pm

haroldz said,

January 12, 2009 @ 1:34 pm

hehhehe
    ————————
    hey the kia spectra is station wagon rite

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:03 am

haroldz said,
    January 12, 2009 @ 1:34 pm

hehhehe
    __________________-

hatchbacks and station wagons sell well in europe. which is why the kia ceed has both as that model was designed primarily to sell in europe.

btw, proton has already announced a diesel engine programme underway last year.

• David on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Where can i buy Thule Brand Roof Box for Myvi Car?