AP system may be extended until 2020

MITIMinister of International Trade and Industry Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin reports that his ministry has received requests from AP holders for the AP system to be extended until 2020. The AP system was originally scheduled to end by December 31st 2010, which is the end of next year. But what’s even worse news is that according to StarBiz’s unnamed sources, the government has already tentatively approved for the AP system to be extended until 2010. That’s more than a decade of hand-outs to go. Is this the eagerly-awaited NAP review they’ve been talking about?

Tan Sri Muhyiddin said the government would try to “lead errant AP holders back on track”, and convert them into viable businesses instead of just very rich paper traders. He also said he found out that permits were sold to “parties who shouldn’t be owning them”.

Some AP holders have successfully built proper businesses from the money they earned through APs, though many will argue that it is still an unfair system in whole because only a selected few are handed out this chance to earn enough capital from the APs to grow their businesses. Naza is one prominent example. They’ve even recently gone into the F&B industry and that is working out quite well for them. Just look at the queues outside Bubba Gump in Mutiara Damansara.

MITI: No hurry to open up automotive industry

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:48 am

i’ve always expected that the govt will continue with the AP system. Like you said paul, there are some exceptions with some companies making good use of the AP’s and have gone on to build other successful businesses. but in general, the majority I believe have not used the AP’s that they have to build viable long term businesses which is why they’re asking for extensions.

• BB (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:05 am

those AP holders ofcouse want it to be extended as long as possible, it is their rice bowl. besides AP, they actually don know business at all.

• peter1 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:08 am

Can someone tell MITI and the dear MInister that by opening the markets, instead of helping only a few well connected Malay businessmen, the move will benefit thousands of Malay and non Malay businessmen and the Malaysian workforce will benefit too with new jobs and new investments. I am very sad to hear of the obvious lack of quality of policy makers that cannot do a simple cost and benefit analysis and have no understanding of simple economics. No wonder, the political tsunami seems to be unstoppable as many Malaysians now realise we need a government for all Malaysians, instead of a government that benefits only a few. In the meantime, I will keep my 5 year old car and I urge fellow readers to keep their vehicles well maintained until the next general elections and hopefully we have a change of government by then. Cheers!

• tommy73 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:59 am

It’s easier to change the government than for the government to change. For the sake of the Rakyat, BN has to go, fast.

• pippen (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 12:10 pm

We tolerate law offender (those AP holder by faking the document, and tons of corruption in the process, i mean those document can go through the inspection body without corruption? common). We debate over here so heaty about wearing seat belts, and the police is so hard working in the road now. Hello, the crime rate is catching up, and we are told to take care ourselves?
    Those AP holders can tolerate until 2020, i mean, we have no law now i guess. The law is protecting certain people, the policies is to encourage bzness for certain group of people instead of the WHOLE malaysian.
    Even though they understand the open economy policies will help majority of the public by being competitive, and create more working opportunity for many more MALAYSIAN, however, being in power is to control the wealth into their own pocket IN THE NAME OF MALAYSIAN, or playing with the race issue to make sure everyone is not harmony.
    We are from a country that should address what is right and wrong to a country to address the color. Just look at the AP holders situation, law offender can be lecture and let go, and giving more time to repeat the offend somemore. Wait till the D-day i guess.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 12:31 pm

what a stupid idea …

The AP system actually benefits those cronies …
    so eventually, the G is going to help them …

and this useless AP system jus helping companies like Naza …
    I dun care whether how was their their F & B business ..
    Those companies have to pay the ridiculous, fucking stupid import tax ..

and you, Naza, dun think u own so many companies and u r very strong ..
    you r completely useless …

I can tell u, Proton is better than u ..
    u damn dunno how to build a car ..
    jus know how to be AP King and rebadge the car ..
    Curse Naza to bankrupt !!

This is not a way to let those Bumis get involved in business …

Have you see before any Chinese businessmen success by using shortcuts ?

Come on, change the federal govt ..
    Vote for Pakatan Rakyat !!

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 12:56 pm

What happened to the UK investigation into the Late Tan Sri Nasim’s alleged document forgery case? Any updates on that? Btw I didn’t know Bubba Gump Shrimp restaurant at The Curve was under Naza.

