Chana Era CM8: Malaysia’s cheapest MPV

Chana Era CM8

2009 is the year of the MPV. The big two are the Proton MPV and the Perodua MPV that’s set to launch at different times this year, but before any of them manage to get in the showrooms comes the cheapest MPV in the market, the Chana Era CM8.

Now let’s backtrack a little – those of you who have been following this blog for a few years now may remember this vehicle being spotted a few years ago, in June 2007 to be exact. The CM8 was spotted in Subang Jaya with trade plates. Even before that in end-2005, we heard news of a company signing an agreement with the CM8’s maker ChangAn Auto to assemble the CM8 locally in Malaysia. It turns out that company was a unit of the Berjaya Group, Changan Berjaya Auto Sdn Bhd.

Chana Era CM8

The result of all that discussion and planning since 2005 are two cars, and here we take a look at one of them – the Chana Era CM8, assembled locally in Oriental Assemblers in Johor. Chana Era is the brand that Changan Berjaya is using to market the ChangAn products here in Malaysia. The car is said to have over 40% local content. Take one look at you’ll realise this is probably something based on a Suzuki as it looks like the Suzuki ER-V, plus Suzuki is one of ChangAn’s partners in China.

Chana Era CM8

Something similiar in size and shape to this vehicle was introduced in Malaysia sometime ago. I’m sure some of you remember the Suzuki APV, which retailed for over RM70k. It didn’t do very well, probably because of its van-like looks. But the 3.8 meter long Chana Era CM8 has one advantage under its sleeves – it’s insanely low price tag of RM38,888 OTR with insurance for the cheapest model. This goes up to just under RM45k for the most expensive models.

Chana Era CM8 Standard Solid RM 38,888.00
Chana Era CM8 Standard Metallic RM 39,368.00
Chana Era CM8 Premium Solid RM 43,888.00
Chana Era CM8 Premium Metallic RM 44,368.00

The Chana Era CM8 is built on a monocoque chassis which is superior in terms of ride comfort and handling compared to the body-on-frame that other cheap MPVs use. It’s essentially a van, with a van-like engine position. It has sliding doors on both sides of the vehicle for access to the rear. The 2nd and 3rd row have their own air cond blower located at the ceiling. The key differences between the Standard and Premium models are ABS brakes, a stereo radio with a single CD player, speakers, an electric power steering and 14 inch alloy wheels which are all features only available on the Premium version. Power windows are only available on the front two doors for both models.

Chana Era CM8

Both variants are powered by a Suzuki-derived 1,310cc inline-4 16 valve aluminium alloy engine producing 80 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 102Nm of torque between 4,500 to 5,000rpm. This is mated to a 5-speed manual, with no automatic version in sight even in the near future. Top speed is 135km/h. Brakes are discs for the front and drums at the rear. Tyre size is 175/65R14 for both the Premium’s alloys and the Standard’s steel wheels. It measures 3,856mm long, 1,568mm wide and 1,898mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,430mm.

Chana Era CM8

At first impressions the interior plastic quality and the touch and feel of the CM8 is quite rough, especially where different plastic bits meet together. Mechanically it remains to be seen but as it is a basic 16 valve inline-4 without any funky features like variable valve timing it should be easy to maintain. If you want to compare to another China-sourced car, the Naza Forza (Naza Sutera) definitely has better interior quality.

It’s quite obvious the proposition that the CM8 is offering to you is cheap to buy. There are many people who do not place importance on interior quality and just want something that works and isn’t expensive. This is the car for them. It remains to be seen whether it is cheap to maintain and cheap to run. I will try to get a test drive session and report to you how it drives as well as the fuel consumption I can get.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nazrin (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:51 pm

nissan vanette looks better than this

• mother on Aug 03, 2014 at 4:05 am

Negara Pasir Dua Butir : Cm8 is the cheapest mpv so far…my point is, the taxes include to that car has determine 300% increase from the original price….however this mpv is still cheapest to compare with our PELOTON MPV….what to says….greed people with power always put high tax to feed their family from people money anyway..and greed people with power do not care about poor citizen what the know is all about how to korek money from this unfortunate citizen.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:52 pm

how many ppl can fit into this vehicle?

what is the price in china?

• satekj (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Something funny spotted, look at the car, where is the location for re-fuel? Look at 1st photo, it is quite low compare to the car’s height, isnt it?

• Adly (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:55 pm

If u love your family,
    dont buy this car..
    u will know!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm

Adly said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 2:55 pm

If u love your family,
    dont buy this car..
    u will know!!

U already bough this car?

wow… thats fast….

• Adly (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:14 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 3:01 pm

Adly said,

If u love your family,
    dont buy this car..
    u will know!!

wow… thats fast….

——————-

nop,u know la car from china,
    not good and not safe…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:20 pm

its really cheap, and it will definitely be a good alternative for people in the local income group with bigger families. especially now with the seatbelt laws in place, i’m pretty sure many would be looking to this mpv to ensure they dont flout the law.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:24 pm

oops.. wanted to say lower income, dont know why i type local..
    but anyways.. sadly, when you are not rich, you have to compromise on somethings. at least with cheaper cars on the market, more people can afford them. MPV’s used to only be the domain of the middle class and above.

but its still the lesser of 2 evils. its like someone buying a kancil which is not the safest car around, but its still safer than him carrying his wife, and 2 kids on his motorbike.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:30 pm

The pictures were distorted or the vehicle really thin and tall?

