Proton in talks with Petter Solberg for 2010 WRC debut with Proton Satria Neo

Proton Satria Neo S2000

Will Proton make a debut in the World Rally Championship for the 2010 season? Apparently this is a possibility, and Proton is actually working at making this happen, according to Proton director Datuk Haji Abdul Razak Dawood. He says a successful WRC program could establish Proton’s brand and reputation in Europe the same way it helped Subaru in the 90s.

According to Datuk Haji, a Proton Satria Neo in the WRC could possibly turn it into a cult car with a following like what Subaru enjoyed with the WRX. If the proposed WRC regulation revisions to a “S2000+ spec” becomes official, it would allow Proton to compete in the WRC with a much smaller budget and compete against the big boys like Ford and Citroen. All that needs to be done is to upgrade the existing MEM Satria Neo S2000 (shown above) to whatever the S2000+ spec is.

2003 World Champion Petter Solberg is said to be in talks with Proton for a 2010 season. He will be testing the MEM Satria Neo S2000 car sometime in February, and according to him the Proton is a nice and detailed car. He says he has met with Proton but nothing about the proposed 2010 season has been finalised yet. There is also word about Solberg racing in a Citroen C4 instead, but he says that deal has not been finalised yet either.

MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000
MEM Satria Neo S2000 makes first rally debut
VIDEO: MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000

[zenphotopress number=99 album=78]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• konoha (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:29 pm

1stt!!!!!!

• wiraone (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:31 pm

You stupid konoha ..

Anyway, I thought Paul has missed this news when I read it from autoblog yesterday night .. So, do you think Solberg is willing to drive for Proton? Will see..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:37 pm

very very costly….wer most manufacturers are geting out,proton want to get it…unless thy have the fancial means to cope with it…i tink the timing is not right

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:39 pm

its a great idea, and would definitely boost protons international branding. something like this would be a huge undertaking, for any manufacturer.. but then again.. its only talks at this stage (but still exciting news).. petter solberg i’m sure, has been talking with anyone and everyone to secure a drive for the future.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:59 pm

GO FOR IT!!! TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY!!!

Expect bashers soon…

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:00 pm

I sure hope Petter Solberg can be in a Proton…that would be a coup.

• metalbox (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:10 pm

wow… this is BIG!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:29 pm

here gone some of the tax payers money…

• goguncas71 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:43 pm

Proton will only go into it if a sponsor comes in. Maybe Petronas? Sponsoring Proton’s WRC campaign would probably cost 20% what they give to the BMW F1 team…

Solberg? If he’s convinced the car’s competitive and the salary is good, why not?

• dzulx (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:49 pm

Why Solberg? I thought we still have our dear flying sikh?

Surely our sikh is as capable as other if given the same chance and the same money.

Maybe if it become reality, proton can sponsor 2 cars, Solberg for marketing purpose and the flying sikh for the the local content?

Nevertheless the new is still interesting. And surely will be more interesting if proton can race local engine (campro/petronas) in the WRC like what Subaru did :D

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:54 pm

Sure hope it materializes. Since Pert n Karam left the scene there’s no one to fly our flag. With the right upgradings the Neo could be a very potent machine. Anyone seen a Proton Wira 1.8DOHC with Shell’s decals around? That car with little mods done, won its class overall in our MRC Perlis round in 1999. N Karamjit Singh aka The Flying Sikh, certainly needs no introduction here. A right car with the right driver will put us back on track. I heard that Karam is to be roped back by Pert to drive a rebadged Evo X for Asia Pacific Rally Championship. Peter Solberg for WRC? Keeping my fingers crossed on both.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:57 pm

proton must be doing very good internationally to afford this. even subaru with a cash rich parent like toyota cant afford them from a business prospective. also taking into consideration subaru IS Rally racing.

as much as i would like to see solberg in a proton. i dont want to see him in one at the expense of the well being of malaysians. same case as that astronaut. nobody in the world gives a damn if he’s been to space he basically was just given a free ticket. cant beleive this sheet going on. business is ailing, malaysians suffering and they go on and try recruit a world class driver into an expensive program in the worse economic period/situation in a century.

to be honest. i hope they lose badly. just like petronas in F1 all the time.