Oh the NAP Review? Ha-ha.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 1:02 pm

What’s AP Queen w/o AP King? The Queen had been squeeze out and now a King is in the making.

MITI should just stop the lopsided AP system. It could and can, but would it? Answer’s obvious, right?
    Legitimate biz or otherwise, it only benefits a selected few, or should I say, the ELITE GROUP? This few in the group will and must AlwaysProsper, hence the extension.

“AP system discontinued” = Wishful thinking! IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm

Bubba Gump gt many ppl queue? lolwut?

I went there once wit my family, n I swore I’ll nvr go there anymore. Chili’s, Friday’s, Victoria station etc are more delicious n value for money if I want to dine out in those kinda restaurants. BG friggin xpnsv n kedekut proportion. I kept warning my sister dun enrich further that Naza basket, bt nope. A RM200++ lesson is more effective for her.

Now I see anoder BG under construction at Sunway Pyramid zzzzz……

• Archer (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 1:50 pm

Screw this I am migrating to a place where the car I like does not cost an arm an leg !

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 1:52 pm

“Minister of International Trade and Industry Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin reports that his ministry has received requests from AP holders for the AP system to be extended until 2020.”

Of course the answer is obvious…. you are asking the wrong target group….or is it the right one?

My guess is as good as mine on how many K per AP they get. On one hand we have the government complaining they have to give subsidies to fuel, on the other hand they are technically “giving free money away” with the APs

• Paul Tan on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:03 pm

tokmoh: I’ve never tried Bubba Gump personally, whenever I want to eat there, there’s a 20 minute long queue, and I hate waiting for food so I just go somewhere else like The Apartment.

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:31 pm

After all the years that the AP is in operation, all the program can boast is one successful business NAZA and at the expense of 20 odd million of people. Big deal… And if you consider NAZA as a business, I don’t think so.

Hand over millions of free money and other privileges to anyone in the street, they will immediately become the next NAZA. No prizes for guessing, this system is in place to breed another generation of useless and boneless so called businessman.

MITI says The International Trade and Industry Ministry has received requests from bumiputra motor traders that the approved permits (APs) system be extended until 2020. How about the millions of rakyat now tells the ministry that WE DO NOT WANT THIS STUPID SYSTEM to go on. Try to comprehend this if you have the capacity to do so. Err maybe they just don’t.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:04 pm

fcuk gov..
    i think.. the new AP king is Khairi Jamaludin.

• TheDuck (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:17 pm

2020 ??? Gosh! I thought thats going to be the year MALAYSIA becomes an INDUSTRALIZED/DEVELOPED nation under our WAWASAN 2020 plan.

Instead, are we just having to remember the year 2020 as the end of the AP system??

Pathetic!

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:27 pm

narrowband, I was thinking exactly the same thing. Haven’t heard any updates, not sure if the investigation is even continuing now that he’s died. For those who haven’t heard about it, a recap is here:

http://tinyurl.com/8db7fz

And to think this is commonly cited as the shining example of the AP system’s success in “creating entrepreneurs”

So pardon if I laugh when they say they’ll try and lead “back on track” the lawbreakers who have defrauded the rakyat of billions over the years with their duty evasion, AP auctions, and dishonest import and selling practices.

Meanwhile, unless there’s a change of govt, you can fully expect another 10 year extension in 2019.

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm

This will never end…I am really dissapointed….

Even I or we dissapointed, what can we do…sorry to say that nothing…

• vivio (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 4:05 pm

fcuk stupid gov soo bitchie

• erichigc (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Let’s change the government. That would solve the problem

• swong (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 4:19 pm

All these monopoly system has discreminated us from having reputable and good companies like toyota, honda to set up production factories locally which can generate so many spin off industries and work opportunities. The damn stupid non educated governing bodies have been disregard our nation and prosperity just for their own sake.

Overall – the whole population will suffer and 10 more years we will be like current poor Indonesia nation. Hurray to current government.