• eezarm (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:34 pm

WTF…
    so damn ugly looking mpv…
    never put your life at risk by driving this mpv…
    proton Juara is much better than this…
    Damn…

what will happen when driving at the tight corner…
    everybodu in the mpv needs to hold to something if the car goes turtle…
    hehehehe…

buckle ur seatbelt all the time!

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:37 pm

satekj: I suspect the refuel place is under the front door… u see that little panel there? Cos on our family’s Juara it’s located there. Some MPVs have it there too :)

• dreamwork (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:38 pm

wow…cheap n bigger size of car…sure wil be alots at kampung area

• alansmithz (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:44 pm

At this cheap, it do provide alternative for people who can’t afford expensive MPV. It can sit min. 6persons, Not bad. 100 times safer than a motorbike sitting 4 in a family. Someone will want this. FYI, the your beloved Proton MPV could originated from the he same maker ha ha^^

Take a look & judge for yourself
    http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1723&page=2

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Look at the ridiculous third row seat.. haha. I know it’s cheap, but it looks dangerous what with China standard QC. Lose face some more if you buy this!

• wkcheng8 on Jan 31, 2011 at 10:22 am

the 3rd row seat is definitely much better than the perodua alza, try it yourself you will know!

• stroller (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:08 pm

omg.. it a sibling to chery eastar only from different co… small mpv for small budget family. but still look a bit practical as family mpv as it has sliding door and a walk thru way on d 2nd and 3rd row… if the engine under front seat, than this can call van… not mpv… it will feel like seating on the oven…
    still look better than avanza… hehehe… fresh look… the choice is ur’s….

• tananiki (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:12 pm

it’s safer than those who drive super fast in bmw/merc… if im menteri pengakutan sure set a limiter in the car rather than put a speed limit signboard in the side road… whoever exceed the speed limit or attempt to modify the device will straight away send the signal to JPJ…

• dreamwork (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Avanza? have to paid extra 30k more….can buy another proton saga alrdy…

• tananiki (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:13 pm

1.9m is very tall and you can see the third row actually can fit in 3 person… see more reviews from china website and they can claim fat guy also can sit comfortable in front…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:14 pm

But BanyakMasukWorkshop is probably right, this car is better than holding your baby on one thigh while riding a bike. Although I doubt those who do that could afford anything worth RM39k. Maybe a TATA Nano could do the trick.

• stroller (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:21 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 3:24 pm

oops.. wanted to say lower income, dont know why i type local..
    but anyways.. sadly, when you are not rich, you have to compromise on somethings. at least with cheaper cars on the market, more people can afford them. MPV’s used to only be the domain of the middle class and above.

but its still the lesser of 2 evils. its like someone buying a kancil which is not the safest car around, but its still safer than him carrying his wife, and 2 kids on his motorbike.

u r rite bro… better for a family of 6 or 7 ppl in this van/mpv then in a kancil… lower income can praise to god coz this is the best alternative then nothing… coz avanza is tag at RM60k++….
    wat bout safety arrr??? my opinion, this is a family van/mpv… drive as a family man la… u want to drive this van/mpv like racing car… then buy sport car la… the choice is ur’s…

• carsut (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:27 pm

design looks funny, i supposed is a van family not MPV.. better recheck the MPV definition though.. if u ask me, definetely i’m not gonna buy this stuff.. but ur money is ur choice.. tepuk dada tanye selera.. happy motoring guys…

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:32 pm

i don’t think i would buy this mpv…
    2009 will be the year of MPV,lol…

• tananiki (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:33 pm

this is MPW… multi-purpose wagon type…

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:44 pm

eeeewwwWWWWW..!!!!!

• madimat (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:57 pm

Not bad,… although seems like a bit out of proportion. The design is kind of modern with a very noticeable made in China flavor. A better alternative than a Kancil or Kenari to those family of 3 or 4 children. The price tag is a factor to pull some buyers who are looking for a compact people carrier but can’t really afford a Toyota or Nissan (including P1 / P2).

Being an entry level type of vehicle the plastic and overall interior quality will make sense to some buyers. Just some reminders to the potential buyers, just drive sensibly,.. because the car looks kind of fragile, at least in the photos.

.peace!

• middels8088 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:58 pm

I don’t like the seat design….. it looks very bad….

Even its cheap, I would not buy this car! Never an MPV…

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:00 pm

i thought the pics in the motortrader are distorted?
    but here also? or may be the mpv actually looks that way??

u guys should read the motortraders, u’ll find some funny quote there ;)

imo, proton juara looks better.

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:00 pm

“The newly-launched vehicles are a result of Italian design, Japanese technology and German engineering.” -from the Star Business…
    hmmm,it takes time to understand it…

• WinterAngeLs (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:01 pm

Is it my eyes or the picture? There is so little leg room at the third row seats.

Anyway a good mpv for low income groups with a bunch of children…makes balik kampung easier instead of in a small kancil =)

• redwings (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Hmm..not that bad after all,
    Look rock solid from exterior..
    this is much better than kancil or kelisa. I always read about accident involved kancil and those smaller car. Mostly of it got kill in the accident.

The negative comments mostly because is China’s made.
    Definitely a good buy compare to kancil or kelisa..
    Should include airbags in this car..

• I my (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Hmmmm….. I wonder who is the “boss or kasi sokong” behind this brand??