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:59 pm

Razak dawood is the same guy who brought Karam to his rallying glory under the PERT team

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:02 pm

A 280bhp hot hatch streetcar? Way cool.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:24 pm

On second thought, WHY Peter Solberg,(no offence meant) n not our very own Karam? He has been waiting so long to compete full-fledgedly in the WRC, n now that Proton can afford it (previously cited financial prob) why oh why not Karam who had served the country n flew the Jalur Gemilang single-handedly? After all he’s still our national champion. Wages? PS will definitely be expensive but Karam? I think just the chance to compete in WRC will be enuff for Karam. Maybe a token sum n a Datukship thrown in? N talking of Datukship, why hasn’t he been awarded one yet for all his sacrifices? Same goes to his co-driver Allen Oh.

• accordmania (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:27 pm

KUALA LUMPUR: The KL International Motor Show 2009 (KLIMS ’09) which was scheduled to be held from May 29 to June 7, has been postponed to later date due to global economic crisis.

The president of the Malaysian Automotive Association president Datuk Aishah Ahmad said on Wednesday that the new date for the motor show would be announced later.

Aishah, who is also chairman of the organising committee of the motor show, said automotive principals had not been spared by the recent development in the global economy.

“Thus, after much deliberation and discussions with the automotive principals, confirmed exhibitors as well as members of MAA came to a collective agreement to postpone the KLIMS ’09 to a later date

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:34 pm

this is stupid, no more subaru, got proton, and use our money? solberg if u want to win races join citroen

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:38 pm

topgunthang said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 1:57 pm

proton must be doing very good internationally to afford this. even subaru with a cash rich parent like toyota cant afford them from a business prospective. also taking into consideration subaru IS Rally racing.
    ——————————————

a WRC rally budget is very much higher than a budget to run an S2000 car.. which is why FIA is proposing for S2000 to be the new WRCar standard in 2010 to keep costs down.. This seems the norm now, as even F1 is desperately trying to lower costs.

in comparison, an S2000 car ready to race costs around RM1million, whereas a WRC car will be in the region of RM7million. The S2000 car is also simpler, and easier to maintain, and doesn’t have some of the more expensive gadgets like active-diffs, etc.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:40 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 1:29 pm

———————————————

Dear sir, you are absolutely 100% very right there with your comment. i’m pretty sure almost 98.5% of all proton customers are current Malaysian ‘tax payers’.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:50 pm

poor Solberg, from a World Champ to a Proton driver…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 3:28 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 2:40 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 1:29 pm

———————————————

Dear sir, you are absolutely 100% very right there with your comment. i’m pretty sure almost 98.5% of all proton customers are current Malaysian ‘tax payers’.
    —————————-

Why is it anything about proton must be related to tax payers money???? Those investment, I repeat INVESTMENT r only for RnD purposes…

For this kind of activities, sponsorship etc.. it come from proton own pocket and sponsorship…. as mentioned in the article Proton will only join is they introduce the s2000+ spec in the WRC…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 3:56 pm

first, the cancellation of group b, then subaru quits wrc, now this?

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:11 pm

Hope this does to the Proton Satria Neo what it did to Subaru’s Imprezza =)

• goguncas71 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Topgunthang said

“to be honest. i hope they lose badly. just like petronas in F1 all the time”

Wow…what a proud Malaysian…

Oh…I forgot, losers love losers…

I don’t get it, they moan all the time that Proton should expand and get overseas exposure instead of relying on the local market. I think Proton is trying to do that with all the recent export news and this I believe is a good way to gain exposure. What else is there? WTCC is also expensive. Anyway with the new regs the cost of WRC is much lower (common parts for example).
    But when Proton tries to get exposure it’s all negative…

Anyway it’s not a done deal, Proton will only go into WRC if the numbers add up.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Petronas branding few years in F1 now an investment paying back . Petronas brand already reach all around the world. Without well known brand, how come you wanna penetrate any single country market?

so then proton, it’s time to invest more on international branding. Keep on pushing.. and make sure, your quality for local are tip top and cheap.

