New F02 BMW 7-Series 740Li and 750Li long wheelbase launched in Malaysia!

BMW F02

The new BMW 7-Series is now in Malaysia! It is sold here in F02 form only, which means long wheelbase for better chauffeured usage. Now one of the reasons which makes this version of the long wheelbase 7 so special is that it doesn’t look like a long wheelbase car. The E66 and E65 looked similiar from the front all the way to the B-pillar, after of which you can see the E66’s rear door looks abnormally extended, spoiling the sleek look of the car. The F01 and F02 look similiar, with the F02 being a longer version but employing more than just a simple stretch to accommodate the longer wheelbase including having a taller roofline to maintain a resemblance to the F01’s roofline.

BMW F02

Two models are available at launch time, the 740Li and the 750Li. These models use 2 of the 3 engine variants that were unveiled during the global launch, with the third being the single turbo diesel 730d. The 7-Series was launched with a 100% turbocharged engine line-up, which is a stark contrast to just a few years ago when BMW was championing the purity of the normally aspirated engine.

BMW F02

The BMW 740Li is powered by the 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged inline-6 engine from the N54 family. It produces 326hp at 5,800rpm and 450Nm of torque at 1,500rpm, which is slightly higher than the version of the engine installed in the 135i and 335i. 0 to 100km/h acceleration takes only 5.9 seconds. Since the 740Li engine now has a 3.0 litre displacement, this is good news for buyers in Malaysia who can save a massive amount in road tax, we’re talking about thousands of ringgit a year here. The 740Li goes for RM848,800.

BMW F02

The 750Li’s engine is the 4.4 litre twin turbocharged V8 that was first installed in the X6. This engine produces 407hp between 5,500 to 6,400rpm and a peak torque of 600Nm between 1,750rpm and 4,500rpm, which is good for sprinting to 100km/h in 5.2 seconds. This baby goes for RM1,138,800. Both the 740Li and the 750Li are CBU units from Germany, as the F01/F02 are currently only built there. Previously for the E66 our CBU 730Li came from Thailand. Speaking of the 730Li, there isn’t one in existence yet at the moment but a BMW Malaysia official said one is in development that will probably feature the N52 3.0 litre normally aspirated magnesium alloy engine producing about 272hp, as found in the BMW X5 3.0si.

BMW F02

BMW F02Our 7-Series now also features the option for a rear seat bench that has massage and ventilation functions. The massage function comprises of 12 massage units and 6 rotating elements that focus on the occupant’s upper and lower back.

We also get additional air cond vents on the roof of the car. The 750Li gets its own iDrive system at the rear while the 740Li uses a remote control that looks like the iDrive controller, which oddly seems to look like a better idea despite being a “lower end” option.

Like the new E90 facelift, the new 7-Series gets the new iDrive system which comes with an 8GB hard drive-based navigation system which can also store your music. BMW ConnectedDrive is not available in our country yet, so the NetFront web browser in the iDrive system will be useless for now. Stay tuned for a test drive report of the 750Li, which should serve its purpose as a teaser before the 730Li that potential customers will likely be eyeing makes its debut here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:02 am

nasty mcugly..so why did they give it super flared nostrils?

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:30 am

Cost a bomb!

• TheGunner (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 7:08 am

This is a massively sophisticated car, but I say it’s a vast emprovement over the E65/66

• szw (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:26 am

so fast ?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 12:23 pm

Hey guyz….. Its the best time for you guys to buy this car…. Coz its a CBU from Germany itself…. If u guyz planned to wait, then you’ll be ended-up getting a CKD version, which is locally assembled…. If u guyz can afford to buy the curent 7-series, i dont think so the price difference between a CBU unit and a CKD unit will matter you…. So, its better to buy now with a superb built quality from BMW plant in Germany…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:33 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 19, 2009 @ 12:23 pm

Hey guyz….. Its the best time for you guys to buy this car…. Coz its a CBU from Germany itself…. If u guyz planned to wait, then you’ll be ended-up getting a CKD version, which is locally assembled…. If u guyz can afford to buy the curent 7-series, i dont think so the price difference between a CBU unit and a CKD unit will matter you…. So, its better to buy now with a superb built quality from BMW plant in Germany…
    ——————–
    cant agree more, but i’d wait for the alpina b7

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 3:01 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 19, 2009 @ 1:33 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

——————–

————————————

errmmm ….wad do u mean ???…. i can’t really get wad u mean coz ur sentence too short….