• cutester (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:50 pm

WinterAngeLs said,

Anyway a good mpv for low income groups with a bunch of children…makes balik kampung easier instead of in a small kancil =)

Agree with WinterAngeLs. This MPV suits those lower income group of people. Where to find a new MPV for that kind of price? And I’m very sure those people from low income group normally takes good care of their vehicle very preciously. Nothing bad for such price.

• catdeco (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:57 pm

its too early to bash this product.
    let the 1st badge user use it 1st.
    after that lets c hows the performance/comment.
    a good price of mpv for this year
    as the global economic crysis really need people
    to spend wisely.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:00 pm

For all you know, it might just carve a niche for itself.

Not since the Rusa has there been a cheap affordable “Van”. I have a feeling it might just do surprisingly well. So it might look 1/2 a vannette, but then again, it is 1/2 the cost.

FOr those attacking its safety, crash a Rusa or even the larger Vannette, and it wont be much different.

I think they are playing thier cards right, I could see it being appealing to the lower income bracket that either run small business or need to ferry kids. Maybe right car for the right times (not the same can be said about the ill fated Juara)

• fandango (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:15 pm

First of all, its totally UGLY.
    Secondly, it looks like a death trap – I mean, what safety tests does it meet?
    Thirdly, its height makes its appear highly unstable in sudden maneuvers, another safety concern.
    Lastly, I wouldn’t buy it if it’s the last car on earth, right Mel?

• amad_a (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:16 pm

what’s the different with MPV and a van?
    can we consider this an MPV?

• pulge (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:18 pm

The “van” looks weird. I thought the picture was distorted or something the first time I see it.

The hatch looks nice though. Naza Forza killer maybe?

• awak (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:32 pm

at sub 40k, proton saga or chana era?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:46 pm

amad_a,

difference it tax structure.

if its based on suzuki safety should be alright.but based on the price we dont know what they have striped out from the chassis.

but we cant simply assume its gonna be coffin on wheel or what.hope to get some crash test results.

for the price i think its worth it but would anyone buy one?i wouldnt.

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 6:50 pm

Can we say a car for 7ppl with the driver seat located ‘on’ the front wheel as a VAN and the driver seat ‘behind’ the front wheel as an MPV?im just comparing btwn produa rusa and other mpv like mazda mpv and innova.or maybe im gone wrong so far…someone help me..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 7:29 pm

most pukable front end of a car ive ever seen…it seems to extend from heavens to earth and no end in sight!

wat a horror….hopefully i wont see any on the road….and hopefully no one will buy…i have a feeling my pencil had got more strength than this car..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 7:46 pm

How can they manage to make a car cheaper than Savvy? Is there something somewhere that we don’t know?

• nmh (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:06 pm

If I have a family of 7 for example, I prefer to buy a savvy lite and make 2 balik kampung trip. Savvy fun 2 drive what and save as well, i dun mind the extra trip.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:09 pm

at first i really I tot theo photoshop an Innova…..squeeze in vers

• cars-addict (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:40 pm

is this a MPV???? i really can’t believe it!!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:05 pm

it jus looks like a stretch tata nano ..

an extended giant pikachu ..

i dont know if driving this at 80km/h going through penang bridge, which is very windy , you will end up in the sea or not …

it looks unstable …

i would rather spend my money on the Proton BLM …

it looks ridiculous, funny, and useless ..

-the end-

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:09 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 3:01 pm

Adly said,

If u love your family,
    dont buy this car..
    u will know!!

wow… thats fast….

FUNNY

• mspfaz (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:16 pm

This MPV looks like “kucing terperanjat”. Looks too tall and thin. Must be careful driving down winding road like Genting Highland… that is if it managed to get up there in the first place.

• naz@proton (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:20 pm

ugly n no auto version, bad marketing! dont buy sure got high melamine contains. Not good for health.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:36 pm

“Cheap” doesn’t have to be “nasty” but this is just obscene! The designer(s) ought to learn more about proportions…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Go for it Paul, cheap doesn’t mean it’s not cheerful.

There is a row of Changan vehicles at Greenlane near Masjid Negeri in Penang by the way.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Looks like mini Alphard from the side view…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Anyway I saw it in Subang SS12 2 years ago with the trade plate on, almost the same size with the Avanza if I’m not mistaken…

• OpenMind (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:59 pm

i am not sure if this is a rebadged or facellifted Suzuki APV. At least the dimension is very close. At least the outer design is better than APV or juara, just my opinion.

Well, good alternative for people who is not willing to spend too much on car.

Safety wise, hard to comment, if I add another 30k for an Avanza, what safety features do I get? Air bag? 4 star EuroCAP ? Actually nothing much.

But i dont think this car is cheap but rather that other cars are overpriced in Malaysia.

• awak (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:39 pm

i think proton juara is more honest in its appearence as a micro mpv,
    rather than this chana trying to depict the a bigger or full sized mpv iterm of the look, when its physical dimension is actually so limited.

• f1 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Not much to say rite now pending for paul’s test drive but some + & – based on d pic seen here. + side is it looks not d ugliest MPV (multi purpose van) think better than suzuki apv, erv or juara. Sliding doors not bad either especialy in tight space, impress by d ceiling air-cond included & even has 4 air vents compare with avanza 3 only. Price is very attractive which slots in among our local brand which only seats 4 or 5 ppl.