Who know.. 1 day, every outsiders love to has a proton car just like what our ‘toyota fan’ or japanese wannabe in our country now.. One day, maybe outsiders will say.. “you’re malaysian wanna be!”..

Mellor’s team currently build their 3rd Neo S2000, so I assume, they got buyers already… If they believe in proton.. why not us?

Neo… the choosen one.. (sadly it’s underated – but to be good competitor if not champion later i believe)

• Jaybond (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Poor Solberg, from a World Champ to a Proton driver…

Subaru just can’t give a better car, the 2000s WRC era is just dominated by the Frenchies & Brits, era of the active diffs.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Paul!.. slap the Neo S200 White with Red stripe color one pics la.. that one nicer!.. :D ..
    just bored with the yellow color one. :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:56 pm

abtm said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 2:50 pm

poor Solberg, from a World Champ to a Proton driver…

interestingly enough, if you were to do a search on foreign websites.. the news about the proton s2000, has been remarkably positive. many are surprised and certainly did not expect this from proton.

most interestingly of course, is that petter solberg is interested enough to meet with proton to talk about it. He has of course gone to talk to other manufacturers, but the fact that he has seen, and recognises protons efforts. i’m sure a driver of his calibre would not meet proton if he did not believe he can be competitive in the car.

anyways, with or without petter solberg, niall mcshaw, pwrc 04 champion will be starting with the neo s2000 in the 1st round of WRC’s 2009 season in ireland next weekend.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 5:05 pm

good luck to proton if they are really serious. WRC programme should be a lot lot cheaper with S2000 spec. Petronas should be asked and forced (if necessary) to chip in too. Make it a national project, sort of. with Petronas name slapped on the car, as let say, one of the main sponsor, international recognition and everyone acceptance is much easier, as Petronas already been associated with BMW and F1.

finding good driver isn’t hard. there are aplenty around w/out job (e.g. the subaru and suzuki drivers). finding exceptional drivers is the real deal, more so for a new team w/out any sort of pedigree in WRC. P Solberg is a coup. even Atkinson is a coup.

but need to compete its s2000 in as much as possible rally in 2009 to gain experience etc. be it IRC or European rally. if not, proton might end up being massacre in every WRC rally, which then only bring humilation to themselves, associates and the country.

for me, if proton could do what suzuki achieved in it’s short stint in WRC is great enuff. a top 5 position in any rally is a huge success.

I will not expect proton to challenge manufacturer such as Peugeot or Fiat that have gained many IRC rally wins with their own S2000 unit (if they decided to enter WRC in 2010) ..

to fight head-to-head with Citroens or Fords (if they have their S2000+ ready by 2010, which they don’t have right now – if not mistaken) is only a dream. that too big an asking, really. the best proton could hope and aim for in its first few years is to be the top 2nd tier team. that is more than enough to make everyone to pay serious attention.

but since most manufacturer would start with rather a clean slate with S2000/S2000+ spec, proton chances should be a little bit brighter, who knows.

As for me, i will support Citroen, for the time being.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 5:11 pm

offtopic>>
    in astro, in what channel got WRC telecast?
    i dun like futbal..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 5:29 pm

@BanyakMasukWorkshop:

“most interestingly of course, is that petter solberg is interested enough to meet with proton to talk about it. He has of course gone to talk to other manufacturers, but the fact that he has seen, and recognises protons efforts. i’m sure a driver of his calibre would not meet proton if he did not believe he can be competitive in the car.”

Not 100% true.
    Petter Solberg is currently unemployed, and with few teams looking to come into participate in WRC, he does not have many options.
    Also, there is very little chance of Petter winning WRC as again, Sebastian Loeb is looking strong.