• swong (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 4:21 pm

Kindly share which F&B outlets belonging to NAZA – I will not even look at those outlets.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Yes, ppl, dont give it up. We cant make the government change now but united we can change the government. Our current government is just too ignorant to acknowledge that they have to give what the majority needs and wants not the minority wishes and demands. They only know how to inject FEAR into the citizens by using even the acient act like ISA and give out plenty of crappy excuses for keeping the ISA alive. It’s simple…keeping the ISA enable the ability to cause FEAR to those who speak their mind and hinder the liberty of freedom. One thing is for sure, our current government has to go as they have proven the inability to adapt, learn and contribute to the vast majority of Malaysians. Malaysia belongs to all the Malaysians not to the rulling party only.

They can extend the AP systems to 2020 as well but we’ll make sure LONG before that time, the government will be changed and that change lies in our hand, the voter’s hand. Vote your right, everyone.

• mct (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:01 pm

this can be expected lah
    when 2019 , the bumi will ask to extend the date to 2030year

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:27 pm

mct said,

January 13, 2009 @ 5:01 pm

this can be expected lah
    when 2019 , the bumi will ask to extend the date to 2030year
    —————
    lol

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 6:38 pm

fuck you AP holders , i hope ur daughter get raped by your dogs. i hope your houses will all collapse like in bukit antarabangsar

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:48 pm

Not impressed. I think this issue needs to be highlighted more in the newspapers columns. People should start writing and express their anger. Politicians need to bow. Tell Teresa Kok to raise this issue!

• HARTAPERAK (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 9:43 pm

AP extend to 2020 ….. not enough, it should be until 2050 and suggest that AP to be extended to CKD cars as well so that the car industry will prosper and more Bumiputera car tycoons in the making …. keep it work.Well done MITI minister, please consider and implement ….. this is what is our car industry needs

• demio121 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:49 pm

the guy in charge of the ministry is from the old school. i am not surprise at all that AP is extended. Its like there is a gradual change. Someone hope come end of 2010, suddenly no more AP??? dream on…

one good reason is those AP holder are not ready yet and need more time to change. Don’t take a genius to figure out that when you set a dateline, you work a plan to met the target and dateline. in this case, pluck a date, let it come and then who give a demn… just extend. I don’t answer to the people. i answer to the AP holder.

as someone said earlier, don’t hope the government to change. changing the government is faster. oh don’t forget, those old school guys are back soon.

• csv (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:16 pm

this is bullshit man. first 2010, then 2020. then 2030.

they do know we have to pay penalties to other countries for not abolishing APs and embracing open markets.

the AP is the no.1 reason we get overpriced CBU cars here in malaysia!

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:25 pm

they have already made so much money from APs, now that they are so successful, why still need those APs?

Having said that, I have never purchased anything from Naza, never will, and now that i know that restaurant is owned by them, i will never go there also. I have never been there also.

Why feed the system?

To those who have expressed , any of you drive a Naza vehicle? If yes, better shutup.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:33 pm

lambov12: How can Naza be worse than Plotong? Plotong? I seriously can’t think of anything made by Plotong to be worth paying a cent for. Most of us, are unfortunate and literally have no other choice. Given a choice, would you rather be seen in a Plotong?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Paul Tan: Well, I tried to be nice, but I can’t. I just dun find their food as good and reasonably priced as Chili’s or Friday’s. But, hey, I won’t stop anyone from trying saja2 first time, in fact, I do that all the time :P . Afterwards, it’s ur money, so up to u to decide whether u’d still wanna dine in there or Chili’s or Friday’s etc. Or go Japanese like Zanmai Sushi or Sakae Sushi. Zanmai has delicious n quite ok-ly priced tori katsu curry rice :D .

swong,

It’s Bubba Gump, there’s one at The Curve, n soon, another will open at Sunway Pyramid.