As 4 d – side that’ll b first & most important reliability & safety which also pending for d test drive. Its a van so d engine is under d front seats that may feel bit warm + vibration. Have to squat/bent everytime u fill ur tank which may b uncomfy 4 d female or elderly drivers.

Well the rest is up to Mr Paul Tan to give us d test drive (if can) review later to clear our doubts about d MPV.

• rodimus (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:48 pm

First of all this is design is not bad, secondly i wanted 2 say somethings….
    When i read this page, i found that a lot guys over here really look down on the China made!! Yes i must agree that some of the low costs things were bad, but do look around among urself, how many things in ur house are made in China, from clothes, pants, toys….etc, even our handphone are made in China!!!

Then talk about technology, i dun think that our tech is better then them, exp: they made they own rocket to space but our G need 2 bought “a lot stuffs” from Russia then only can “exchange” a person to space…. is that something 2 b proud of!?

Come back 2 the car issue, i know that alot guys here are rich, hey do look around there still a lot of ppl with low income that can’t afford 2 buy a car cos due 2 our taxes!! This car sell at a very affordable price for them and their childrens. I do agree with Openmind said.

“I’m talking 2 the man in the mirror, I’m asking him 2 change his way”….

• transformer (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Suzuki APV is not a bad car, though its exterior looks tall and boxy, it still can handle much better than those T makes truck based products… APV can sit 8 adult comfortably(3rd row little larger than 2nd gen Odessey as the family own both). Been to puncak few times in both of these.

given nearly half price of APV, i still hope CM8 will have APV handling characteristic though an 1.3L engine offered as apposed to 1.6L in APV. Brakes should be the same also if not a slightly smaller front disc. APV is not a bad car afterall, only it price tag shy many and T makes are more popular.

i believe people who buy CM8 doesnt need ABS, EBD and Airbag… they need a basic car to move family member safely and comfortably. At this price, its a valuebuy for 30-40K range buyer.

Btw, in APV the aircon above the 2nd row provide much better coolling to third row compared to those that used front-ceiling-back type.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:39 pm

Adly said,

If u love your family,
    dont buy this car..
    u will know!!

———————————-

exactly….
    i got wad u mean…..
    and,
    I wonder how much the price tag would be without tax…..
    I hope nobody buy this car…..
    and u guyz deserve better mpv than this….

• gajen (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:39 pm

one time accidents thats it la…y ppl keep bringing in these cars-naza sutera,now this mpv…honestly i rather spend tht 45 k on a 2nd hand Estima..

• car_craze (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:43 pm

I will wait for Paul to do a road test before i comment on this ‘Roti proportioned’ MPV.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:07 am

sliding door and 2nd row blower r good points here

1.3L for MPV
    i think it is underpower

suzuki APV is a decent car/van
    but who want to drive a van..

i been in once but nvr drive it

• najibest (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:09 am

this is definitely better than putting 7 people in a 660cc kancil for low income families with large family

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:10 am

i tot they launched 2 unit

other one is smaller than viva but taller n wider

• natworks88 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:45 am

cheap but fugly.

• natworks88 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:49 am

IMHO i find the quality of a car an importance to my eyes.. and thank goodness.. Perodua has good quality control, even though it’s essentially a rebadged car or whatnot.. still.. China car’s don’t impress me the least bit.

• king (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:35 am

I thought this was the new Alphard

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:57 am

Why they make it so tall…do they have many Yao Mings in China?

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:51 am

beware of the high contains of melamine and lead har har this mpv has a better future in indonesia because of the bigger market and higher demand of inexpensive mpvs…i think..

• joe1209p (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 8:41 am

everyone is so negative about this van. just give it a chance. not everyone can afford a T. like some ppl point out, this is better than a family of 7 driving in a Kancil. speaking of which, Kancil also had terrible safety, but still sell like goreng pisang panas..

at the least, Proton n Perodua will need to rethink the price of their MPV’s. Good for us eh?

• goguncas71 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 8:58 am

Can it be sold in Europe? To be homogolated in Europe you need to pass the crash test etc. Protons are designed to pass europe’s homogolation test and can be sold throughout the world. But Chinese cars? I know some of them are, but not all, since it would make the cars more expensive to make. Saw a Sutera (Hafei Lobo) in a accident once, pretty nasty (airbags don’t mean a thing if the front end collapses like paper and the engine ends up on your lap…)

• alihms (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:23 am

Why do we have to put up with vehicles like this on our roads? Our standards are declining. Roughly 10 years ago, the first generation Vios, assembled in Thailand, was not even considered fit to enter Malaysian market.

Look at us now. This model has been launched in China for at least 5 years. Old model – but it is being brought here as new. And today, even a bare-bone Vios with steel rims is fit for sale here. Sad. A sad situation.

• raverus (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:38 am

Cheap things aren’t good things?

• mr_em (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:55 am

alihms said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 9:23 am

“Why do we have to put up with vehicles like this on our roads? Our standards are declining. Roughly 10 years ago, the first generation Vios, assembled in Thailand, was not even considered fit to enter Malaysian market.

Look at us now. This model has been launched in China for at least 5 years. Old model – but it is being brought here as new. And today, even a bare-bone Vios with steel rims is fit for sale here. Sad. A sad situation.”