He’ll most likely drive for almost any team that can meet his salary demands….

Even Proton.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 5:44 pm

proton is doing terrible in overseas market. if they are serious in making it big then there is only a few markets that they need to penetrate and thus havent done and has not much hope of doing so in the near future. no matter what type of positive exposure u seem to think they have, its not enough because product line up is terrible and nobody was buying proton even when the times were good. that is a fact that you dont hear about. besides, the competition is just too good there is no way you would buy proton unless you were forced or conned into buying one.

they problably dont care about beleiving in proton. they just there for the money even though they understand they wont win. if he didnt care about money and just wanted to win then he would sign up with other teams even if it meant a big pay check cut.

we’ll see soon enough what the car can do.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 5:50 pm

It’s not only about salary demand.
    if the car give him nothing chance to win..
    then his reputation will broke…

They have a reputation to protect too…
    even less option available, but they have to choose better one.
    not about ‘just take the big salary’…

what if.. someday, cherry alado participate in WRC.
    omg!

• blazerSST (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Proton = subaru? Kawan lu bodoh ke, buta ke, cannot even make a proper engine or a proper car want to talk about WRC, supplying an empty shell doesn’t count

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Is there no urge to build a Satria Neo GTi? Or that is just me. I don’t fancy some race car. Bring back the GTi.

On another note, hope they will make it into rallying. Then GranTuorismo can put the car in the game. There was a WRC game with a proton wira in it few years back

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:51 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 5:29 pm

Not 100% true.
    Petter Solberg is currently unemployed, and with few teams looking to come into participate in WRC, he does not have many options.
    Also, there is very little chance of Petter winning WRC as again, Sebastian Loeb is looking strong.

sorry bro, but i do not agree at all. petter solberg is a professional. and if you watch him driving, even in 2008, he still has the desire, and the never say die attitude. sadly, the subarus of the last 3 years has been extremely uncompetitive.

Also, he still has the strongest brand value of any driver in the world rally championship, even today. Loeb may be champion, but solberg is more marketable. merchandise sales attributed to solbergs name is a USD20 million business a year.

It would be very naive to think that he will throw away his reputation if he didnt think there was a chance to win.

i dont have any hard facts on protons overseas markets. but if they are as bad as topgunthang says, wouldnt they have closed shop by now? and how is it possible that proton is still launching cars overseas.. and also how is it possible that the thai market is doing well for them? are all the news we read scams, are people in thailand forced (at gunpoint?) or conned by maybe david blaine into buying a proton?

whatever it is, I believe if petter solberg is willing to talk to proton, he must see something that we cannot see. As i’m no former world rally champion, or someone with a multimillion dollar brand value on my forehead, i’m not gonna doubt him.

btw, i’m bias, coz i’m a petter solberg fan. ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:57 pm

blazerSST said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 6:39 pm

Proton = subaru? Kawan lu bodoh ke, buta ke, cannot even make a proper engine or a proper car want to talk about WRC, supplying an empty shell doesn’t count

prodrive builds subaru race cars, and aston martin race cars.. likewise msport does so for ford.. mclaren builds F1 cars for Mercedes.. Ac schnitzer built some of the most successful bmw touring cars, sauber for bmw..etc. etc. and the list goes on.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 7:01 pm

blazerSST said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 6:39 pm

in hypertune mag… one guy supercharged his Campro to get 180hp… that is proper engine i think…

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Presenting the list of bashers (or some say lousy ungrateful confused prick):

-Ptaiithebest
    -topguthang
    -Sex is wonderful
    -blazerSST
    -not_ah_beng

and the list goes on….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:31 pm

should make a basher club…. select a chairman… and make petition to the PM…

talks here less impact u know… huhu

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Jaybond said,

January 21, 2009 @ 4:53 pm

Poor Solberg, from a World Champ to a Proton driver…

Subaru just can’t give a better car, the 2000s WRC era is just dominated by the Frenchies & Brits, era of the active diffs.
    ——————-
    there should be like a super wrc , like motogp, got superbike. then we will see again skoda, peugeot, lancia etc

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:27 pm

farghmee said,

January 21, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

offtopic>>
    i dun like futbal..