Naza also got a few hotels IIANM, one in Penang, one in USA, I forgot where, bt I remember it’s near the hospital where he passed away. Nt sure if there’s more than that.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 12:17 am

csv,

lol. It’s just like uitm sandiwara when MB suggest to open 10%. My fren in that uni said, more than half her class signed the petition to protest MB’s suggestion, citing “malays nt rdy yet” as most common reason. Den wait for Msia become like Zimbabwe oni rdy? sigh…… cannot see it as opportunity to work 2geder ka? They’re still msian what, summore after grad sure hv to work wit ppl from many diff race, nationality (if u work with big MNC), bckgrd etcetc. My fren, is among the minority. Since that, ppl always chop her as “traitor”, “sold her soul to DAP/Anwar”, blabla. For cryin out loud, these ppl rly hv nvr seen a real-life singaporean malay before kah?

nway Paul, if I sound too “seditious”, I’ll understand if my comments are censored. Sadly, some ppl “up there” hv no sense of humor, kan? Whyyyy soooo seeeerious?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 12:22 am

mystvearn,

U tell her la. U from Seputeh kah?

• charles27 (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 2:21 am

busterd… rob rakyat money!

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:13 am

naza is like chinaman business

profit but no control QC/QA
    maybe lower expectation

those who r lucky to buy KIA from naza n get “CBU” unit r lucky..

now they r down-trim the rondo n spectra5

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:40 am

autohaus said,
    January 13, 2009 @ 11:33 pm

lambov12: How can Naza be worse than Plotong? Plotong? I seriously can’t think of anything made by Plotong to be worth paying a cent for. Most of us, are unfortunate and literally have no other choice. Given a choice, would you rather be seen in a Plotong?

proton has nothing to do with the AP issue. so i suppose you rather drive one of those french cars or that car from china that naza assembles?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:54 am

i think i want to get the AP…

• I my (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:37 am

give me the APs I also can build u a wonder land!!!

• satekj (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

It’s easier to change the government than for the government to change!!!

• kvinlim (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:58 am

Look at the comments how many oppose to AP? But very likely u will hear government saying this is the interest of the majority population. Bull shit statement, that carry no value and can’t be trusted. That is the image our government project themselves. In the state of denial for any issues that are not in their favor or interest. I have never hear of anyone favor of AP.

Our independent is more than 50yrs, plus extension to year 2020 will add up to 70+ years of protection policy. That is the time needed for certain Malaysian to growth up? 2 generations of majority Malaysian need to sacrifice to for the slow learner? If they are that stupid, forget about car industry, go do something simple.

We need a world class; trust worthy; and respectable government, not the current one.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 12:02 pm

BMW: Yes I would rather drive the Bestari or 407 than a Proton. Have you driven those before? These cars were sold globally. Proton cant even come near. Heck they cant even do power windows properly in their supposingly BMW of Asia’s model. It has nothing to do with AP yes, but it has directly made all non proton car prices jacked up by a lot. I dont know which model that is worth even paying attention to.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 12:03 pm

Having said that, the china cars they made were crap as I would never also drive a Chinese made cars. Not for now with what they have.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:11 pm

why cant anybody bring in illegal apless cars

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:38 pm

” Yes I would rather drive the Bestari or 407 than a Proton. Have you driven those before? These cars were sold globally. Proton cant even come near. Heck they cant even do power windows properly in their supposingly BMW of Asia’s model.”
    —————————
    Lol still living in the past….. power window problem is an old issue…

• rodimus (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 4:55 pm

V’ll c about that…. The AP issue is long time boring thing 2 that the G should have 2 drop it asap. Hey wait a second?! the G will drop it!! No way!!! V gonna drop the G by next E-day. Cheer.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 5:03 pm

rodimus said,
    January 14, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

V’ll c about that…. The AP issue is long time boring thing 2 that the G should have 2 drop it asap. Hey wait a second?! the G will drop it!! No way!!! V gonna drop the G by next E-day. Cheer.
    ———————

Seeing condition and situation of the cooperation of parties within Pakatan Rakyat now, I doubt that they will be a better Govt than BN…. KeAdilan with their own agenda and DAP can’t stop from arguing with PAS… Lol.. What a circus show….

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

January 14, 2009 @ 1:11 pm

why cant anybody bring in illegal apless cars

It has been done but not just by a-n-y-b-o-d-y. They are the same fellas with APs. Bundled AP-less vehicles together with those with APs. Oredi make so much RMs with APs, make summore without APs. Aiyoh! Like that oso can 1 ah!?!