——————————————————

You can thank our incompetence and/or “deaf” policymakers (they won’t listen to the constructive criticisms!!!) and the people who elected them over the years for our “backwardness”…. soon, Vietnam and Cambodia may even overtake us in terms of development… the sign of bad development is when you see our average income distribution (the average difference between highest income and lowest income earner) is skewed so badly…

• mct (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:39 am

hmm
    seem like still got many ppl giving wrong info to every body , try to look under the avanza , do you see ladder frame ???nope , i did’t see it but SUZUKI APV is truly a van based vehicle , you can see those ladder under the car , infact , suzuki apv is using leaf spring !!!!! and you can see the APV?in another form in taiwan market , that is pickup. PLS check your info b4 you post !

• p1basher (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:45 am

RM40k!! Wow great price for low income people with big family. Good also for some companies just want to transport something.

Safety? Cmon man 40k MPV, who is the moron going to drive fast with this thing? More important, the maintenance should be cheap too.

• OpenMind (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:47 am

I liked to the way alihms described the situation in Malaysia…Yes, indeed it’s really sad that our standard is dropping as well as our expectation.Remember many were saying that City is a bargain at RM86k (that is 3x our GDP per capita).

Back to this car, despite it offers a good alternatives, but i still think it’s hard to sell, simply because of the typical malaysia perspective and perception on China made product/car.

On the aircond vent, do you know that the current version of Honda Stream (selling at about RM150k) dont even has any aircond vent on second or third row.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:59 am

Must be this car pass JPJ safety test. That’s why it’s allowed to be sold here. What’s the basic requirement for a car to be allowed to sell in Malaysia? Euro NCAP 3 star? Can you like bu

• indigo (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:20 am

Well you’ll get rear “manual windows”? The designs on the seats are ugly!

• supersaint (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:24 pm

Well, I have read alot of jealous comment here and even preferred this car to proton’s. Well, I am not judging both cars because I have not driven this Chana car before but I can comment on Proton’s. Alot of my friends boutght the RM70k Waja that we are proud of. I can tell you that the quality is far worse that that of vios which is over priced at least 60% here as you can get a cheaper vios overseas. For their effort to bring in a car safer than kancil at its price, what else you want to ask more? Do you want to pay 30K car with state of the art technology as a merc and look sophisticated as a ferrari and run as fast as a lambo but costs lesser than a kancil?

Well, by all means buy mazda 5 if you have the money as it is far superior in safety or you can also opt for porche cayenne that is a chick magnet if you can afford. So, CM8 is not a comparison to these expensive least affordable car. So, compare and apple with an apple. Lets see other car that priced the range of RM30k with this car and then we can have a rational comparison. All I could read is the jealous comment. Anyway, proton waja, persona, kelisa or whatever get very bad review in UK too.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:32 pm

I can understand ugly. I can probably understand it might not be very well built.

I can’t believe people are pulling the safety issue out again.

I will be blunt. Not everyone can afford safety. Its a cruel FACT. Why don’t you see everyone driving a 5 star NCAP car? well because they can’t afford them. Even the WAJA managed to muster only a 3 star. Doesn’t stop people buying it.

Like a Kancil with 7 people will do any better. Right.

Seriously, I think people here lack perspective. What on earth do you expect for under 40k? For the low income families this may be a godsend. This van probably only cost like under 30k without all the taxes and lubang.

Besides if you drive like a moron and get yourself killed, what? blame the car? Look at it, most people don’t even bother to USE the safety features already on any car (ie. seatbelts). Complain about safety then?

But I do agree, better to buy a larger second hand car. But not everyone can get a 1) loan for old cars, 2) afford the (higher) interest of that loan, or 3) afford parts and maintenance of a 10+ year MPV.

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:08 pm

cheap price… sth fishy there…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:46 pm

the reason they brought it here because some malaysian likes cheap stuff…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:46 pm

we cant afford ENCAP 4 or 5 star cars because of proton. while it may not be the cause, it is still being used as the reason why we are not allowed to afford safe cars.

Full Stop.

Are you supposed to leap onto the roof when you see a car coming at you at 90 degrees. side protection looks non existant. 1980’s car.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:40 pm

i love this car. it looks funky.

• David9988 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:47 pm

my fren (related to the ceo of Changan Berjaya) said there are many more models about to arrive at our shores.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:27 am

4G63T DSM, topgunthang,

Ford Focus has 5-star Euro NCAP, n it’s cheaper than honda civic. Which one sells better?

Safety? lol, if oni ppl just realise the hypocrisy of their belief on safety. airbags, another airbag, more airbags, n more airbags will nt make a car safer. A smarter driver will, n they begin by belting up.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:12 pm

#
    tokmoh said,

January 22, 2009 @ 12:27 am

4G63T DSM, topgunthang,

Ford Focus has 5-star Euro NCAP, n it’s cheaper than honda civic. Which one sells better?

Safety? lol, if oni ppl just realise the hypocrisy of their belief on safety. airbags, another airbag, more airbags, n more airbags will nt make a car safer. A smarter driver will, n they begin by belting up.

——————
    saab is the safest car in the world, does it sell well here?

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:56 pm

make sure the handsome guy or pretty woman to drive this cute mpv heheheheh

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 5:16 pm

This van doesnt look too bad actually. The interior looks neat, but quality-wise.. No comment until i touch one.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:55 am

sex is…….. ,

No either. Bt I thought saab models are pretty expensive, no?