Astro channel 813 (Star Sports). Check your Astro guide for time n days shown.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Proton will do anything just to get him in Neo in 2010…. coz they wont face poblem in funding as Government protect them…. He better drive citroen…

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:15 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 11:30 pm

wisdom=prickhead
    ———————————————

yeah… let it out..

• Bosz_1551 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:33 am

dzulx said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 1:49 pm

Why Solberg? I thought we still have our dear flying sikh?

Surely our sikh is as capable as other if given the same chance and the same money.

Maybe if it become reality, proton can sponsor 2 cars, Solberg for marketing purpose and the flying sikh for the the local content?

Nevertheless the new is still interesting. And surely will be more interesting if proton can race local engine (campro/petronas) in the WRC like what Subaru did

=============================================

i’m totally agree with u laa bro..

Somehow our own flying sikh are there already. We should be proud of him. But Peter Solberg oso seams a “wow” version.. If can make 2, make for both of them laa yer tak?.. Baru power!

Then we’ll see.. siapa lebih power… I think our Karamjit Sikh will surely compete with him and others laa. Not just compete.. Winning maybe..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 7:57 am

mystvearn said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 6:43 pm

Is there no urge to build a Satria Neo GTi? Or that is just me. I don’t fancy some race car. Bring back the GTi.

———————–

Satria Neo GTi = Satria Neo CPS probably…… wait till it launch

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:26 am

wot engine to use?
    oh, campro sure can tahan onee…

karamjit singh cannot race due to no sponsorship last time, now proton wan2 talk to Solberg?

racist discrimination?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:46 am

haroldz said,

January 22, 2009 @ 8:26 am

wot engine to use?
    oh, campro sure can tahan onee…

karamjit singh cannot race due to no sponsorship last time, now proton wan2 talk to Solberg?

racist discrimination?

————————————————————-

They use renault engine in 1.8 Waja and tuned to 2litre 280hp. I never know employing a white world champ is racial discrimination, enough racist retards in this blog already so dont be one bro…

• rps13 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:56 am

Dude, if you were to spend millions of ringgit to market your brand globally, who would you choose? A Malaysian Rally Driver who might be known in the Asian rally scene or a World Champion whose name is synonym to rallying?

• rps13 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:07 am

Look at how much coverage Proton has gotten since Solberg’s discussion with them. Just imagine how much more exposure Proton will get if Solberg were to drive for Proton in the WRC.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:17 am

agree with rps13 ..
    it’s not only about winning.
    it’s also about what give you a better exposure.

just like what petronas do in F1.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:26 am

proton should sponsor both:
    1 for wrc.
    1 for asian rc.

offtopic>>

farghmee said,
    offtopic>>
    i dun like futbal..

TQVM :)

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:30 am

i’ve got to say..a very bold & risky move by p1..but im with them for sure..a very good luck to p1 & the deal ! :D

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:07 pm

toyota should return to wrc, they were good in it, they suck badly in f1

• scottloeb (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:36 pm

Toyota success in WRC is contributed by Lotus! Ever wonder why those Celica/Rolla stick to the tarmac like a bloody rail?

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:23 pm

even toyota need lotus tune..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:34 pm

scottloeb said,

January 22, 2009 @ 1:36 pm

Toyota success in WRC is contributed by Lotus! Ever wonder why those Celica/Rolla stick to the tarmac like a bloody rail?
    —————-
    haiz the good old days, now all toyota makes are the stupid prius

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Petter Solverg + Proton?

This is unimaginable. All the best though.

• God.of.War (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 7:46 pm

Who wanna buy the car? Not so expensive u know, only RM 930 000.00 only.

Damn better buy GTR Skyline le…

I read it from a newspaper…