Ferrari F60 2009 Formula One car officially unveiled!

Ferrari F60

The new Ferrari F60 is here, Ferrari’s new contender for the 2009 Formula One racing season, making Scuderia Ferrari the first team to unveil their 2009 race car, showing just how eager they are to wrestle the World title back from McLaren. The F60 name is a homage to Ferrari’s 60th consecutive season competing in the Formula One championship, which is basically right from the start, and is the only team to do so for each and every season.

Ferrari F60

The car looks bizarre as usual, as will all the 2009 race cars, but the car’s saving grace is its sexy red colour. The odd looks are thanks to the 2009 regulations on aerodynamics. We can spot the 2009 rules on the photos – the long front wheel, a short and high rear wing, sidepod-mounted mirrors, and slick Bridgestone tyres. What’s out of sight is the Kinetic Energy Recovery System developed together with Magneti Marelli, a refined suspension system, and a new Brembo brake system.

The large front wing has a flap that is driver-adjustable to reduce the loss of front downforce when following other cars. Hopefully this will promote overtaking.

Ferrari F60

“I am excited but also happy to take it onto the track for the first time. With all the new legislation I was expecting a different car, like 10 years ago with the huge spoilers, but I was surprised. I found the new F60 to be nice and small like an F3 car and nice-looking,” said Filipe Massa, Ferrari’s Brazilian driver.

This year’s season will begin down under at the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne, on the 29th of March 2009.

Look after the jump for more photos from the F60’s unveiling.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=69]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Ferrari alwayz RoCkZzz !!!!!
    Hope ferrari team can swipe-away all the glorious wins for coming season….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Ferrari… !!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Guyz…… View this link….. Manchester United player, Cristiano Ronaldo crashed his Ferrari yesterday in the tunnel…..

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/celebritynews/4211258/Footage-from-12-CCTV-cameras-at-scene-of-Ronaldos-Ferrari-crash-will-be-examined.html

• matthews1710 (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:11 pm

The short rear wing is ugly!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:16 pm

One more link of the ferrari crash…..

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/cristianoronaldo/4206802/Cristiano-Ronaldo-turns-to-Bentley-after-Ferrari-crash.html

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Damn tiny rear wing against damn huge front wing!!! Humpty Dumpty design :p

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 7:46 pm

matthews1710 said,

January 12, 2009 @ 7:11 pm

———————————————————-

As long as there’s more overtaking on the track, I’m all for it, ugly or not.

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 8:16 pm

matthews1710 said,

========================
    its F1, not ah beng mobile. front wheel grip is important during turn in, as long as their design give me best grip without overly much drag, its a good design no matter how it looks! function over form.

• KuSesat (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 8:42 pm

The new rear wing needs time to get used to.. The rest of the body looks fantastic!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 12, 2009 @ 7:02 pm

Ferrari alwayz RoCkZzz !!!!!
    Hope ferrari team can swipe-away all the glorious wins for coming season….

Yes! Yes! Yes! They always do. But behind the McLarens!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:41 pm

tiadaid said,

January 12, 2009 @ 7:46 pm

matthews1710 said,

———————————————————-

As long as there’s more overtaking on the track, I’m all for it, ugly or not.

A narrowed rear wing will affect straight line speed thus reducing overtaking on the straights, but watch them at the turns! Believe me.

• ^o^ (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 12:30 am

unitedtas mate,

behind mclarens NOT! =b

get ur stats right! red sharks score more wins than silver arrows. mclaren left dried menstruating since mika hakkinen left.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:58 am

this is not an excercise of form over function but more about FIA trying to bully all the manufacturer according to their whimp. For the last 5 years, there more changes in the rule than there was in the history of F1. And to think FIA wants to save money and restrict budget for every team. Might as well let all team race in car made of cardbox and a kapcai engine. If any teams dominate this year, I’ll assure you, there will be more changes next year. Thats how F1 is run now. A true aristocrat.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:30 am

with extra $800million ..
    ferrari f1 are overated..

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:55 am

gosh… this year car is juz… speechless… i personally think that looks is important as the race performance… previous years muscular looks are the best… but this year’s… :P besides the 60th anniversary, F60 might mean they are back to the 1960s… in external looks…

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 12:23 pm

^o^ said,

January 13, 2009 @ 12:30 am

unitedtas mate,

behind mclarens NOT! =b

get ur stats right! red sharks score more wins than silver arrows. mclaren left dried menstruating since mika hakkinen left.

Then how come McLaren’s Hamilton is world champion??? I can only conclude that the Silver Arrows bull’s-eyed the red sharks consistently. Menstruating? Ferraris are RED, aren’t they? So who’s menstruating here? I wonder.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 6:41 pm

beautiful, but im supporting force india this year

• pavithran (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Urgh, stop comparing McLaren and Ferrari here, go to Lowyat or somehting.

Anyway, I love Ferraris but I have to say, the rear wing is a real put-downer. It completely devastates the lines of the car.

Also I heard from a friend who reads F1.com that Ferrari is struggling with the KERS system and is about a second behind the McLaren.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:38 pm

I hate the new cost cutting measures. Same chasis for every car. Then same engine from Cosworth. F1 cars looks like its becoming smaller and less menacing every year. No more V12 from Schumacher’s time

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:13 pm

mystvearn said,
    January 13, 2009 @ 7:38 pm

I hate the new cost cutting measures. Same chasis for every car. Then same engine from Cosworth. F1 cars looks like its becoming smaller and less menacing every year. No more V12 from Schumacher’s time

————————–
    or the turbos from aryton senna’s time

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:40 pm

” Then how come McLaren’s Hamilton is world champion??? ”

—————————

Becoz he got sympathy from a stupid driver……. He already lost it last year untill a stupid driver slowed down and intetionally let him overtake… lol..