My point is, if ppl lament “all 5-star EURO NCAP are xpnsv”, then Ford focus proved them wrong. It’s cheaper, yet it doesn’t sell. So safety doesn’t sell actually. The Japanese badge does. Besides, ppl hardly belt up, so why bother wit the safety tech?

• awak (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 12:32 am

http://www.berjaya.com/changanberjaya.htm

is it sold through chery as well?

• Raymond on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:36 am

Can u all help me to find where is showroom or contact no?

• not bad for price<40K. I bought one as second car to send my children go to school. its better than proton saga (must compare with the smae car price lol)

come on what u expect from the < 40 K? safety? ….if u have money buy la 100K MPV.. dun kacau people yang low income macam kitorang. U drive estima with 190km/hr then slip u will die also what……..

• wak smart on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:49 am

orait gak… ramai boleh naik..

tapi kalau kereta nasional kita buat gini… double traouble larisnya..

kene buat plan baik la.. baru planlulus

• its look so funny. Y manufacturer always produce ugly look for cheap car? please, u can produce better look car if u want to incease your sale.

which one is better?

1. Proton Juara

2. Chana Era M8

3. Naza Suria

TQ

• Prismo on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:29 am

hehehe… mini Alphard….. :D

• xiaoji on Mar 08, 2009 at 4:35 am

price below RM40k, nomore complaint compare to any other MPV/Van available in Malaysia

• bluefire on Mar 08, 2009 at 9:11 pm

"talk too much can kill"

no matter hows bad this mpv, its realy give a chance people to have it coz it just below RM45K for MPV maaa….so cheap maaa

• xiaoji on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:02 am

just ask for the price at Penang, premium OTR price is RM38888 but now no car to deliver, next batch arrival unknown.

• tokkasa on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:44 am

bacalah sejarah syarikat Changan yang buat kereta ni! sejarah dia buat kereta pada tahun 1890 lebih lama dari proton, Pi la negara cina ramai rakyat dia yang pakai , bukan main nak hentam tapi tak dak akai….

• xiaoji on Mar 22, 2009 at 12:19 am

my wife just place deposit for a unit.

Car only available after May.

• danny on Mar 27, 2009 at 12:12 am

I viewed it at Giant Kelana last week. Many ppl enquired abt it too. At that price it is an alternative to lower income folks.

• anna_sukor on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:51 pm

[quote comment="202889"]This MPV looks like "kucing terperanjat". Looks too tall and thin. Must be careful driving down winding road like Genting Highland… that is if it managed to get up there in the first place.[/quote]

Heyyyyy….

My first look also like that,,,,like “kucing terperanjat”…

• Bodow on Apr 08, 2009 at 5:17 pm

I saw this vehicle the first time last week near Connaught ….wow wow wow … it's insanely ugly like Kenari on steroids … i said what the F!*% with the tall roof …it 's purposeless , devoid of any shameful guilt …. hate those who buy this crap!

• Bodow,

Even my uncle from Canada is saying the same thing you said to Alphard when he first saw it. Look just how well the car sell.

• layman on Apr 10, 2009 at 8:18 am

Bodow,

Don't judge the book by it's cover, I've tried this vehicle once and it's different than what you think. You maybe a damn idiot rich guy, comparing cheapest vehicle with those expensive.

• Dear Bodow,

You are as stupid as your name suggests even if you try to cover it by putting w instead of h. Well, what you mentioned is that the car is ugly and all. Thats what I'm telling you that even at first glance, alphard may look ugly too. Now you try to change the subject and talk about the difference of it when you drive. You have said it right for once. Alphard is expensive and this car is cheap. What the hell more to expect from a 30 over thousand Ringgit car as long as it gives you safety, reliability and spaciousness. I'm not defending Chana's car performance or reliability as I have not driven it before. Neither have you so just wait till we have driven one then you can argue about it till cows come home. At the meantime just hide and relief yourself of the shame ok.

• james on Apr 15, 2009 at 12:28 am

i already saw this car..very funny!

• tamannegara (Member) on Apr 19, 2009 at 8:07 pm

saw one in usj and one in federal highway,

look very obvious one the road..

• Guys, be sensible….compare apple to apple. I saw the actual thing rather than pics and photos. Looks OK but interior a little rough but OK though if you go for the premium unit. Oh come on, talk about looks a vannette, rusa, juara …looks more outdated. For the price, don't expect something like Murano lah! Ofcoz talk about safety, nothing of proton so far besides the Exora pass the Euro Crash Test, but at least feels better than a kancil, kelisa, kenari. My friend driving the new Saga had his wiper flew off during a thunder storm in the city,,! And another who owns a Waja has this power window problem every 1/2 yearly..! Well if you want cheaper safe cars then go for those with 3 to 4 stars Euro Crash Test results eg Hyundai i10 or a Kia Picanto which cost approx 43K in the mkt (then again it confortably sits 4 only with practically no booth space!).

So to speak, at this price…those lower income earners with med to large families or food hawkers will find it affordable and practical.

Its too early to give any review. Well all I felt is could really be very unfomfortable if long distance travel due to engine below seat (like van) you'll get a HOT BUTT!