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:54 pm

i do no why i dislike this one.
    but it suit to big boss those use driver.
    since you only sit behind in peace.. lol..

i think.. i dislike all 7 series..
    it build for old businessman and politicians..

or… maybe it is just not my taste.. :D

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Sigh… such a good car, with all the technological marvels in the automotive industry, but why oh why must they make it so darn ugly??

• kingv6 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:39 pm

i’m pretty sure those crazy “pak arab” will modify this car like mad & installed a gull wing. We should see it in you tube soon.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 19, 2009 @ 3:01 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

——————–

————————————

errmmm ….wad do u mean ???…. i can’t really get wad u mean coz ur sentence too short….
    ————————
    that means im tempted to buy this car as its a cbu, but i’d still wait for the alpina b7 to come out before buying one

• Adly (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:54 am

wah, this is my first comment in this site..
    Anyway, I went to BMW showroom to see this 7 series with my dad..
    What a beautiful car..the line,the curve,the price..fuuh..
    I asked the salesman why just longwheelbase brought here and he said BMW dont want 7 to compete with 5..weird thhough..when come to interior,I like the furnishing, very smooth and neat and also have alot of button and gadget..i bet the manual book thicker than kamus dewan bahasa..haha..lol :D

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:20 pm

January 19, 2009 @ 11:08 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

——————–

————————————

————————
    that means im tempted to buy this car as its a cbu, but i’d still wait for the alpina b7 to come out before buying one

—————————————————

exactly….. even the previous CBU’s are not that superb in terms of built quality bcoz it was a CBU from Thailand…. But this BMW 7-series surely the best purchase people ever gonna get coz its directly from BMW plant in Germany… so, the built quality would be superb as well as the feel of a real luxurious ride…. but i dont have any idea when B7 gonna be launched…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:22 pm

Adly said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 10:54 am

I asked the salesman why just longwheelbase brought here and he said BMW dont want 7 to compete with 5..weird thhough..when come to interior,I like the furnishing, very smooth and neat and also have alot of button and gadget..i bet the manual book thicker than kamus dewan bahasa..haha..lol

————————————————–

Did they mention anything about the waiting list ??? How long would it take for the car be delivered since its a CBU unit ???

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 20, 2009 @ 11:20 pm

January 19, 2009 @ 11:08 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

——————–

————————————

————————

—————————————————

exactly….. even the previous CBU’s are not that superb in terms of built quality bcoz it was a CBU from Thailand…. But this BMW 7-series surely the best purchase people ever gonna get coz its directly from BMW plant in Germany… so, the built quality would be superb as well as the feel of a real luxurious ride…. but i dont have any idea when B7 gonna be launched…
    ————————–
    yes, the controversial cub’s from thailand. im sure those people who bought those units very dulan

• Adly (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:35 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 11:22 pm

Adly said,

I asked the salesman why just longwheelbase brought here and he said BMW dont want 7 to compete with 5..weird thhough..when come to interior,I like the furnishing, very smooth and neat and also have alot of button and gadget..i bet the manual book thicker than kamus dewan bahasa..haha..lol

————————————————–

Did they mention anything about the waiting list ??? How long would it take for the car be delivered since its a CBU unit ???

———————————-

They said the waiting period by standard for this series will be between 4 to 6 months depending on the model.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Adly said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 3:35 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 11:22 pm

Adly said,

————————————————–

———————————-

They said the waiting period by standard for this series will be between 4 to 6 months depending on the model.

——————————-

owh… thanx anyway… waiting period of 4 to 6 months for a german CBU 7-series sounds great to buyers….

• Farhat Haniff on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:49 am

My dad just ordered the 7-Series Long wheelbase at BMW Niederlassung Berlin. Gonna take about 3 months to order the Right hand drive version so we can ship back to Malaysia this August. It does look like a hog, and it does somehow look smaller due to the absent in bulges, and the present in sharper edges.

I hated it first, Hate at first sight, but at second sight, I got used to it after seeing it on the roads, and it really does look quite beautiful, much bolder-leader look.

Cant wait for it to arrive. Minus the heated seats :)

1 mill in Malaysia?? sounds crazy, got ours for 109,000 Euros (about) including vacuumed/suctioned-doors and improved all Presafe-like features.