• superookie (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:18 pm

APs are licensed robbers certified by the G…

• pippen (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:40 pm

I am wondering, with EPF buying more PLUS share (where the G use our tax payers money to suck back our money from the street), the next move I would see the G will let PLUS increase the tol, so it will reports to earn more $$. For those who is going to vote in the upcoming event, I think PLUS might increase the tol before so it become expensive to drive east to vote…hahaha…lets see will that happened.

• raverus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:11 am

Change the bloody G please!
    Damn bloodsuckers aka international joke. (Only Malaysia have this kind of AP crap)

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:51 am

LogicallyMad,

Since we’re gonna get screwed anyway, does it hurt more to get screwed by PR instead of BN? :P

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:27 pm

LogicallyMad said,

January 14, 2009 @ 5:03 pm

rodimus said,
    January 14, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

———————

Seeing condition and situation of the cooperation of parties within Pakatan Rakyat now, I doubt that they will be a better Govt than BN…. KeAdilan with their own agenda and DAP can’t stop from arguing with PAS… Lol.. What a circus show….
    ——————————–
    paultan should start his own party, i sure vote for him

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 6:58 pm

tokmoh said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 9:51 am

LogicallyMad,

Since we’re gonna get screwed anyway, does it hurt more to get screwed by PR instead of BN?
    .————————-

well for a start… do you even want to be lead by ppl that can’t even agree amongst themselves???

• layman (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 7:32 pm

LogicallyMad said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 6:58 pm

well for a start… do you even want to be lead by ppl that can’t even agree amongst themselves???

—————————————————–
    If 2 person always agree with each other, then ONE of them is useless !!!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:39 pm

LogicallyMad
    “Lol still living in the past….. power window problem is an old issue…”

fren… issue like this should not have happen in the first place for a suppose world class automobile manufacturer like proton… many saga, iswara, wira, waja have this issues and it maintain an old issue … unresolved old issue…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:12 pm

when u get a ferrari, helicopter and a mansion for free. of course you want more ferrari and mansions for free. that is the reason why the AP will last a long time to come.

even though 99% for malaysians dont approve of the ap. how come we dont have a say when it comes to MITi things.

• raverus (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:09 am

topgunthang,

The 99% of Malaysians can have their disagreement through the ballot box on next election right? same goes with yourself.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:56 am

topgunthang said,

January 15, 2009 @ 11:12 pm

when u get a ferrari, helicopter and a mansion for free. of course you want more ferrari and mansions for free. that is the reason why the AP will last a long time to come.

even though 99% for malaysians dont approve of the ap. how come we dont have a say when it comes to MITi things.
    ————————
    we are living in a country ruled by a facist party(barisan nasional), and a facist leader(adolflah badawi hitler)

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 2:40 pm

NoToLowQuality said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 10:39 pm

fren… issue like this should not have happen in the first place for a suppose world class automobile manufacturer like proton… many saga, iswara, wira, waja have this issues and it maintain an old issue … unresolved old issue…

——————

this why i said you still living in the past… ‘unresolved issue’? have you heard any persona or new saga facing power window problem?? all those model you mention there r no longer in production.. except waja n wira (export).

and those models n problem r when proton is still a baby in automotive industry… of coz there bound to be some problem when u r doing something for the first time….. unless…. ouh i forgot u r a ‘genius’ who always do thing right at first time…. clap clap clap…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 2:41 pm

NoToLowQuality said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 10:39 pm

——————

this is why i said you still living in the past… ‘unresolved issue’? have you heard any persona or new saga facing power window problem?? all those model you mention there r no longer in production.. except waja n wira (export).

and those models n problem r when proton is still a baby in automotive industry… of coz there bound to be some problem when u r doing something for the first time….. unless…. ouh i forgot u r a ‘genius’ who always do thing right at first time…. clap clap clap…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 2:42 pm

woops sorry for double post paul… un intentional… hehehe see even after doing it for few times also got mistakes… =p

• alanwong (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:50 pm

you guys know who to vote for in the next election…. I surely know who I am going to vote for,….

• Sean Lim on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:37 am

Any update?