• BTW, some engineer friends use to frequent Shanghai and Beijing for this Utility Engineering forum stuff and for years now had been witnessing and experiencing vehicles made by this Co. in China. You'll be surprise, it's not bad after all. They are very much in line with some American made models. When Berjaya signed the agreement to market this car here, these big boys obviously did their homework too rather than dumping millions in the sewage as years are being put in to make this decision. Obviously China had tarnished their name in milk, toys, tyres, toothpaste, canfood, explosive batteries, faulty appliances, ………etc. Well, the giants in China and Malaysia do still have a tight relationship on, and if they were to provide us with another crap product, it sure will make great big headlines that involved the misjudgement of Berjaya! So give it some time and get 1st hand feedbacks rather than judging a book by the cover. Its just like A Renault Kangoo, some like it some not. Anyway talk about cover, it looks OK for a below RM40K car (I mean MPV). By the way I am a full time mommy and housewife trying to give an opinion from another perspect..

• Prismo on May 10, 2009 at 11:07 pm

oh mdm Mt.. this mpv is suitable for u perhaps.. dont buy saga, the wiper will flew off during storm and waja power window will fail every1/2 years.. er, my 6 years old waja's power window still ok until now.. just replaced power window switch at once..

• Perhaps Luck plays a part in buying cars…I do not want to just give comments until I really see one and I did today at the PJ Chana BErjaya Showroom. Overall its OK, the height is rather high but ok coz when I get into the van kinda mpv, I don't really have to bent like getting into an Avanza. Seat wise is more comfy than Avanza. Its not wide but still ok. Not to bad for a RM40K car with that kinda space. As to interior quality wise, kinda similar to kancil. Only thing I find not tooconvenient is the engine's location as under front seat (like van). Kinda worrying if travelling long distance like outstation??? Whether the seat will be heated up like the vannette kind. It seems there's t 2 option to the seat type. The 3rd row seat can be fully drop to the front …so ample spave for luggage if travelling 4 person. Color wise is nice esp the gold and red, silver is norm but the green is YUKs! Although I do not have much negative comment on this car but somehow after really viewing and touching the car, I still feel something is wrong somewhere. I'd rather settle for a Hyundai i10 (new) or a Hyundai Matrix (4 years) or even a Chev Aveo (4 years) which is similar in price. Oh yes, the paintwork is not too nicely done as I notice around the edge, its not smooth.

• mrs ghani_igloo on May 15, 2009 at 7:29 am

er,,,nway…ni mmg bhgian cment kan??? but…yg byk2 cment 2 dh try ke erk???em…try la dlu…bwu bleh ckap…if keta apa skalipn,,nk osak,osak jgk…fikir2 kan…dan selamat beramal…..

• Mrs Ghani,

My comments are based on what I personally see at the showroom.

And as mentioned by most of the people here, its obviously better than squeezing a family of 6-7 into a kancil or even iswara…that you can be assure of. Performance ofcoz is too early to tell. The outlook is not too bad and the height is good. Only thing becoz of the width, many doesn't like it but hey…..no comment lah for a new mpv-van this price. It seems a better seat option is given for a premium unit. If you are interested to buy, please stress on the paintwork especially on the edges. A friend of mine too went to another showroom and saw the paintwork towards the edges is not too acceptable. The main thing here is it comfortably sits 4 with lots and lots of luggage space at the back….and if it sits 6 – 7 then you will have practically no space for luggage….Back to its still better than a kancil.

• frank on May 24, 2009 at 4:23 am

Does anyone know if this mpv will be sold in S'pore, who will be the agent and when is it coming in? People here are buying Hafei Minz, Wuling Journey, Dongfeng Star … so this addition may give consumers another choice because after-sales will be easy. Btw personally, this CM8 looks better than the rest mentioned above. Thks.

• T S CHEE on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:34 am

i buy this car last month, with 6 person from penang – kl – genting – penang i just spend RM135 for 930km, to genting i only use 2 or 3 gear, i feel the stering is stabil at highway for 120kmph.

• xiaoji on Jun 27, 2009 at 3:57 pm

may i know which dealer you purchase from?

how come my wife booked one for more than 3 months still cannot get it?

• mittk9 on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Hi Everyone,

Any user of CM8?

For me a lower income group just like an ordinary Joe this vehicle a value for money. We can get the best review from a user, better of if we can get the test drive from a dealer.

Come on with the issue safety, safety depends on a person / driver.

Better of I'll buy the MPV than exposing my wife and my 3 kids to the low quality of air in KL on a motorbike. Coverred from monsoon rains, haze and etc…(other drivers). In a kancil …. my fourth child is on the way. Still in the oven.

Not everybody can a afford an Avanza futhermore an Alphard.

'Think Again'

• hi, all,
    i am considering to buy CM8, this is my first time buying car, I am choosing between cm8 and myvi, pls suggest me, i like the space of CM8 and price, any one of you that has bought CM8 here? pls tell me ur driving experience…. its the spare parts and service issue ok for CM8?

• seefirst on Aug 09, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Do i know if there any dealer in kuching?I would like to test drive?Planning third car…

• zulkurnain on Sep 25, 2009 at 1:31 am

For all my fren, I have bought this MPV several month ago. For me, this MPV give me a good budget in fuel. The maintenance is cheap and affordable. The safeness is in our hand. So far I love this MPV included my wife and children.

