Chrysler considering new car-based pick-up truck

Dodge NP200
Could Dodge rebadge the Nissan NP200 for an entry-level pickup? Artist’s impression by Theophilus Chin.

Chrysler is said to be mulling introducing a small pick-up truck based on a monocoque car chassis to slot in below its large ladderframe trucks. Such a vehicle would allow Chrysler to improve its Corporate Average Fuel Economy standards, as the more fuel efficient small truck would compensate for the large guzzlers at the top of the line.

What immediately comes to mind is a pick-up truck based on the Nissan NP200 pickup, which was itself based on the Dacia Logan pickup. Chrysler already has a partnership with Nissan, who supplies Chrysler with compact vehicles to sell under the Dodge brand in Latin America. For example, the Nissan Latio is sold under the Dodge brand as the Dodge Trazo with little changes, not even a major adaptation of the Latio’s grille to match the Dodge corporate nose.

While we’re at it, they really might as well look into replacing the Dodge Dakota with a rebadged Nissan Navara (artist’s impression after the jump), like Suzuki has done with the Suzuki Equator.

Dodge Navara
Click for enlarged image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:39 pm

That’s a real shocker.

• nuzzary (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:58 pm

somehow proton arena cross my mind.. car , truck ..
    funny how the world evolve..
    :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:09 pm

nuzzary said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

somehow proton arena cross my mind.. car , truck ..
    funny how the world evolve..

proton arena is not the first car-based pickup. You can see plenty of them in south africa and australia. Australia is especially well known for them, based on the ford falcon and holden commodore road cars. the proton arena also saw quite a degree of success in australia for proton.

• rexis (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:51 pm

But i think Arena looks better then this… erm.. NP200 pickup

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Proton was first in this With the Proton Arena which is only popular with the Aussies. Not that popular here. They can try, and I think they will fail too. The land which gave pick up trucks. People want proper pickups

• gie7 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:51 pm

sape kata proton arena tu bodoh..hehe…ni menampakkan yang pandangan tm x ceo proton adalah relevan…sape yang atk sambung kontrak tm tu memang tak pandai nak berniaga ar…tm lagi laju buat benda ni dengan proton arena…crysler baru nak buat…syed zainal tau ar…mou macam pemalas…asik nak rebadge…perkongsian teknikal ok ar…tapi yang rebadge tu ape…nak berjaya dalam masa singkat ek…baguslah.macam skim cepat kaya

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:03 pm

mystvearn said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 7:23 pm

Proton was first in this With the Proton Arena

Err, Subaru once sold the Brat in Malaysia in the 80’s. So Proton wasn’t the first. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_BRAT

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:41 am

The Dodge Navara would be great, albeit with an upgraded engine.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:39 pm

i want my dodge ram srt-8!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:54 pm

TheophilusChin said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 10:03 pm

Err, Subaru once sold the Brat in Malaysia in the 80’s. So Proton wasn’t the first. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_BRAT

Damm, you are right. Wrong there. My memory does not go back to 1985:p

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:40 pm

adus gie7 ni….

ok… the process in proton with tm is good…

but how are goin to answer the malaysian about the low quality of the car during his time?

care to share some answer since u very proud of him…

why malaysian rejects proton cars till the market share drops just nearly 20-30% from 70% during his time?

in making good looking good cars… he is good maybe… but in satisfying customer needs, did he realize that he missed that?

what if, he continue to direct proton until proton fall and hit the ground… will u still support him?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:42 pm

mystvearn said,

January 21, 2009 @ 6:54 pm

TheophilusChin said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 10:03 pm

Damm, you are right. Wrong there. My memory does not go back to 1985:p
    ——————–
    this car in gta san andreas grove street got a lot

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Proton wasn’t the first n neither is Subaru. During the sixties Mini (BMC) brought in their Mini pick-ups, Mini Vans which were all based on the Mini car.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mini_(BMC)

A beautifully restored Mini pick-up was recently featured in the KERETA mag issue #109 January 2009.