• i need this contact number.. salesman

• gey2718 on Nov 30, 2009 at 9:15 am

this van is based on suzuki / daihatsu 80s' to 2000 manufactured vans, i'm driving a yr 2000 daihatsu hijet / extol in singapore as workhorse, very reliable and economical, sometimes can be naughty and wheel spin at traffic lights, throw some cars behind, pickup is quite good, drive 120km/h no problem for the 1.3L engine, rear wheel drive, macpherson strut front, torsion beam or leaf spring rear setup.

i see the main body frame unchanged for many china vans even though they are from different factory, only doors, attach on panels bumpers are changed, similar to Proton and perodua so called FACELIFT, 'puckk'!

engine 1300cc forever, same engine and gearbox, in singapore u can see brands like: hafei, chana, wuling, dongfeng are selling these vans, commonly seen on road there but have quite lousy review from buyers, quality issue…

• Konnek on Dec 06, 2009 at 6:33 am

Lebih baik beli Proton Exora la daripada beli Chana Era ni.

• pIRatZE on Dec 07, 2009 at 4:12 pm

No automatic transmission is a major downside in this cheap MPV. Otherwise, it would make a hit.

• manja on Jan 03, 2010 at 12:35 am

nk beli kat penang kedai kat mana ek?

• gamegame on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:21 am

Front exterior looks good what, but back is ugly. Interior is a let a down though, what do you expect from a 40k car?

• yusmale on May 14, 2010 at 10:18 am

Salam sejahtera untuk semua yg memberi komen. kalau kenderaan ini dikatakan “murah” n “banyak kelemahan”………..rasa-rasanya MPV Malaysia kenalah fikir2kan semula harga mereka. Takkanlah dah Brand n keluaran Malaysia, tapi harga…….aduhaaiiii……jauh mahal dari harga Chana Era CM8 ni….sempi lebih kurang sama jer….

• Syed Ahmad Kuantan on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Saya telah membeli sebuah kenderaan MPV Era CM8 Pada Bulan April, Pada 6Jun2010 kenderaan saya mengalai masalah, paip air tercabut semasa menunggu lampu isarat,APA YANG MENGEJUTKAN SAYA AIR YANG KELUAR DARI INJIN BERWARNA TEH DAN BERBUEH SEPERTI TEH TERIK dan menyebabkan kenderaan saya di tarik kebengkel.Sehinggalah 17 jun 2010 baru lah kenderaan saya di keluarkan dari bengkel.
    Dari tarikh 6 jun masalah yang sama masih berulang sehingga beberapa kali (melebehi 4 kali)menyebabkan saya terpaksa menyewa kendaraan untuk bersama keluarga.Pada 15 july wakil dari pihak tuan dari Kuala Lumur telah melihatnya sendiri apa yang saya alami.
    Pengguna Malang
    pada tarikh saya menghantar coment ini pekara yang sama masih berulang.Diharap pihak tuan dapat berbuat sesuatu bagi mengatasi masalah yang dialami oleh saya.

013 9302087 (syed ahmad syed alwi)

• chew sang jit on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:36 pm

i went to the showroom and saw the car with my own eyes!!! i really like it!! it’s not too modern or out dated. if anyone who had bought the car out there, please give me some feedback about the car.

• Mohd Razmadi on Oct 01, 2010 at 10:55 am

After sales service very poor at Penang sales office. Even one of the mechanic also “mulut tak ada insurance”. Central lock on the left side not functioning and till now (about one month) the spare part still has not arrive. 6 litres of engine oil need to be used for oil change.

• Mohd Razmadi on Oct 01, 2010 at 10:57 am

Fuel consumption very good, though. Penang =>Jitra=> Penang cost about RM30.00 only.

• SC Chan on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:27 am

So far so good…. I have bought this MPV last month, and till now, I found it is up to my satisfaction. Driving operation is smooth…and the fuel consumption is about RM 0.14 per km. However, some minor problems happen with water pipe leakage, but with the good and responsible help from the mechanics and the salesman, the problem has been successfully overcome. Decide to test the MPV for long distance travel next week, from Seremban up to Penang, hopefully its performance should be OK. So far, my family quiet like this vehicle, especially my young kids. This vehicle is worth to buy as it gave me quiet good money value. Quiet to say for the future, as I only own this vehicle for just 1 month +.

• I have bought this car after looking this car at the showroom. At first, I thought I have make a big mistake buying this car for my 2nd car. I cannot sleep well thinking what will happen to this car. But, after 6 months I did naot face any major problem. IBesides using this car to my office, I drive this car to my home town (Ipoh – Klang) 2 times since I bought it. So far so good. I can drive steadily without facing any problem. What I tam trying to tell is dont give bad comment before using this car. This car is ugly but it is economics. So, if you want to buy this car, go to the show room and do your test drive. Get the right informations from the dealer. Dont just “kutuk”.

• SC Chan on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:35 am

I agreed with rizd….I have driven from Seremban to Cameron Highland, from Cameron Highland to Penang, and from Penang back to Seremban last week during Deepavali holidays. The performance of the car is better than I expected. Suprisingly, found that the longer I drive, the smoother the car operation is. With the help of the friendly maintainence staff I hope I can get good money value from the vehicle. I also agree that this car looks ugly at some perspectives, but from some other perspectives, it looks nice. Quiet strange. However, no everything can fix well…as long as you think the car is worth more than what it pays.

• mazen romoh on Nov 02, 2011 at 5:49 am

dear sirs.. can i find spare parts for this car ?? it yes kindly let me get your contact number . regar5ds

• hossein on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:52 am

I will buy cm8 hangan because that is best car for family and spped.

• I think proton juara is the best than chana cm8